Phone Power Reviews - Page 4 of 26

Phone Power

260

User Reviews

4.1/5

Average Rating

69%

Recommended

Total:

260

5-Star:

159

4-Star:

28

3-Star:

42

2-Star:

18

1-Star:

13

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>


User Reviews (Page 4 of 26)

Phone Power reviews are listed in chronological order.

Good Deal

Overall rating (5)

Number 230 : NOV 13th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I called in to ask details about the service as I was looking for a new provider. The rep I got was very helpful without being pushy and placed the order for me. The box came in the mail pretty quickly and it wasn't that hard to figure out what to plug in. I haven't had any problems with the service and I'm paying a lot less now with the prepaid deal I signed up with. I think it's a good deal.

Comment on this review >>


Smooth Sailing

Overall rating (5)

Number 229 : NOV 6th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I decided to make a switch to VoIP after reading a lot of reviews on this website. I dropped my Verizon phone service and got PhonePower. My old Verizon number transferred over in just a couple days, which was surprising. it went incredibly smooth, even for a non-tech guy like me. I can't tell the difference in call quality over my old landline. It's very clear. I did call their customer service once to ask how to setup the app on my iPhone and the girl I spoke with was very patient with me and got me going. I like the fact that their call center is in the USA. Too many companies these days are sending jobs to the Philippines or elsewhere. I think they are a good value and have been very reliable.

Comment on this review >>


Good service in 2 locations

Overall rating (5)

Number 228 : NOV 5th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

We had Phone Power in our old home in Pennsylvania and never had any problems. When we were moving to Florida, I figured I'd have to cancel and start over. But I called and talked to a helpful woman who helped me figure out a great set up for our new place. I got a new Florida number and got to keep my old number working as well for $5. It's really helpful since not everyone has our new number down. It was really easy to set it back up in our new place and it's been working great here as well. I'm glad I could keep their service.

Comment on this review >>


Works but voice breakups

Overall rating (4)

Number 227 : OCT 7th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

We are located in Cornwall Ontario Canada. We have used this service for over a month now, the price is incredible but the voice quality is not what we were used to with the regular phone company. Get what you pay for is a way of looking at it. We recommended it to a friend but they did not have success with this company so returned the unit. Small delay when talking that takes time to get used to. Sometime words and conversations break up. We could not connect the phone box directly to the cable box as instructed, it did not work that way so i had to connect it to one of the ports on the router. Not sure if i would recommend it to others, still determining if we are going to keep the service.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Mike (Dec 12th, 2013) : If you get stutter, or echo, and you have the adapter behind your router, you need to set up port forwarding to correct this.

Comment on this review >>


OK service but cheap, unreliable hardware

Overall rating (2.6)

Number 226 : SEP 23rd, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I've had phone power service for last 3-4 years. Service is ok but hardware is unreliable. New hardware works well for a few month then starts requiring reset, frequency increases with time. Customer requires lengthy debugging (waste of time) before giving up and sending me a new unit. Since this has happened three times I asked that they waive my "debugging requirement". No can do.

Comment on this review >>


RUN AWAY!!

Overall rating (3.2)

Number 225 : SEP 15th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

They ask for a credit card in advance, and then attempt to charge it without notice!! After you've cancelled service, they charge you if you don't check your account to see if there's an "equipment return" fee attached,(but you can't access your account after the date of cancellation.) If you don't check, they start late fees, then threaten collections. Horrible business practices!! (I have an MBA and have owned my company for 25 years. I understand business practices.) Run Away! The pricing and service are okay, but it's like a bad relationship, just not worth the time to try to make everything work out. . .

Comment on this review >>


Dishonest

Overall rating (1.4)

Number 224 : SEP 11th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I have been without international calls for more than one week. I spent more than 6 hours over the phone with these idiots that cannot fix anything. They never call the customer back as promised. This company is a scam.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Robert (12/7/2013) : This criticism is way overboard. I've used this service for over 2 years and have found it to be reasonably reliable and the company to be easy with which to deal.

Comment on this review >>


Great Service!

Overall rating (5)

Number 223 : JUN 20th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

This is my first VOIP experience, and I chose PhonePower after comparison shopping. I am in my 3rd year, and each year I pay a year in advance to take advantage of the cost savings. The only problem I encountered was during set-up; it needed to coordinated with my internet service provider. That was a little bit of a headache; however, it was worth it. The service has been excellent! The savings --- tremendous! I love the mobile app. I can retrieve my voicemail calls on my cell phone. I recommend PhonePower to everyone! (The only downside to any VOIP: if there is an electrical outage and the computer goes down, the phone goes along with it. Make sure you have a phone hard phone line in case of emergency. A cell phone as a phone is not enough if it is not charged up!)

Comment on this review >>


Everything is in some service agreement somewhere!

Overall rating (2.6)

Number 222 : JUN 19th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I've had them for four years and quality is okay, but their equipment failed a couple of times and they will bill you for the costs of replacement hardware. It is a cheap design; it could be much more robust. They sent me an email with their renewal offers -- it was different from what you can find online. As a long-term customer, I sent them an email about this and I got back a letter giving me a different renewal offer and a price, but the price was not the actual price and they did not handle the conversations well about this. Beware the significant hidden charges!! I renewed because I need continuity in my business phone service. But there DO seem to be other cheaper options with reported good reliability available. I would NOT do business with them again and felt that this was a BOHICA kind of situation. One cannot cancel their auto-renewal and the renewal notice was received only a couple of days prior to the end of the contract. That limited time gave me little chance to actually investigate other options and I am sure it is done intentionally to prevent shopping for alternatives. I did put a note in my calendar a month prior to the contract end date to go out and look. I am NOT a satisfied customer. I felt they took advantage of the situation. They act like a Big Company, focused on policies and procedures and hidden information that they will readily cite as they deal with you. They need some ethics lessons, in my opinion.

Comment on this review >>


Scratchy calls and dialing office voice mail issues

Overall rating (4.2)

Number 221 : JUN 13th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I used Vonage for a couple of years, then switched to Phonepower about 2 years ago to get the free second line, unlimited calls, and call blocking (not offered with Vonage). I have the second line going into the phone wiring in the house so that I can plug in a desk phone with ear piece and handset lifter in my home office. The quality of calls on the desk phone is pretty scratchy most of the time. Phonepower blames my phone (a digital Uniden desk phone). My second line is a wireless with three extra handsets. The quality on them can be scratchy also. I do like that if the service goes down, it redirects to my cell phone. I have my printer/fax plugged in the house phone wiring, and it works just fine (out only/I've never received). Overall, the service is OK, but I wish the sound quality was better. I've never used the portable "phone" that came with the system. I have to dial into my main office voice mail from home (using Phonepower) and enter special characters *ext number, then passcode, then 7 to play messages. Many, many times I have to try over and over an over to enter these codes, and it seems that they are not being sent correctly, so the voice mail system does not recognize the tones and hangs up on me or wants to send me to the system operator. I often give up and dial in from my cell phone instead. This is the most frustrating thing ever with Phonepower.

Comment on this review >>


  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 4 of 26
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 3.9

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews
  • Simple pay per call option
  • No setup or activation fees
  • No long term contract
  • Plans start at $0 between members
Free Options 4.3

Read Reviews