iTalkBB Reviews - Page 2 of 11

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
iTalkBB (2)
107 Reviews
Write a review

Return to Page 1 to access our iTalkBB review, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>

User Reviews (Page 2 of 11)

Summary
Total Number 107 5 Stars 7
Thumbs Up 16 4 Stars 9
Thumbs Down 90 3 Stars 12
Average Rating 2 2 Stars 30
More Providers 1 Star 49

iTalkBB reviews are listed in chronological order.

Please think twice before signning up

Overall rating (1.8)

#97 : FEB 23rd, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been using iTalkBB's phone service since 2007 and I recently cancelled my service. Here is what happened to me since 2 years ago: every time my parents made an international call, the call will be cut off at random times. I called iTalkBB service and they did something on their backend to try to make things better. Things did not get better. I asked if they should provide a more updated box to me because the one I have been using is 8 years old already..... I was told that since I have bought the box (it was the only option in 2007) they would not be able to ship me the new box. I would have to buy another box. I have to say, their customer service was OK. They told me what they have done in the back end. As an IT person, it made sense. After that phone call, my parents told me the calls did not get cut off as frequently but the quality went down and there was static noise. Recently, we finally decided that we want to get out of iTalkBB phone service and just use Google Voice instead. After all, Google Voice is cheaper, more flexible, and a lot higher quality. And here is how things went south: iTalkBB tried their best to keep me on their service, which I can totally understand. Our mind is made up, we are switching. So, I patiently told them again, again and again that I just want to cancel. Finally, they gave up. But then they told me that the phone box belongs to them and I had to ship it back to them within 15 days or they will charge me $59.99. I was like, what? I own the phone box, that is why you would not give me a new one 2 years ago. They told me there must be a mistake because they should be able to give me a new one. I said "OK. That was 2 years ago. The fact is they told me no. So, let's not focus on the past. The issue we have now is you asked me to return the box that I have paid for." Then the iTalkBB person, said they have reimbursed me a monthly base from 2008-2009. My answer to her was "I paid for the box. you decided to reimburse me, that is iTalkBB's decision. It does not change the fact that I bought the box. It is like you go shopping, and bought a skirt. Then the company told you they will pay you back for the skirt for some reason. You accepted it. But then you found out the skirt doesn't fit you so you go return it, but come to find out you need to pay the company back for the skirt if you are returning it. That doesn't even make sense." Then that person went on to try to rationalize iTalkBB's behavior. And here is the kicker. They want original condition of their equipment, including the Internet cable. I almost laughed my butt off. It has been 10 years in my case. I moved 3 times in the past 10 years. An Internet cable is an Internet cable. No one cares about original or not as long as it works. Not to mention that the cable may not work anymore after 10 years. At the end, I simply told her "Look, it will only cost me around $5 to ship you back this 10 year old equipment that I have no use for. I would simply take it to the electronic center and recycle it. If you want this junk back, I WILL ship this junk back to you. Please note that our conversation has taught me that I will never ever return to iTalkBB anymore because they simply do not have any integrity. This $5 will also earn iTalkBB my honest opinion on all the possible online review websites I can find. I am not upset at you. You are just following what was given to you. The problem lies in the whole philosophy and culture of iTalkBB. I will not trust them and I will not give a penny to them moving forward. Again, I am sorry you will have to take the blunt comments from me. If you do not truly believe iTalkBB's way of doing business. I don't think you are happy in what you are doing. If that is the case, I hope you find a better job soon. Your patience to me and your insistence for keeping customers will earn you a much better job in a much better company. You are too good for iTalkBB". I mean it. She was a good customer service representative, she was caught between a rock and a hard place. I hope this review is candid and honest. I tried to be as objective as possible.

Comment on this review >>

Very Poor Customer Service

Overall rating (2)

#96 : JAN 31st, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I called a dozen times trying to cancel the service, they either transferred me to automatic service or offered call back but never happened. They don't provide an equipment return service. Seems like ITALKBB is really going down after the new owner took over.

Comment on this review >>

Difficulty in porting phone number out

Overall rating (1)

#95 : JAN 6th, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

italkbb gave me the run around by not providing a standard Customer Service Record (CSR) to the recipient company and also not providing italkbb's correct address during the process. Thereby preventing the porting of my telephone number for three months, despite of 450 minutes on the phone with italkbb and recipient company (many times with conference call among all three parties - the two companies and myself). Both companies had phone and computer records of the numerous phone calls that I had with them. I provided an email sent by italkbb regarding my customer service record. I forwarded this email to the recipient company, on December 20, 2015 and the porting process was still denied by italkbb. The porting process started in October, 2015 and experienced denial by italkbb at least 3 times. After I called the 9th time on 1/4 and 1/6, italkbb sent me an email saying the problem that I experienced was due to the wrong address that italkbb provided in their "CSR" previously. I seriously doubt italkbb's claim. Can they make the same "mistakes" 8 consecutive times over three months? italkbb just want me to keep paying them!

Comment on this review >>

Bad service, do not waste your money

Overall rating (1)

#94 : NOV 24th, 2015 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been using ITalkBB for near 10 years. ITalkBB customer support has been terrible; but I was just patient and tolerant because I did not have time to look at other companies. Recently, I can not tolerate ITalkBB anymore and did my research to choose another company. I noticed Ooma and made the switch. I am extremely happy with them and save money (from $30 to $5 monthly). I wish that I had done my research earlier.

Comment on this review >>

Not good service, don't waste your money

Overall rating (1.4)

#93 : SEP 1st, 2015 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Unreliable connection, congested traffic, and poor quality of sound and picture (actually no sound, just noise today).

Comment on this review >>

Please avoid this company at all costs

Overall rating (1)

#92 : MAY 8th, 2015 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I signed up for ItalkBB Internet service because they promised me to provide us with reliable service at a competitive price. The installation and activation date was set up on April 11th, 2015 between 8:00 am to 12:00am. My Internet service was never activated. I called italkBB numerous times, explained my situation as I have set up appointment with my home alarm company on Monday, and need my Internet installed before they can do the installation. They first promised me to have my Internet fixed by Saturday afternoon, then Sunday am, and I got a call on Sunday and they promised me the Internet will be activated by Monday, and then Tuesday! On Thursday of the second week, I called them again and over the phone they told me they have to resend a technician to do the installation, and have no idea when that would happen. The only solution they ever provided to me was to WAIT! In the meantime, I am suffering the home insurance loss as my home security system was not installed because there is no Internet and that caused my home insurance premium to go up. In addition, as we purchased the bundle products from ItalkBB and their telephone service is also running on Internet, we don't have telephone and Internet at my residence until I finally had enough and decided to switch to another Internet provider. Even though I have never used ItalkBB's Internet service for a single day, they still charged me for more than $100 for the activation and monthly fee. I made several complaints over the phone, and again they promised to refund the monthly fee and compensate for my insurance lost and the cost to reschedule the home alarm company to redo the installation, but more than 3 weeks have gone by, no one from ItalkBB contacted me for the refund and compensation. Again, the solution they gave me is YOU HAVE TO WAIT, and they don't even know when they are going to contact me!

Comment on this review >>

Don't use them!

Overall rating (1.4)

#91 : APR 25th, 2015 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I wish I could give zero stars. Incredibly spotty service - my Internet uptime for the past week has been less than an hour at a time. Customer service is unhelpful as expected, with comments such as "reset your router", or "we will look into it and call you back". If you're looking for a good connection, this is not it.

Comment on this review >>

Poor service

Overall rating (2)

#90 : NOV 26th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Service was good 1 year ago, but in recent months the quality of calls has been poor and calls are constantly dropping. The person on the other end of my call hears a delay.

Comment on this review >>

No problems...

Overall rating (4.2)

#89 : FEB 2nd, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been using iTalkBB VoIP for over 4 years now and have not had any major problems. The sound quality is decent, I can't remember the last dropped call, and the features: free calls across Canada, emailed voicemail messages, local access numbers across Canada, detailed billing, caller id, call forwarding etc..etc.. for ONLY $9/month.. which easily would cost $50/month with Bell. The only negative that I can think of is their customer support. I cannot understand their phone support people and their email support always starts with "It's my honor to reply your letter"...and then a reply to something different from what I asked. BUT, the service works fine, my last complaint was over 2 years ago (I wanted to know why there are only 6 months of billing info on their web site). I have read so many complaints about iTalkBB, that I felt compelled to offer a positive experience (before iTalkBB I used Comwave, which was a real disaster!!).

Comment on this review >>

Do not use iTalkBB. They have the worst Customer Service

Overall rating (1.6)

#88 : JAN 28th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

If you want to use iTalkBB, read this review before you connect them. I believe all the 5 stars rating review are hired and paid by the iTalkBB to try to fool the new customers. I have been using iTalkBB for many years. The major advantage with this company is that you can call China anytime and "no time limit" (normally they auto cut you off after about 2 hours). That's it! Other than this advantage , you will suffer with all their customer services.

One time, my adaptor box broke. I had to call their Customer Services for three days and six times. Finally I ran out of patience and started to yell at them before they finally shipped me a new adaptor.

They increased the monthly fee from $23 to $28 without notifying me.

The thing that annoyed me the most was when I sold my house and called in to disconnect. They simply asked me to leave a phone number and call me back in 24 hours. Everybody knows that when you move, you need to disconnect lots of services like gas, water, electricity, TV, internet cable, phone, etc. I only spent about 10 minutes on calls to disconnect each of all these services EXCEPT iTalkBB. They make it extremely difficult to disconnect it until you call them many, many times.

Originally, I thought about re-connecting the iTalkBB service after I moved to my new house. But, this tough experience disconnecting their service and bad customer services experience makes me NEVER want to return to this company!

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Sue (Feb 26th, 2014) : I had the same experience, they make it extremely difficult to disconnect and refund overcharge, because of this, I hesitate to subscribe to their internet service. I hope they will change the way they do business then they will be able to keep their existing client and get more new clients.

Comment on this review >>

  • Previous Page
  • Page 2 of 11
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 107 5 Stars 7
Thumbs Up 16 4 Stars 9
Thumbs Down 90 3 Stars 12
Average Rating 2 2 Stars 30
More Providers 1 Star 49

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$7.16
Unlimited
(5)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.5)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$0.0198
per min
(4.3)