iTalkBB Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
iTalkBB (2.4)
95 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 95 User submitted reviews >>

iTalkBB Review by WhichVoIP

iTalkBB is a predominantly Chinese-American focused VoIP and television service provider based out of China with multiple retails stores across North America. Despite the current criticism against iTalkBB's service, iTalk Global Communications, the parent company of iTalkBB, currently holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

The Good

Cheap international rates make the service a good replacement for complicated phone cards, especially for students studying abroad or who frequently travel to and from China.

Each plan includes standard features such as caller ID, call forwarding, three- way calling, E911 support and voicemail.

Additional local numbers can be purchased for Taiwan, Hong Kong, and South Korea.

Mobile support is also available and minutes can be shared between multiple phones.

The website has different sections for English, Traditional Chinese and Simplified Chinese. English and Chinese customer support is available via phone 24/7 and toll free.

The Bad

Many users have complained of difficulty receiving refunds despite the fact that users who cancel the service within the trial period or within 30 days after purchasing the service are entitled to a refund of unused services according to iTalkBB's Terms and Conditions. Users who terminate service within the month are liable to pay for the remainder of that month regardless of use of service.

iTalkBB states that monthly usage above 30% of the residential average use is considered abuse of the service and will lead to the termination of service. However, it is not clearly stated what reasonable use is.

User can incur large costs to discontinue service, particularly when compared to other providers.

Customer support has been noted as generally unreliable across user reviews.

Call quality has been reported to be below average.

The mobile app for iOS and Android has received mixed reviews, with many users complaining of non-functionality on specific mobile devices, including some popular models.

The English website is littered with misspellings and typos. Be aware of the possibility of miscommunication between user and provider. iTalkBB's main website hasn't been updated in a few years. Some links are not active, and some pages are not translated into English, which is obviously a significant problem for users who aren't fluent in Chinese.

The Bottom Line

iTalkBB offers two plans that each include their standard set of features.

  • Global Unlimited Plan: ($24.99 per month) New accounts with 2 year contracts receive the first 6 months for an introductory rate of $9.99 per month. A free 'China Local Number' can also be applied to an account for 12 months, which will not incur any international calling charges.
  • Residential Economic Plan: ($4.99 per month) Requires a one-year contract. A free China Local Number can be applied to accounts for 6 months, and enables users to call to the U.S.A. without international charges.
  • Global Unlimited Annual Plan: ($299.00 per year) Essentially the same plan as the Global Unlimited Plan, with the addition of 500 minutes to share across 2 mobile phones supported through the iTalk Freedom service. There is no contract required with this plan, so any unused monthly charges will be refunded if a user decides to cancel within the year of full service.

Additional Fees:

  • Activation fee: ($29.99)
  • Hardware Shipping Fee: ($9.99)
  • Plan Change Fee: ($29.99) Charged when a user changes from their current plan to a plan that costs at least $10.00 per month.
  • Deactivation Fee: ($59.99)
  • Early Termination Fee: ($69.99) charged when cancelling an account within an active contract.
  • iTalkBB can be purchased at a reduced price if purchased in a bundle with iTalk's Chinese television service.

Overall Thoughts

Currently, iTalkBB holds a very low recommendation rate on WhichVoIP.com. With a good amount of competing VoIP services available, it may be beneficial to browse other services to compare rates and features. Read through the user reviews to get a better grasp on the general consensus of those who have spent time and money on the service before committing to a lengthy contract. Though it is a very reasonably priced service, the frequency of complaints and the larger than average amount of fees may be more of a hassle than the service is worth.

Being a service that caters to those with family and friends in East Asia and North America, iTalkBB is obviously best suited for those expecting to make regular calls between the two regions. The ability to bundle with iTalk's Chinese language TV service may also appeal to this demographic. However, it should be noted that there are multiple other VoIP services that feature reduced international call rates and include East Asia in their service area.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Calum


iTalkBB Overview

With over 80 user submitted reviews dating back to 2006 there is a good sample size to help anyone considering iTalkBB service. Unfortunately a large percentage of the reviews are negative, resulting in a "Poor to OK" average rating and a very low recommended percentage score. We still recommend looking through the comments and different rating aspects to make your own conclusions. Also, ask friends/colleagues that may have used this service for their opinions. If you have used this service then we would love to get your feedback, just click on one of the available links below or opposite.

Average phone service, horibble customer service & forget about porting out your number.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 10)

Total Number 95 5 Stars 9
Thumbs Up 15 4 Stars 8
Thumbs Down 79 3 Stars 20
Average Rating 2.4 2 Stars 38
More Providers 1 Star 20

iTalkBB reviews are listed in chronological order.

Difficulty in porting phone number out

Overall rating (1)

#95 : JAN 6th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

italkbb gave me the run around by not providing a standard Customer Service Record (CSR) to the recipient company and also not providing italkbb's correct address during the process. Thereby preventing the porting of my telephone number for three months, despite of 450 minutes on the phone with italkbb and recipient company (many times with conference call among all three parties - the two companies and myself). Both companies had phone and computer records of the numerous phone calls that I had with them. I provided an email sent by italkbb regarding my customer service record. I forwarded this email to the recipient company, on December 20, 2015 and the porting process was still denied by italkbb. The porting process started in October, 2015 and experienced denial by italkbb at least 3 times. After I called the 9th time on 1/4 and 1/6, italkbb sent me an email saying the problem that I experienced was due to the wrong address that italkbb provided in their "CSR" previously. I seriously doubt italkbb's claim. Can they make the same "mistakes" 8 consecutive times over three months? italkbb just want me to keep paying them!

Comment on this review >>

Bad service, do not waste your money

Overall rating (1.6)

#94 : NOV 24th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been using ITalkBB for near 10 years. ITalkBB customer support has been terrible; but I was just patient and tolerant because I did not have time to look at other companies. Recently, I can not tolerate ITalkBB anymore and did my research to choose another company. I noticed Ooma and made the switch. I am extremely happy with them and save money (from $30 to $5 monthly). I wish that I had done my research earlier.

Comment on this review >>

Not good service, don't waste your money

Overall rating (1.9)

#93 : SEP 1st, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Unreliable connection, congested traffic, and poor quality of sound and picture (actually no sound, just noise today).

Comment on this review >>

Please avoid this company at all costs

Overall rating (1)

#92 : MAY 8th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I signed up for ItalkBB Internet service because they promised me to provide us with reliable service at a competitive price. The installation and activation date was set up on April 11th, 2015 between 8:00 am to 12:00am. My Internet service was never activated. I called italkBB numerous times, explained my situation as I have set up appointment with my home alarm company on Monday, and need my Internet installed before they can do the installation. They first promised me to have my Internet fixed by Saturday afternoon, then Sunday am, and I got a call on Sunday and they promised me the Internet will be activated by Monday, and then Tuesday! On Thursday of the second week, I called them again and over the phone they told me they have to resend a technician to do the installation, and have no idea when that would happen. The only solution they ever provided to me was to WAIT! In the meantime, I am suffering the home insurance loss as my home security system was not installed because there is no Internet and that caused my home insurance premium to go up. In addition, as we purchased the bundle products from ItalkBB and their telephone service is also running on Internet, we don't have telephone and Internet at my residence until I finally had enough and decided to switch to another Internet provider. Even though I have never used ItalkBB's Internet service for a single day, they still charged me for more than $100 for the activation and monthly fee. I made several complaints over the phone, and again they promised to refund the monthly fee and compensate for my insurance lost and the cost to reschedule the home alarm company to redo the installation, but more than 3 weeks have gone by, no one from ItalkBB contacted me for the refund and compensation. Again, the solution they gave me is YOU HAVE TO WAIT, and they don't even know when they are going to contact me!

Comment on this review >>

Don't use them!

Overall rating (1.7)

#91 : APR 25th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I wish I could give zero stars. Incredibly spotty service - my Internet uptime for the past week has been less than an hour at a time. Customer service is unhelpful as expected, with comments such as "reset your router", or "we will look into it and call you back". If you're looking for a good connection, this is not it.

Comment on this review >>

Poor service

Overall rating (2.9)

#90 : NOV 26th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Service was good 1 year ago, but in recent months the quality of calls has been poor and calls are constantly dropping. The person on the other end of my call hears a delay.

Comment on this review >>

No problems...

Overall rating (4.1)

#89 : FEB 2nd, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been using iTalkBB VoIP for over 4 years now and have not had any major problems. The sound quality is decent, I can't remember the last dropped call, and the features: free calls across Canada, emailed voicemail messages, local access numbers across Canada, detailed billing, caller id, call forwarding etc..etc.. for ONLY $9/month.. which easily would cost $50/month with Bell. The only negative that I can think of is their customer support. I cannot understand their phone support people and their email support always starts with "It's my honor to reply your letter"...and then a reply to something different from what I asked. BUT, the service works fine, my last complaint was over 2 years ago (I wanted to know why there are only 6 months of billing info on their web site). I have read so many complaints about iTalkBB, that I felt compelled to offer a positive experience (before iTalkBB I used Comwave, which was a real disaster!!).

Comment on this review >>

Do not use iTalkBB. They have the worst Customer Service

Overall rating (1.7)

#88 : JAN 28th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

If you want to use iTalkBB, read this review before you connect them. I believe all the 5 stars rating review are hired and paid by the iTalkBB to try to fool the new customers. I have been using iTalkBB for many years. The major advantage with this company is that you can call China anytime and "no time limit" (normally they auto cut you off after about 2 hours). That's it! Other than this advantage , you will suffer with all their customer services.

One time, my adaptor box broke. I had to call their Customer Services for three days and six times. Finally I ran out of patience and started to yell at them before they finally shipped me a new adaptor.

They increased the monthly fee from $23 to $28 without notifying me.

The thing that annoyed me the most was when I sold my house and called in to disconnect. They simply asked me to leave a phone number and call me back in 24 hours. Everybody knows that when you move, you need to disconnect lots of services like gas, water, electricity, TV, internet cable, phone, etc. I only spent about 10 minutes on calls to disconnect each of all these services EXCEPT iTalkBB. They make it extremely difficult to disconnect it until you call them many, many times.

Originally, I thought about re-connecting the iTalkBB service after I moved to my new house. But, this tough experience disconnecting their service and bad customer services experience makes me NEVER want to return to this company!

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Sue (Feb 26th, 2014) : I had the same experience, they make it extremely difficult to disconnect and refund overcharge, because of this, I hesitate to subscribe to their internet service. I hope they will change the way they do business then they will be able to keep their existing client and get more new clients.

Comment on this review >>

Poor service

Overall rating (2.7)

#87 : MAR 24th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

If there is an issue of iTalkBB phone service, customer support always asks you to restart cable modem/wireless router/adapter and the process will take very long time. Very inconvenient. If first line support cannot help, the waiting time for support engineer will be very long. Poor service.

Comment on this review >>

Bad experience with ITALKBB

Overall rating (2)

#86 : MAR 6th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

After a ItalkBB sale rep called my number and introduced their phone and TV feature and price. I agreed to give it a try. Sale rep promised that there will be no any charge for trying a month. The phone line is really bad with voice delayed. TV never got worked. I called them to cancel the service and returned unit. They still charge me for shipping fee of $20 and one month of phone charge $8.99. when I called customer service and asked why they charged me about $30 when they promised me to have one month free for trying. The response I got is that they would not return the money because I have used their phone line. When I asked to talk to management they refuse to transfer phone or do anything about it. This is a total scam!!!!!!!!!!! Thank god, I declined their service or it would be a nightmare!!!!! Don?t do any business with this company!!!!!!!!!

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 10
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 95 5 Stars 9
Thumbs Up 15 4 Stars 8
Thumbs Down 79 3 Stars 20
Average Rating 2.4 2 Stars 38
More Providers 1 Star 20

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: