HughesNet Reviews - Page 3 of 9

HughesNet

86

User Reviews

2/5

Average Rating

13%

Recommended

Total:

86

5-Star:

3

4-Star:

6

3-Star:

10

2-Star:

41

1-Star:

26

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, resources, and Q&A >>


User Reviews (Page 3 of 9)

HughesNet reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1.9)

Number 66 : NOV 1st, 2017 : (WA)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

This was a worthless service. It was something I set up when doing satellite TV service, but this was so slow I had to use my cell phone data most of the time. It wouldn't stream Netflix or services requiring Internet off my TV because it was so slow. I put up with it for a year because they make you sign a 2 year contract. I sold my home and had to cancel and they are billing me like $350 and say if I don't get on my roof to get their tiny radio they put up there that they will bill me another $300. Worst customer service and service all together that I've ever experienced. I was constantly being put on hold and it was all on their end, not because I asked them any questions that they couldn't answer.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1)

Number 65 : OCT 27th, 2017 : (UT)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Our Gen5 is not faster than our prior Gen4 at all. During the install the installer damaged our home. Hughesnet has yet to resolve the problem we had with the installer and its been way over a month. They are not even trying, they never call when they say they will. Trying to deal with the CS has proven to be impossible. I have spent over 40 hours trying to get the damages the installer did to our place addressed and trying to get our service working right and after its all said and done we are no further along than the day we made the mistake to go with them. One iPad slows the Internet to a crawl and forget it if my wife and I are both on with our iPads, they just spin. I am sick and tired of these company's that you can never reach anyone in the states. I would never refer anyone to Hughesnet. One star is too much

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2)

Number 64 : OCT 3rd, 2017 : (CA)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Very bad service! Speeds are only 2Mbbs and I pay 65 dollars per month. My cellphone speed is faster than this service. Worst waste of money, for two year contract.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (4.9)

Number 63 : SEP 23rd, 2017 : (MO)

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I had Excede for 3+ years. It was better than nothing but I never got the 12Mbps speed I was promised. It was often so slow my computer would say there was no internet available. I reluctantly decided to switch to Hughesnet. The prices were similar and I had to sign up for a new 2 year contract. The difference is I am promised 25Mbps and I rarely get less than that. The installer said the difference is the new Gen 5 service offered by HughesNet. I have had it less than a month at this point, but the service, speed, and reliability is far superior to Excede.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.7)

Number 62 : SEP 14th, 2017 : (ON)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Worst company ever! Once they get your credit card number they bill what they want and you have to fight to have it removed! Avoid them at all costs. Easier to deal with a gangster. Awful, awful experience.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1)

Number 61 : SEP 7th, 2017 : (VA)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Terrible service, Internet constantly drops, and speeds well below advertised. Customer service is rude and clueless. Total waste of time talking to them. Going to cancel and dispute charges on my credit card.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1.6)

Number 60 : AUG 22nd, 2017 : (AZ)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Don't even try it. BEWARE the worst all around Internet service. Customer service is so bad they have kids maybe 18 years old in the Philippines answering your call. Try someone else, you will not be happy with this. Stay far far away!

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1.4)

Number 59 : JUL 21st, 2017 : (GA)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Single worst consumer product I have ever paid for. Worst excuse ever for customer service. Absolutely absurd concept of product and service.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1.9)

Number 58 : JUL 21st, 2017 : (NY)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I had to cancel my service and am being charged a penalty, this despite HughesNet wholly misrepresenting the service, its use to me and its eventual actual cost. I explained to the agent when first exploring whether or not to sign: 1. I work from home and am on Internet most of every day. 2. I have a Netgear Orbi system which uses 2 routers. 3. I stream music up to my stereo on another floor using an Apple Airport Express. 4. I have a 4K TV and stream in high resolution. My question to him, therefore, was, would the 20GB plan be sufficient? Here is what he told me: 1. 20GB will be sufficient for my needs. The Internet will be fine and with 25 Mbps, it is far faster than a DSL service. Not true. 20GB lasts 4-5 days only and then HughesNet slows the speed to the point where it takes up to 30 seconds to load a simple web page. This might be called a denial of service. I would have to more than triple my expense to get coverage for the month. 2. Orbi will be fine. Not true. Their tech support is saying they think the Orbi is eating data and is not compatible with the system. I should use the WiFi on the HughesNet router. 3. If I cannot use the Orbi, I cannot stream music. I work in the music field and this is not an option. 4. He should have told me what their technical support has now told me: that high resolution streams use up 3GB per hour and I will not be able to use high resolution on my TV bought for this purpose. There are one of 2 possible explanations: 1. The sales person misrepresented the service and was wrong about all the key data. 2. The company itself is involved in a bait and switch and has its sales persons say whatever they have to to make the sale. I have now called on 9 occasions, spent nearly 5 hours on the phone, been promised 3 calls back that never came. Yet, to my surprise, one of their agents told me my story was not believed. Avoid!

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1.1)

Number 57 : JUL 3rd, 2017 : (MI)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Internet company called today to tell me they needed to reschedule me for hook up. So I told the guy not to reschedule until I talked to the company (HughesNet). Called customer service told them to cancel my install. I said we're not even hooked up yet and I'm already getting bad service. Your guy calls 2 hours before he's to be here and tells me he can't do it today. What's it going to be like after I spent my money and have problems with your Internet service. He asked what they could do to make it right, I said cancel the contract, not going to risk going with a company that provides this type of service right out of the gate.

Comment on this review >>


  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 3 of 9
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Home VoIP Phone Service Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews