Norton trust seal
BBB logo

iTalkBB Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for iTalkBB.

Service Provider Average User Rating Total Reviews Users Who Recommend
iTalkBB (2.5) 89 Reviews 17%

Use the tabs below to navigate to user reviews and user questions and answers sections.

iTalkBB Overview

iTalkBB provide low cost home phone service that is targeted at Chinese speaking residents across USA and Canada. On top of unlimited calling plans the user can request a local China number, a local Hong Kong number or a local Taiwan number for a small additional monthly rate. This allows a user's friend's or family in those countries to call them at local rates instead of international rates, saving them money and facilitating keeping in touch.

Unlimited calling plans include different options that allow unlimited calling to China, Hong Kong and/or Taiwan. A 30-day money back guarantee is offered, although some reviewers below have complained about this citing issues with getting their full refund. Customer support is stated as being 24/7 with English/Chinese phone support or email option. Stores are available throughout California, in New York and Texas.

With over 80 user submitted reviews dating back to 2006 there is a good sample size to help anyone considering iTalkBB service. Unfortunately a large percentage of the reviews are negative, resulting in a "Poor to OK" average rating and a very low recommended percentage score. We still recommend looking through the comments and different rating aspects to make your own conclusions. Also, ask friends/colleagues that may have used this service for their opinions. If you have used this service then we would love to get your feedback, just click on one of the available links below or opposite.

Average phone service, horibble customer service & forget about porting out your number.


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 9)

iTalkBB reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (4.1) : No problems...

#89 : FEB 2nd, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Rogers (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • Other

I have been using iTalkBB VoIP for over 4 years now and have not had any major problems. The sound quality is decent, I can't remember the last dropped call, and the features: free calls across Canada, emailed voicemail messages, local access numbers across Canada, detailed billing, caller id, call forwarding etc..etc.. for ONLY $9/month.. which easily would cost $50/month with Bell. The only negative that I can think of is their customer support. I cannot understand their phone support people and their email support always starts with "It's my honor to reply your letter"...and then a reply to something different from what I asked. BUT, the service works fine, my last complaint was over 2 years ago (I wanted to know why there are only 6 months of billing info on their web site). I have read so many complaints about iTalkBB, that I felt compelled to offer a positive experience (before iTalkBB I used Comwave, which was a real disaster!!).

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1.7) : Do not use iTalkBB. They have the worst Customer Service

#88 : JAN 28th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Comcast (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • Broadvoice

If you want to use iTalkBB, read this review before you connect them. I believe all the 5 stars rating review are hired and paid by the iTalkBB to try to fool the new customers. I have been using iTalkBB for many years. The major advantage with this company is that you can call China anytime and "no time limit" (normally they auto cut you off after about 2 hours). That's it! Other than this advantage , you will suffer with all their customer services.

One time, my adaptor box broke. I had to call their Customer Services for three days and six times. Finally I ran out of patience and started to yell at them before they finally shipped me a new adaptor.

They increased the monthly fee from $23 to $28 without notifying me.

The thing that annoyed me the most was when I sold my house and called in to disconnect. They simply asked me to leave a phone number and call me back in 24 hours. Everybody knows that when you move, you need to disconnect lots of services like gas, water, electricity, TV, internet cable, phone, etc. I only spent about 10 minutes on calls to disconnect each of all these services EXCEPT iTalkBB. They make it extremely difficult to disconnect it until you call them many, many times.

Originally, I thought about re-connecting the iTalkBB service after I moved to my new house. But, this tough experience disconnecting their service and bad customer services experience makes me NEVER want to return to this company!

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Sue (Feb 26th, 2014) : I had the same experience, they make it extremely difficult to disconnect and refund overcharge, because of this, I hesitate to subscribe to their internet service. I hope they will change the way they do business then they will be able to keep their existing client and get more new clients.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2.7) : Poor service

#87 : MAR 24th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Timer Warner (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 10 to 15 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • Other

If there is an issue of iTalkBB phone service, customer support always asks you to restart cable modem/wireless router/adapter and the process will take very long time. Very inconvenient. If first line support cannot help, the waiting time for support engineer will be very long. Poor service.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2) : Bad experience with ITALKBB

#86 : MAR 6th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • Less than 1 month
  • Internet Provider:
  • Bell (DSL)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

After a ItalkBB sale rep called my number and introduced their phone and TV feature and price. I agreed to give it a try. Sale rep promised that there will be no any charge for trying a month. The phone line is really bad with voice delayed. TV never got worked. I called them to cancel the service and returned unit. They still charge me for shipping fee of $20 and one month of phone charge $8.99. when I called customer service and asked why they charged me about $30 when they promised me to have one month free for trying. The response I got is that they would not return the money because I have used their phone line. When I asked to talk to management they refuse to transfer phone or do anything about it. This is a total scam!!!!!!!!!!! Thank god, I declined their service or it would be a nightmare!!!!! Don?t do any business with this company!!!!!!!!!

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3) : Average phone service, horibble customer service & forget ab

#85 : JAN 30th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Verizon (DSL)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

Order this service for my parents a few years ago when Verizon charges an arm and a leg for their land line service. italkBB did a cold call to my parents and my parents ask me about it and told them to give it a shot. Service was good in the beginning and then call quality getting bad the past year. So I started researching on VOIP and see that there are many.. and I mean many services out there that it's @ a fraction of the price. I have tested a few other providers and call quality sound great. Recently decided to cancel italkbBB so I started the number porting process with my new provider. This is when the nightmare begin. After over two months, italkBB was not able to help me with my port rejection due to an address mismatch. I provided my new provider the exact service address as shown in the my italkbb.com portal. Back and forth italkBB kept on sending me the same address that was rejected from my original porting. My new provider was very patient and explain that italkBB have to contact thier CLEC to get the correct address. It seems like the italkBB LNP department has no idea what they are doing. So after two months of italkBB doing nothing to help me, I have to go Google this and Google that to pinpoint who holds my 718 number and with what service address. After an hour or so, I was able to pinpoint the CLEC that holds my number and the next morning, I called the CLEC and asked for the service address they have on record. The address is in Texas and definitely not my service address. My new provider resubmit the porting and got a FOC date. Good luck to those who try to port their number out of italkBB. They have no idea what they are doing when it comes to porting.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1) : Bad service

#84 : JAN 3rd, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • Less than 1 month
  • Internet Provider:
  • Time warner (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • More than 21 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

Never receive phone adaptor, being charged all kind of fees. Asked for money back with 30 days but never be refunded. Called service staff many times, no help!

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1.6) : ItalkBB scam

#83 : NOV 19th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • AT&T (DSL)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 10 to 15 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • Skype

Very bad customer service. The poorest customer service I met in US. When they wanted your service, they say all good. If you tried to cancel it, a lot of very bad hiding policy comes. Never buy it.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2.3) : Cancel iTalkBB

#82 : NOV 2nd, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Camcast (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

I have been used iTalkBB for 10+ years until lately the VoIP LINKSYS box get crappy. I have used it for 6+ years. I had been reset/restart to extend LINKSYS box as long as I can but it dead completly today. I placed three calls and went through diagnosis with Tech Support and confirmed that the VoIP box need to be replaced. Tech support guys told me that an engineer is going to call me and confirm that then send me an new VoIP box but I never get a call from any body. I would like to say the service is good but no dial tone is really bad. When I request to replace my 2nd VoIP box six years ago that was smooth and I got it within 24 hrs. This time, iTalkBB just drags on and not helping me even I asked to speak to a manager or transfer me to an engineer, they told me "manager and engineer are busy". In what a world you get this kind of service? therefore I rate them REALY BAD. I am thinking to cancel the service.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2.7) : Review

#81 : AUG 13th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Shaw (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

Phone quality is poor most of the time. They said that they tried to fix the problem, but did not improve at all. I finally cancelled the account, but they want you to mail back their box, otherwise they will nail you $ 99.00 from your credit card. Their local sales office will not take the box. Their so called 'Support team' or whatever the name of the department they called which handle the closing account are not very clear on the instruction about the return of the box. I have a feeling that they do this on purpose, because they rather want to pocket $99.00 than collect the router box. Anyhow, if you are thinking of italkBB, forget it. I have suffered their poor service for two years until I finally made up my mind. It might sound cheap at first, but it is worth it.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1) : Stay away from iTalkBB

#80 : JUL 25th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 1 to 3 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Rogers (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • More than 21 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

Worst service I ever had. Voice Quality is not good. Sometimes you can't hear, sometimes the other side can't hear you.Once you registered, you will be charged for a huge amount of money if you want to cancel.

Add a comment to this posting >>

  • Page 1 of 9
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

iTalkBB Reviews Summary

Total Number 89 5 Stars 9
Recommended: YES 15 4 Stars 8
Recommended: NO 73 3 Stars 19
Average Rating 2.5 2 Stars 35
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 1 Star 18

iTalkBB Review Tools

Other Review Options

Compare Similar Providers