magicJack Reviews - Page 16 of 16

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
magicJack (2.8)
159 Reviews
Write a review

Return to Page 1 to access our magicJack review, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>

User Reviews (Page 16 of 16)

Summary
Total Number 159 5 Stars 23
Thumbs Up 65 4 Stars 35
Thumbs Down 94 3 Stars 29
Average Rating 2.8 2 Stars 43
More Providers 1 Star 29

magicJack reviews are listed in chronological order.

Extremely Poor

Overall rating (1.8)

#9 : AUG 10th, 2012 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

It really depends on what you need and what you don't need from this service. If you just want a straight up inbound/outbound phone service, I have not had a single problem with MagicJack. Call quality is pretty good and I haven't been disconnected yet. If you are looking to use advanced features, forget about it. Only half of them actually work and talking to Tech Support is insanely abysmal. I have never seen less knowledgeable staff working for someone in my entire life. When they can't figure it out, they tell you it will be functional within 24 hours. I have been on with tech support every single day since I received my MagicJack and each time has been for at least an hour. They still can not fix my problem. I chose the option to only elect outbound service and we receive inbound calls all the time. To get around this, I had to setup call forwarding to my cell phone so we at least won't get calls to our house.

Comment on this review >>

Porting Out Costs $31

Overall rating (1.6)

#8 : JUL 27th, 2012 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Magic Jack service is supposed to include E-mail notification and recording of phone messages. This service only worked intermittently the whole time I had the Magic Jack. Customer service took ages to reach, online chat often disconnected mid-chat. Fed up, I switched back to my cable provider's phone service. Kept Magic Jack number. Magic Jack charged me $31 to port their number over to another carrier. What a rip-off!!

Comment on this review >>

Good for a few months then......

Overall rating (2.4)

#7 : JUN 26th, 2012 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

it began getting worse as time went on. I called and they said it was my provider so I contacted my provider, they tested my line and said it is performing better then average. I know I have not noticed any drop in interent service....D/L and U/L speeds seem normal. So I called Magic jack back and they were jerks, didn't care and had no interest in helping me get it fixed. After my complaint I started getting a ton of pop up ads from Magic Jack telling me I needed a software upgrade. So I clicked the link, the software updated and then a month later I find a $30 charge on my card for some international calling plan from Magic Jack. The upgrade ads are deceiving and trick you into clicking the link with the additional costs in very tiny print. You have to really hunt for it to find it. I thought it was a normal software upgrade not a purchase for international calls. I called them concerning the charge and they insisted I ordered international service....Wouldn't do anything and were downright rude. I don't even know anyone overseas! Fast forward to the end of my first year. I intentionally did not sign up for auto-renew on my billing so I could change providers. (They use pop-ups to trick you into selecting auto-renew) My service expired as scheduled and a month later I find a UNAUTHORIZED charge on my card for the next year of service when my Magic Jack was already turned off. I called and they were rude and said that they would not refund the charge on my card. I ended up having to dispute the charge on my credit card to force them to refund it. MAGIC JACK IS TERRIBLE AND I DO NOT RECOMMEND THEM!!!!

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Comment by Raven on 6/19/2013 : I had to actually go to my bank & change my acct #s to prevent them from charging my debit card! after I didn't renew my LOUSY service with them they renewed it without my ok & my bank kindly refunded my acct, charged them for the reversal for an unordered service....why would a bank be so willing & easy? BECAUSE THE BANK MANAGER'S SON ALSO HAD THE SAME ISSUE! Guess all in all I just got lucky.

Comment on this review >>

magicJack Review

Overall rating (1.4)

#6 : MAR 12th, 2012 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The Owner seems arrogant and has no sense of service. Calls are handled like a cookbook when and if you can get through. My last attempt resulted in 5 dropped calls before having a real exchange of IM's addressing the problem(s). Emphasis is on attempting to get you to purchase an upgrade or more of their substandard equipment. Cosiderable static and sporadic transmission (only being able to hear every 4th or 5th word) on both ends of the conversation) left the other party and me no choice but to hang up. Have already switched to another VOIP and the difference is like night and day. The old adage, "you get what you pay for" seems true in this case. Seemed worthwhile albeit not perfect the first year. Renewed for 5 years and it has been a continuous nightmare ever since. I encouraged a couple of my friends to try it that first year. At least two did but both discontinued using it after a few months because of it's unreliability. That is why I am at this site. To spare others and to see the reviews of other VOIP's. Think I made a good choice this time. There are several VOIP Service Providers and "Service" is the key word. Customer satisfaction is not in MagicJack's vocabulary.

Comment on this review >>

magicJack Review

Overall rating (2.4)

#5 : DEC 28th, 2011 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I know other have this Magic Jack and there service is good I don't know why I am having a bad time with this

Comment on this review >>

magicJack Review

Overall rating (1.6)

#4 : NOV 21st, 2011 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Strange that a phone provider does not have a phone number. Sound quality bad, dropped calls, very poor customer service had me doing the same "repairs" many times. For the few times it worked good, it was not worth the effort. Completely unreliable. Customer serviced me weaken my computer firewall to "fix" the problem, but no change. You must notify them you no longer use the service, I was automatically billed and they would not provide a refund. I would highly recommend avoiding magicJack, it is not magic.

Comment on this review >>

magicJack Review

Overall rating (4)

#3 : SEP 23rd, 2011 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Setup - was easy BUT I had "issues" with other USB devices. Finally resolved by using an old Windows Laptop as my "Telephone Server", i.e. only running MagicJack on this PC. In the last several months, MagicJack has not renewed their inner connect agreement with the local telephone company (West Central Telephone of Sebeka, MN) in the community I live in. This means that I can't call anyone in Sebeka from my line. MagicJack didn't renew their inner connect agreement with a VOIP telephone company (Charter Cable TV) in Little Falls, MN. That means I can't call anyone who has telephone service with Charter in Little Falls. Including my best friend.

Comment on this review >>

magicJack Review

Overall rating (4.4)

#2 : APR 16th, 2009 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have actually owned this device for about 2 months and have found it to be really useful as I travel a lot internationally. You get free unlimited calls to the USA and Canada. Its easy to set up, via usb and the call quality is great. Its on $20 per annum, definitely a great value for money. It has many features too such as caller ID, conference calling and voicemail. You Should get this!

Comment on this review >>

magicJack Review

Overall rating (2.2)

#1 : AUG 2nd, 2008 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

definitely not ready for prime time. frequent problems--garbled voice- no ring when incoming calls come- callers can't here me- chat room customer service -- all problems ultimately solved by unplugging the magic jack for 2 minutes. sometimes works fine and is very cheap

Comment on this review >>

  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 16 of 16

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 159 5 Stars 23
Thumbs Up 65 4 Stars 35
Thumbs Down 94 3 Stars 29
Average Rating 2.8 2 Stars 43
More Providers 1 Star 29

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$7.16
Unlimited
(5)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.5)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$0.0198
per min
(4.3)