HughesNet Reviews - Page 2 of 9

HughesNet

86

User Reviews

2/5

Average Rating

13%

Recommended

Total:

86

5-Star:

3

4-Star:

6

3-Star:

10

2-Star:

41

1-Star:

26

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, resources, and Q&A >>


User Reviews (Page 2 of 9)

HughesNet reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1.6)

Number 76 : OCT 12th, 2018 : (NV)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Whatever, whatever you do, do not subscribe to HughesNet! Let me tell you about my experience, which I'm seeing repeated all over the Internet. I thought I would subscribe because they were new to my neighborhood and I would save a little money. I specifically asked if I would be able to stream movies and videos and was told absolutely yes, and so went ahead with the install and lengthy service contract. Well, the install tech was friendly enough, but when we went to try it out, it buffered my movies considerably. I asked about that and was told "you just have to wait for it to download it for a minute". Well, I stupidly let it go, and alone, I continued to try to watch my movies. I timed it and it buffered every 15 seconds. Even my tablet would buffer trying to download videos and music. I ended up calling their technical service 3 times within the first few days. Every time, I would get an overseas operator who would test and fiddle with something on their end, and then tell me to go to their website and change some settings. Nothing worked, not a whit. I told them I wanted to cancel after just those few days and was told there was a cancellation fee of $400 for the first 2 years. I guess I knew that but thought I would never need to do that when I signed up. Well, here's what I did. I knew their monthly charge would be coming up soon, so I went to my bank and changed some banking information and had them blocked. Haha on them! Soon I got past due notices, and then more threatening letters. Ultimately I got a box asking for a return for all of their equipment. They even wanted me to go up to the roof and retrieve their transmitter! Heck if I was going to do that. I even read a review where they were asking an 80 year-old man to do the same. Well, today I am going to UPS to mail their box with just what I was able to throw in it. I hope that's the end of this mess!

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (4.1)

Number 75 : AUG 10th, 2018 : (VA)

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

When you live in the country, there are very few options. The only Internet choices we have are Dial-Up, Cellular LTE, or Satellite. Everybody knows Dial-Up isn't a usable option. Cellular LTE used to work, but Verizon keeps doing things that reduce the signal strength at our house. Anybody who thinks HughesNet customer service is bad should try dealing with Verizon. The HughesNet satellite antenna is much larger than the outside "cantenna" for Verizon LTE. Some may find that a serious drawback. When Verizon told us they could not fix our Internet, that left satellite Internet service as the only remaining option available in our area. There are only two providers for satellite internet, and HughesNet has been around for many years. The other company comes out with a completely new name and ad campaign every few years. Stability is a sign of good management, and the advertised service plans were not that much different, so we decided to go with the HughesNet Gen5 system. Ordering the service on-line was simple and straightforward. They scheduled our installation, and let us pick a day and service window. We received email confirmation of the new account and the installation. The service company that installed the dish and system was a third-party local company. Their communication was excellent. Their technician was very knowledgeable and professional. Installation and set-up was fast. The Internet speed was up and down for the first four weeks but has always been much better than the best speed we ever saw with Verizon LTE (even before we became a low cell signal area). Some of the thunderstorms that interrupt our satellite TV signal, often do not interrupt our Internet signal. Large thunderstorms do interrupt both TV and Internet.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1)

Number 74 : JUN 19th, 2018 : (TN)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I had HughesNet for over four years and its the worse Internet service by far out there. I had purchased their most expensive package and it was literally worthless. I had no other provider to service our area which is sad because I am a disabled Veteran and attended school online and most of the time you can't watch a video without buying there coins. I paid between 400-500 hundred dollars a month, EVERY month. Every time I called customer service with an issue they had very well speaking foreigners in their customer service department, and one admitted to me that they are a (sub-company) from the Philippians and no supervisor are available (ever!) as they have none. They will lie to you about fixing your problem and telling you it will be reconnected in 1 hour just to get you off the phone and then it will take up to 24 hours to reconnect. My service was disconnected for two days and I live in Tennessee and the customer service rep told me it was because of the storms at there main satellite station in New Mexico. The next day it still didn't work and a different customer service rep told me it was because I had the Gen 4 router and they had upgraded their system to gen 5. A couple days later I hooked up Gen 5 and decided I didn't want service no more so I called and cancelled my service. HughesNet kept my service on for 30 days past the day I cancelled it and CHARGED ME FOR A MONTH when the equipment was disconnected. They admitted to this and said its because their billing cycle stops on the 10th of the month and I called on the 11th. They also charged me $100.00 disconnect fee and said I broke my contract. My contract was for two years and I paid them between 400-500 per month for four years. They stated since I got the upgrade Gen 5 router I renewed my contract! THIS IS A LIE! They sent me the new router and stated that my Internet wasn't working because I had an outdated router, never mentioning renewing any contract. Finally I told this company not to auto pay the bill because I was disputing it and they already had my credit card on file. I called my credit card company and blocked them . The next day they accessed my account from a bank account number and routing number they had on file and took the whole amount out. I disputed the payment with my bank and they reversed the charge. I am now going to small claims court to see what a judge in our court system has to say and owe. Please read these reviews and know this company is a scam to its customers. PLEASE get some competition out there so people will have a choice when they need to have an Internet service and are being treated unfairly. See you in court HughesNet - a dissatisfied disabled loyal customer of 4 years that you are scamming!

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1.9)

Number 73 : MAY 15th, 2018 : (TX)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Slow streaming, voice phone service was terrible. We called four times trying to get the phone service fixed. In bad weather we had no TV or phone service.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1)

Number 72 : MAR 13th, 2018 : (CA)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

The only thing worse than Hughesnet's Internet service is their customer service. For months we upgraded our package and NEVER received the bandwidth that we paid for. Customer service had HUNG UP on us more than once. Stated that an Internet provider doesn't have the ability to send an email (they must use their own service), and blamed our equipment as the reason our service was sub-par (four laptops, three tablets, three smart phones were all defective apparently). After paying over $170 per month for service that was slower than my cell data 4G connection, Hughesnet wanted to charge us anywhere between $300-$600 to terminate their service, the amount changed with every service rep we spoke too. While trying to end our service, one rep informed us that we could not cancel service without their tech validating out complaint about the service and that we would be required to continue to pay for their service if their system said it was functioning correctly. Stay away, do not waste your money or time with this provider.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1)

Number 71 : JAN 21st, 2018 : (MT)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I am an 80 year old widow living alone and I rely on my phone and Internet service to keep in touch with the world. I recently made a move to a larger city and thought I could get better service with HughesNet. More fool me! In one recent 10 day period the service failed at least 5 times from 24 to 48 hours. Tried everything I could think of to get help from them. However they just left me hanging more than once. I finally gave up and found another carrier then cancelled them. Whoa, shortly thereafter, there was a charge to my credit card of $526.00! I spent many hours trying to get a paper copy of the charges. Just moments ago I was advised that since I was on auto billing they do not nor will they provide what I asked for. I never authorized auto billing, ever. What to do. Oh, I know. Contact my attorney. Please if you are even thinking of going with them read the other reviews here. I sure wish I had.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.6)

Number 70 : JAN 15th, 2018 : (TX)

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

The dish was originally installed by Dish which is a good but not inexpensive provider. My dish is TV dish. High winds have blown the Internet dish 90 degrees from south. I have called and been on hold multiple times without ever getting anyone to answer. I suppose I will borrow a ladder and get on the roof to turn and tighten the dish myself.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1.6)

Number 69 : JAN 3rd, 2018 : (KY)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

HORRIBLE service, pricing, and customer service. All around the worst I've seen. Any time there is an issue and I have to call, they leave you on hold at minimum a half an hour. When they finally answer they transfer you a few times. Finally when the last person responds and they're too incompetent to solve it they hang up....EVERY SINGLE TIME! My data was gone within the first week each month even though I wasn't using it. They recommended I upgrade to GEN4 so I could get a new box and they said they'd send someone out to change the line. I agreed. No one came to fix it. Data is still used up within the first week (I went from 5 GB to 20 GB). They charged me an extra $29 for the upgrade. Bill is now $100 a month. Internet freezes, can't check email...NOTHING! Called customer service and they threatened to charge my account $400 if I cancel the contract. These are nothing less than a bunch of crooks!

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1)

Number 68 : DEC 15th, 2017 : (MI)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

They did not give me what I asked for then when I told them to cancel service they took 400 dollars out of my bank without my permission. They stole my money.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1)

Number 67 : NOV 3rd, 2017 : (UT)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I have never been treated so poorly by a company in all my life. The Hughesnet installer came out and didn't put any booties on his feet and tracked dirt and rock all over my house and rugs. The installer left our home a mess. The installer did not install our dish properly, drilled extra holes that were not needed in my porch. Did something to my dish network TV service that hasn't worked right since the install and they have done nothing. They have not got anything resolved since the install which was quite sometime ago. I have over 40 hours invested in this and they have still have not done anything to get things resolved. All they do is connect me to people overseas that can do nothing and that I can't understand. I would never in my wildest dreams refer anybody to this Internet provider. Their customer service stinks, their installer that did the damage to my home stinks. All I do is have people that make empty promises and don't deliver on any of them. I do not know what to do. Can anyone help. The dealer doesn't return our calls. Nobody has done anything but yet we still pay for dish network TV satellite service that has been messed up by this install for an Internet and our use that isn't working like it should do. iPads freeze the system up and do not move it any faster than a snails pace. Does anybody else have any idea of how I can get this resolved? And the sad part is is the Internet provider has tried on multiple occasions with me on the line to get a hold of the dealer and the dealer doesn't respond to their phone calls either and it says that their voicemails not taking anymore call's. I couldn't refer this company to anybody, it's been a joke.

Comment on this review >>


  • Previous Page
  • Page 2 of 9
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Home VoIP Phone Service Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews