BasicTalk Reviews - Page 7 of 8

3.1/5

Average Rating

51%

Recommended

Total:

78

5-Star:

19

4-Star:

14

3-Star:

13

2-Star:

20

1-Star:

12

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>


User Reviews (Page 7 of 8)

BasicTalk reviews are listed in chronological order.

Very good value

Overall rating (4.2)

Number 18 : APR 6th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I have been using this service since January 2014 with no problems with the phone whatsoever. Calls are very clear on both ends. Cant say anything about customer service because I have not used it. Set up was simple, taking just minutes. So far I would highly recommend this product.

Comment on this review >>


Saving money with BasicTalk

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 17 : MAR 6th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I finally decided to get rid of ATT land line, the service was >$29 just to have the phone, before any usage. I had to use my cell to make long distance calls to keep the bill as low as possible. Now my bill is something like $14/month with unlimited calling in the US, so now I don't have to use my cell to call long distance anymore from home. I clipped the incoming phone wires at the junction box on the side of the house, and then plugged the basic talk box (about 3" by 4") cable into a wall jack. Then all of my existing land line phones were available for use thru the existing wall jacks in the house. In the 3 or so months of having the system, only once did I have to hang up and call again due to latency. The phone sounds to me and everyone I talk to just like the old ATT land line. I really can't say anything bad about the service. The only annoyance is that you can't block any numbers thru basic talk; I have to do that with my Panasonic phone system. A minor annoyance, but I wish basic talk allow this to be done thru their system. All in all it's a great service, which I would recommend to anyone.

Comment on this review >>


Poor quality calling

Overall rating (2.4)

Number 16 : FEB 25th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Choppy audio - the voice of one or all parties cuts out or sounds like static. Dropped audio - sound disappears for seconds at a time (or longer), in one direction or both. Delayed audio - one-way or one or all parties cannot hear the other party at all.

Comment on this review >>


Doesn't work

Overall rating (1.6)

Number 15 : FEB 23rd, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

It took a really LONG time to set up. I was transferring my number and it took many weeks to finally do that. During that time nobody could call me. Then it worked pretty good for a couple of weeks BUT now every single person I talk with says there is so much static and they say I cut out repeatedly... and for long periods of time to the point they hang up thinking the call was dropped. It is UNUSABLE. I am going to have to get another service that actually works. And PS: don't even bother with magic jack either.

Comment on this review >>


Don't work

Overall rating (1.6)

Number 14 : FEB 21st, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

My service took two days to set up because I wanted to keep my old number. After setup my phone worked for one two minute call and that was it. Customer service sends you an email to fix the problem that don't work and when you email them back you don't here back from them for more than a day. My service did not get fixed in three days and then it was Friday and their customer service does not work on the weekend. I would recommend getting wood for smoke signals before recommending BasicTalk. Smoke signals work better.

Comment on this review >>


BasicTalk doesn't work

Overall rating (1.6)

Number 13 : JAN 29th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

VoIP by BasicTalk stopped working without warning after a few weeks; friends who called us later called my mobile to ask why my home phone is disconnected - we were embarrassed as in for non payment of home phone bill. Tried to dial out and had a dial tone on BasicTalk but get a busy signal on all calls - never connects. No human voice tech support; web FAQs don't help; Live chat was very slow and didn't fix it. Do not buy BasicTalk. Walmart should be embarrassed to be associated with BasicTalk. I got better service from Vonage and now must return the BasicTalk and find another provider that does work. Good thing I kept my Vonage business line and didn't switch that one. Also BasicTalk conveniently ignores the fact that you cannot forward your calls when away. Don't buy BasicTalk.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Robert (Feb 9th, 2014) : Basic Talk was fair for 3 months then adapter failed. Three weeks finding out how to get replacement and then received a re-built adapter. It lasted two days and then went off. Junk equipment.

Comment on this review >>


Pretty good

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 12 : JAN 4th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

We have been using BasicTalk for nearly 4 months. We don't need a lot of sophisticated features. Before we switched to BasicTalk from Frontier's phone service, we didn't even have call display. For our 15/5 Fios, the Voip service through BasicTalk is pretty good for our needs. We have not experienced any issues so far. Although customer service is not available via telephone, you can reach them via chat or email. Which is ok. The online billing panel is nice. This is our first Voip service and so far we like it. Especially the savings we get over Frontier...

Comment on this review >>


What's There Not to Like

Overall rating (5)

Number 11 : DEC 4th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Purchased the BasicTalk "black box" from local store for about $10. Set up online with no difficulties. Probably took 15 minutes to set up service, set up 911 and instructions to port my old home phone number to BasicTalk service. Within about 3 business days my old number became active on BasicTalk. Sound quality is fine as are the features. So far its a win-win with price and reliability. No complaints.

Comment on this review >>


BasicTalk, try another

Overall rating (2)

Number 10 : DEC 3rd, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Easy setup and works mostly, but on almost every call the other side keeps complaining that I am dropping out. It also constantly misses touch tones. It has become such a bother that I must switch soon.

Comment on this review >>


Good price, poor quality and poor customer service

Overall rating (2.4)

Number 9 : NOV 25th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I set up my BasicTalk 11/12/13. I had some initial issues and finding the customer service Chat was not user friendly. Once I had it set up the sound is crackly and people I call tell me my voice keeps cutting out. This I can live with for the low price of $11.62 a month compared to Comcast of approx 30.00 a month without long distance. But after using the service for less than 2 weeks it no longer lets me call the number I use the most. At first I just thought my mom wasn't answering her phone and had turned off her ringer. It turns out when I call from the BasicTalk it doesn't ring on her end at all. The last couple of days when I try to call her from the BasicTalk I get a message that says the number can not be reached at this time. It also gave me a 1-800 number to call but upon calling it Time Warner Telecom said they have never heard of BasicTalk and that my phone number is not serviced by TWT and to call my phone provider.

BasicTalk says it is unlimited use in the US but there is also some small print called Reasonable Useage Policy: A customer's total usage is unusual if (a) two or more of the following occur in consecutive months, or (b) it exceeds 3000 minutes per month IN COMBINATION with one or more of the following, excessive:
- unique numbers called
- call lengths
- call forwarding/transferring
- conference calling
- short duration calls
- number of calls made during a month
- number of calls made to a conference calling service during a month
- number of calls made during business hours
- number of calls terminated and re-initiated consecutively, which, in the aggregate, result in excessive call lengths during a specific time frame; or
- other abnormal calling patterns indicative of an attempt to evade enforcement of this Reasonable Use Policy.

If a combination of these factors occurs, BasicTalk may determine that abnormal, unreasonable or usage that is not allowed is occurring, and may take action, including, but not limited to, immediate suspension of your BasicTalk service.

So apparently me calling my Mom a few times a day is not Reasonable Useage and I have been suspended from calling her number. I have an email into BasicTalk but still have not received a response.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Steve (Aug 6th, 2014) : I think you will find that most (if not all) "unlimited" services have similar restrictions on call usage. These are personal systems, not to be used for business, and this is their way of controlling business usage.

JA (Oct 6th, 2014) : It's not at all unusual for (adult) children to call elderly and/or unwell parents multiple times a day to check on them. They may need to call and remind forgetful parents to take their medications, or to encourage them to eat or drink enough fluids. Parents with sick kids may need to call their MD or clinic every few hours with a report on the child's temperature, so the child can be kept home if at all possible, but be hospitalized promptly if needed. What business is it of the phone company to decide how many calls are too many?

Comment on this review >>


  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 7 of 8
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.5

Read Reviews
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.5

Read Reviews
  • Special: $11.99/mo and no contracts!
  • Wireless home phone using LTE network
  • Unlimited nationwide calls, low int'l rates
  • Free mobile app + advanced features
No Internet Required 4

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 3.9

Read Reviews