Vonage

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Vonage (3.3)
479 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 479 User submitted reviews >>

Vonage Review by WhichVoIP

If you are considering Vonage for your home phone service, you have reached the right place. Vonage is a popular, well-advertised VoIP service that was founded in Edison, New Jersey during the early 2000's with service extending to Canada and the United Kingdom in successive years. Vonage has had discrepancies in the past regarding user cancellation and advertisements involving "free" services. Since then, however, Vonage has undergone several changes in business and advertising practices. In its 4th quarter financial report that was released in February 2015, Vonage states that it has almost 2.5 million subscribers, maintaining its position as one of the largest VoIP providers in the USA.

The Good

Vonage offers a 30 day Money Back Guarantee that covers monthly charges, taxes and any shipping or activation fees. This guarantee, combined with a low introductory rate creates a welcoming offer for those who want to try the service out before committing long term.

Standard features are included with all plans, such as call transfer, call waiting, 3-way calling, caller ID, caller ID block and Vonage Extensions, which allows plans to be used from mobile phones. Voicemail can also be accessed from any phone or PC. Premium features are also available, such as virtual numbers, fax lines, additional phone lines, toll free lines and softphone. A quick note on Vonage caller ID. By default your outgoing caller ID has a 13 character limit and it tries to use your last name and first initial. If, for some reason, you choose to perform caller ID block (dial *67) it will block your Vonage caller ID and instead use Anonymous. These days, this is frowned upon and many providers use Anonymous call block so your call will not get through to its intended recipient.

The World plan is a very popular option for users that frequently make international calls due to its unlimited international calling to 60 countries feature.

The free Vonage Mobile App offers free video calling and video messaging for iPhone and Android users. The app has received high ratings across both operating systems.

Vonage is more accessible to customers than many other providers. Support is available via phone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, with live chat support available through their website Monday to Sunday: 9am to 10:30pm.

Call quality is consistent for inbound and outbound domestic calls across all phone types and devices. Calls have generally been reported to be at "landline" or above sound quality.

The Bad

Vonage is a popular service and has accumulated a good number of user reviews. The majority of users on WhichVoIP reviewed Vonage negatively and do not recommend the service to others, with additional monthly fees and difficulties in resolving service issues being the primary complaint.

If a plan under contract is cancelled early, a fee of up to $99.99 may be charged per voice line.

International phone calls have been reported to have lower sound quality than domestic calls. The quality of international calls varies from country to country.

The Bottom Line

  • Vonage offers both nationwide and international residential plans. Each plan includes free activation, free calling to other residential Vonage customers, the option to keep your current phone number or a new one, and free shipping of the Vonage Box adapter with one-year subscriptions. If they prefer, customers can sign up without committing to a one-year contract.
  • U.S. and Canada Unlimited plan: $9.99 a month for the first 12 months, after which the price increases to $25.99 a month. Although this is an unlimited plan, there is a "normal usage" limit of 3000 minutes per month, after which minutes are billed at 3.9c a min.
  • U.S. and Canada 400 plan: A one-year agreement at $12.99 a month with free shipping and activation or a no annual contract option at the same $12.99 a month price without free shipping and activation. This plan includes 400 minutes to landlines and mobiles within the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico, with additional minutes priced at 5 cents each and low rates within 10 other countries.
  • U.S. and Canada 800 plan: A one-year agreement at $21.99 a month with free shipping and activation or a no annual contract option at the same $21.99 a month price without free shipping and activation. This plan includes 800 minutes to landlines and mobiles within the U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico, with additional minutes priced at 3.9 cents and low international rates.
  • World plans - these include a regular world plan that has unlimited landline calling to 60 countries plus mobile phones in 10 countries. The world plus plan is slightly more expensive but that plan adds 250 monthly minutes for calls to mobiles in 40+ countries. There is also a specific plan for those that are frequent callers to Mexico or the Philippines. The Mexico plan offers unlimited calling to both landlines and mobile phones in Mexico and North America, while the Philippine plan provides 3,000 minutes of monthly calling to Globe numbers in the Philippines. Again, remember that the unlimited calling is only unlimited up to the 3,000 minutes per month that are deemed to be within regular usage limits.

Overall Thoughts

Compared to other VoIP services with similar minute plans and features, Vonage is more expensive (after the 12 month introductory rate expires). While Vonage's business services are well-reviewed only 35% of the over 300 reviews on WhichVoIP recommend its residential service.

Vonage's strengths lie in its size, which provides for a more stable and more accessible service to customers when compared to smaller VoIP providers. If you plan on using a good number of minutes monthly at home or the home office the unlimited plans offer a cost effective solution, while the World plans are a great option frequent international callers.


Vonage Overview

WhichVoIP has amassed over 300 user submitted Vonage reviews since it started covering Vonage in 2005. The extensive list below should be able to give you a full picture of what to expect if you sign up for the service.

WhichVoIP note - Please check Vonage reasonable usage policy for details of its requirements and limits around unlimited calling plans.

decent service and I am fairly happy

customer service can't fix any problems

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 48)

Total Number 479 5 Stars 142
Thumbs Up 217 4 Stars 80
Thumbs Down 262 3 Stars 94
Average Rating 3.3 2 Stars 129
More Providers 1 Star 31

Vonage reviews are listed in chronological order.

HORRID

Overall rating (3)

#479 : NOV 15th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The absolute worse treatment I have ever experienced. Issue began 10/11/17 and has still not been resolved. Needed to port in a number from Optimum for a cancelled account. Optimum opened a port out account for Vonage to port in the number. In this case Vonage needed to send a manual email to Optimum with account number, name, address and phone number. I was promised over and over they would do this but within 24 hours I would get notice that the transfer was cancelled once again. I included Optimum in twice with them and Vonage denied they had ever done such a thing but Optimum insisted this is done at least once a day with the same scenario. I will leave Vonage due to this horrific treatment. They lie, and make things up, and blame each other for the issues. It's ridiculous and after hours and hours, days and days of trying to get this resolved I am once again on hold waiting for them to fix it. They don't seem to care that we have been with them since their beginning. They are about to lose another customer.

Comment on this review >>

Customer since 2004

Overall rating (4.6)

#478 : OCT 19th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Usually, people complain about service on websites like this one, that is normal. The happy customers go on with their lives. We have Vonage since 2004 and I will recommend the Vonage World Plan to people that have elderly parents or customers abroad. Yes, there may be service interruptions if the company is implementing something new, but that is the case with all tech fields.

Comment on this review >>

Billing Sucks!

Overall rating (1)

#477 : OCT 9th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

We haven't even used them yet, they charged us inadvertently, promised to give me a credit and after 15 days I finally had to dispute the charge on my credit card as fraudulent.

Comment on this review >>

Disappointed

Overall rating (3.9)

#476 : SEP 16th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

When signing up I was told I could keep my old number. After waiting a month and a half I was then informed that my number could not be ported. I think Vonage has put too much emphasis on business class and is no longer interested in residential customers. I liked their service but am totally disappointed in how they handle customer problems. According to the FCC, anyone would be able to retain their old phone number. What gives with Vonage?

Comment on this review >>

Money minting tactics

Overall rating (3)

#475 : AUG 14th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I am using Vonage in the UK and recent changes have really taken the cost effectiveness and reveal the money minting attitude of Vonage which are abusing the monopoly in the market for India calling features. I used to have an unlimited India call plan with 3000 minutes fair usage, now I have been lured without much info to a different plan which only gives me 2000 minutes and charges me almost half of plan cost for going over by 100 minutes. So, I lost 1000 minutes for a 2 pound discount and overcharged. Icing on the cake is I can't go back to my previous plan and they do not have any alternative plans. So either I live with it and pay double or leave. As there are no suitable options you are forced to be with them. Pathetic tactics.

Comment on this review >>

Now Charging for App Use

Overall rating (3)

#474 : AUG 4th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Vonage has started charging per minute to use their mobile app as they are trying to aim their business toward the business market over the home user. Customer support is in either India or Pakistan so good luck with that and I have a 300MB Internet connection and the voice quality is poor. Their home product is stagnant with no new features in the last 5 years.

Comment on this review >>

Beware!

Overall rating (2)

#473 : JUL 17th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

If you are looking for service through Vonage, plan to pay for the first month with no service. I requested to have my number ported to them on June 28th and as of today, July 17th, I am still being told it will take 2 days for this to happen. I have called every 2 days and get told the same thing every time I call. When I ask to speak with a supervisor they totally ignore my request. Do not start this process if you can avoid it!

Comment on this review >>

Did Not Honor $75 Rebate Promise!

Overall rating (1)

#472 : JUN 13th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I could give various ratings, but there is no point because they have been dishonest with me. I signed up for a Christmas rebate, then later, after the minimum service period of 60 days, plus a few weeks, I couldn't get a valid number for customer service and their Live Chat wasn't working. Through emails they gave me the runaround about my rebate with no explanation of why they listed the status as $75 BUT "invalid, amount not verified" then later "invalid, promotion expired". Since then emails have stated variously it has been "under review", "needs further research", and it's in "an escalation process"! It's been several months now. I'm confused because I don't see how a company can be legit and yet act like a scam. Furthermore, one time I needed to call a local hospital quickly but the 411 service listed only animal hospitals, with no way to try again or clarify!

Comment on this review >>

False Advertising

Overall rating (1.4)

#471 : MAR 28th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Vonage practices false advertising. I was enticed to get my phone services from them with a $75.00 VISA card. EVERY TIME I have tried to use it is has been declined, including paying for services from VONAGE. I tried to resolve this using chat, and I was told I needed to contact the number on the card. That number only allows me to leave a message and purchase new services. So I contacted VONAGE to disconnect my services and not only do I need to pay the remainder of the contract but to add insult to injury I can't use the VISA card VONAGE gave me. So again I say VONAGE HAS false advertising practices and I will not be continuing my phone services with VONAGE once the contract expires.

Comment on this review >>

Increasing competition and diminished value

Overall rating (4)

#470 : MAR 5th, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I've been a Vonage customer for over 10 years and they by and large provide good service and I like many of the features they offer (especially Extensions which lets you use their service on your mobile phone). As with any service, there are other options now on the market and they are more price competitive while Vonage has increased rates for existing customers over the years. It may be worth exploring other options.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 48
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 479 5 Stars 142
Thumbs Up 217 4 Stars 80
Thumbs Down 262 3 Stars 94
Average Rating 3.3 2 Stars 129
More Providers 1 Star 31

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.2)
  • SHARE: