BasicTalk Reviews - Page 8 of 8

BasicTalk

79

User Reviews

3.1/5

Average Rating

51%

Recommended

Total:

79

5-Star:

19

4-Star:

14

3-Star:

13

2-Star:

20

1-Star:

13

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>


User Reviews (Page 8 of 8)

BasicTalk reviews are listed in chronological order.

Good price, poor quality and poor customer service

Overall rating (2.4)

Number 9 : NOV 25th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I set up my BasicTalk 11/12/13. I had some initial issues and finding the customer service Chat was not user friendly. Once I had it set up the sound is crackly and people I call tell me my voice keeps cutting out. This I can live with for the low price of $11.62 a month compared to Comcast of approx 30.00 a month without long distance. But after using the service for less than 2 weeks it no longer lets me call the number I use the most. At first I just thought my mom wasn't answering her phone and had turned off her ringer. It turns out when I call from the BasicTalk it doesn't ring on her end at all. The last couple of days when I try to call her from the BasicTalk I get a message that says the number can not be reached at this time. It also gave me a 1-800 number to call but upon calling it Time Warner Telecom said they have never heard of BasicTalk and that my phone number is not serviced by TWT and to call my phone provider.

BasicTalk says it is unlimited use in the US but there is also some small print called Reasonable Useage Policy: A customer's total usage is unusual if (a) two or more of the following occur in consecutive months, or (b) it exceeds 3000 minutes per month IN COMBINATION with one or more of the following, excessive:
- unique numbers called
- call lengths
- call forwarding/transferring
- conference calling
- short duration calls
- number of calls made during a month
- number of calls made to a conference calling service during a month
- number of calls made during business hours
- number of calls terminated and re-initiated consecutively, which, in the aggregate, result in excessive call lengths during a specific time frame; or
- other abnormal calling patterns indicative of an attempt to evade enforcement of this Reasonable Use Policy.

If a combination of these factors occurs, BasicTalk may determine that abnormal, unreasonable or usage that is not allowed is occurring, and may take action, including, but not limited to, immediate suspension of your BasicTalk service.

So apparently me calling my Mom a few times a day is not Reasonable Useage and I have been suspended from calling her number. I have an email into BasicTalk but still have not received a response.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Steve (Aug 6th, 2014) : I think you will find that most (if not all) "unlimited" services have similar restrictions on call usage. These are personal systems, not to be used for business, and this is their way of controlling business usage.

JA (Oct 6th, 2014) : It's not at all unusual for (adult) children to call elderly and/or unwell parents multiple times a day to check on them. They may need to call and remind forgetful parents to take their medications, or to encourage them to eat or drink enough fluids. Parents with sick kids may need to call their MD or clinic every few hours with a report on the child's temperature, so the child can be kept home if at all possible, but be hospitalized promptly if needed. What business is it of the phone company to decide how many calls are too many?

Comment on this review >>


Can't Beat The Price

Overall rating (4.4)

Number 8 : NOV 23rd, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Found BasicTalk at Walmart. Didn't buy it there, I wanted to check the comments online. Decided that a $55/month Verizon service (I had to keep my DSL to get my service that cheaply,) was worth a try for $9.99/month. Did everything on the Internet. My number was transferred very fast, the set up was easy and the quality is excellent. I had BasicTalk estimate my total cost (including taxes) and it's $12.05/month. No hidden charges, everything up front. Yesterday I sent a fax over the line - no problem. Can even call Canada and Puerto Rico. Needless to say I am delighted with BasicTalk; everything I need, nothing I don't need.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Jewels (Jan 29th, 2014) : You said you could send a fax, can you accept a fax. I'm worried that the reception might not be good in my area.

Steve (Mar 12th, 2014) : Haven't tried to receive a fax. Don't get much incoming, so I can't comment on fax reception.

John (Mar 27th, 2014) : I RETURNED THEIR PHONE UNUSED - IT DID NOT FIT MY COMPUTER. A MONTH LATER THEY HIT MY CREDIT CARD AND WILL NOT RETURN THE MONEY THEY STOLE FROM MY CREDIT CARD WITHOUT MY PERMISSION. REAL UNPROFESSIONAL. THEY WILL NOT RESPOND TO MY DAILY E-MAILS. I CALLED THEM AND GOT SOMEONE IN INDIA WHO PUT ME ON HOLD 3 TIMES WITH NO RESULTS.

Scott (Mar 28th, 2014) : HORRIBLE - That's the word to describe BasicTalk service and customer service. I have had nothing but problems and the call quality is horrible. Contacted them, said they would send me a new unit, due to mine being a repackaged used unit that was sold as new at Walmart. It's been over 2 months, never received the unit. In that 2 months, I have contacted them 3 time. Each time they said, they would have a unit sent within the week. Still Nothing. Each time I contacted them they also said they would credit my account for a month of service, NEVER received any credit. Call center is in a foreign country, so, getting someone to understand you or understanding the customer center rep is a complete joke. There's a reason why this service is so cheap. You get what you pay for. My suggestion, DONT BUY A BASICTALK PRODUCT!!

Comment on this review >>


CAN'T CALL OUT !!!

Overall rating (2.6)

Number 7 : NOV 18th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I hate to say I wouldn't recommend it since I haven't experienced full use of the service. I've cancelled my Verizon telephone service and I haven't been able to make an outgoing call today. I've chatted with Tech support and printed 3 help pages, and to no avail I still cannot make calls and have to wait 24 to 48 hrs before the escalation team hopefully resolves the issue. HAVING SECOND THOUGHTS... I here my mother saying "Get what you pay for" !!!

Comment on this review >>


Sneaky

Overall rating (2.2)

Number 6 : NOV 11th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

This company tells you that your price is one price and then they enter your bank account at will. Be Careful! Basic talk / Basic Lie...$10.00 per month?

Comment on this review >>


Good value

Overall rating (4)

Number 5 : NOV 5th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I replaced my phone service from UVerse (and changed ISP to Comcast a few days later). My old phone number was ported in a few days. Initially I used Basic Talk with Uverse and now with Comcast. Call quality is always good. The single call I made to tech support, asking about anything I needed to do when switching providers, was answered promptly. I have restarted the Basic Talk box once since 6/13 (5 months) when I installed it--I got an error message when picking up the phone. But that has been the only glitch. Pros: Good voice quality, reliable. Less than $12/month with taxes and fees. Works fine with my 2 station wireless phone setup and 2 wired lines. Con: No advanced call features like "follow me" or "Call blocking".

Comment on this review >>


Poor service

Overall rating (1.8)

Number 4 : OCT 30th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Unable to get old number ported over. Worked with Basic Talk Tech support but they did nothing. I even gave them my cell # to contact me if they needed my help on anything. Tech support ignored me. I THEN CANCELLED SERVICE.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Lesley (Jan 3rd, 2013) : This supports my experience. BT does not care about providing responsive customer service. Once they have your money, you're on your own even if their service does not work.

Comment on this review >>


Definitely a good value

Overall rating (4.4)

Number 3 : OCT 20th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Do not really use it all that much, however I do like having a "home phone". Previously I had vonage and it seemed a bit "pricey" considering how little I used it. When I saw the price point for the "basictalk" service I decided it was definitely worth trying. I never used all the features that my previous company included so for my application it has been perfect. Basic service at a basic price. Seems like a good deal to me.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Janice (10/26/2013) : Have been using BasicTalk for 2 to 3 months now. Have had no problems so far. I love having all the features like caller ID, voice mail, call waiting. I did not have those services with my prior service, Fairpoint, and saving more than half the cost for the phone service. I am a senior citizen so saving money is a priority. I recommend BasicTalk to anyone who will listen. Very happy with BasicTalk.

Heracleus (Jan 31st, 2014) : You need to realize that the BasicTalk is a Vonage product, just a crippled one, like the original Vonage wasn't crippled enough. I had "premium" Vonage service for a few years until they discontinued my country of interest to be a part of the free unlimited talk. Ever since, the service to that country through Vonage became unreliable, unreachable and what not. Apparently Vonage engaged third parties with suspicious quality of service abandoning the main telecom provider due to price increase.

Comment on this review >>


BasicTalk issue passing TouchTone

Overall rating (3.4)

Number 2 : SEP 11th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

BasicTalk cannot be relied upon for "Touch Tone Teller" or credit card activations using Touch Tones (DTMF) or for IVR applications that require touch tone input. The degradation of DTMF for this low bit rate voip service is enough to cause these type calls to not work

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Steve (Aug 6th, 2014) : I find that re-booting the HT701 usually solves most of my break-up problems. You can just unplug the box, or use the server capabilities of the box to perform the re-boot. I have had good luck with customer service also.

Comment on this review >>


BasicTalk works as advertised so far

Overall rating (3.6)

Number 1 : AUG 14th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I decided to try VoIP for the first time and saw some Ads about basic talk and how low cost it was - I was fed up with my pricey phone bills! Already have Comcast and I know my Internet connection is decent so had some confidence that VoIP would work for me (also the test on this site and others helped as I had a good MOS score for my Internet connection). I am quite tech savvy so felt I'd be able to troubleshoot any issues. Anyway got the adaptor in the mail (free shipping and free lease) and set it up in about 10 minutes. Made some calls and it sounded okay. There was a little background noise so I changed my setup slightly so everything flowed through my adaptor and that seemed to help. Still some occasional noise on the line but pretty good. My wife loves the savings.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Lesley (Jan 3rd, 2014) : Basic Talk gave the option of transferring my old phone number to Basic Talk. I signed up on 12/18/13, gave them my former phone company account number, and asked them to transfer it. Time passed with no word from them until I get an email saying that I had not given them my former phone company's account number. They provided a link in the email for me to do this, but the link gave a "Page Not Found" message. I called BT and they said that they would expedite (their word) transfer. I waited, and heard nothing again. Today I got an email from them saying that they could not transfer my old number until I provided my former account number. They included a link which again gave a "Page Not Found" message. I DO NOT RECOMMEND BASIC TALK WHICH HAS PROVEN TO BE INCOMPETENT. Not only are they unable to fulfill a simple request, but they do not even bother to fix an important dead link on their website.

Comment on this review >>


  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 8 of 8

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 3.9

Read Reviews
  • Simple pay per call option
  • No setup or activation fees
  • No long term contract
  • Plans start at $0 between members
Free Options 4.3

Read Reviews