HughesNet Reviews - Page 8 of 9

HughesNet

86

User Reviews

2/5

Average Rating

13%

Recommended

Total:

86

5-Star:

3

4-Star:

6

3-Star:

10

2-Star:

41

1-Star:

26

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, resources, and Q&A >>


User Reviews (Page 8 of 9)

HughesNet reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1.4)

Number 16 : NOV 10th, 2010 : (CA)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

HughesNet in out-dated and slow. you can't down load anything with out going over there allowed time and then they charge you. you pay top dollar and get nothing. The network is so slow that you can walk you info to your client. they use the excuse that its Satellite but I get great Direct TV form Satellite but I cant even download a youtube video. DONT USE THEM THEY DO NOT DELIVER!

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.6)

Number 15 : NOV 1st, 2010 : (KY)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I was supposed to be the 2nd subscriber to what was then named DIRECTWAY. To say the least, I believe I can speak with more experience than most subscribers, so please pay heed to what I say! First off, in order to save money, the Company makes the customer sort out issues with a people that English is a SECOND language! As they are Indian they naturally speak slightly faster in a higher pitch voice. There has been some improvement in speech as compared to the early days of Directway when I felt happy to understand two words in a single sentence. As the tension rose the speed of voice and pitch esculated until I had to just finally had to hang up. Simply put, I choose to live in the country and if I want to use a computer I have NO REAL CHOICE. I have jokenly told my doctor that a Valium and a glass of wiskey is mandatory in order to prevent a stroke or heart attack resolving the simplist od problems. You have to wonder why I did not give all zeros to the questions. The reason is due to the effort that the employees try to please. They really try hard but when English is the second language the employees have a hopless situation to deal with. I would gladly pay a few pennys more per month to talk to aomeone that could answer my question in just a frction of the time it now takes. Sadly, Hughes would accually save money by simply eliminating the time difference. I recently switched to an HL9000 modem. I was getting more "drop offs" on the other moden as to nearly make it usless! I pity those with the lesser modems. This my own opion but I believe this is a result of overselling. But, as I said it is only an opinion. Now I have a top of the line HP running Windows 7. I am keeping score and I an losing 1out of 10 entries. After arguring with Microsoft, they have told me that my problems stem from my carrier. NOW WHERE DID i PUT THAT DOCTOR'S NUMBER? Pardon my spelling

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1.7)

Number 14 : SEP 3rd, 2010 : (VA)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Since June 2010 signal has been unreliable. The day I had the time and patience to speak with someone, I had a signal so the person on the phone said she couldn't tell me what was wrong. How can they help me if I don't have a signal when I call? If I had a strong signal I wouldn't need to call. Frustrating and POOR VALUE

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.1)

Number 13 : MAR 6th, 2010 : (TX)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

8 Year customer. I became a customer of DirecWay, which was the name Hughes used before it sold its DirecTV satellite division, because it was the only alternative to dialup at my residence in November 2002. Other than the failure of the transponder carrying my account on the Hughes PanaMex satellite in early January, 2002, the Hughes residential service was pretty good, with average download speeds in excess of 700 Kbps (I once clocked it at 1.5 Mbps in 2003) up until about late 2005, when the service started to slow down. I daresay that their 1998-launched SatMex 5 is technologically obsolete, and given that this key part of their infrastructure is kind of out of their reach at 22,300 miles up, they've oversold their available bandwidth. Today, I ran their satellite speed test 20 times and averaged right about 250 kbps. Just a few days ago, our phone company started to offer a 6 Mbps DSL line for 42% of Hughes' monthly fee for residential service. That's 24x the speed of Hughes for 42% of the cost. Unless you live so far out in the boonies that you can't avoid using this excruciatingly slow excuse for broadband service, don't go Hughesnet.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.1)

Number 12 : JAN 26th, 2010 : (KY)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

HughesNet Fair Access thresholds are a joke. You basically can't do anything without going over, and then they want you to pay a fee for the speed to be restored for the next 24 hours. It's a scam. My dial up was better. Can't wait until we are past the 24 month agreement to get rid of this service. Customer service is horrible. Can't understand their foreign techs and one called me stupid because I said that their Fair Access policies were not reasonable. My wife was home when they installed the service and they damaged my roof in the installation process.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (1.9)

Number 11 : JAN 23rd, 2010 : (CA)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

DO NOT SIGN UP FOR HUGHES. I pay for "up to 1500 kbps" and I get about 200-300 and have spent hours and hours with incomprehensible customer non service. Of course they are covered by the "up to" clause. DO NOT sign up with Hughes. You are locked into a contract with poor service. Even if you live in a rural area like me, rather go to the nearest internet cafe than bother with Hughes.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.6)

Number 10 : DEC 2nd, 2009 : (PA)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I started this when it was DIRECWAY. I live in a rural area so I had no choice. Phone line are old and no cble or DSL available. I have talked to customer support till I am blue in the face. At one point I was told that there was no guarranty it would be faster than Dialup. Tech support is hard to understand with them sopeaking broken english. The only time the speed ifs even close to advertised is at 5:00 AM. It starts to slow donabout 8:00 AM and only gets worse as the day wears on.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.1)

Number 9 : AUG 30th, 2009 : (TX)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Very slow esp. after noon. Email help not. Phone help not. I really think their problems are their system is overloaded so they try to keep you busy doing test. After you do the test they then tell you, you need to do a different test. Very poor service if only they lived up to their adds or even close. Only have a few months left on my contract and will be doing something different.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.3)

Number 8 : AUG 3rd, 2009 : (OK)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

The absolute worst! We have had problems with this provider from day 1: slow to no connections; poor e-mail service with huge amount of hang-ups, disconnects and error messages at the bottom of the page saying "done but with errors;" tons of TCP/DNS errors that can never be resolved, and always internet explorer problems. Their technical staff are usually in India and cannot resolve issues, so they ALWAYS tell you that they must send a technician to your home because the problem is with equipment and not with their service. They also adamently refuse to connect you to a higher level of tech assistance, when I do know for a fact that there is at least 4 levels of technical assistance that are available. The only thing positive I can say about Hughes Net is that compared to my previous dial-up service, it was an improvement in performance options. NEVER, NEVER USE HUGHES NET. If we weren't under a 2-year contract with them, they would have been cancelled a long time ago.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.1)

Number 7 : JUL 14th, 2009 : (TX)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I had no trouble ordering because they gladly took my $500 to start up service. Installation was fine but we used our own personal electrician who is very knowledgeable. I have many issues with my service. It is very slow. I am currently experiencing an issue and have been for the past week. I have gotten a different "solution" from every person I have talked to. It is VERY hard to understand their customer service because all calls are routed to India. They try their best to help, but it isn't like talking to an American - they continually repeat what you are saying to make sure they understand you correctly. I would not recommend Hughesnet to my worst enemy! It leaves much to be desired.

Comment on this review >>


  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 8 of 9
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Home VoIP Phone Service Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews