HughesNet Internet Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for HughesNet Internet service.

Service Provider Average Rating Write a Review
HughesNet (2.1)
62 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to reviews and Q&A sections.

Take me straight to the 62 User submitted reviews >>

WhichVoIP.com HughesNet Review

HughesNet is a satellite based Internet service supporting the North American market, and has over 40 years experience in this field. Its service typically appeals most to those in rural areas who do not have access to DSL and Cable Internet service.

The satellites themselves are in geosynchronous orbit, approximately 22,000 miles above sea level. HughesNet has invested over one billion dollars in its technology. The current technology used is referred to as HughesNet Gen4 which is the fourth generation version of its Internet service, promising higher speeds and better overall performance.

For additional background information on satellite service we recommend you read our article on VoIP over satellite service.

The Good

A recent study indicated that as few as 24% of Americans in rural areas have Internet access at home. The main reason for this is because DSL and Cable companies typically do not service areas outside the cities and suburbs. For those residents, satellite Internet may be the perfect choice and indeed the only choice for access to the Web. HughesNet is one of the top companies in this space.

Pricing is structured based on a fair access policy for data allowance, which creates multiple tiers of service. This means the customer can pick the plan most suited to its households needs for Internet data. The actual pricing tiers start as low as $49.99 per month, which is high compared to DSL and Cable, but actually fairly reasonable for this smaller market segment. For this lower end plan, speeds are actually reasonable, at 5 Mb/s downlink and 1 Mb/s uplink, certainly enough to stream movies. Just keep an eye on data allowance, which is 5GB for this plan per month. What is 5GB of data allowance? Well this is five GigaBytes of data which is equivalent to sending 1500 photos or downloading 1200 songs or streaming 7 hours of movies (standard definition) with Netflix or the likes, in a given month. One thing we like about this is that no charge is made when you hit your data allowance, instead your speeds drop significantly (to 150Kb/s) so at least there are no surprises at the end of a month with your bills.

It also provides bonus data for each plan. This is essentially bonus data you get each month for off-peak times. Off-peak times for residential customers are between 2am and 8am. The key element to note from the discussions on data allowances is to check your status meter so you know where you are at any given time, regarding your data usage.

HughesNet also offers some really good special deals on its website for new customers, ranging from $100 off to free installation and price cuts for the first 3 months of service.

The Bad

Installation involves placing a satellite dish on your roof and two 100ft coaxial cables to the modem inside your home. The actual equipment must be purchased, or leased each month. You also must have a clear view of the Southern skies for the system to work properly.

There tends to be a minimum contract length for service, which at this time of writing is a 24 month term.

The data allowance is a major factor to consider for this service. This was discussed above and it is good that no additional charges occur should you go over your allowance, but it is unfortunate that any unused data does not rollover at the end of each month. At the end of each month the data allowance simply resets.

If you need to use VPN, for example to access files at your place of work, you may end up being frustrated. VPN is an encrypted connection and this could really scale back the speeds you see from your Internet service. In fact you may see up to a 70% reduction in effective speeds. Also, do not expect any support from HughesNet when troubleshooting VPN connections.

No static IPs are available for residential service. This is usually not a big concern but can be if you rely on remotely controlling home security systems, lights, thermostats and the likes. Often such systems require static IP addresses rather than dynamic.

Finally, a note regarding VoIP phone service. VoIP does not work very well over satellite Internet service. For a more complete discussion read the article highlighted at the top of this review. Essentially, the latency due to the distance to the satellite, causes problems with the quality of the VoIP calls. HughesNet has an optimized service for VoIP that apparently can work quite well but third party VoIP service will be problematic. The issue here is that the HughesNet voice service is very expensive compared to the VoIP companies you will find on this website.

The Bottom Line

  • Connect Plan: $49.99/month. 5Mb/s downlink, 1Mb/s uplink. 5GB data, 5GB bonus data (2am through 8am). Special for $39.99 for first 3 months.
  • Power Plan: $59.99/month. 10Mb/s downlink, 1Mb/s uplink. 10GB data, 10GB bonus data.
  • Power Pro Plan: $79.99/month. 10Mb/s downlink, 2Mb/s uplink. 15GB data, 15GB bonus data.
  • Power Max Plan: $129.99/month. 15Mb/s downlink, 2Mb/s uplink. 20GB data, 20GB bonus data.
  • HughesNet Voice: $29.99/month (additional packages for International minute bundles).
  • Equipment Lease: $9.99/month typically.
  • Business plans with similar tiers. No pricing available, contact for quotes.

Overall Thoughts

HughesNet is a great option for those living in rural areas, where there are no DSL or Cable companies providing Internet service.

Pricing is reasonable for the lower level tiers but just be aware of the data allowances for each plan, and try to keep inside it or speeds will drop significantly.

A VoIP phone plan is available but read our article on VoIP over satellite referenced at the top of this review before jumping in.


HughesNet Overview

With almost 40 reviews submittted by users of the Hughesnet Satellite Internet service since 2007 there is a good selection and sample size to help potential customers. Overall, the average user rating is "Poor" with a lower than 10% recommended score. Many reviews cite high termination fees, slow or throttled speeds, and customer service as the main issues. Have your say and write a review today!

...I have no complaints about the productivity and connection of Hughesnet. My beef is with the customer service and billing....

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 7)

Total Number 62 1
Thumbs Up 7 5
Thumbs Down 55 9
Average Rating 2.1 33
More Providers 14

HughesNet reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (2.7)

#62 : SEP 14th, 2017 : (ON)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Worst company ever! Once they get your credit card number they bill what they want and you have to fight to have it removed! Avoid them at all costs. Easier to deal with a gangster. Awful, awful experience.

Overall rating (1)

#61 : SEP 7th, 2017 : (VA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Terrible service, Internet constantly drops, and speeds well below advertised. Customer service is rude and clueless. Total waste of time talking to them. Going to cancel and dispute charges on my credit card.

Overall rating (1.6)

#60 : AUG 22nd, 2017 : (AZ)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Don't even try it. BEWARE the worst all around Internet service. Customer service is so bad they have kids maybe 18 years old in the Philippines answering your call. Try someone else, you will not be happy with this. Stay far far away!

Overall rating (1.4)

#59 : JUL 21st, 2017 : (GA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Single worst consumer product I have ever paid for. Worst excuse ever for customer service. Absolutely absurd concept of product and service.

Overall rating (1.9)

#58 : JUL 21st, 2017 : (NY)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I had to cancel my service and am being charged a penalty, this despite HughesNet wholly misrepresenting the service, its use to me and its eventual actual cost. I explained to the agent when first exploring whether or not to sign: 1. I work from home and am on Internet most of every day. 2. I have a Netgear Orbi system which uses 2 routers. 3. I stream music up to my stereo on another floor using an Apple Airport Express. 4. I have a 4K TV and stream in high resolution. My question to him, therefore, was, would the 20GB plan be sufficient? Here is what he told me: 1. 20GB will be sufficient for my needs. The Internet will be fine and with 25 Mbps, it is far faster than a DSL service. Not true. 20GB lasts 4-5 days only and then HughesNet slows the speed to the point where it takes up to 30 seconds to load a simple web page. This might be called a denial of service. I would have to more than triple my expense to get coverage for the month. 2. Orbi will be fine. Not true. Their tech support is saying they think the Orbi is eating data and is not compatible with the system. I should use the WiFi on the HughesNet router. 3. If I cannot use the Orbi, I cannot stream music. I work in the music field and this is not an option. 4. He should have told me what their technical support has now told me: that high resolution streams use up 3GB per hour and I will not be able to use high resolution on my TV bought for this purpose. There are one of 2 possible explanations: 1. The sales person misrepresented the service and was wrong about all the key data. 2. The company itself is involved in a bait and switch and has its sales persons say whatever they have to to make the sale. I have now called on 9 occasions, spent nearly 5 hours on the phone, been promised 3 calls back that never came. Yet, to my surprise, one of their agents told me my story was not believed. Avoid!

Overall rating (1.1)

#57 : JUL 3rd, 2017 : (MI)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Internet company called today to tell me they needed to reschedule me for hook up. So I told the guy not to reschedule until I talked to the company (HughesNet). Called customer service told them to cancel my install. I said we're not even hooked up yet and I'm already getting bad service. Your guy calls 2 hours before he's to be here and tells me he can't do it today. What's it going to be like after I spent my money and have problems with your Internet service. He asked what they could do to make it right, I said cancel the contract, not going to risk going with a company that provides this type of service right out of the gate.

Overall rating (3.3)

#56 : JUN 26th, 2017 : (MI)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

At the time of the agreement to get the service I was lied to in so many ways. The sales person LIED AND THEN LIED AGAIN. They stated that if I set up a Hughesnet account that billing by credit card would one time and that I could change over to mail in payments because I am on social security and only receive one check a month and is not always the same date. They would send me a paper bill and that I would have 10 days to pay which is what I wanted and there would be no automatic payments from my account and there would be NO EXTRA FEES TO PAY BY MAIL AND IT WOULD BE SET UP FOR THE 29TH OF THE MONTH. First month there was a payment taken on the 19th and upon calling customer service they informed me that there would be a $5.00 fee for payment by check. I was very specific there would be NO EXTRA FEES JUST THE SERVICE AND TAX and was told that it would happen. LIES, LIES, LIES! Their sales people will tell you anything to make the sale.

Overall rating (1.9)

#55 : MAY 22nd, 2017 : (AZ)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

We started with Gen4, and we were advised that it would be no problem for streaming one program. Updated to Gen5, added 2GB, still same problem. Felt like I was misled in order to sign up for their services. I would not recommend them.

Overall rating (2.1)

#54 : MAY 16th, 2017 : (FL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

They suck. Lies, lies and more lies. I REFUSE to pay another dime, I will NOT pay another payment to these lousy SOB's. I have service that is WORSE than 1990 when I was on a modem. Go ahead and report me to the credit bureau. I have already filed a complaint with the BBB and my Congressman about your lies and fraudulent claims about high speed service. Hey, once again, you won't get another dime from me, come get this crap out of my yard and house. Or wait a few days and you can find it next to the county road waiting to go to the land fill!

Overall rating (3.4)

#53 : APR 12th, 2017 : (MT)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

A little background: We had HughesNet for many years when it first came out. It pretty much sucked but we had no other choice. We then switched to DishNet and it sucked too, but it was cheaper when bundled with TV. Through the years I kept checking the satellite providers to see about updates, better service etc. The HughesNet phone service caught my attention because we are currently using a satellite phone and it is horrible and expensive. So we took the plunge and had Gen 5 installed last Saturday. I'm pretty happy so far. We did not get the HughesNet phone service but don't need it because we use the wi-fi calling feature on our IPhone and for the first time in many years we can make and receive calls without a horrible lag, dropped call or static. The Internet is much faster (as satellite Internet goes). Time will tell if they deliver consistently. This is the best we've had for the past 10 years.

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 7
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

Reviews Summary

Total Number 62 1
Thumbs Up 7 5
Thumbs Down 55 9
Average Rating 2.1 33
More Providers 14

Reduce Your Phone Bill

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
  • SHARE: