1-VoIP

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
1-VoIP
Visit 1-VoIP
(4.6)
208 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 208 User submitted reviews >>

1-VoIP Review by WhichVoIP

In the Internet telephony market, many providers select a niche to serve with various offerings. Yet some, like 1-VoIP, take an approach of meeting needs from the big business down to residential customers. This company takes customers of any size and offers some additional perks that few others openly promote.

The Good

1-VoIP offers hosted services to accommodate residential users and busines users, from small/home offices up to larger businesses, as well as SIP Trunking services for anyone with a PBX needing to connect to other communication networks.

Residential service is offered in 3 different plans to cover the needs of the casual caller to the world caller. All service packages come with free activation and free hardware to connect a device. Subscribers may connect with an analog phone or a digital VoIP phone with the included SP2102 adapter. It is possible to connect most other BYOD hardware but it would be best to contact customer support to ensure compatibility of existing hardware.

The Value program for residential service runs at $8.97 a month and includes 500 minutes of calling to North American numbers. The US & Canada Unlimited plan offers just as the name implies, unlimited calling between numbers in these locations, and costs $17.97 per month. The World Unlimited plan is $23.97 per month and takes it a step further by offering unlimited calling to 30 countries with reasonable rates for calls outside of the covered regions.

All residential plans include unlimited incoming minutes, all features, hardware adaptor, free activation and no term commitment, as well as the option to use Nomorobo (for blocking telemarketers and robocalls). Features include voicemail, internet fax capabilities, music on hold, call filtering, forwarding, waiting, speed dial and more.

Business VoIP services pricing is based on a "per extension" fee which varies based on the number of users (i.e. extensions) configured. The Lite offering pricing is $24.97 per user per month for groups of 1 to 5 users, dropping to $22.97/user/mo for groups of 6 to 19 users, and then dropping to $20.97/user/mo for groups of 20 - 99 users. Beyond 99 users, a customer may call to negotiate a specific price. Note that the company will match any competitor quote for a similar service.

Features are all inclusive with any of the Business VoIP services. Customers may setup call queues, an auto-attendant (i.e. IVR menus), record calls and fax among many other features. Another great add-on is the inclusion of Nomorobo. This 3rd party service is specifically designed to block spam calling such as telemarketers and other well-known, blacklisted numbers.

If you run IP PBX software, SIP Trunking services are available for such systems. The Service Level Agreement (SLA) provides 99.999% uptime (thats less than 6 minutes of downtime per year) with 3 fully redundant co-located switching facilities. Virtually any mainstream PBX system (such as Asterisk, 3CX, Elastix, FreePBX etc.) can utilize 1-VoIP SIP Trunking to enjoy major cost saving benefits, though a consultation with customer service is necessary for exact pricing.

1-VoIP provides 24/7 customer service and technical support via phone and email with 100% based US support staff.

The Bad

One frustrating aspect of the site is the lookup feature for International calling. Some countries are difficult to find because of the way the input field works. Keep in mind, it is best to contact a customer service representative for more involved setups when distinct details are required.

Little information is provided pertaining to how the configuration process works. Many may want to know if a designated company admin converts settings or if a 1-VoIP representative must alter settings. For clarification, web administration is possible for business phone systems.

Make sure you keep any hardware provided by 1-VoIP for free in good shape as you will need to return it within 14 days of any cancellation of services. Otherwise you will be charged for the equipment.

The Bottom Line

  • Residential Value Plan: This entry level plan costs $8.97/month and includes 500 minutes to North America and unlimited incoming minutes.
  • Residential US & Canada Unlimited Plan: This is their most popular plan and includes unlimited calling to North America for $17.97/month.
  • Residential World Unlimited Plan: For those that need International calling on a regular basis should consider this plan at $23.97 per month with unlimited calling to North America and 30 International countries (including Australia, France, Germany, UK, Mexcio, China, Hong Kong, Israel and more).
  • All residential plans include unlimited incoming minutes, premium features, hardware, free activation and no term commitment.
  • Business Lite Plan: This plan is for businesses with 1 to 5 users and the cost is $24.97 per month per extension.
  • Business Professional Plan: Having 6 to 19 users reduces the cost to $22.97 per month per extension.
  • Business Enterprise Plan: For the medium sized business with 20 to 99 users the cost is $20.97 per month per extension.
  • All business plans include the same feature set, unlimited calling, and a free trial is available. They have a "Match any competitor quote" promise also. Businesses with 100+ users will need to contact them directly for custom pricing.
  • SIP trunking plans start at $29.97 per month.
  • All rates exclude any applicable taxes, regulatory fees and surcharges.

Overall Thoughts

Though a few bits of information are lacking, the company offers straightforward pricing and the standard set of VoIP service features. Residential customers have several options as do businesses, not to mention SIP trunking service is offered for custom systems. Anyone seeking a new communication system should strongly consider contacting this company to see if services are a good fit.


1-VoIP Overview

1-VoIP phone service has been around for many years. Originally under the name VoIP Your Life, they rebranded to VYLmedia, before changing the service brand name to 1-VoIP. User submitted reviews on this page include all brands for it's service.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 21)

Total Number 208 5 Stars 163
Thumbs Up 181 4 Stars 26
Thumbs Down 25 3 Stars 13
Average Rating 4.6 2 Stars 4
More Providers 1 Star 2

1-VoIP reviews are listed in chronological order.

Great company

Overall rating (5)

#208 : MAY 16th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

We have been with 1VoIP for about a year now and if you are seriously considering a VoIP service, this is the one to choose. We had a couple of technical glitches at the the beginning, but these were quickly addressed. Their service personnel are efficient and friendly and very helpful. We have friends who use other VoIP providers. When we compare the sound quality of this service with their service, ours is far superior. Highly recommended.

Comment on this review >>

Prompt and courteous service

Overall rating (5)

#207 : MAY 15th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

From initial contact until the entire system was working, 1VoIP was easy to use, prompt in delivery of equipment and service and courteous whilst stepping through the set-up process.

Comment on this review >>

Wonderful customer service

Overall rating (5)

#206 : MAY 15th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

One day the connection was broken, so I called them on my cell phone. The tech fixed it while we talked. Great service and pleasant to talk to.

Comment on this review >>

Terrible Service

Overall rating (3.7)

#205 : MAY 2nd, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Repeated problems, with 5 so far in 4 months. I was never told the cause. They take 8 hours to respond. No answer on their service number. Are these people going to be around in the coming months? Or am I being given low priority because I am residential customer?

Comment on this review >>

Mixed bag

Overall rating (3.9)

#204 : APR 6th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I've been with 1-VoIP for just over a week and not sure I am going to stay. It's not the errors in documentation related to setup that specifies host names that don't exist and can't be resolved by DNS lookups. It's not the fact that multiple servers will contact you via UDP SIP where support tells you only one resulting in multiple additional firewall rules in my network requiring ALLOW. It's not that none of what I'm saying here is documented and tech support is in denial. It's because when you either go on hold or with the Bria IOS soft phone app (excellent BTW) my cell phone rings, anyone at the other end of the VoIP call gets music. And 1-VoIP tells me it can't be changed. This has led to embarrassment on conference calls when others thought I just picked up a guitar and started playing. Hell at least give me a choice of instruments. I'd prefer a didgeridoo. Calls too often break up which may or may not be a function of external network factors. I have done some analysis and overall bandwidth demand is low so more research is needed. Anyway all of this wrapped up is turning quickly annoying.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

1-VoIP Representative (4/12/2017) : Sorry for the confusion. We use SRV-records to identify our registration servers. Unlike a standard A-record, an SRV-record allows us to broadcast multiple IP addresses to your SIP device. We always have at least 2 SIP servers in contact with your device. The servers are in separate data centers and on separate networks so in the event one of our servers or data centers fail, you can still communicate through the other. We do not create A-records where SRV-records are being used, so they will not resolve to ping. They are resolvable by DNS but you need to specify the request as an SRV-record. For residential accounts, music-on-hold is not optional but it is for business accounts. I hope that clears up any confusion. If not, please contact support.

Comment on this review >>

Great Customer Service and Support

Overall rating (5)

#203 : DEC 22nd, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

We have been using 1-VOIP for over 12 years now for our business and personal needs and we can highly recommend this provider. In the few instances when we needed support we always received immediate support that adressed our needs

Comment on this review >>

Crap

Overall rating (1.3)

#202 : DEC 7th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I order the modem for 1VoIP and received it 3 weeks later. They had the wrong postal code. When it was set up the sound was intermittent and very sketchy. You could not have a conversation due to breaks in the voice. I contacted technical support over and over and they were incompetent and unable to correct the problem. My name was incorrectly displayed no matter how many times I had contacted them to correct it. I am now using OOMA with a clearer and uninterrupted sound.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Dennis (1-VoIP) : 12/24/2016 - We are very sorry to hear you had problems that we could not correct. It does not happen often but unfortunately, it can. In that event we always offer a full refund. If we cannot make it work and work right you should not have to pay for it. If you have not already received a full refund, please contact our support center and we will make sure your refund is processed.

Comment on this review >>

Superb service!

Overall rating (5)

#201 : NOV 27th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have had VOIP phones since 2006 and most of them have been terrible, especially the poor quality of the sound. I contacted 1-VOIP from September 2016 and I am happy I have their service. Their customer service is unique and the quality of the sound is excellent. Besides, the price is really competitive. I recommend it without hesitation.

Comment on this review >>

Best of the 3 voIP's I used for total of 14 years

Overall rating (5)

#200 : AUG 3rd, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I used Vonage for years until they increased their rates and refused to give me the same deal they would a new customer. I then went to AXvoice for the next 2 years. I had multiple problems with them especially in the 2nd year. I paid for each year in advance and was therefore stuck when the problems grew in the second year. I know it is hard to believe but they have no phone help, all problems are dealt with through email. That is a nightmare. It takes days to solve problems and the frustration level is high. I've been with 1-VoIP for the past two years and they have been incredible. I've never had to leave a voice mail and they solve what ever problem I have in minutes while they stay on the line with me. They are knowledgeable, polite and truly care about their customers. And best of all I've had minimum problems to begin with. They are a refreshing company and I would highly recommend them.

Comment on this review >>

Excellent Service

Overall rating (5)

#199 : JUL 29th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Last year I ditched my Canadian landline of 25 years and switched to 1-VoIP. There were some wrinkles in porting my Canadian number and billing. But 1-VoIP Customer Service is always there to answer questions and resolve issues to my satisfaction. I have just renewed my 1 year pre-pay service with them today.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 21
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 208 5 Stars 163
Thumbs Up 181 4 Stars 26
Thumbs Down 25 3 Stars 13
Average Rating 4.6 2 Stars 4
More Providers 1 Star 2

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: