Axvoice Reviews

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Axvoice
Visit Axvoice
(3.9)
71 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 71 User submitted reviews >>

AxVoice Review by WhichVoIP

AxVoice were originally founded in 2005 and provide internet phone service for home users and small businesses. This service requires that you have an existing high speed internet connection (e.g. DSL, cable modem etc.). AxVoice provide different plan options to meet different user needs, such as pay as you go plans, low minute usage plans, unlimited domestic and international plans.

The Good

Axvoice provide a good selection of affordable plan options so most home phone service users should find a plan to meet their needs. This includes a no monthly fee outgoing calls only plan, a low cost pay as you go plan, a limited minutes plan for USA/Canada calling, an unlimited calling plan (their flagship service and best value plan), and a couple of international calling plans (one that covers around 45 countries and one that covers over 60 countries).

The Axvoice plans boast a good selection of features (30+) included free plus some optional features at additional low monthly fees (toll free numbers and virtual numbers). Many of these are standard now with most service providers, such as caller ID, call waiting, call forwarding, enhanced voicemail and E911 support. Some stand-outs include support for various Codecs (great for users who have lower Internet speeds), Simultaneous Ring, Music on Hold, Bring-Your-Own-Device (BYOD) support, and Voicemail audio files sent to email.

Other factors considered to be good for the user are a 15 day money back guarantee, free hardware and activation, the ability to transfer your existing number (also known as number porting), low international calling rates (starting at 1.5c per minute) and a Mobile App for smartphones (iPhone and Android both supported).

The Bad

The 15 day money back guarantee has some limitations that should be understood. It does not include the shipping and handling fees, it is 15 days from the activation of the account, and you must not exceed 200 minutes of usage during those 15 days. You must return ALL the equipment provided by them in the original packaging within 10 days of cancellation (includes cables, manuals etc) and you are responsible for paying the return shipping.

A $19.99 shipping and handling fee is charged when you order the service. This is higher than many other providers charge (many in the range of $10 to $15), although a small amount in the grand scheme of the savings you will enjoy.

Like most (if not all) service providers the "unlimited" plans include a reasonable usage policy, which for Axvoice is 3,000 minutes. This is to protect them against extreme users. If you exceed this limit you will be charged at a rate of 1.5c/min.

The knowledge base in their support section of their website is decent but there is no phone support. Also, customer support hours are 7am to 8pm EST. You can submit a ticket online at any time though.

If you don't like the idea of paying annually then the monthly rate is quite a bit higher if you are considering the unlimited calling plan. See below for the bottom line.

The Bottom Line

  • Unlimited USA/CAN Calling Plan: This is their most popular plan. Through WhichVoIP this plan is ONLY $75 for the 1st year of service (or $6.25/mo equivalent) which is an amazing deal. Otherwise it is $99/year (or $8.25/mo equivalent). As mentioned above, this plan has a monthly payment option which is $14.99/mo if you dont want to pay annually.
  • USA/CAN 200 Minutes Plan: The 200 minute plan is $5.99/mo (yearly promotion) or $9.99/mo if you want to pay month to month.
  • Pay As You Go Plan: The Pay as You Go plan is $4.99/mo. This plan includes incoming minutes but outgoing calls are charged at 1.5c/minute. They also have an Outgoing Only plan which is $0/mo and 1.5c/minute for outgoing calling. This is a great plan to replace calling cards.
  • International Calling Plans: Plans start at $199/year (equivalent to $16.58/mo) for the standard Residential International plan, or $24.99/mo on a month to month plan. This plan includes over 45 countries. If the country you are interested in is not on this list then their Plus plan includes over 60 countries at a rate of $29.99/mo.

Overall Thoughts

If you are considering an USA/Canada unlimited calling plan for your home then we would recommend taking a look at the Axvoice annual payment option. This is a very competitive option with a great feature set. Their International plans are also cost competitive with the likes of Vonage.

We recommend you have a read through the Axvoice reviews submitted by users of our site. Click on the tab at the top of this page to view them.


Axvoice Overview

AxVoice are a newer provider to WhichVoIP, being added in 2012. Since then we have received generally very positive reviews from users of the AxVoice internet home phone service. Overall they have a very good average rating and a high recommended rate. Complete our simple review form to add your ratings and comments based on your own experience using the links on this page.

...The staff at Axvoice has been delightful. The transition and installation was simple, and only took minutes to setup....

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 8)

Summary
Total Number 71 5 Stars 38
Thumbs Up 52 4 Stars 13
Thumbs Down 19 3 Stars 6
Average Rating 3.9 2 Stars 6
More Providers 1 Star 8

Axvoice reviews are listed in chronological order.

Add four and five-person calling

Overall rating (4.4)

#71 : APR 3rd, 2020 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Business calls usually require more than one or two persons within the same call. Would really appreciate if there could be four- or five- person calling option. For now, enjoy a 5-star rating for your impeccable services.

Comment on this review >>

Good service

Overall rating (4.4)

#70 : MAR 25th, 2020 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I had been their customer from 5 years and I never thought to move to another VoIP service. I was requested to do this review and I am happy to have finally done it. So I had been using their home phone package which includes unlimited calls to the US and Canada. While I never got to make use of the free outgoing minutes to Canada, but I sure do make a good use of my unlimited minutes within the US. Remember that it's 3000 minutes with their unlimited package which are quite enough for me; not sure about you guys. The voice quality is great and the support is just fine. Not a fan of ticket-based support but you do get a reply within a day.

Comment on this review >>

Full Stars

Overall rating (4.8)

#69 : JAN 24th, 2020 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Axvoice is affordable and works just as great as my previous VoIP for which I had been paying three times more. The services are comparable too. I don't think why anyone should spend more for the same service.

Comment on this review >>

Doesn't work, terrible customer service

Overall rating (1.4)

#68 : JAN 8th, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

From day one, the service had issues. The quality of calls was not great, even after I upgraded to high-speed Internet. Voicemail access is touch and go, messages disappear without being listened to. Eventually, it stopped working altogether. Customer service would email me one small suggested fix. It wouldn't work. Another one. Wouldn't work. Eventually they stopped responding to my emails - they literally gave up trying to fix my issue. I still have no idea why it wouldn't work. Because of their delayed and incomplete responses, I went a few weeks without having a working line. They refused to refund me for any of that month. Then, when I cancelled my service, they charged my credit card for the adapter on the day of cancellation, before they even asked me to return it (which, by the way, they do not send you packaging or postage for)! The whole thing felt like a scam. Definitely do not use these guys.

Comment on this review >>

Dropped calls, missed voice mails

Overall rating (1.8)

#67 : NOV 29th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

There are several providers that offer similar IP phone services in approx $10/month price range. I tried AXvoice and my experience was not good. First of all if you talk for more than several minutes your call almost always would be dropped so you'll need to redial. Second - if the caller tries to leave you a voice mail and that message is too short (less than 15-20 seconds) the system won't record it and you'll miss the message. Third - all international calls are NOT free (my new provider offers free ground number international calls to more than 50 countries). And one last note: when I switched to a new provider and my service with AXvoice was disconnected they still charged my card extra $17+. When I asked (via email) about the reason the answer was that I had to ask them literally to close my account in order to stop being charged every month $17+. No further comments. Good luck.

Comment on this review >>

The best decision I have made for my business!

Overall rating (4.6)

#66 : NOV 7th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I run a small business, and I just started dealing with international clients too. Initially, I used the landline for international calls, but the bills were breaking my bank, So, I opted for AxVoice VoIP service, and I am so glad that I did. The call quality is excellent, and I never miss a call, and there are so many features. Highly recommended!

Comment on this review >>

Cheap Service!

Overall rating (1.2)

#65 : OCT 22nd, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Used this service to work from home and so I receive calls constantly. At first things worked well but after about a month, I noticed degradation of voice quality. I have another VoIP service as a backup on the same Internet router which was fine. Since customer service is through email only, I notified them of this and got a response that I was to reboot the adapter - this was of no help since this is the first thing I did. OK, I thought maybe it was a network anomaly until a few days later in which the issues returned along with a new more important issue: the company voice bridge I use for work could not reach my number. A quick email to support resulted in no response. Unfortunately looks like Axvoice is being too cost contentious at the expense of their service. I have since dropped this VoIP provider with a more competitive company offering much better customer support.

Comment on this review >>

Good Service

Overall rating (4.4)

#64 : OCT 21st, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Unlimited calls at such a reasonable price were something I wasn't sure about. Before buying, I had doubts that there must be some hidden charges, or there must be some issues with the call quality. But here I am writing this review after using it for more than six months, the service is amazing. About the call quality, the service offers much more than I expected. Amazing set of features for residential users. No complaints so far. Good Job.

Comment on this review >>

Excellent Call Quality

Overall rating (4.6)

#63 : SEP 19th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Since I moved away from another country to study here, I have to make a lot of long-distance calls to my mom. Usually, the call quality is terrible when you are making calls out of the country, but not with AxVoice. I have been using the service for over 6 months now and no bumps so far. Excellent service!

Comment on this review >>

Amazing Call Clarity

Overall rating (4.6)

#62 : JUL 15th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

This service is a dream come true! I have used a number of VoIP services and eventually the call quality and clarity gets worse. Not with AxVoice. It has been 6 months I have been using this service and so far, everything is smooth!

Comment on this review >>

  • Page 1 of 8
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 71 5 Stars 38
Thumbs Up 52 4 Stars 13
Thumbs Down 19 3 Stars 6
Average Rating 3.9 2 Stars 6
More Providers 1 Star 8

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$7.16
Unlimited
(5)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.5)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$0.0198
per min
(4.3)