Intermedia Reviews

Provider Average Rating Resources
Intermedia (3.9)
144 Reviews
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

FREE Business VoIP pricing in minutes!

  • Save Money: REDUCE phone bills by up to 80%.
  • Save Time: Get multiple quotes to compare.
  • Trusted: Over 100,000 quotes processed.

How many employees use the system:

BBB logo

Just a few more questions...

Business location & name:

Let's get your name right.

Who gets the quotes:

We are preparing your quotes.

Where do we send them:

Use the below tabs to navigate to reviews, Q&A, and useful tools.

Take me straight to the 144 User submitted reviews >>

Intermedia Review by WhichVoIP

Intermedia serves the SMB market with its cloud based Unified Communications, file sharing and email service. It has its headquarters in California and currently supports over 110,000 business customers and 6,500 partners.

The Good

Intermedia's Unite plan consists of a complete Unified Communications system which includes its cloud hosted PBX phone system, video conferencing and chat, screen sharing and file management. Email hosting is also offered with Office365 Apps along with full HIPAA, FINRA and GDPR compliance.

The Unite plan ($30.99/month/user), although primarily aimed at Small and Medium sized Businesses (SMBs), integrates 90+ Enterprise grade features many of which are accessible though an on-line portal. The Unite Pro plan ($40.99/month/user) increases the video conferencing maximum number of attendees from 4 to 30 and file sharing limits from 2GB per user to 100GB.

Desktop and Mobile Apps can be used for presence and group chat in addition to individual messages all of which are synchronized across all devices. The desktop App has additional capabilities for video chats, file and screen sharing.

If you already own a PBX, Intermedia also offers SIP trunking plans so you can take advantage of their wholesale rates for external phone calls.

Intermedia offer a Service Level Agreement (SLA) guaranteeing that your phone service will be up for 99.999% of the time (that's less than 6 minutes per year of downtime!). This is measured on a per calendar month. Failure to hit this number results in a monetary penalty paid to the user. Having this agreement is somewhat unique with VoIP providers and indicates the confidence they have in their service.

Customer support is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can also open and view support tickets and access live chat through their website. Various tutorials are also available through their website under their knowledgebase section.

The Bad

Although many features are offered at no cost there are a couple of features you may want that require additional monthly fees. For example toll free numbers, fax and email accounts all cost more but this is true for most providers.

Intermedia offers a rather limited number of Polycom and Yealink phones for their system and no pricing is provided unfortunately. If you have existing phones from a different manufacturer we highly recommend you verify whether they are compatible with Intermedia's BYOP (Bring Your Own Phone) service.

The Unite plans offer unlimited calls and messages but this is based on a fair use policy which is essentially average usage across all of their business customers. It also prohibits excessive calling due to auto dialling, message blasting and certain telemarketing activities.

The Bottom Line

  • Unite Plan: This plan is $30.99 per user per month, plus applicable taxes/regulatory fees, and includes unlimited calling in the USA.
  • Unite Plus Plan: The Unite Plus plan is $40.99 per user per month, plus applicable taxes/regulatory fees. It expands on the Unite plan and adds up to 30 video web attendees and 100GB of file sharing per user.
  • Exchange Email: Email accounts start at $7.49/user/month. Additional costs for higher limits on archiving and backup.

Overall Thoughts

Intermedia offer a competitive Unified Communications suite to meet the communication needs of most businesses. By providing a Service Level Agreement (SLA) for 99.999% uptime and offering 24/7 support, it shows Intermedia has confidence in the reliability of its service.


Intermedia Overview

Intermedia has been reviewed on WhichVoIP.com since 2008 and has received positive reviews overall from our users. Read those reviews below as part of your due diligence process.

... a great phone service for our business and is really inexpensive...

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 15)

Summary
Total Number 144 5 Stars 76
Thumbs Up 104 4 Stars 25
Thumbs Down 40 3 Stars 9
Average Rating 3.9 2 Stars 19
More Providers 1 Star 15

Intermedia reviews are listed in chronological order.

Lost my phone numbers

Overall rating (1)

#144 : : APR 27th, 2019

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I signed up and was given an area code outside my place of business. "That's all we have", I was on with tech support for 2 hours and was offered 4 numbers only - no choice. After two months of doing business, cards, letterhead, business signage using the numbers, my account (bills current) was arbitrarily cancelled and my numbers lost. They literally could not find them or reassign them. The rep accidentally cancelled my account, lied and said he tried to contact me (had my email, cell number, and my Intermedia number - not a single record of an attempt). Terrible company, convoluted, impotent tech support and customer service. Serious damage to my business. Avoid them!

Comment on this review >>

Reliable service loaded with features we actually use

Overall rating (4.6)

#143 : : MAR 19th, 2019

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The phone service is reliable and the audio quality is great. We've also incorporated several of the Unite features into our daily work routine, like video conferencing, desktop sharing, and instant messaging.

Comment on this review >>

Do Not Use Intermedia!

Overall rating (1)

#142 : : FEB 7th, 2019

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Pro's: None. Con's: they will con you out of the desktop phone that YOU own and have purchased from a retail store by locking your phone so you can't login to the web UI to provision the phone if you decide to go elsewhere. Horrible company! Customer service is as useless as their service or no service.

Comment on this review >>

Ripped off and misled by Intermedia Sales

Overall rating (2.8)

#141 : : JAN 23rd, 2019

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Cons: - MISLED regarding INTEGRATION: Sales told me that Intermedia integrated with NetSuite. It turns out they don't without development. NetSuite integration was a key determining factor in choosing Intermedia over others. When I cancelled, they refused to give back the prorated monthly charges, despite the fact that the only reason I left to go to 8x8 was because they didn't integrate! - SUPPORT HOLD TIMES: I've called / chatted with support at least a dozen times in the six months we were with them; It has taken 15 minutes to get someone to help (though they are very good once you get them). Pros: + Sound quality was very good + Support was excellent, once you actually get someone

Comment on this review >>

Small Business Support

Overall rating (2.4)

#140 : : DEC 6th, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We are a small business with very limited IT resources. We have had an ongoing problem for months with the Intermedia VOIP phones flooding our network with HUGE packets and negatively impacting our network bandwidth. The support staff has provided no meaningful support. Their phones generate the packets and their servers receive them, yet they refuse to help unless we provide the packet analysis for them, which we are unable to do to their satisfaction. Their first line support has been understanding and attempted to help, but the level 2 service analysts have been consistently arrogant and unhelpful making no meaningful effort to help resolve the problem caused by their phones. If you are a small business with limited IT resources, think twice before using this company.

Comment on this review >>

Dropped Calls

Overall rating (2)

#139 : : MAY 2nd, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Nice people, horrible service. After a year of dropped calls and working with their Support team to resolve the problems, I finally gave up. I switched to MagicJack as a temporary solution which seems to work fine, just a little hard to hear the callers so I put them on speaker. I am researching Verizon and Optimum as a permanent provider.

Comment on this review >>

Horrible Company

Overall rating (1)

#138 : : APR 7th, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

This company is horrible, I switched to them because they are recommended by Costco. The on boarding of our phone system was horrible and we had problem after problem with the system. We were constantly re- booting the systems because the phones were down every other week. The real problem that could have put us out of business was that for a period of several weeks they couldn't pass through calls made from cell phones. We had no idea that was happening until one day one of my best customers said she thought we were out of business. That's when we realized the call volume was down so we called Intermedia to find out what was going on and the tech person told me about the cell phone problem. We figured that they were down at least 3 weeks and since about 60% of business calls are made from cell phones that had a very negative effect on my business. So we decided that after all the problems with Intermedia we would find another provider. Since this company was affiliated with Costco I told them I wanted all my money back, around $1,700.00. Costco is a great company and will take anything back that you buy there but that policy doesn't seem to go to the providers they recommend. They refused to give me my money back and sent me back approx 1 months charges. That wasn't much considering they over billed me based on one of their rules. So I complained several times to them and got nowhere. I complained to Costco several times and the reps got nowhere with them either. Time went on and I made one final attempt with Costco. Although he tried hard to get some money back, he failed. Costco gave me a store credit for my troubles but that was from Costco not Intermedia. All this happened around September of 2016, not quite 2 years ago and Intermedia says they don't have records that far back. Really! We have sales records back to 1994. Their customer service is horrible and I have attached a response from them when I said I was going to cancel. Turning off a small businesses phones even for a short period would be devastating and yet they don't seem to care! Most Recent Case Update Entered on 10/24/2016 at 08:34:57 PDT (GMT-0700): We have received your request to cancel your Intermedia Hosted PBX Service. All cancellations are final and irreversible. ALL SERVICES WILL BE SHUT OFF IMMEDIATELY Your services will now be shut off and will stop working. Calls will no longer work to or from your hardware. You will need to use another phone service provider for all calls, including calls to 9-1-1. Please make sure you have rerouted any phone numbers to your cell phone or to other phones. LOSS OF DIAL-TONE SERVICE Your dial-tone service will be shut off immediately for all locations as soon as your cancel order is entered. You will no longer be able to place or receive calls using the phones over Intermedia's network. If not previously indicated they should remain active, any additional enhanced service(s) associated with your account will also be terminated and you will no longer have online access to the account(s). We are sorry that Hosted PBX service from Intermedia did not work out for you. Intermedia Voice Services Support Team

Comment on this review >>

Bad Support

Overall rating (2.2)

#137 : : AUG 21st, 2015

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I use Intermedia because I found it through Costco Wholesale and have been very disappointed. I am ready to move back to my previous service provider for many reasons. The sales representative would not respond to my email for my question about my main fax number not working after a month (still using virtual number they provided). There technical support were rude (hear baby crying noise in the background). Faxing out is very complicated, no text message, and it cost more for app. Many service is not available. Don't use them.

Comment on this review >>

Poor service

Overall rating (1)

#136 : : JUN 22nd, 2015

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Their poor service resulted in them not being able to complete the initial set-up. They did however still proceed to bill me even though the phones were never set-up.

Comment on this review >>

No service would be a better name

Overall rating (1)

#135 : : APR 21st, 2015

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Long delays while on hold, the reps don't really seem to give a damn, and I'm now shopping for another service.

Comment on this review >>

  • Page 1 of 15
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 144 5 Stars 76
Thumbs Up 104 4 Stars 25
Thumbs Down 40 3 Stars 9
Average Rating 3.9 2 Stars 19
More Providers 1 Star 15
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

Top Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$19.99
(4.3)
from
$19.95
(4.6)
from
$19.99
(4.6)
from
$19.99
(4.5)