VoIPo Reviews

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
VoIPo
Visit VoIPo
(4.1)
83 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 83 User submitted reviews >>

VoIPo Review by WhichVoIP

The company VoIPo is one of the most recognized names in the hosted VoIP industry and for good reasons. Coming from the people who created the popular web hosting platform Host Gator, their services are based on a powerful internet platform designed to support everyone from home users to big business, and further caters to those constantly on the go. The company was started in 2006 and offers both residential and business VoIP services in the United States. The service is currently not available to Canadian residents. Each of the service plans include unlimited calling to US / Canada numbers and there are also 60 minutes of international calling included each month to select destinations.

The Good

One of the best parts about VOIPo as a company is the fact that they have very few plans which simplifies the selection process. For starters, both the residential and small business plans are compiled into a single category for an introductory upfront fee of $149, which equates to $6.21 a month over two years. For this price, you receive two years of service and an ATA (analog telephone adapter) which is used to directly connect your regular phone to the internet.

Even with the basic residential or small business service, VOIPo comes with several additional features. The ATA the company provides for connecting your telephone is leased to you for free, which is not the case for many companies that provide similar services. Other features such as 3 way calling, call blocking, voicemail, SIP-based softphone capabilities for computer platforms and mobile devices, 60 minutes of included international calling to select countries per month, as well as several other features like online fax capabilities.

You have the ability to transfer your number to their service for free in most instances. This can be used in conjunction with the Cloud VoIP service that starts at $3 a month. This is very useful in instances where you would like to keep an established phone number but do not require a full-fledged phone service for the number. A 30 day unconditional guarantee is also offered so if you are not pleased, you can send back their ATA device within this time frame for a full refund.

Additional business services are available such as a hosted business PBX solution. For a flat $20 monthly fee, they will host an online PBX with SIP capabilities. This service has much broader feature capabilities than the standard residential or small business solution such as an IVR (interactive voice response) system and correlating auto attendant features. Other common business features are packaged with the service such as call conferencing, modifiable call queues and many others that can be controlled via a web based administration VoIPo login (vpanel) portal.

An extensive knowledgebase, as well as live chat, forums and a customer support phone line are available through their website.

The Bad

Though very pro-consumer, there are additional expenses that may come along with the service. Because the company is a qualified telecommunications company, you will be required to pay taxes based on your location. Though these fees are relatively small, two years worth of taxes can add up.

Some of the features and pricing require more details and explanation. For example, the number porting feature is not always free - a form must be submitted (it can anywhere from a week to 45 days to process) and, though not a common occurrence, a fee could be assessed in certain situations, or the transfer could be denied.

The ATA is provided on a free lease basis and as such remains the property of VoIPo. While there is a $49.95 fee if you damage it in any way, this type of replacement charge is common. If you are not comfortable with using a leased device you can always buy your own device and use it with the service. Check first to ensure the device you are planning to purchase can be supported.

A VoIPo softphone is also available for mobile, tablets or computer devices,although the company does not have its own application. This means that a user will need to use a third party application for either a computer or smart phone which will require additional configuration. The company recommends X-Lite but other applications such as ZoiPer can be utilized.

The Bottom Line

  • Two years of residential or small business service for $149 dollars (plus taxes) is packaged with over 40 additional features.
  • A free ATA is provided for your service and a 30 day money back guarantee is offered.
  • VoIPo Softphone capabilities are available for various platforms although a 3rd party application is required.
  • A hosted business IP PBX system costs a mere $20 a month.
  • The company offers a reseller program for $24.95 a month with select features and limited numbers that can be upgraded for additional lines and other services as needed.
  • Call forwarding starting at $3 a month can alleviate the burden of an existing phone plan.
  • All calling plans are designed for regular usage that is under 5,000 minutes per month.
  • No mobile apps currently available

Overall Thoughts

VoIPo offers low priced services that include many additional features that are backed by U.S. based customer service and support. This results in exceptional value for both consumers and businesses seeking a VoIP based phone service.

For business users, a hosted IP PBX starting at only $20 a month is a steal. Smaller businesses can enjoy a virtually worry free system by using the home service. Though using their service via a softphone will require additional configuration, this can greatly reduce expenditures on mobile expenses.

The lack of a mobile app for either Android or iOS (iPhone, iPad) based devices could be an issue for some though, as more and more people want to have easy access to their phone service at all times via their personal smart phone device.

In summary, VoIPo is an excellent choice for either home of business phone service.


VoIPo Overview

The reviews listed here have been submitted by actual users of the service. If you are an existing user of the service we would like to hear from you. Your opinions are welcome and will help others decide if a this service is good choice as their home phone solution. Click on the green button to add your own review.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 9)

Total Number 83 5 Stars 45
Thumbs Up 56 4 Stars 12
Thumbs Down 27 3 Stars 18
Average Rating 4.1 2 Stars 6
More Providers 1 Star 2

VoIPo reviews are listed in chronological order.

Excellent Vendor

Overall rating (5)

#83 : JUN 5th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We have used VoIPo since 2012 and highly recommend their service. Do be aware a reliable broadband Internet connection is necessary to assure good VoIP service from your provider.

Comment on this review >>

Not so great...

Overall rating (2)

#82 : FEB 6th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been with VOIPO for almost 2 years. During that time I usually had people I called comment on the poor connection. Often the call was dropped and on each call the caller would here a beep as if the call was recorded. Lately the beep is heard on my end. I will not renew and would not recommend.

Comment on this review >>

A Personal VOIPO Experience

Overall rating (2.2)

#81 : FEB 4th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have used VOIPO for many years now. I have enjoyed the low price, but to get it you must buy two years at a time. The price quoted is without taxes and fees, so it is a little misleading to quote a two year price and then see it go up by a significant amount. I consider that to be misleading marketing. Further, they have poor technical support and only want to support one ATA device. They even fail to support other models by the same manufacturer. I believe this to be because of the lack of training the "tech support" people have. Making matters worse is the fact that some of the people who answer the phone are difficult to understand. This happens for two reasons. First, English is not the native language, and second, they often have poor connections to the Internet. It appears that all work out of their homes. By far, the worse situation is when finding out that they are not a 24/7 phone company. They close up after hours and you are on your own. One had better not have a problem with phone service after 5pm Friday, because then there will be no help until opening on Monday. To make matters even worse, there is no chat, no telephone support, no e-mail support, no support thru tickets on one's account and now they have even closed their forum site. I am deeply worried that they are going out of business and that their continual promotion of the two-year-in-advance payment promotion is basically a Ponzi scheme that will soon fall apart. It is clear that they are doing nothing to improve their infrastructure and things have stayed the same for years regardless of requests for improvements. This is not the way to run a business.

Comment on this review >>

Good but not perfect

Overall rating (4.6)

#80 : JAN 14th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I've been using VOIPO for about 4 or 5 years and I have been quite satisfied although it hasn't been perfect. It's a great saving over AT&T, and has a feature that allows you to add telephone numbers you want to block in addition to VOIPO's telemarketing phone number database if you turn it on. It works great for blocking telemarketers. Because it's internet based, it'll go down if your internet goes down. Another negative is if the service goes down, you'll need a cell or some other phone to call their tech support. I've had some hardware problems with their adapter but they gave me a new one for free. I've had to reset the adapter occasionally by cutting power to the adapter whenever features stopped working correctly but it wasn't much of an issue. Overall I like this service and recommend it to others.

Comment on this review >>

Not Reliable

Overall rating (2.2)

#79 : FEB 28th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I had anticipated that switching to a VOIP service may be problematic because it relies on my Internet connection but ended up with issues that had nothing to do with my Internet service. Problem #1: During the order process PayPal is one of the options but after the order was placed I had to contact support to get my account created. The $149 price is actually $185 with fees and taxes. Problem #2: ATA device provided (Grandstream HT802) has 2 lines and line 2 is enabled by default so when using line 1, call waiting calls would be transferred to line 2. So line 2 had to be disabled to enable call waiting on line 1. Every time I asked for help this setting would change so I would have to go in and disable line 2 multiple times. Last tech support person I talked with kept insisting that line 2 needs to be enabled for call waiting to work. Problem #3: Intermittent DTMF tones being heard by the other party while in conversation. The "talk-off" issue with DTMF tones was never resolved. This issue caused the connection to be lost on multiple occasions. Problem #4: No busy signal when calling a line that's busy or off hook (sounds like a normal ring but shorter delay between rings and then silence). Problem #5: Multiple times had no service at all (usually on Mondays for some reason). Overall the experience was very disappointing and extremely unreliable. I had to spend a lot of time either writing or calling tech support. When calling tech support they all claim that the issue I called about was resolved only to find out that nothing had changed and any minor adjustment never resolved the "talk-off" issue. When there is a technical issue the tier 1 support is lacking and it's very hard to get a hold of tier 2 people. They refused to replace the ATA adapter and suggested I should get my own adapter to try. Why should I experiment with a new device when they should've worked out the issues. They would not provide a shipping label to return their equipment. You can only cancel online and if you don't return the adapter there is a $49.95 charge. The prorated refund I received was calculated from the $149 not the $185.

Comment on this review >>

Stay Far, Far Away

Overall rating (1.6)

#78 : DEC 22nd, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

VOIPo used to be a great company, but then they sold, and they've been unreliable ever since. There service goes down frequently, preventing outbound calling. Other times, inbound callers go directly to voicemail. Sometimes the echo on the line is so bad you can't understand what's being said on the phone. Calls don't get logged in the call history, and caller ID doesn't work for many calls. Their customer service always blames your network, or other networks for issues go directly to voicemail. Sometimes the echo on the line is so bad you can't understand what's being said on the phone. Calls don't get logged in the call history, and caller ID doesn't work for many calls. Their customer service always blames your network, or other networks for issues - it's never their fault. They don't stand behind their service, and don't care, once they have your money. Stay far away from this flimsy excuse for a phone company.

Comment on this review >>

Only One Negative

Overall rating (4.6)

#77 : OCT 8th, 2017 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I ordered NordVPN and paid for a year, but customer service for VOIPO couldn't make them work together. They told me to talk to NordVPN, who also couldn't make them work together. I paid for a VPN I'm unable to use. This is my one negative/con.

Comment on this review >>

Not so good

Overall rating (2)

#76 : MAY 11th, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Been using it for two years and just can't stand it anymore. Not reliable enough if you have family members or a work site that you need to be in contact with. Too many times spending long periods of time on the phone with customer service trying to tweak it, test it or just make it work right. It doesn't work right and I don't think it ever will. I'm up the coast from California and don't know if it would be easier with a Canadian provider but I just won't bother anymore. I have to switch back to one of the big market monopolizers.

Comment on this review >>

Its ok but not great

Overall rating (1.2)

#75 : FEB 13th, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I am currently about to complete my 2nd year. It is cheaper compared to Comcast or Vonage. Cons: Hard to configure soft phone, and no support from technical support. Restart it often because after making outgoing calls the button response for the call options doesn't work. Restart twice or thrice in a month because of no caller ID. After restart, caller ID starts working again. There is not a way to show total international minutes consumed every month. You need to download the call history for the month and count call by call.

Comment on this review >>

Beware Credit Card

Overall rating (1.4)

#74 : NOV 1st, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have had service with VOIPO for several years. The reliable service is spotty. It may work fine for months then issues develop. I am using OBI adapter so they will not help with issues. Sent 3 emails to cancel and went on their website to cancel. Today I got email saying the credit card on file is not working. They tried to charge $185 for a year service. DON'T GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD!

Comment on this review >>

  • Page 1 of 9
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 83 5 Stars 45
Thumbs Up 56 4 Stars 12
Thumbs Down 27 3 Stars 18
Average Rating 4.1 2 Stars 6
More Providers 1 Star 2

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.5)
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.2)
from
$7.16
Unlimited
(5)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4.1)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4)