BasicTalk Reviews - Page 7 of 8

3.1/5

Average Rating

53%

Recommended

Total:

76

5-Star:

19

4-Star:

14

3-Star:

12

2-Star:

19

1-Star:

12

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>


User Reviews (Page 7 of 8)

BasicTalk reviews are listed in chronological order.

Poor quality calling

Overall rating (2.4)

Number 16 : FEB 25th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Choppy audio - the voice of one or all parties cuts out or sounds like static. Dropped audio - sound disappears for seconds at a time (or longer), in one direction or both. Delayed audio - one-way or one or all parties cannot hear the other party at all.

Comment on this review >>


Doesn't work

Overall rating (1.6)

Number 15 : FEB 23rd, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

It took a really LONG time to set up. I was transferring my number and it took many weeks to finally do that. During that time nobody could call me. Then it worked pretty good for a couple of weeks BUT now every single person I talk with says there is so much static and they say I cut out repeatedly... and for long periods of time to the point they hang up thinking the call was dropped. It is UNUSABLE. I am going to have to get another service that actually works. And PS: don't even bother with magic jack either.

Comment on this review >>


Don't work

Overall rating (1.6)

Number 14 : FEB 21st, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

My service took two days to set up because I wanted to keep my old number. After setup my phone worked for one two minute call and that was it. Customer service sends you an email to fix the problem that don't work and when you email them back you don't here back from them for more than a day. My service did not get fixed in three days and then it was Friday and their customer service does not work on the weekend. I would recommend getting wood for smoke signals before recommending BasicTalk. Smoke signals work better.

Comment on this review >>


BasicTalk doesn't work

Overall rating (1.6)

Number 13 : JAN 29th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

VoIP by BasicTalk stopped working without warning after a few weeks; friends who called us later called my mobile to ask why my home phone is disconnected - we were embarrassed as in for non payment of home phone bill. Tried to dial out and had a dial tone on BasicTalk but get a busy signal on all calls - never connects. No human voice tech support; web FAQs don't help; Live chat was very slow and didn't fix it. Do not buy BasicTalk. Walmart should be embarrassed to be associated with BasicTalk. I got better service from Vonage and now must return the BasicTalk and find another provider that does work. Good thing I kept my Vonage business line and didn't switch that one. Also BasicTalk conveniently ignores the fact that you cannot forward your calls when away. Don't buy BasicTalk.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Robert (Feb 9th, 2014) : Basic Talk was fair for 3 months then adapter failed. Three weeks finding out how to get replacement and then received a re-built adapter. It lasted two days and then went off. Junk equipment.

Comment on this review >>


Pretty good

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 12 : JAN 4th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

We have been using BasicTalk for nearly 4 months. We don't need a lot of sophisticated features. Before we switched to BasicTalk from Frontier's phone service, we didn't even have call display. For our 15/5 Fios, the Voip service through BasicTalk is pretty good for our needs. We have not experienced any issues so far. Although customer service is not available via telephone, you can reach them via chat or email. Which is ok. The online billing panel is nice. This is our first Voip service and so far we like it. Especially the savings we get over Frontier...

Comment on this review >>


What's There Not to Like

Overall rating (5)

Number 11 : DEC 4th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Purchased the BasicTalk "black box" from local store for about $10. Set up online with no difficulties. Probably took 15 minutes to set up service, set up 911 and instructions to port my old home phone number to BasicTalk service. Within about 3 business days my old number became active on BasicTalk. Sound quality is fine as are the features. So far its a win-win with price and reliability. No complaints.

Comment on this review >>


BasicTalk, try another

Overall rating (2)

Number 10 : DEC 3rd, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Easy setup and works mostly, but on almost every call the other side keeps complaining that I am dropping out. It also constantly misses touch tones. It has become such a bother that I must switch soon.

Comment on this review >>


Good price, poor quality and poor customer service

Overall rating (2.4)

Number 9 : NOV 25th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I set up my BasicTalk 11/12/13. I had some initial issues and finding the customer service Chat was not user friendly. Once I had it set up the sound is crackly and people I call tell me my voice keeps cutting out. This I can live with for the low price of $11.62 a month compared to Comcast of approx 30.00 a month without long distance. But after using the service for less than 2 weeks it no longer lets me call the number I use the most. At first I just thought my mom wasn't answering her phone and had turned off her ringer. It turns out when I call from the BasicTalk it doesn't ring on her end at all. The last couple of days when I try to call her from the BasicTalk I get a message that says the number can not be reached at this time. It also gave me a 1-800 number to call but upon calling it Time Warner Telecom said they have never heard of BasicTalk and that my phone number is not serviced by TWT and to call my phone provider.

BasicTalk says it is unlimited use in the US but there is also some small print called Reasonable Useage Policy: A customer's total usage is unusual if (a) two or more of the following occur in consecutive months, or (b) it exceeds 3000 minutes per month IN COMBINATION with one or more of the following, excessive:
- unique numbers called
- call lengths
- call forwarding/transferring
- conference calling
- short duration calls
- number of calls made during a month
- number of calls made to a conference calling service during a month
- number of calls made during business hours
- number of calls terminated and re-initiated consecutively, which, in the aggregate, result in excessive call lengths during a specific time frame; or
- other abnormal calling patterns indicative of an attempt to evade enforcement of this Reasonable Use Policy.

If a combination of these factors occurs, BasicTalk may determine that abnormal, unreasonable or usage that is not allowed is occurring, and may take action, including, but not limited to, immediate suspension of your BasicTalk service.

So apparently me calling my Mom a few times a day is not Reasonable Useage and I have been suspended from calling her number. I have an email into BasicTalk but still have not received a response.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Steve (Aug 6th, 2014) : I think you will find that most (if not all) "unlimited" services have similar restrictions on call usage. These are personal systems, not to be used for business, and this is their way of controlling business usage.

JA (Oct 6th, 2014) : It's not at all unusual for (adult) children to call elderly and/or unwell parents multiple times a day to check on them. They may need to call and remind forgetful parents to take their medications, or to encourage them to eat or drink enough fluids. Parents with sick kids may need to call their MD or clinic every few hours with a report on the child's temperature, so the child can be kept home if at all possible, but be hospitalized promptly if needed. What business is it of the phone company to decide how many calls are too many?

Comment on this review >>


Can't Beat The Price

Overall rating (4.4)

Number 8 : NOV 23rd, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Found BasicTalk at Walmart. Didn't buy it there, I wanted to check the comments online. Decided that a $55/month Verizon service (I had to keep my DSL to get my service that cheaply,) was worth a try for $9.99/month. Did everything on the Internet. My number was transferred very fast, the set up was easy and the quality is excellent. I had BasicTalk estimate my total cost (including taxes) and it's $12.05/month. No hidden charges, everything up front. Yesterday I sent a fax over the line - no problem. Can even call Canada and Puerto Rico. Needless to say I am delighted with BasicTalk; everything I need, nothing I don't need.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Jewels (Jan 29th, 2014) : You said you could send a fax, can you accept a fax. I'm worried that the reception might not be good in my area.

Steve (Mar 12th, 2014) : Haven't tried to receive a fax. Don't get much incoming, so I can't comment on fax reception.

John (Mar 27th, 2014) : I RETURNED THEIR PHONE UNUSED - IT DID NOT FIT MY COMPUTER. A MONTH LATER THEY HIT MY CREDIT CARD AND WILL NOT RETURN THE MONEY THEY STOLE FROM MY CREDIT CARD WITHOUT MY PERMISSION. REAL UNPROFESSIONAL. THEY WILL NOT RESPOND TO MY DAILY E-MAILS. I CALLED THEM AND GOT SOMEONE IN INDIA WHO PUT ME ON HOLD 3 TIMES WITH NO RESULTS.

Scott (Mar 28th, 2014) : HORRIBLE - That's the word to describe BasicTalk service and customer service. I have had nothing but problems and the call quality is horrible. Contacted them, said they would send me a new unit, due to mine being a repackaged used unit that was sold as new at Walmart. It's been over 2 months, never received the unit. In that 2 months, I have contacted them 3 time. Each time they said, they would have a unit sent within the week. Still Nothing. Each time I contacted them they also said they would credit my account for a month of service, NEVER received any credit. Call center is in a foreign country, so, getting someone to understand you or understanding the customer center rep is a complete joke. There's a reason why this service is so cheap. You get what you pay for. My suggestion, DONT BUY A BASICTALK PRODUCT!!

Comment on this review >>


CAN'T CALL OUT !!!

Overall rating (2.6)

Number 7 : NOV 18th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I hate to say I wouldn't recommend it since I haven't experienced full use of the service. I've cancelled my Verizon telephone service and I haven't been able to make an outgoing call today. I've chatted with Tech support and printed 3 help pages, and to no avail I still cannot make calls and have to wait 24 to 48 hrs before the escalation team hopefully resolves the issue. HAVING SECOND THOUGHTS... I here my mother saying "Get what you pay for" !!!

Comment on this review >>


  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 7 of 8
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.5

Read Reviews
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.5

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 3.9

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 3.9

Read Reviews