Phone Power Reviews - Page 25 of 26

Phone Power

260

User Reviews

4.1/5

Average Rating

69%

Recommended

Total:

260

5-Star:

159

4-Star:

28

3-Star:

42

2-Star:

18

1-Star:

13

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>


User Reviews (Page 25 of 26)

Phone Power reviews are listed in chronological order.

Phone Power Review

Overall rating (5)

Number 20 : APR 4th, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I have been on VOIP service for over 4 years. First with SunRocket, then with Time Warner Cable and finally with Comcast who took over Houston area from Time Warner. I would rate them Time Warner best, SunRocket next and Comcast worst of the three. I would rate Phone Power as better than Time Warner, and SunRocket and Miles ahead of Comcast... I have recommended PhonePower to friends, who now are satisfied customers of Phone Power... If you are considering PhonePower, and a lengthy commitment (Like my 2 year plan), by all means be certain that you charge the cost to a credit card. If they go belly up, the Credit Card company will bail you out. (That is the LAW).

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (5)

Number 19 : MAR 29th, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

First time VoIP user, and was pretty nervous to switch over. At first there were a few hiccups with my modem, and the ATA working together, but Phone Power's excellent tech support trouble shot the issues and the service is EXCELLENT. Everything is better, I mean everything; sound quality, customer service, features, PRICE!!! etc. At this point I don't ever seeming our family going back to traditional phone service.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (5)

Number 18 : FEB 22nd, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Had to get away from previous VoIP provider. Friend referred me to Power Phone and I have excellent service so far. Not overly fond of the music on hold but excellent value over all.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (5)

Number 17 : FEB 20th, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

There have been a lot of reviews of Phone Power that are just rubbish, particularly from some reviewer, (review date of Jan. 15, 2009), who wrote essentially a book on why he doesn't like Phone Power that is just nonsensical and full of inaccuracies (and to this reviewer, no I don't work for Phone Power). Having previously had Verizon VoiceWing for over a year until receiving notice they were shutting down, I did extensive research on VOIP providers. What attracted me to Phone Power was the price ($200 for 2 years including a cloned line for unlimited minutes, well almost, 5000 outgoing, unlimited incoming), the ease of use on their web site, the fact that their customer service and tech support is U.S. based (yeah!!), the fact that in addition to having the ability to enter chats with their customer service and tech support that they will automatically email the chat text to you (indicating that they are not afraid to stand behind what they tell you in a chat) and the fact that they have a forum on DSLReports.com that solicits user input. I had been considering Broadvoice as my brother swears by them (and they appear to be a good company also), but Phone Power's price and ease of contact won me over. Plus, unless Broadvoice and other VOIP providers, PhonePower does not charge an activation fee (activations fees are total rip offs). As far as my experience with them goes, first they ported my number on the day I selected, always a good sign. Second, I had some issues with my Actiontec MI424WR (a real POS router in my opinion) and Verizon FIOS, which they were able to work around. The ATA PhonePower sent me used, the Grandstream HT502, is a better device than the Linksys PAP2 that I used with VoiceWing. I am able to access the HT502's web page to view status and can configure Basic Settings. The Advanced Settings tabs can not be accessed by users but that is understandable as VOIP novices could really screw things up. However, if you are knowledgeable (or even if you're not) in the ways of VOIP and SIP, you can BYOD with PhonePower just fine and configure away your device to your heart's content. In terms of voice quality, its is as good or better than what my POTS line used to be and better than VoiceWing (I understand to some they may not be saying much but VoiceWing, while not great, was not that bad). I can't speak to the quality of other VOIP providers, but I know that the most important factors are you broadband speeds (up and down) and the quality of your ATA. Having FIOS I get outstanding rates and I can also adjust my QoS settings in my ActionTec (one thing it is good for), both which certainly contribute to the excellent quality I get. But in any event, Phone Power is doing nothing to stand in the way of my voice quality. In terms of features, their voice mail, both over the phone and on their web site is easy to use and I also receive emails of my voice mail. Faxing works great, no problem. The cloned line is terrific.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (5)

Number 16 : JAN 16th, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

This is my 4th VoIP service in many years ....I have had good service from all 4..And phone power continues the trend for me ..I set up port over date as far in advance as I could to get the most from my current VoIP service. I then called Phone Power support to see if I could change port over date from Dec 29 til Jan 14 to avoid a cancellation fee from Via Talk. Within 5 days I received a voice mail that they had changed my port over date to Jan 14. On Jan 14 I called to support to help me with my wireless router set up Once again Fantastic support. Not off shore Support. I would advise that if u looking for a VoIP service this is a good Choice.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (1.8)

Number 15 : JAN 15th, 2009 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I have been with this service since the end of Aug 2008. My modem came quickly in the mail and it was easy to set up. The price for the first 3 months was the reason I decided to give this company a try. Can't go wrong at $12.66 a month. I figured this was the best route before I committed to the yearly special of $139.95. Thank GOD I went this route because in no time the problems would begin. My first issue was my phone quality was horrible. There was a nasty delay of a few seconds, so you and the person you were talking with would just talk over each other because of the delay of the responses. The sound quality was just as bad with the choppiness and how faint the voice on the other line sounded. Even though this sounds bad, it just took a phone call to technical support and they made some changes and I just had to re-set the Grandstream device (HT502 that they send you) and all was fixed, Yay!!!! Happy! Happy! Joy! Joy! Next problem that came up was that when on a phone call, I would get the sound of call waiting, but when I would click over, nobody was there. In the mean time, the person with whom I was trying to have a conversation with would tell me to stop pushing the buttons. At first I was confused at what the hell they were talking about, but after a few more times of this, I realized that every time I heard the call waiting like sound on my end, that the person on the other line heard a sound that made the noise of when somebody pushed the button. I even used my friend's phone to call myself to hear this sound and it's annoying. Of course my next move is to call technical support. Once again he said he made some tweaks and said I should be good to go (maybe not said in those exact words). Once again, Happy! Happy! Joy! Joy! Well.....it did not take long to figure out nothing was fixed and that the call waiting noise was still there and along went my Joy with it. It was at this time I began to experience another problem. My phone would ring and nobody was there. The caller ID would read SIP. I had no clue of what SIP was, but it has something to do with the VOIP system works and SIP is some protocol that is used. Well, since the caller ID only shows the name of SIP and no number, I could not call it back. This became very frustrating as SIP would call me when it wanted and for however many times it wanted. I could get blasted for 5 minutes straight or have it call 5-7 times a day at all hours, and I mean ALL hours), then it would just stop for up to 5 days, then it would happen again. Since this was happening between midnight and 4am (time I am sleeping), I became pretty irate over being woken up and have this SIP calling me for no reason. I only would jump out of bed extremely quick to pick it up because the only time I wo7uld get a call at that time is if it were a emergency. In went a call to technical support again.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 14 : JAN 9th, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I had voip.com for 10 months and counted the days until my 1 year pre pay was up. After 10 months I was fed up and was going back to a land line, but noticed the ratings for power phone so I decided to try it. I've had it for less than a month now and love it. Not used to having a real customer support, SOUND, SERVICE & SUPPORT I love it!!!

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (2.6)

Number 13 : DEC 26th, 2008 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

When I was told by my friend that its a good idea to switch to a VoIP provider - I figured I should give Vonage a shot since they seem so popular. My brother had a poor experience with them. I noticed that they had a high rating on this site so I gave them a shot - big mistake. It took 13 days to get my adapter from the day I placed the order online. Their support was not helpful in tracking it and when the time came for setup they told me I had to do it all myself. I understand its fairly basic but when all I get is a busy signal - clearly there is an issue on their end. Once I explained that I followed their instructions about 10 times they started blaming the issues on Verizon. Personally I can't believe all the problems can be with Verizon since so many people use them. Their support is in the US - but still clueless and rude. They are stuck up and don't care about customer. I do not recommend them and have canceled my service. Phone power is horrible. I should note that once the service started working the calls sounded worse than Skype from 3 years ago.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 12 : NOV 28th, 2008 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

In NYC so if u're here, it works! Have had it for over a year now. Go after the yearly promo deals so save more $$ Wish they had some more online features. Had a problem of it not working once a month but was fixed by connecting VoIP router directly to modem. Customer service was good. They do maintenance once every 2 months or so now. They email you a week in advance and is at 1AM-3AM (your service doesn't work). We're all asleep so doesn't matter. Other than that, it's all good. Oh yeah, it's not truly "unlimited", they give you 3,000 OUTBOUND minutes per 30 days and unlimited inbound, my family uses only half of it at the most. You also get free calls to Canada, which every VoIP probably comes with by now. Call quality has gotten a lot better since the beginning of the company opened. I can download at full speeds, like 2,900Kb/s, and still get crystal clear sound quality. The VoIP modem they sent seems like a refurbished one from linksys but it works! Yeah I think that's about all.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (5)

Number 11 : NOV 11th, 2008 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Phone Power is great. I first had Sunrocket which was great when they were still in business. I had to make a quick switch to another provider and at that time VOIP.com was fine but earlier this year VOIP.com phone service seemed to go downhill since I had to power cycle my Linksys VOIP device every week due to some system reset from VOIP.com and my international calls to China were not going through often. Thus, I figured VOIP.com was going out of business soon just like Sunrocket did. Thus, I changed to Phone Power based on reviews on the internet VOIP review boards. Thank goodness too. If PhonePower continues this great service for more than a year, I'll consider PhonePower to be in the same class of uptime service as my AT&T landline. Yeah for PhonePower. Please keep up the good work!!!

Comment on this review >>


  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 25 of 26
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews
  • Simple pay per call option
  • No setup or activation fees
  • No long term contract
  • Plans start at $0 between members
Free Options 4.3

Read Reviews