Phone Power Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Phone Power
Visit Phone Power
(4.3)
253 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 253 User submitted reviews >>

Phone Power Review by WhichVoIP

Phone Power was founded in 2005 and is headquartered in Winnetka, California. The core focus of Phone Power is providing low cost VoIP phone service to homes and small businesses across the USA and Canada.

The Good

The Phone Power flagship service plan includes unlimited calling to USA and Canada plus 60 minutes free international calling per month to over 75 countries. There is also a plan for unlimited International calling which competes very favorably with Vonage. Pricing is highly competitive and there are not many other providers that offer such aggressive pricing.

Included in the unlimited calling plan are 45+ calling features, a free second (cloned) line, free equipment lease (phone adaptor), and free activation when you sign up online. The best features, in our opinion, are Voicemail to email, fax catcher which offers free incoming fax, and simultaneous ring which ensures you never miss an important call.

Phone Power has a 30-day satisfaction guarantee, allowing hassle free upgrades, downgrades or cancellation. Customer service, sales and support are 100% USA based and support is available 7 days per week via phone, live chat and email.

The call quality has always been good when we have tested this at WhichVoIP.com. However this is true for most providers these days, and often poorer quality calls are a result of setup issues or poor Internet service.

The Bad

If you are not willing to pre-pay for service over 1 year or 2 year terms, the price per month jumps up significantly, over 200% in fact.

Another negative is the cancellation policy if you are outside 30 days and have not completed your contract should you sign up for a 1 year or 2 year plan. The cancellation fee is $99 or the cost of the remaining months left on your contract, whichever is less.

Phone Power does not offer outgoing Internet based fax service (i.e. efax). This is a slight negative in that some other providers do include this service free of charge. However it does support the T.38 protocol meaning you can send and receive faxes using a traditional fax machine.

Most providers have what is called a maximum usage when it comes to unlimited phone plans. Phonepower is no exception, but the maximum usage is 5,000 minutes which is very high. After 5,000 minutes, the price is 2c/min for USA/CAN calls.

Finally, if you choose the 2 year term note that even though the second year of service is free, you are still required to pay the service taxes and regulatory fees for the second year which tend to be in the $3 to $5 range per month. This is fairly standard these days but worth highlighting as sometimes our visitors have been shocked at this when the second year comes along.

The Bottom Line

  • Cost: $5.99/month for the first 2 years of service (pre-paid) for unlimited calling USA/CAN plus 60 minutes per month free International calls. Note this is assuming you use the WhichVoIP special rate. If you go direct, it costs $8.33 per month. If you want month-to-month pricing rather than a contract the price jumps up to $19.95/month.
  • International: Unlimited USA/CAN plans include 60 minutes of free International calls to over 75 countries. If you need more than this you can pay the additional rate for the country you are calling or jump to the World Plus plan. This plan offers unlimited calling to over 75 countries.
  • The ATA adapter that you connect your phone to is free of charge. However, shipping costs $14.95 for the ATA.

Overall Thoughts

Phone Power is a very decent service and if you are willing to pay for the 2 year contract, the pricing is very aggressive. If you must do month-to-month plans there are likely better options for you. The feature set is excellent, and covers all of the main features you would ever want and more.

Take advantage of the WhichVoIP special rate for the 2 year pre-pay plan as it will save you over $50 for a 2 year term.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Andrew


Phone Power Overview

Users have been submitting their reviews of Phone Power phone service since 2008 resulting in over 230 reviews to browse through. Most of the reviews are very positive in nature and customers love the savings. A few reviewers were shocked by the taxes due on the free second year. We have additional details on this in the "Our Review" tab.

... I can't tell the difference in call quality over my old landline...

...The service has been excellent! The savings --- tremendous!...

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 26)

Total Number 253 5 Stars 161
Thumbs Up 178 4 Stars 32
Thumbs Down 75 3 Stars 41
Average Rating 4.3 2 Stars 15
More Providers 1 Star 4

Phone Power reviews are listed in chronological order.

Payment

Overall rating (4.1)

#253 : SEP 14th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The only thing I don't like is they don't notify you when their going to bill me and they don't tell me after I've been billed.

Comment on this review >>

Seven Years Good Luck

Overall rating (4.9)

#252 : JUL 31st, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I've had Phone Power service for nearly seven years. The time flies by because I've had zero problems, and the quality, features and service are consistently great.

Comment on this review >>

Poor

Overall rating (1.4)

#251 : JUL 4th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I used this Phone Power service for a few years but voice quality is bad now, plus I had problems with the adapter unit which required replacement. They wanted to charge me over 65 dollars for a new one . stay away! Worst customer service and if you like doing technical support with someone on the other side of the world be my guest. They just ask you to reboot your router. I asked for a refund but their heavy handed one-side contract will not give you any refund at all.

Comment on this review >>

Very unreliable service

Overall rating (3)

#250 : MAR 21st, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Very unreliable, we have to reboot the system often. Don't get lured by the $5.99 price, after calculating with tax/fees it comes pretty much to double the amount. My advice: before signing up make sure you know how much it will cost.

Comment on this review >>

Recommended

Overall rating (5)

#249 : FEB 18th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Outstanding service! Both technically as well as customer service! When we have had any technical issues with either our Cable modem and/or the service, we have had excellent resolution in less than a couple of hours. This provider troubleshoots third party devices. We are a very satisied customer for over 3 years.

Comment on this review >>

Great Price, Reliable Service

Overall rating (4.3)

#248 : FEB 7th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Very easy to change from my landline to Phone Power, and MUCH better value. Phone Power includes an amazing selection of features, more than I even know how to use. The unlimited Canada & USA long distance calling makes my life so easy because I don't have to count the minutes of use. I also love the free 60 minutes per month of international calling, plus low rates if you go over 60 minutes. I chose the 2 year pre-paid plan, which was an incredible value. Highly recommended provider!

Comment on this review >>

Solid Service - Excellent

Overall rating (5)

#247 : FEB 6th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have tested 5 VoIP services for at least 1 full year. Currently have 3 running for extra use. My experience has been very good mostly because of my HIGH Speed IP service FiOS. Phone Power is clear, fast, great sound, no echo or feedback. Feature set is full and the Speed Dial feature is now upgraded and much faster. Highly recommend.

Comment on this review >>

Pretty good

Overall rating (4.1)

#246 : FEB 6th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I chose Phone Power because it had the best ratings on WhichVOIP. I'm very happy with the service as it gives many features at a small fraction of the cost of a conventional phone-line. The biggest drawback is that around 5% of the time sound quality can deteriorate, very occasionally to the point where it's hard to make out what's being said, though that's much less than 1% of total airtime. I'm not sure if the worst connections are between my phone and friend with a different VoIP service provider, or if it can be down to one provider's quality at a time. As my partner still has a conventional phone-line we are assured service in the event of a power failure. As we have cells as well sound quality isn't critical to me, especially as I don't rely on the phone for professional communication. Using a VoIP line forced me to buy a cordless phone, as VoIP doesn't support branching phone lines. So I chose the most reliable Panasonic on the market with primary corded handset, which after the vendor replaced the first defective unit, it works quite well.

Comment on this review >>

Everything Great

Overall rating (5)

#245 : FEB 5th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have used Phone Power for several years now and very rarely had any issue. When issues arise the technical service were very quick to resolve it. All the features are great.

Comment on this review >>

Wonderful Service

Overall rating (5)

#244 : FEB 5th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Have had Phone Power, Teleblend and INTalk over the years. All three are outstanding, especially if the system has high speed Internet service.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 26
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 253 5 Stars 161
Thumbs Up 178 4 Stars 32
Thumbs Down 75 3 Stars 41
Average Rating 4.3 2 Stars 15
More Providers 1 Star 4

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: