BasicTalk Reviews - Page 6 of 8

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
BasicTalk (3.1)
76 Reviews
Write a review

Return to Page 1 to access our BasicTalk review, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>

User Reviews (Page 6 of 8)

Summary
Total Number 76 5 Stars 19
Thumbs Up 40 4 Stars 14
Thumbs Down 36 3 Stars 12
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 19
More Providers 1 Star 12

BasicTalk reviews are listed in chronological order.

Customer service

Overall rating (3.2)

#26 : SEP 30th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I would not highly recommend BasicTalk only because you cannot talk to anyone live by phone if you have issues. You can only go on line and there are only a few problem menu choices available. I have had this service for one year and overall had very few problems, but when I do, such as now, it's very hard to get a fix from their menu choices which don't fit my problem which is the phone always states that I have 1 missed call and I can't clear it out.

Comment on this review >>

Poor customer service

Overall rating (3)

#25 : SEP 29th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The black box (adaptor) keeps dying and Customer Service keeps telling me to unplug it and re-plug it in. Doesn't work though and BasicTalk tries to blame everyone except their crappy equipment. This would be the 3rd box if I were to continue service but I will be cancelling soon.

Comment on this review >>

Do not use this Company!

Overall rating (1)

#24 : SEP 15th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I attempted to transfer our phone number to BasicTalk for over a month. You cannot speak to a human being on the phone after your initial set up. They will only communicate via email and CHAT. They kept cancelling our transfer request stating that the name and/or address did not match our previous provider. It matched exactly and the previous provider was contacted to verify. We would receive an email from the Support team stating that they were going to fix everything and make sure it all went through. Meanwhile, the next day, we would receive an email from them saying that there was another problem. The left hand did not seem to know what the right hand was doing. We finally cancelled today - I hope - although I don't have confidence that will go well either. I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone.

Comment on this review >>

Regurgitate Previously Used Phone Numbers

Overall rating (1.4)

#23 : AUG 29th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Passed on number of previous customer who had been involved in an adult business. Customers continued to call this number thinking it was still the old business, a violation to my right of privacy, an affront to human dignity, a matter of public concern. Bill collectors also harassed me using the same number. After my complaint, they provided new number and represented "never used before." More unwanted calls. They lied. Cancelled service. Filing complaint with BBB.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

BludBaut (November 13th 2014) : BBB is useless.

Comment on this review >>

Super Cheap Basic Phone Service

Overall rating (3.8)

#22 : AUG 5th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I bought BasicTalk when Verizon became insane. FiOS was not available and never will be. Verizon speed dropped below 1 Mbps so even $19.95 was outrageous. When I asked to drop the DSL, I was told it would cost me more without the DSL. I found BasicTalk, killed my Verizon phone service and raised my internet service to $24.99. I ported my phone number (took 3 days) and have been pleased with the service. I have had to use live chat a few times and always had my problem solved. For the cost, BasicTalk provides everything I need for $9.99 + tax/month. You won't go wrong with it.

Comment on this review >>

Not so good

Overall rating (1.6)

#21 : JUL 26th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Phone misreads numbers and conversation breaks up. Terrible quality! I have been without phone service for a couple of weeks.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Maggie (Aug 21st, 2014) : Works great! No complaints except I have to have the broadband which needs a phone line (DSL) so I'm being billed by my old company basic line charge so that brings my bill up to about $26 a month. I called my old company and asked why I was being charged all the extra fees and they said they decided they could and would. So I'm off to find another wireless internet provider, satellite preferably.

Comment on this review >>

What ever you do don't buy it

Overall rating (1)

#20 : JUN 18th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

This is a terrible phone service provider. First, 911 is messed up then the connection sucks, it cuts off constantly then turns out the payment didn't go through so we thought it was disconnected so we unpluged everything. 3 months later I received an email so I checked the account and they still charge you even though you're not using the service. I plugged everything in and it wouldn't even let me make a call but yet they we're charging me for the months I didn't use it and while I couldn't have made a call either. Plus the customer service guy was rude!

Comment on this review >>

Wonderful Service & Price

Overall rating (4.2)

#19 : MAY 20th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Most affordable plan on the market, and great for basic land line. Unlimited long distance is the best feature. Easy set up also.

Comment on this review >>

Very good value

Overall rating (4.2)

#18 : APR 6th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been using this service since January 2014 with no problems with the phone whatsoever. Calls are very clear on both ends. Cant say anything about customer service because I have not used it. Set up was simple, taking just minutes. So far I would highly recommend this product.

Comment on this review >>

Saving money with BasicTalk

Overall rating (4.8)

#17 : MAR 6th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I finally decided to get rid of ATT land line, the service was >$29 just to have the phone, before any usage. I had to use my cell to make long distance calls to keep the bill as low as possible. Now my bill is something like $14/month with unlimited calling in the US, so now I don't have to use my cell to call long distance anymore from home. I clipped the incoming phone wires at the junction box on the side of the house, and then plugged the basic talk box (about 3" by 4") cable into a wall jack. Then all of my existing land line phones were available for use thru the existing wall jacks in the house. In the 3 or so months of having the system, only once did I have to hang up and call again due to latency. The phone sounds to me and everyone I talk to just like the old ATT land line. I really can't say anything bad about the service. The only annoyance is that you can't block any numbers thru basic talk; I have to do that with my Panasonic phone system. A minor annoyance, but I wish basic talk allow this to be done thru their system. All in all it's a great service, which I would recommend to anyone.

Comment on this review >>

  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 6 of 8
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 76 5 Stars 19
Thumbs Up 40 4 Stars 14
Thumbs Down 36 3 Stars 12
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 19
More Providers 1 Star 12
Top Residential Providers*

5

4.5

3.9

3.9

4.3