VoIPo Reviews - Page 2 of 9

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
VoIPo
Visit VoIPo
(3.9)
90 Reviews
Write a review

Return to Page 1 to access our VoIPo review, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>

User Reviews (Page 2 of 9)

Summary
Total Number 90 5 Stars 45
Thumbs Up 58 4 Stars 13
Thumbs Down 32 3 Stars 19
Average Rating 3.9 2 Stars 10
More Providers 1 Star 3

VoIPo reviews are listed in chronological order.

Good but not perfect

Overall rating (4.6)

#80 : JAN 14th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I've been using VOIPO for about 4 or 5 years and I have been quite satisfied although it hasn't been perfect. It's a great saving over AT&T, and has a feature that allows you to add telephone numbers you want to block in addition to VOIPO's telemarketing phone number database if you turn it on. It works great for blocking telemarketers. Because it's internet based, it'll go down if your internet goes down. Another negative is if the service goes down, you'll need a cell or some other phone to call their tech support. I've had some hardware problems with their adapter but they gave me a new one for free. I've had to reset the adapter occasionally by cutting power to the adapter whenever features stopped working correctly but it wasn't much of an issue. Overall I like this service and recommend it to others.

Comment on this review >>

Not Reliable

Overall rating (2.2)

#79 : FEB 28th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I had anticipated that switching to a VOIP service may be problematic because it relies on my Internet connection but ended up with issues that had nothing to do with my Internet service. Problem #1: During the order process PayPal is one of the options but after the order was placed I had to contact support to get my account created. The $149 price is actually $185 with fees and taxes. Problem #2: ATA device provided (Grandstream HT802) has 2 lines and line 2 is enabled by default so when using line 1, call waiting calls would be transferred to line 2. So line 2 had to be disabled to enable call waiting on line 1. Every time I asked for help this setting would change so I would have to go in and disable line 2 multiple times. Last tech support person I talked with kept insisting that line 2 needs to be enabled for call waiting to work. Problem #3: Intermittent DTMF tones being heard by the other party while in conversation. The "talk-off" issue with DTMF tones was never resolved. This issue caused the connection to be lost on multiple occasions. Problem #4: No busy signal when calling a line that's busy or off hook (sounds like a normal ring but shorter delay between rings and then silence). Problem #5: Multiple times had no service at all (usually on Mondays for some reason). Overall the experience was very disappointing and extremely unreliable. I had to spend a lot of time either writing or calling tech support. When calling tech support they all claim that the issue I called about was resolved only to find out that nothing had changed and any minor adjustment never resolved the "talk-off" issue. When there is a technical issue the tier 1 support is lacking and it's very hard to get a hold of tier 2 people. They refused to replace the ATA adapter and suggested I should get my own adapter to try. Why should I experiment with a new device when they should've worked out the issues. They would not provide a shipping label to return their equipment. You can only cancel online and if you don't return the adapter there is a $49.95 charge. The prorated refund I received was calculated from the $149 not the $185.

Comment on this review >>

Stay Far, Far Away

Overall rating (1.6)

#78 : DEC 22nd, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

VOIPo used to be a great company, but then they sold, and they've been unreliable ever since. There service goes down frequently, preventing outbound calling. Other times, inbound callers go directly to voicemail. Sometimes the echo on the line is so bad you can't understand what's being said on the phone. Calls don't get logged in the call history, and caller ID doesn't work for many calls. Their customer service always blames your network, or other networks for issues go directly to voicemail. Sometimes the echo on the line is so bad you can't understand what's being said on the phone. Calls don't get logged in the call history, and caller ID doesn't work for many calls. Their customer service always blames your network, or other networks for issues - it's never their fault. They don't stand behind their service, and don't care, once they have your money. Stay far away from this flimsy excuse for a phone company.

Comment on this review >>

Only One Negative

Overall rating (4.6)

#77 : OCT 8th, 2017 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I ordered NordVPN and paid for a year, but customer service for VOIPO couldn't make them work together. They told me to talk to NordVPN, who also couldn't make them work together. I paid for a VPN I'm unable to use. This is my one negative/con.

Comment on this review >>

Not so good

Overall rating (2)

#76 : MAY 11th, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Been using it for two years and just can't stand it anymore. Not reliable enough if you have family members or a work site that you need to be in contact with. Too many times spending long periods of time on the phone with customer service trying to tweak it, test it or just make it work right. It doesn't work right and I don't think it ever will. I'm up the coast from California and don't know if it would be easier with a Canadian provider but I just won't bother anymore. I have to switch back to one of the big market monopolizers.

Comment on this review >>

Its ok but not great

Overall rating (1.2)

#75 : FEB 13th, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I am currently about to complete my 2nd year. It is cheaper compared to Comcast or Vonage. Cons: Hard to configure soft phone, and no support from technical support. Restart it often because after making outgoing calls the button response for the call options doesn't work. Restart twice or thrice in a month because of no caller ID. After restart, caller ID starts working again. There is not a way to show total international minutes consumed every month. You need to download the call history for the month and count call by call.

Comment on this review >>

Beware Credit Card

Overall rating (1.4)

#74 : NOV 1st, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have had service with VOIPO for several years. The reliable service is spotty. It may work fine for months then issues develop. I am using OBI adapter so they will not help with issues. Sent 3 emails to cancel and went on their website to cancel. Today I got email saying the credit card on file is not working. They tried to charge $185 for a year service. DON'T GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD!

Comment on this review >>

Customer Service Issues

Overall rating (2.8)

#73 : MAY 9th, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

After almost four years of having this service, every time I plug the adapter into an outlet, it sounds like its frying and I can no longer use the service. I haven't been able to and I keep going back and forth with CS stating that I need a new adapter line. Now there asking me what my voltage and amperage is. Really? I have had the service for this length of time, and have just recently experienced the frying noise. Nothing going on with voltage or amperage. How difficult would it be for them to just send me a new adapter? Also, just to mention a couple of months back I needed to call 911. It would only ring once and disconnect. Then the 911 operator called me back and she and I couldn't hear each other, yet other phone calls were just fine. So, there's a 911 issue for sure. Glad I haven't had to use it since then.

Comment on this review >>

Fast customer service, clunky SMS service

Overall rating (4.6)

#72 : APR 4th, 2016 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Pros: - Every time I have an issue it is resolved quickly. I submit a ticket and within an hour someone (a real person, not a computer) responds and the problem is fixed or being worked on. - I have never had any issues with call quality. - You can use multiple soft phone programs with VoIPo. - VoIPo does have an iPhone/iPad app, works similar to a phone, you can record conversations. - it's less expensive than a land line or cell phone, and you can have a number in a different city if need be. - you can use it from anywhere with an Internet connection. Con: - one of the only negatives is the usability of the SMS feature. It is straight forward and makes sense BUT you can only send texts through their website (you have to log in, etc.). What would make it a slam dunk is if you could send/receive SMS messages from a soft phone. You can have SMS messages forwarded to an email, phone number, or other options, but not to a soft phone.

Comment on this review >>

Simultaneous ring is not working and they can't fix it

Overall rating (2.6)

#71 : FEB 18th, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

No simultaneous ring as advertised, they can't make it work. They say there is nothing they can do about it. It took a long time to get the phone working, so many phone calls made and different agents who could not help. Price is great but you don't get the quality and customer service they claim to have.

Comment on this review >>

  • Previous Page
  • Page 2 of 9
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 90 5 Stars 45
Thumbs Up 58 4 Stars 13
Thumbs Down 32 3 Stars 19
Average Rating 3.9 2 Stars 10
More Providers 1 Star 3
Top Residential Providers*

4.5

4.5

3.9

3.9

4.3