Star2Star Reviews

Provider Average Rating Resources
Star2Star (2.5)
22 Reviews
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

FREE Business VoIP pricing in minutes!

  • Save Money: REDUCE phone bills by up to 80%.
  • Save Time: Get multiple quotes to compare.
  • Trusted: Over 100,000 quotes processed.

How many employees use the system:

BBB logo

Just a few more questions...

Business location & name:

Let's get your name right.

Who gets the quotes:

We are preparing your quotes.

Where do we send them:

Use the below tabs to navigate to reviews, Q&A, and useful tools.

Take me straight to the 22 User submitted reviews >>

Star2Star Communications Review by WhichVoIP

As one of the newer companies in the VoIP market, Star2Star Communications has shown a very respectable level of growth since the company was first founded in 2006. Headquartered in Sarasota, FL, the company primarily serves the Southeast US, though they have a variety of clients throughout the country. They provide several services such as SIP trunking for voice and fax, Unified Communications (UC) applications and Internet access.

The Good

Star2Star provides holistic communication solutions for the companies they serve. By employing a blended architecture, their service provides the ability to call anyone via SIP trunking, whether inside or outside the company. This service utilizes physical IP PBX devices deployed on business premises that are configured to link to other devices on a company WAN as well as to the PSTN.

Truly, Star2Star provides just about every communication feature your can imagine. They are equipped to offer a multitude of business oriented solutions that include voice calling within and outside a company network, mobile network solutions and a wide variety of UC solutions. Included is an IM application, conference calling for both voice and video, inbound and outbound faxing, presence monitoring and several other features. An online portal enables configuration of other items that tie into the applications such as auto attendant, call queue management, voicemail, call recording and much more.

Their service ties into a hosted infrastructure that provides fortification of VoIP solutions. Customers are ensured over 99% network uptime meaning there are virtually never lengthy downtime periods for clientele networks. Even in the event of a total power outage, the Star2Star UPS systems enable limited-time usage for such situations, as well as back up settings and contacts to the cloud.

Star2Star has the capability to integrate with various CRM systems. The system can extract data from just about any major CRM into their communication system. By doing such, your company will not have to spend time transmitting pertinent information to the system.

The Bad

Like many providers geared toward serving larger businesses, you will not find baseline pricing for services by simply browsing the Star2Star website. Everything is custom tailored to individual business needs so it is impossible to gain a price perspective from the web alone. As long as needs can be adequately articulated, Star2Star can fashion a solution and price conducive to said requirements.

A fair amount of past and present employees have provided very critical reviews of the working environment. When employees are unhappy, this is often reflected in the quality of service a company provides to clientele. Despite some negative commentary about working conditions, many also state the working environment is quite fun. Do not let employee reviews greatly affect your decision making process - those that are unhappy are more likely to voice opinions than those who are overall satisfied with their job.

The Bottom Line

  • Comprehensive communication solution across multiple devices from desktops to mobile phones.
  • Full UC suite that includes instant messaging as well as conferencing for voice and video.
  • Disaster solutions that encompass backup and recovery as well as power outage support.
  • Complete Internet solution that allows for communication redundancy.
  • CRM integration for a wide variety of software such as Salesforce and SugarCRM.
  • Dedicated mobile network for mobile iPhone users.

Overall Thoughts

Though a fairly new competitor in the VoIP market, Star2Star is a prime example of a great business within the industry. Large enterprises typically have very low tolerances for any kind of obstacle that may be encountered with a business system so note the company has few, if any, complaints against their products and services.

Like others who serve mid to enterprise level businesses, Star2Star does not provide a pricing tier on their website. This is mainly because the services they offer are for offices that span multiple locations, have a large number of users (i.e. in excess of 100) and often with unique requirements. Direct contact with their sales consultants is necessary in order to formulate a complete quote based on the specific needs of your business.


Star2Star Overview

WhichVoIP has been receiving user reviews and ratings for Star2Star Communications since 2012. Although our volume of user reviews is light, customers seem to be happy with the service.

The feature set is amazing.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 3)

Summary
Total Number 22 5 Stars 4
Thumbs Up 5 4 Stars 1
Thumbs Down 17 3 Stars 3
Average Rating 2.5 2 Stars 7
More Providers 1 Star 7

Star2Star reviews are listed in chronological order.

COO

Overall rating (2.2)

#22 : : MAY 14th, 2019

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We signed a 5 year contract and paid on time every month for 5 years. After five years we decided to change to another provider but Star2Star would not let us cancel because our contract has an auto-renew clause which says that if they do not receive written cancellation within 60 days then the contract auto renews. We called their customer service and they offered to give us a 10% discount for the year but said we need to pay them over $2,000 to cancel the contract!

Comment on this review >>

This system fixed all of our problems.

Overall rating (5)

#21 : : APR 22nd, 2019

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

After getting the run around from Vonage our phone system always having problems, dropped calls, static, and the like, we sought out for the correct system. We found it. Star2star will let you use the system for a month to see if you like it. They come and install the entire thing adding a star system box at our Internet connection. Apparently this is the secret sauce. After this are phones work great. I highly recommend them.

Comment on this review >>

Just Stay Away

Overall rating (1)

#20 : : DEC 10th, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Not only is their service team laughable, but they have a way of attempting to extort clients when you attempt to leave. You cannot call and cancel, but send an email and wait for a response. When they finally respond, they will elongate the process to get to your end date, where if you have not vacated, they will try to charge you for an additional year. If you fight it, they will bring in a collections service to harass you. It is a shoddy business at best with less than acceptable service times. Find someone else to work with.

Comment on this review >>

Star2Star Sucks!

Overall rating (1)

#19 : : OCT 16th, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The list of problems we had is long. Do not use Star2Star!

Comment on this review >>

Great Service

Overall rating (5)

#18 : : JUN 28th, 2018

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Star to Star is a great company and easy to work with. The installation and change over went very smooth. They have been able to answer all of our questions about the system. The instruction to use the phones are very clear.

Comment on this review >>

No Customer Service

Overall rating (2)

#17 : : MAY 15th, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Called office for assistance, continually on hold, finally hung up and called back and tried to use another extension for sales. Finally after 3 minutes got an answering machine. 6 calls later and never actually talked to anyone. Cannot give a negative number on customer service but they deserve a 3 digit negative number!

Comment on this review >>

Phone System Downtime Lasting Days

Overall rating (2)

#16 : : MAY 8th, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

When the phone system is working, it's fine. The problem is that at least every 6 months it goes down and the support team has a difficult time getting the service back up the way it should be working. We rely on our phones for business and I would not recommend Star 2 Star to anyone.

Comment on this review >>

Can you really do business this way?

Overall rating (1.8)

#15 : : APR 11th, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The Star2Star service works well enough. We experienced disjointed levels of service. Our local 3rd party representative charged us for products covered by Star2Star and used the excuse that we should have known. We actually stopped using Star2Star in the middle of a 60-month contract. We still paid for there service. We could not get out of paying any of the line items on our invoice: Invoice Processing Fee: $4.99 per month E911: $2.99 per month Maintenance: $37.90 per month Bandwidth Optimization per line: $2.50 per month Watch out for their cancellation policy. You can cancel your account for the day your contract expires providing you do it 180 days before and no less than 60 days before your contract expires. The penalty for missing this is an auto-renewal of 12 more months. The "reward" for canceling your account for the day your contract expires is a $150.00 "Early Contract Termination Fee." Up to this moment, no one can tell me how to cancel the contract on time. I admit, that I "cut off my nose to spite my face" when I stopped using Star2Star in the middle of our contract. Again, note that I stopped using their service. I did not stop paying for it. After getting nowhere with their "You are covered for this repair/part under our maintenance agreement ($37.90 per month) but our dealer charged you" issue, I did not want to continue using a product from this company. Again, "Cutting off my nose...". I was ready to let "bygones be bygones" until I got hit with my $150.00 early termination fee. The whole experience seems like a ripoff to me. Buyers beware!

Comment on this review >>

Horrible System and Support

Overall rating (1.4)

#14 : : APR 9th, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I've been a Star2Star customer for two years now (in a five-year contract), and have had nothing but headaches since day one. For the past year, we experience one-way audio for several seconds at a time (caller can hear us, but we can't hear them), and about once a month the phones either go completely down for a few hours or our queues get locked up and our agents cannot retrieve calls from them. I've tried to get out of the contract for the past 18 months, but Star2Star will not let us out without paying for the remainder of the term and everything owed on their equipment. Star2Star's tech support people are friendly enough, but they often don't have answers to our issues and we're just told to wait until the problem is fixed by someone else. Also, when our system is completely down, generally Star2Star's tech support lines are down as well, so you can not get in touch with anyone when you're having problems. The software/portal is awful, outdated, and confusing. This has been the absolute WORST phone system experience I have ever had to deal with. I would warn anyone and everyone to STAY AWAY from Star2Star!

Comment on this review >>

One of the Worst Companies

Overall rating (1)

#13 : : FEB 18th, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Horrible, horrible! This is one of the worst decisions we ever made in our entire 25 years being in business by trusting Star2Star for our phone services. They sell their services through channel partners. They were equally bad. There is absolutely no sense of responsibility of their representations and actions. Very unprofessional. However, very sweet and talkative during pre-sale discussions. We have nothing but problems from beginning through now. We are in 3rd month of their installation and service.

Comment on this review >>

  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 22 5 Stars 4
Thumbs Up 5 4 Stars 1
Thumbs Down 17 3 Stars 3
Average Rating 2.5 2 Stars 7
More Providers 1 Star 7
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

Top Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$19.99
(4.3)
from
$19.95
(4.6)
from
$19.99
(4.4)
from
$19.99
(4.5)
from
$24.95 5 user min
(4.9)
  • SHARE: