Phone Power Reviews - Page 24 of 26

Phone Power

260

User Reviews

4.1/5

Average Rating

69%

Recommended

Total:

260

5-Star:

159

4-Star:

28

3-Star:

42

2-Star:

18

1-Star:

13

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>


User Reviews (Page 24 of 26)

Phone Power reviews are listed in chronological order.

Phone Power Review

Overall rating (5)

Number 30 : OCT 3rd, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Simple - PERFECT!

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (3.2)

Number 29 : SEP 12th, 2009 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

The reliability is really poor with PhonePower. They use a lousy Grandstream device that is not very reliable. When I had the Grandstream out ahead of my router facing the internet it would crash every day or two. I finally put it behind my router, and it will run for a couple of weeks before it needs to be power cycled. PhonePower replaced the device, and the new one acted the same way. I am a computer engineer so I know what I'm doing. The Grandstream firmware is buggy. Today I lost phone service. As usual I reset the device. That didn't resolve the problem. I called their support number from my cell, and that was down too. I went to open an internet chat for online help...and that failed too. My guess is they lost their main router or something, or their link is not redundant. They could be a good company because the feature set is good...but they need to get past some major reliability issues. I have a MagicJack that is more reliable. The sound quality is better on PhonePower, but the reliability of setup and ongoing is awful.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 28 : SEP 11th, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Have had 3 other voip services to compare, by far PHONE POWER has proved to be top of the line, handling passwords into accounts well, excellent clear voice transmission, 20 speed dials vs only 8 with L i n g o, clear crisp sound, ringing of phone is smooth, choppy with some others. My two best current services are Phone Power and Nextiva IN-Talk. will drop the 3rd in the near future. Customer Service w/phone power is excellent, supportive and the features with Phone Power are many more than other voip services. Glad I made the switch. You will too.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 27 : AUG 21st, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

This VOIP service is EXCELLENT!!! I had phone service thru Cox Cable for a couple years and Qwest (baby Bell) before that. Phone Power blows them away in every respect: voice quality, price, features, user friendlyness, etc, etc. I had heard all the horor stories about VOIP service, but not a single problem with phone power. This probably sounds like I'm some some kind of shill or something, but I am not. I had never even heard of Phone Power before I started shopping around. I was just looking for VOIP to save some money on phone bills, but I ended up winning in so many unexpected ways. I can honestly give Phone Power my very highest recomendation.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (5)

Number 26 : AUG 19th, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I had Vonage for 5 years and was generally happy with their service until they started doing really bad things with my credit card, so I starting looking for other providers. Phone Power was getting pretty good reviews, had nice features (I really liked call blocking) and the cloned line was a definate plus so I decide to give it a try. They quickly sent their HT-502 ATA and I plugged it into my houses phone lines (as I had done with Vonage). The sound quality was so-so, and faxing was hit-or-miss...usually miss. Customer service actually spoke English and was helpful in trying to fix the quality issue, but to no avail. I was always happy with the PAP2 ATA that I had used with Vonage, so bought the NA version online and shipped PP's HT-502 back to them. Once I received the PAP2, I again called customer service and they were able to quickly load the info onto the new ATA. Wow! What a difference. I don't know if the HT-502 was faulty, or just not able to handle a houses entire wiring system, but now Phone Power is flawless. It's every bit as reliable as POTS, but with better sound quality. Faxing is also completely reliable now. I am able to use both the original and cloned lines seamlessly as well. If you do as I do and plug your ATA directly into your homes existing wiring (don't forget to disconnect the outside POTS line) Do Phone Power's "bring your own device" option and use your own ATA.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (3.4)

Number 25 : JUL 27th, 2009 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I have had other VoIP services and was ver happy with the quality, but, was looking to save some money. Phone Power conversations have quite a bit of packet loss and it becomes annoying and we are constantly repeating ourselves. They try to fix it, but they keep blaming it on the phone adapter being plugged into a wall jack and not directly to our base phone. My other service was plugged in the exact same way without issues for over 5 years.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (3)

Number 24 : JUL 3rd, 2009 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I'm a first time user of VOIP... In March 09, switched from traditional Verizon line to Phone Power.. From the day I started using Phone Power, I've had nothing but sound quality problems with very poor reliability. I had to make weekly resets to the device they provided otherwise I would have no connectivity.. I was finding myself constantly chatting with tech support to resolve numerous issues.. Finally had enough and on 7/2/09 I switiched back to Verizon... I know I will pay more, but I've had it with VoIP...and Phone Power's service. If you don't mind constant chats with their tech support, poor sound quality and unreliable service...they have the best bargain in town.. go for it.. It's just not for me...

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 23 : JUN 17th, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I had ATT Callvantage and loved it. I was disappointed when they informed me that they were discontinuing the service. I took a leap of faith with Phone Power and paid in advance for 2 years which is so cheap that I expected problems (199.00). After about 10 days I hooked up the adapter, waited about 5 mins and I was all set! No problems no set up. 2 months prior I set my mother in law up with Vonage, and now I see a lot more of her than I would like, LOTS of issues. Phone Power ROCKS!!!

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (3)

Number 22 : APR 14th, 2009 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I was very happy with Phone Power until I had to rely on their support. I have been without phone service for 11 days now, and it isn't clear when I'll be back up. I suspect it will be when I change providers. First off, a little about me. I was a Cisco Certified Network Associate. I am now an IT manager for among other things a large VoIP network. I do know a little about how VoIP works, how to troubleshoot, and how to support IT. Phone Power's poor support isn't due to the lack of cooperation or an inability to troubleshoot on my part. The problem began when my VoIP adapter stopped giving dial tone after 6 months of working fine. Despite my claims that nothing had changed with my router or DSL modem and I still had internet connectivity for everything else, 5 days were spent troubleshooting my network before PhonePower support decided that my adapter was the reason I had no dial tone. I was able to tell them that I had internet connectivity for everything else. I patiently did everything they asked, even when they claimed that reason I didn't have dial tone was because my adapter was plugged into a UPS instead of a wall outlet. I even removed my router and plugged my adapter directly in the DSL modem, with the appropriate configuration changes made to account for the lack of a router. I did everything that I learned in over 15 years of network troubleshooting to determine that my problem was with the VoIP adapter. Once Phone Power determined that the adapter needed to be replaced, they sent me a new one via UPS Ground. Five more days without phone service. Yesterday I connected my new device and as I expected, I had dial tone. But when I try to call out I get a fast busy. I do have connectivity to the Internet from my adapter, and my router and DSL modem are configured properly. Knowing what questions PhonePower support would ask, I did all the diagnostics requested previously and prepared an email complete with screen captures of my adapter and router configurations. I verified that my router was configured as they had requested during previous troubleshooting. I then sent this email to Phone Power support. Email is the only way I can get support since I don't have cell service at home. When I got up this morning I expected to have phone service since i had provided all the required troubleshooting info, and allowed PhonePower support to access my device for further troubleshooting. Instead I found a reply to my email, with my original info attached at the bottom, requesting the information that was included in my previous message. It looks like the support tech didn't even read the message. What is really disconcerting is that the support problems seem to be systemic. I have worked with many of their techs over the past 11 days and they all seem equally bad at resolving my problem. I would stay away from Phone Power.

Comment on this review >>


Phone Power Review

Overall rating (2)

Number 21 : APR 7th, 2009 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I purchased a 1 year 'contract' with Phone Power and had quality issues right away. I called to cancel but was convinced by their customer support to work with their tech support to resolve my issues. After a few weeks and countless calls to tech support, I still had bad phone call quality and I also had to reset the system regularly. Tech support informed me that the problem was on my end (of course not theirs) and recommended that I get a new DSL modem ($60). I again called to cancel but was informed that I would receive absolutely no refund because my 30 trial was up (by 2 days). I've written letters and called the company but they won't budge. So if you want to pay for crappy phone calls and bad customer relations go with Phone Power. I would not sign up for their year of service unless you are sure you are ready to be locked in to their service.

Comment on this review >>


  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 24 of 26
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 3.9

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews
  • Simple pay per call option
  • No setup or activation fees
  • No long term contract
  • Plans start at $0 between members
Free Options 4.3

Read Reviews