VoIPo Reviews

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
VoIPo
Visit VoIPo
(3.6)
100 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 100 User submitted reviews >>

VoIPo Review by WhichVoIP

The company VoIPo is one of the most recognized names in the hosted VoIP industry and for good reasons. Coming from the people who created the popular web hosting platform Host Gator, their services are based on a powerful internet platform designed to support everyone from home users to big business, and further caters to those constantly on the go. The company was started in 2006 and offers both residential and business VoIP services in the United States. The service is currently not available to Canadian residents. Each of the service plans include unlimited calling to US / Canada numbers and there are also 60 minutes of international calling included each month to select destinations.

The Good

One of the best parts about VOIPo as a company is the fact that they have very few plans which simplifies the selection process. For starters, both the residential and small business plans are compiled into a single category for an introductory upfront fee of $149, which equates to $6.21 a month over two years. For this price, you receive two years of service and an ATA (analog telephone adapter) which is used to directly connect your regular phone to the internet.

Even with the basic residential or small business service, VOIPo comes with several additional features. The ATA the company provides for connecting your telephone is leased to you for free, which is not the case for many companies that provide similar services. Other features such as 3 way calling, call blocking, voicemail, SIP-based softphone capabilities for computer platforms and mobile devices, 60 minutes of included international calling to select countries per month, as well as several other features like online fax capabilities.

You have the ability to transfer your number to their service for free in most instances. This can be used in conjunction with the Cloud VoIP service that starts at $3 a month. This is very useful in instances where you would like to keep an established phone number but do not require a full-fledged phone service for the number. A 30 day unconditional guarantee is also offered so if you are not pleased, you can send back their ATA device within this time frame for a full refund.

Additional business services are available such as a hosted business PBX solution. For a flat $20 monthly fee, they will host an online PBX with SIP capabilities. This service has much broader feature capabilities than the standard residential or small business solution such as an IVR (interactive voice response) system and correlating auto attendant features. Other common business features are packaged with the service such as call conferencing, modifiable call queues and many others that can be controlled via a web based administration VoIPo login (vpanel) portal.

An extensive knowledgebase, as well as live chat, forums and a customer support phone line are available through their website.

The Bad

Though very pro-consumer, there are additional expenses that may come along with the service. Because the company is a qualified telecommunications company, you will be required to pay taxes based on your location. Though these fees are relatively small, two years worth of taxes can add up.

Some of the features and pricing require more details and explanation. For example, the number porting feature is not always free - a form must be submitted (it can anywhere from a week to 45 days to process) and, though not a common occurrence, a fee could be assessed in certain situations, or the transfer could be denied.

The ATA is provided on a free lease basis and as such remains the property of VoIPo. While there is a $49.95 fee if you damage it in any way, this type of replacement charge is common. If you are not comfortable with using a leased device you can always buy your own device and use it with the service. Check first to ensure the device you are planning to purchase can be supported.

A VoIPo softphone is also available for mobile, tablets or computer devices,although the company does not have its own application. This means that a user will need to use a third party application for either a computer or smart phone which will require additional configuration. The company recommends X-Lite but other applications such as ZoiPer can be utilized.

The Bottom Line

  • Two years of residential or small business service for $149 dollars (plus taxes) is packaged with over 40 additional features.
  • A free ATA is provided for your service and a 30 day money back guarantee is offered.
  • VoIPo Softphone capabilities are available for various platforms although a 3rd party application is required.
  • A hosted business IP PBX system costs a mere $20 a month.
  • The company offers a reseller program for $24.95 a month with select features and limited numbers that can be upgraded for additional lines and other services as needed.
  • Call forwarding starting at $3 a month can alleviate the burden of an existing phone plan.
  • All calling plans are designed for regular usage that is under 5,000 minutes per month.
  • No mobile apps currently available

Overall Thoughts

VoIPo offers low priced services that include many additional features that are backed by U.S. based customer service and support. This results in exceptional value for both consumers and businesses seeking a VoIP based phone service.

For business users, a hosted IP PBX starting at only $20 a month is a steal. Smaller businesses can enjoy a virtually worry free system by using the home service. Though using their service via a softphone will require additional configuration, this can greatly reduce expenditures on mobile expenses.

The lack of a mobile app for either Android or iOS (iPhone, iPad) based devices could be an issue for some though, as more and more people want to have easy access to their phone service at all times via their personal smart phone device.

In summary, VoIPo is an excellent choice for either home of business phone service.


VoIPo Overview

The reviews listed here have been submitted by actual users of the service. If you are an existing user of the service we would like to hear from you. Your opinions are welcome and will help others decide if a this service is good choice as their home phone solution. Click on the green button to add your own review.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 10)

Total Number 100 5 Stars 43
Thumbs Up 54 4 Stars 12
Thumbs Down 46 3 Stars 21
Average Rating 3.6 2 Stars 14
More Providers 1 Star 10

VoIPo reviews are listed in chronological order.

Horrible Experience

Overall rating (1)

#100 : OCT 15th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

They disconnected my service even though I prepaid for 2 more months. They sent me email saying I requested to disconnect service, which is not true. I cannot even contact them since they deleted my account and the only way to contact them is by logging on your account on their website. Ridiculous. If you want to have horrible experience - try VOIPO.

Comment on this review >>

Don't Waste Your Time

Overall rating (1)

#99 : APR 10th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Never get VOIPO. Many of their options including many international calls are beta. There is no good customer service. Don't waste your time.

Comment on this review >>

Not Reliable

Overall rating (2.2)

#98 : FEB 28th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I had anticipated that switching to a VOIP service may be problematic because it relies on my Internet connection but ended up with issues that had nothing to do with my Internet service. Problem #1: During the order process PayPal is one of the options but after the order was placed I had to contact support to get my account created. The $149 price is actually $185 with fees and taxes. Problem #2: ATA device provided (Grandstream HT802) has 2 lines and line 2 is enabled by default so when using line 1, call waiting calls would be transferred to line 2. So line 2 had to be disabled to enable call waiting on line 1. Every time I asked for help this setting would change so I would have to go in and disable line 2 multiple times. Last tech support person I talked with kept insisting that line 2 needs to be enabled for call waiting to work. Problem #3: Intermittent DTMF tones being heard by the other party while in conversation. The "talk-off" issue with DTMF tones was never resolved. This issue caused the connection to be lost on multiple occasions. Problem #4: No busy signal when calling a line that's busy or off hook (sounds like a normal ring but shorter delay between rings and then silence). Problem #5: Multiple times had no service at all (usually on Mondays for some reason). Overall the experience was very disappointing and extremely unreliable. I had to spend a lot of time either writing or calling tech support. When calling tech support they all claim that the issue I called about was resolved only to find out that nothing had changed and any minor adjustment never resolved the "talk-off" issue. When there is a technical issue the tier 1 support is lacking and it's very hard to get a hold of tier 2 people. They refused to replace the ATA adapter and suggested I should get my own adapter to try. Why should I experiment with a new device when they should've worked out the issues. They would not provide a shipping label to return their equipment. You can only cancel online and if you don't return the adapter there is a $49.95 charge. The prorated refund I received was calculated from the $149 not the $185.

Comment on this review >>

Service Renewal and Cancellation

Overall rating (1)

#97 : FEB 21st, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I selected VOIPo solely based on their initial cost for service. The voice quality was so-so. The cost for service was based on having to sign up for a minimum number of years. To be frank, I only got the service so, my parents had a number they could identify as my "home number". A year prior to the first term of service ending, VOIPo tried billing me for another year at an exuberant rate. It required me going back in my records, pulling up my term of service agreement and sending it to their "customer service" department. I guess they didn't think people actually do keep records. After the first term of service actually expired, they then attempted to bill my credit card for automatic payment, something I never signed up for or agreed to. Fortunately, the card had expired and they were unable to automatically bill me at the exuberant rate they tried to bill me last time for. I extended the service at an agreed reduced rate for two more years. After the end of the second service term they again tried to bill my credit card automatically but, I had already learned from the first go-around with them. This time however, I decided to cancel their service and look for another provider. Once I let them know this they demanded I send their equipment back at my expense or they were going to turn me over to a debt collector for $49 + change. I argued it was not in my agreement to pay return shipping costs and even pointed it out in the language of their service agreement but, to no avail. In the end, I went ahead and paid to have their equipment returned to them with the promise I would write a fitting review of their billing practices and customer service. Do yourselves a favor folks, there are a lot of great providers out their for VOIP services. My recommendation is to look elsewhere even if you end up paying a little more for service.

Comment on this review >>

Bad Start

Overall rating (1.6)

#96 : JAN 20th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I am new to this VOIPO. I switched from VIATALK to VOIPO. Just got the adapter in the mail yesterday. I plugged it in and it doesn't work. The power light does NOT light up. I spoke with a lady in customer services Friday night but she was unable to fix it. I immediately created a remedy ticket. Today is Saturday and I found out they don't provide technical support on weekends. Office is closed. Sad!

Comment on this review >>

Stay Far, Far Away

Overall rating (1.6)

#95 : DEC 22nd, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

VOIPo used to be a great company, but then they sold, and they've been unreliable ever since. There service goes down frequently, preventing outbound calling. Other times, inbound callers go directly to voicemail. Sometimes the echo on the line is so bad you can't understand what's being said on the phone. Calls don't get logged in the call history, and caller ID doesn't work for many calls. Their customer service always blames your network, or other networks for issues go directly to voicemail. Sometimes the echo on the line is so bad you can't understand what's being said on the phone. Calls don't get logged in the call history, and caller ID doesn't work for many calls. Their customer service always blames your network, or other networks for issues - it's never their fault. They don't stand behind their service, and don't care, once they have your money. Stay far away from this flimsy excuse for a phone company.

Comment on this review >>

Only One Negative

Overall rating (4.6)

#94 : OCT 8th, 2017 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I ordered NordVPN and paid for a year, but customer service for VOIPO couldn't make them work together. They told me to talk to NordVPN, who also couldn't make them work together. I paid for a VPN I'm unable to use. This is my one negative/con.

Comment on this review >>

Horrible service!! Do Not Use

Overall rating (1.2)

#93 : JUN 21st, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Do not use VoIPo for phone service. My service started in 8/2016 and it was intermittent until Jan/Feb 2017 and then my phone no longer worked. I called customer service numerous times and was on the phone with technical support for 3+ hours once and still no phone service. Every time I called back technical support would give me conflicting excuses for why I had no service. They refuse to refund me any money even though they failed to provide me any services. Do not use them!

Comment on this review >>

Not so good

Overall rating (2)

#92 : MAY 11th, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Been using it for two years and just can't stand it anymore. Not reliable enough if you have family members or a work site that you need to be in contact with. Too many times spending long periods of time on the phone with customer service trying to tweak it, test it or just make it work right. It doesn't work right and I don't think it ever will. I'm up the coast from California and don't know if it would be easier with a Canadian provider but I just won't bother anymore. I have to switch back to one of the big market monopolizers.

Comment on this review >>

Its ok but not great

Overall rating (1.2)

#91 : FEB 13th, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I am currently about to complete my 2nd year. It is cheaper compared to Comcast or Vonage. Cons: Hard to configure soft phone, and no support from technical support. Restart it often because after making outgoing calls the button response for the call options doesn't work. Restart twice or thrice in a month because of no caller ID. After restart, caller ID starts working again. There is not a way to show total international minutes consumed every month. You need to download the call history for the month and count call by call.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 10
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 100 5 Stars 43
Thumbs Up 54 4 Stars 12
Thumbs Down 46 3 Stars 21
Average Rating 3.6 2 Stars 14
More Providers 1 Star 10

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.5)
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.2)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.1)
  • SHARE: