BasicTalk Reviews - Page 8 of 8

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
BasicTalk (3.1)
76 Reviews
Write a review

Return to Page 1 to access our BasicTalk review, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>

User Reviews (Page 8 of 8)

Summary
Total Number 76 5 Stars 19
Thumbs Up 40 4 Stars 14
Thumbs Down 36 3 Stars 12
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 19
More Providers 1 Star 12

BasicTalk reviews are listed in chronological order.

Sneaky

Overall rating (2.2)

#6 : NOV 11th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

This company tells you that your price is one price and then they enter your bank account at will. Be Careful! Basic talk / Basic Lie...$10.00 per month?

Comment on this review >>

Good value

Overall rating (4)

#5 : NOV 5th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I replaced my phone service from UVerse (and changed ISP to Comcast a few days later). My old phone number was ported in a few days. Initially I used Basic Talk with Uverse and now with Comcast. Call quality is always good. The single call I made to tech support, asking about anything I needed to do when switching providers, was answered promptly. I have restarted the Basic Talk box once since 6/13 (5 months) when I installed it--I got an error message when picking up the phone. But that has been the only glitch. Pros: Good voice quality, reliable. Less than $12/month with taxes and fees. Works fine with my 2 station wireless phone setup and 2 wired lines. Con: No advanced call features like "follow me" or "Call blocking".

Comment on this review >>

Poor service

Overall rating (1.8)

#4 : OCT 30th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Unable to get old number ported over. Worked with Basic Talk Tech support but they did nothing. I even gave them my cell # to contact me if they needed my help on anything. Tech support ignored me. I THEN CANCELLED SERVICE.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Lesley (Jan 3rd, 2013) : This supports my experience. BT does not care about providing responsive customer service. Once they have your money, you're on your own even if their service does not work.

Comment on this review >>

Definitely a good value

Overall rating (4.4)

#3 : OCT 20th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Do not really use it all that much, however I do like having a "home phone". Previously I had vonage and it seemed a bit "pricey" considering how little I used it. When I saw the price point for the "basictalk" service I decided it was definitely worth trying. I never used all the features that my previous company included so for my application it has been perfect. Basic service at a basic price. Seems like a good deal to me.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Janice (10/26/2013) : Have been using BasicTalk for 2 to 3 months now. Have had no problems so far. I love having all the features like caller ID, voice mail, call waiting. I did not have those services with my prior service, Fairpoint, and saving more than half the cost for the phone service. I am a senior citizen so saving money is a priority. I recommend BasicTalk to anyone who will listen. Very happy with BasicTalk.

Heracleus (Jan 31st, 2014) : You need to realize that the BasicTalk is a Vonage product, just a crippled one, like the original Vonage wasn't crippled enough. I had "premium" Vonage service for a few years until they discontinued my country of interest to be a part of the free unlimited talk. Ever since, the service to that country through Vonage became unreliable, unreachable and what not. Apparently Vonage engaged third parties with suspicious quality of service abandoning the main telecom provider due to price increase.

Comment on this review >>

BasicTalk issue passing TouchTone

Overall rating (3.4)

#2 : SEP 11th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

BasicTalk cannot be relied upon for "Touch Tone Teller" or credit card activations using Touch Tones (DTMF) or for IVR applications that require touch tone input. The degradation of DTMF for this low bit rate voip service is enough to cause these type calls to not work

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Steve (Aug 6th, 2014) : I find that re-booting the HT701 usually solves most of my break-up problems. You can just unplug the box, or use the server capabilities of the box to perform the re-boot. I have had good luck with customer service also.

Comment on this review >>

BasicTalk works as advertised so far

Overall rating (3.6)

#1 : AUG 14th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I decided to try VoIP for the first time and saw some Ads about basic talk and how low cost it was - I was fed up with my pricey phone bills! Already have Comcast and I know my Internet connection is decent so had some confidence that VoIP would work for me (also the test on this site and others helped as I had a good MOS score for my Internet connection). I am quite tech savvy so felt I'd be able to troubleshoot any issues. Anyway got the adaptor in the mail (free shipping and free lease) and set it up in about 10 minutes. Made some calls and it sounded okay. There was a little background noise so I changed my setup slightly so everything flowed through my adaptor and that seemed to help. Still some occasional noise on the line but pretty good. My wife loves the savings.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Lesley (Jan 3rd, 2014) : Basic Talk gave the option of transferring my old phone number to Basic Talk. I signed up on 12/18/13, gave them my former phone company account number, and asked them to transfer it. Time passed with no word from them until I get an email saying that I had not given them my former phone company's account number. They provided a link in the email for me to do this, but the link gave a "Page Not Found" message. I called BT and they said that they would expedite (their word) transfer. I waited, and heard nothing again. Today I got an email from them saying that they could not transfer my old number until I provided my former account number. They included a link which again gave a "Page Not Found" message. I DO NOT RECOMMEND BASIC TALK WHICH HAS PROVEN TO BE INCOMPETENT. Not only are they unable to fulfill a simple request, but they do not even bother to fix an important dead link on their website.

Comment on this review >>

  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 8 of 8

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 76 5 Stars 19
Thumbs Up 40 4 Stars 14
Thumbs Down 36 3 Stars 12
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 19
More Providers 1 Star 12
Top Residential Providers*

5

4.5

3.9

3.9

4.3