Star2Star Reviews - Page 4 of 4

Star2Star

37

User Reviews

2.2/5

Average Rating

16%

Recommended

Total:

37

5-Star:

5

4-Star:

1

3-Star:

3

2-Star:

16

1-Star:

12

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>


User Reviews (Page 4 of 4)

Star2Star reviews are listed in chronological order.

Worst tech support ever!

Overall rating (1.8)

Number 7 : AUG 9th, 2016 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

The Fax system has been down for two weeks! I have spent hours on the phone with technical support. I am losing money on my business over this!

Comment on this review >>


Bad business decision

Overall rating (2.4)

Number 6 : AUG 1st, 2016 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Not only do they require a 3 year contract, not mentioned by the sales person, but they auto renew at the end of 3 years with NO notice. They are rigid, unfriendly and overpriced.

Comment on this review >>


Keep Looking!

Overall rating (3.4)

Number 5 : OCT 30th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Do not use this service. They made some updates and now you can only send ONE document at a time, not attach multiple documents to a fax like we use to be able to do. You CAN'T send Word documents any longer, they have to be scanned into a PDF. Not efficient and I recommend looking elsewhere! You will only be stuck with a pricey plan that you can't get out of! Not the best for busy offices.

Comment on this review >>


Star2Star

Overall rating (3)

Number 4 : OCT 14th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

We have also had issue with Star2Star, by default we disable VLAN1 on our network. On the StarBox (PBX) they use VLAN41 for voice and VLAN1 for data and they won't let us adjust the data vlan. Needless to say we cannot piggy back any of our PC's off the phones in the office and have to waste a whole switch port for each. Star2Star works with Yealink, Cisco, and Polycom but there are very limited features in their config. We used Cisco 7900 phones in our office and had to replace them with Yealink because they could not even make a monitor line for our manager's phones. They support a large variation but no features, everything is in there StarFramework you have to download and run off your PC.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Jake (1/23/2019) : Tim, Do you know if this is still the case. We are getting ready to migrate to a Star2Star system and I currently do not use VLAN1 for anything (Security). My desktops sit on VLAN200. Some locations only have a single CAT5 drop so I was planning on using the phone as a switch.

Comment on this review >>


Keep looking

Overall rating (3.4)

Number 3 : OCT 13th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Star2Star is great for your small 1-25 user company on an unmanaged network. When dealing with any users that have Cisco switch/phone you will run into issue with this system. The star2star engineers do not understand CDP and will only support LLDP. If your network is Cisco based the issues are pretty clear if you cant run CDP. This is a company that has the best pricing hands down but no Tier3/4 support when you need it. For a basic network this will work but for a network with a few VLANs your going to have trouble.

Comment on this review >>


Unbelievable!

Overall rating (5)

Number 2 : APR 7th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I was introduced to Star2Star by a friend. I run a law office and after years of poor service with other VoIP carriers, I decided to try Star2Star. This VoIP company is very different. They have a blended architecture that gives you an on premise box (like a PBX) that provides me with multiple levels of failover/redundancy. They also have failover to the cloud (similar to other VoIP providers) which includes something like 6 or 7 data centers across the country! The box I have on premise does what's called traffic shaping and voice prioritization. This makes for crystal clear calls - every time! The feature set is amazing as well. Conference calling, video conferencing, find me/follow me, iPhone App, soft phone on my laptop, fax to email, voicemail to email, Outlook integration - the whole 9 yards. Not only do I get the crystal clear calls, the plethora of calling features, but I saved about $120 a month on my phone bill (I was with 8x8 before Star2Star). This is, by far, the best system I have ever purchased. The dealer came and did the install which was seamless (and I mean seamless!), they trained me on the features and gave me links to webinars, tutorial videos, online user manuals and everything. 10 minutes after my install, Star2Star called me and asked me how the install went. Are you kidding me?? If I could have reached through the phone to hug the Star2Star rep, I would have. I had, what I thought, was an issue with one of my phones. Star2Star overnighted me a replacement phone with no questions asked. Did I mention, all of my equipment is covered under a 100% 24 hour replacement warranty?? Who does that anymore?? Answer: Star2Star. Very very highly recommended. I have recommended other business associates and they are just as satisfied as I am. This company is the real deal. It's not your father's VoIP company - this is MUCH better!

Comment on this review >>


Reliable phone service

Overall rating (3.8)

Number 1 : DEC 4th, 2012 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

We were looking for a local phone provider for our small business near Sarasota in Florida. We decided to look at a few options and stumbled upon Star2star and their VoIP solution. We were a little unsure about the VoIP option at first as we are not a technical outfit and were concerned we needed some technical background....it turned out to be completely the opposite. Installation and set up went very smoothly. Learning all the features was the hardest bit! The service includes conferencing service so that was an added bonus. Another feature which we found useful was being able to set "user rights" per extension (so you can restrict for outbound calling, international calling etc). This worked great from some common area phones. We found the MS outlook integration feature useful also. Overall we are happy with the decision and believe we made the right choice. I would recommend this service to other businesses based on our experience.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Comment by Chris (5/9/2013) : I'm a little bit confused by this review: It states you are not technically savvy and you're new to VoIP and it also states that their are a lot of features, some of which you will definitely use. Then you state the installation went well. And yet - the rating is only a 3.8. What were the reasons why you didn't rate them at a higher level? Is call quality good? When you call customer service, do they answer your questions? Were you trained how to use the services? Is the price comparable to other services when taking into consideration the cost of equipment and the features you have? I work in an office that uses Star2Star and I found it to be amazing. Or are you someone who just doesn't ever give outstanding ratings? Just trying to understand your reasoning - because none of your comments indicated you were anything but pleased...

Comment on this review >>


  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 4 of 4

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Get First Month Free!
  • Unified Voice and Video Solution
  • Simple to Use for Admins/Users
  • Unlimited Calls, from $19.95/mo
Free Trial 4.5

Read Reviews
  • The #1 VoIP solution for remote teams
  • Work anywhere - mobile & desktop apps
  • Stay connected with video meetings
  • Cloud based intuitive admin portal
No Contracts 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Cloud VoIP tailored to you
  • Free Polycom phones + 30 day trial
  • Unlimited Calls, 10 devices/user
  • Voice chat button for websites
Free Trial 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Starting at $14.95 + FREE Phones
  • Phone, Message, Conference, Share
  • 30+ Platform Integrations
  • Management Call/Report Features
Free Trial 4.7

Read Reviews
  • Includes Phones on Select Plans
  • Outstanding Reliability
  • Incredible Features
Cancel Anytime 4.8

Read Reviews