Ooma Reviews - Page 2 of 4

Ooma

33

User Reviews

4.3/5

Average Rating

88%

Recommended

Total:

33

5-Star:

23

4-Star:

6

3-Star:

1

2-Star:

1

1-Star:

2

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>


User Reviews (Page 2 of 4)

Ooma reviews are listed in chronological order.

Poor call quality

Overall rating (2)

Number 23 : JUL 1st, 2015 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I have been using OOMA for two years and cannot beat the cost savings BUT the call quality issues are ongoing and cannot be solved by OOMA . With having 20.0 Mbps of download and 2 Mbps upload consistantly the calls can range from ok to very poor and disconnects. The call quality is tinny, echoes, and complete loss of segments of the conversation. After many calls to OOMA trying to find a fix the problem continues. I have asked for firmware updates, they have opened the band range to unlimited, I have turned down the phone volume to eliminate feedback as a source but the problem continues. A smaller problem is we have two devices in different homes so when we try to activate one and deactivate another its a frustrating experience trying to explain time and time again its not new and that they are in different homes, they continually ask for the device number we want to deactivate. Why they cant keep two devices on my file is beyond me, particularly when they have different area codes for the two numbers. Then they say the device will be activated in 24 hours, who can be without a phone for 24 hours, so each time I have to demand immediate connection and after arm twisting and cajolling its done but why we need to go through this wrestling match twice a year is beyond me. They just cannot understand that there are two devices 2000 miles apart. For a supplier to advertise the conveniance of portable calling anywhere in the world someone needs to tell their staff about why OOMA is around and why people use the service. Big disconnect between the stated benefits of the device and the actual staff support of the device.

Comment on this review >>


Works

Overall rating (4.2)

Number 22 : JUN 19th, 2015 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Pro's: I can get a second number in another city. I can receive and place calls on my tablet. I get North American long distance free. Cons: Service is from people who's native language is not English. Service is poor.

Comment on this review >>


Phone System down two days in a row

Overall rating (3.6)

Number 21 : APR 27th, 2015 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

The Ooma phone service has been up and down for over 2 days and no way to contact them by phone.

Comment on this review >>


For $10 a month its the best deal out there!

Overall rating (4)

Number 20 : APR 24th, 2015 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

The base unit costs about $100 and you are charged $10 for the enhanced voicemail and call options. You get unlimited Canada and U.S calling and cheaper international calls. The unit plugs right into your computer or high speed modem. Calls are very clear and the service is reliable. Great for personal, home office or even small business.

Comment on this review >>


Warning!

Overall rating (1)

Number 19 : JAN 28th, 2015 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Be careful as they lie on the services and the status of orders. 1) The Premium service listed on their web site had a promotion that included several additional countries. They did not deliver on their promotion. We joined ooma due to the promotion. They engaged in false advertising. 2) Phone number porting from existing carrier to Ooma. Ooma told us that our carrier had received the port order and they (Ooma) were waiting, that was 3 weeks ago. Today I contacted our carrier (the one holding our number) and they have yet to receive Ooma's order. Ooma lied and after 1 month, NOTHING has happened. I received an email yesterday that the order should be processed at the end of February - that's two months to fulfill the order! 3) Sound quality: The Ooma device intermittently briefly breaks resulting in split second silence periods. Obihai devices are superior to Ooma's as we have never experienced silent breaks, and Obihai is more comparable to landline sound quality. 3) In order to phone other countries, Ooma's long distance plans require you to buy a minimum lot of time/funds, some other carriers offer more flexible long distance plans which may include other countries like UK, Australia, France, etc. in the basic long distance North America plans - you don't have to buy additional LD plans (which with Ooma you have to purchase additionally). 4) Customer Service staff lie outright on the status of orders and do not disclose the true status of orders and requests. 5) Value Rating: Poor because we have to spend MORE than they advertised. 6) Ease of use: setup is virtually no different as other VoIP companies are also easy to setup BUT the method of retrieving voice messages can be more cumbersome with Ooma. For example, you need to press a button on the "box" to retrieve messages, so if you put your box out of sight (under desk), good luck.

Comment on this review >>


Great features and value

Overall rating (5)

Number 18 : SEP 12th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I have nothing to say but good things about OOMA! I have the Premium package and they offer just about everything you can imagine in a telephony package INCLUDING Android and Apple apps to allow free calls over wi-fi (250 free minutes with the Premier Package, anyway). Everything works as expected! We have had OOMA for about 3 years now.

Comment on this review >>


Poor Service

Overall rating (3.2)

Number 17 : SEP 11th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

1. We've set our phone to answer after 4 rings; about 50% of the time it does that, the rest of the time it goes to the Answering Machine (AM) after 1 to 3 rings. 2. When it rings we lift up the receiver only to get music and dial tone: sometimes we can get the caller # on line. 3. When it rings we pick up the phone but hear nothing; the caller lets us know later that they heard us but we couldn't hear him. 4. Sometimes the incoming message is recorded on our phone and other times on the Ooma box. 5. Sometimes we get a call but the phone doesn't ring. The caller leaves a message on the Ooma box, so we don't know if we're missing important calls. We keep checking on line and find that someone has called several times and left a message, but there was no ring or message. 6. They are charging us for the Premier service which we did not order so I have deleted the charge.

Comment on this review >>


Ooma is a GOOD Deal!!

Overall rating (5)

Number 16 : SEP 10th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I was really happy with my service, and I only pay $3.79 mo. For all these services and I got my same phone number. You can't beat this deal with a stick. I love it.

Comment on this review >>


OOMA still works great all these years

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 15 : FEB 24th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I'm still using Ooma since August 2009 back when they had the Hub & Scout, and those devices are still working great. I use a business class wireless point to point internet connection, and the only time there are issues, is when the internet goes down, and that may be once a year for a short period of time. Definitely would recommend them.

Comment on this review >>


Ooma Phone Service

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 14 : JAN 26th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Excellent audio. Like the adapter for wireless connection. I have found no cons at this time. Ooma phone service has many features that my land line company charges extra for that are all included.

Comment on this review >>


  • Previous Page
  • Page 2 of 4
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $11.99/mo and no contracts!
  • Wireless home phone using LTE network
  • Unlimited nationwide calls, low int'l rates
  • Free mobile app + advanced features
No Internet Required 4.3

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 4.1

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews