Lingo Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Lingo (3.1)
190 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 190 User submitted reviews >>

The WhichVoIP.com Lingo Review

Lingo, Inc. is based in Mclean, Virginia and was founded in 2004. It is an affiliate of Primus Telecommunications Canada Inc. Lingo is an affordable service with a range of domestic and international residential plans to choose from.

The Good

Lingo offers a decent range of service options for limited calling and unlimited calling through the US and Canada. It also has multiple options for international calling within 50 countries and mobile phone support within 25 countries. Regardless of what service is chosen, all Lingo plans include free activation and free equipment.

Lingo VoIP plans offer 20+ features including E911, caller ID, simultaneous ring, call waiting, speed dialing, and free phone number transfer. Additional features, such as a fax line, mobile service, softphone and a toll free number can be added at additional charges.

Call quality is reasonable and this is validated by our user reviews where call quality is rated average for most users.

Regular international travelers or business people may find the universal phone number useful. Customers can select the area code they feel is most relevant for them. Local calling rates are applicable for calls within that chosen area code, regardless of whether the phone is physically in that region or not. Users can transport their same number internationally via the Lingo phone adaptor. Currently, 16 countries are available for this service.

The Bad

Across the board, the plans tend to be quite expensive when compared against other companies that you will find on this website.

The "unlimited" service plan is limited to 2,200 minutes/month. It is important to know this limit as Lingo can, at its own discretion, move a customer into a more expensive, higher limit plan if the minutes/month limit is reached, forcing the customer to pay much more than they initially expected to pay. Couple a move to a more expensive plan with the $24.95 Plan Change fee and you may be paying much more than you bargained for. It's definitely good to be prepared while dealing with Lingo and have a good idea as to how many minutes you expect to use per month.

Mobile only plans are available so you can make cheap calls to other countries but surprisingly there is no support for iPhones. It is also very expensive.

Also be aware that early termination of any 12 or 24 month plans will net an Early Termination fee of up to $175.

Additional fees to pay every month on top of each plan include an Administrative, Regulatory and Compliance fee of $2.99.

Tech support is available 24/7, though many customers have complained in our user review section that sales representatives are generally unfamiliar with the products and services provided and technical support is often difficult to get a hold of. It has also been noted in our user reviews that once support representatives have been spoken to, problems are often resolved days later than expected, if resolved at all.

The Bottom Line

  • American Essential: Lingo's cheapest plan, the America Essential plan, costs $9.95/month and includes 500 minutes within the US and Canada. Overages cost an additional 4c/minute.
  • American Unlimited: The America Unlimited plan offers "unlimited" calling to US and Canada at $22.95/month with the first month free. Lingo does offer an annual alternative to the monthly American Unlimited plan. The annual plan costs $250/year and is a little cheaper than the monthly option.
  • World Select: Offers unlimited calling to the US AND Canada plus 1000 monthly minutes to 70 countries for $23.95/month.
  • World Unlimited: This international calling plan offers unlimited calling inside the US and also to 50 countries for $23.95/month. Add on an additional 1,800 min/month to mobile phones in 25 countries for a total of $56.95/month.
  • Mobile Calling: Mobile only plans are available for Android and Blackberry devices for unlimited calls to the US and Canada along with 45 other countries. The cost is $23.95/month.
  • Hardware: Free activation and free equipment valued at $104.95. However, reactivation of an account can cost up to $25. Expect to pay any shipping and handling charges. Customers are responsible for handling the return shipping and handling of the equipment, with an Equipment Recovery fee of up to $75 if not returned within 14 days of service cancellation.

Overall Thoughts

Lingo is an easy to install service that provides decent call quality. However, should you require support from them, be aware that many users have complained about the response times and quality of the support.

For international travelers or those living and working abroad, Lingo's universal phone number is an intriguing option. However, for most users, Lingo is a less than desirable provider as other companies consistently offer more features and more cost effective plans. The mobile plans may be of value to those that do not need a home service and make a lot of international calls. It is an expensive option though, and there is no iPhone support.

Read through our selection of reviews from Lingo users for more insight into this residential provider.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Andrew


Lingo Overview

The overall trend of Lingo reviews since 2005 has gone from a "good" rating to a "poor" average rating (check out rating trends by using the "average rating graph" button opposite). The average customer service rating has declined to a "very poor" rating. Sometimes this can happen as unhappy customers can influence other unhappy customers online to post their negative experiences.

...Customer support is very poor...

If you have had a good or bad experience with Lingo we would love to hear from you, completing the review form takes between 1 and 2 minutes of your time and is very valuable to prospective users.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 19)

Total Number 190 5 Stars 34
Thumbs Up 62 4 Stars 34
Thumbs Down 127 3 Stars 53
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 57
More Providers 1 Star 12

Lingo reviews are listed in chronological order.

Horrible billing

Overall rating (2)

#190 : JAN 23rd, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I had lingo as a land line for about 6 years, I don't use a land line much so I did not bother to change it. In that time I had to call and had at least 3 new boxes sent, they break a lot, I had to restart the box, modem, phone and computer at least once every two weeks. Customer service is not very good. The bill kept going up, started at $20 and made it's way back to $44, I still don't know why. When I finally closed the account on the 26th of the month since I was always billed on the 28th they told me that invoices were printed on the 25th so I would still have to pay for a full month even though I was closing the account on the 26th. After I disputed the charge and my credit card company reimbursed me, Lingo contacted a collection agency so I had to deal with them re-explaining that lingo wanted to charge me for a full month even though the account had been closed.

Comment on this review >>

Fax service totally worthless. Non American customer service

Overall rating (2.3)

#189 : JUL 2nd, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

You can't speak with customer service. Last week I called and a recording kept saying my wait time was about 1 minute; 37 minutes later a person answered and the English was so bad they should be ashamed to have such a person answering phones for American customers. I never could understand him, he had a very heavy Indian accent. This is not the first time I have had Indian people answer the phone for them. Shame on them! The fax line they sold me, even if I go to overseas mode, will fail about 90% of the time on a single page with limited data and always with more than one page or heavy data on page.

Comment on this review >>

Calls are cut off after 61 minutes, this is policy!

Overall rating (3.7)

#188 : OCT 24th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

We've had Lingo service for over 15 years! Its been fine, but I did notice that our bills kept climbing over the years. We started at about $10 per month and have arrived at about $45 per month consistently. Recently, I noticed all my longer calls would drop at exactly 1h. Once this happened after I'd been on hold with a company for 55 minutes and had just gotten to talk to someone that could help me. That's when I contacted them about it and was told that this is their policy. No calls over 61 minutes. So I've had enough and I am looking for a new provider.

Comment on this review >>

Worse Customer service ever!

Overall rating (2.7)

#187 : AUG 6th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I was a 10 years customer for Lingo. Too many problems and the customer services is the worse I have seen. I'm 2 months waiting them to fix my international calls. 10 minutes in the line to get someone in the other side every time I call. It is enough for me. Switching over to Vonage with no remorse.

Comment on this review >>

NEVER Again in Life

Overall rating (1.3)

#186 : JAN 29th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Please do not get service from lingo. All first they told me that price for month its gonna be in between $25 to $30 and and of the month they billed me for $73.00. Whens i try to reach customer care i have to wait longer that i have to. I sing up with DANNY (sales rep)and he misguide me for done his sales. There was no voice clarity also and calls was dropped down in between conversation. I will never use lingo again.

Comment on this review >>

Lingo very bad when you need to end the service

Overall rating (2.9)

#185 : DEC 1st, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I had been Lingo user for more than eight years. No problem during the use. However, when I decided to end the Lingo. They kept billing for days after the cancellation monthly cycle(even after confirmation). Then they asked me to send the device or face $75 charges. I sent the deivce back. They received it. I have UPS tracking comfirming the delivery. Even than, they billed me for $75. I was on the auto pay by credit card. But one of my friend, who went through the similar hassel warned me. Therefore, I cancelled the Credit card account prior to ending the servies. Otherwise, Lingo would have charged my credit card and would have charged all these unsubstantited charges. BE CAREFUL WHEN YOU END YOUR SERVICES WITH LINGO.

Comment on this review >>

LINGO CUST SERV SUCKS

Overall rating (2.7)

#184 : AUG 25th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

PROS: easy ordering the service replaced my equipment once due to malfunction on their part, very easy to do CONs signed up for the $21.95 plan pay well over $30.00 a month. called a few times to complain cust serv never provided a solution that made both of us happy. A few times phone service was down for days never a credit or refund of any kind. But the reason for this review is that I just called lingo to cancel my account after well over 8 years. SO you are thinking if it was that bad why keep it for 8 years. B/c I didn't find an a better alternative until now. I've purchased an OOMA system been using it for about a week. Called to cancel my account, they gave a hard time wanted to lower my rate by $5 and I told him no and continued to harassed me....well why if I am lowering your rate by $5? After a few times of answering him politely I got angry and calmly told him listen, I want to cancel p-e-r-i-o-d. I don't want to discuss it, justify it or negotiate with you. I want this call to take two minutes tops and I want off the phone. LOL he then raced through all the fine print he had to read me and almost hung up on me. However, because of his accent (which if are considering signing up for lingo, you'll have to get used to I've never spoken to native English speaker...always thick accents) I did not catch if he was saying I needed to return the equipment of not. I shouted WAIT... what about the equipment. And no I did not have to return it. I know it's a bit TMI but this is what you deal with when you sing up for Lingo.... 8 years of this nonsense so happy to be rid of them. Now I will monitor my account if they hit me with ay hidden charges which wouldn't be surprising. Be sure to read the fine print.

Comment on this review >>

Worst service don't take it. they will charge more money.

Overall rating (1.9)

#183 : AUG 20th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

one of the worst service i have ever see. i can't use call forward feature. initially they said, no contract and device is free. when i cancel the service, they ask device back, if not they will charge 75 $. customer support is very poor and really bad. i would suggest not to take this service at all.

Comment on this review >>

Lingo Crooks

Overall rating (2.3)

#182 : JUN 25th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Change plans without notification doubling the original cost. Once they charge your card you will never get a credit or refund. Two months before my prepaid year is up I call to cancel my subscription for next year. Can't cancel online on hold for 30 minutes. Then instructed to call another number on hold again forever. Ask reason for cancellation I tell them two expensive increased fee dramatically to over $25 a month from $12. Rep offers new rate at $6 month. I decline. They immediately cancel my service even though I had two months left that I paid for. I cancelled my credit card to insure they don't bill me again.

Comment on this review >>

Rip Off company

Overall rating (2.6)

#181 : JUN 21st, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The people who answer the phone are rude and unprofessional. I moved service and ported my number to another company. I sent email for cancel service and they refuse to cancel it. Even thou I am not with them no more they still call and harass me for 1.99. DO NOT USE LINGO!

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 19
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 190 5 Stars 34
Thumbs Up 62 4 Stars 34
Thumbs Down 127 3 Stars 53
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 57
More Providers 1 Star 12

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: