Callcentric Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for Callcentric.

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Callcentric
Visit Callcentric
(4.5)
42 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&Q and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 42 User submitted reviews >>

The WhichVoIP.com CallCentric Review

Coming from a respectable background in telecommunications, the company CallCentric that was founded in 2001, and this somewhat low-key company is one of the better kept secrets of the VoIP world.

The Good

The CallCentric service has been designed for ease of use and has abundant plans to meet the needs of all customers. The service is compatible with just about all of the most popular SIP Compliant Platforms, including: ATA Adaptors, IP Phones, IPPBX Systems (Asterisk, Trixbox, 3CX, etc). Many third party ATAs are also supported, such as those made by Grandstream, Obihai, Linksys, Cisco and D-Link. There are also mobile applications available for Android and iOS devices which is a great way to make and receive calls on the road using your smart phone. It also enables you to make very low cost International calls from your smart phone, with outgoing caller ID that represents your CallCentric number rather than your cell number.

Crisp and clear, land-line quality service. Allows you the freedom to customize your services based on your actual needs/usage patterns, by independently selling its inbound and outbound calling plans. Products are available under BOTH the Flat-Rate Unlimited and Pay-Per Use service models and the advertised price is what you pay as there are no hidden fees or taxes. Users can also make completely free calls to other CallCentric users who have active accounts, regardless of their location.

Knowledgeable customer support is available 365 days per year and is available to both free and paid Customers

Included value added services such as free NY phone numbers, telemarketer block, IVR (Automated Attendant), SIP URI calling, fax reception feature, T38 support, ability to submit custom CNAM update requests via portal, Callcentric Android/iPhone app, free vanity toll-free number searches and more.

For those wanting to know if they can port their number over from another provider, CallCentric has a neat Local Number Portability (LNP) tool that will test your existing number to see if your number can be transferred over. Extensive footprint for LNP and new DIDs (US50, Canada, Toll-Free, and over 48 international countries).

The Bad

The plans are split by inbound and outbound calling and most customers need both. The plan pricing is reasonable though.

The user is responsible for configuring their own device as there is no remote provisioning option currently available. However, for the standard home service using a telephone, setting up an ATA is not a difficult process. To help make this process easy, there are some good troubleshooting and setup FAQs on the Callcentric website. Also note that you are responsible for purchasing the ATA device independently (i.e. Bring Your Own Device - BYOD) as the company does not sell any hardware or offer it on a "free" lease basis.

No flat-rate annual plans are currently available.

Not the absolute cheapest phone service option currently available.

The Bottom Line

  • IP Freedom: Free calling between Callcentric users.
  • Pay Per Minute (inbound): USA/CAN 1.5c/minute receive calls only. $1.95/month fee.
  • Personal Unlimited (inbound): USA/CAN unlimited incoming calls. $5.95/month fee.
  • International Unlimited (inbound): DIDs with unlimited incoming calls are available in over 48 different international countries. Pricing varies by location.
  • Pay Per Call (outbound): No monthly fee, just pay as you go. Low international rates , US/CAN (under 2c/minute).
  • North America 500 (outbound + E911): 500 minutes/month USA/CAN for $6.95/month.
  • North America 1000 (outbound + E911): 1000 minutes/month USA/CAN for $12.95/month.
  • North America Residential (outbound): Unlimited minutes/month USA/CAN for $19.95/month.
  • World Select Residential (outbound): Unlimited minutes/month 40 countries for $29.95/month.

Overall Thoughts

CallCentric is a great way to inexpensively replace a landline and many different plans are provided in order to meet your calling needs. Overall the services offer a blend of aggressive pricing and good quality of service that has resulted in great reviews from users to date. There is a lot of flexibility in allowing new users to fully customize their services. This could however potentially be a little confusing for some new users.

Note that it is a BYOD service and the amount of configuration required for the softphones or ATAs may be somewhat challenging for some customers, although good supporting documents are provided by CallCentric.

Callcentric does not claim to be cheapest service on the market and it does not offer any annual plan options. The plethora of free value added services and features along with good customer support, excellent voice quality, and good user reviews, does however make Callcentric a strong candidate for anyone that is searching for a new phone service.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Andy Forgrieve


Callcentric Overview

Callcentric received it's first review back in January 2008 on WhichVoIP. Since then a steady flow of mostly positive reviews have been continuing, leading to an excellent overall average rating and a very high recommended percentage score.

...Costs less, does more, sounds better... Simple as that...

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 5)

Total Number 42 5 Stars 33
Thumbs Up 36 4 Stars 4
Thumbs Down 6 3 Stars 2
Average Rating 4.5 2 Stars 3
More Providers 1 Star 0

Callcentric reviews are listed in chronological order.

Good value, great line quality and lots of features

Overall rating (4.9)

#42 : JAN 26th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I use the CallCentric VOIP service with an Obi202 ATA, connected via an ASUS router to a Surfboard cable modem. The call quality is outstanding, better than my old Frontier land line. The available features are also very good. When I initially subscribed I made a few inquiries to CallCentric technical support and received very quick and detailed responses to my tickets. Overall the DID porting and setup was relatively straight forward. I am a satisfied customer.

Comment on this review >>

Simply the best!

Overall rating (4.9)

#41 : SEP 14th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been a satisfied customer for over 4+ years. They keep developing powerful FREE features, but I haven't seen a single price increase. All taxes and fees are included in their published rates. LOVE the new Telemarketer Block and FREE IVR. You CANNOT go wrong with these guys. Keep up the good work!

Comment on this review >>

Works well with Cisco CME and softphone clients/3G

Overall rating (5)

#40 : FEB 22nd, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I don't even remember how I found these guys but I've been using them for about 2 years now. Works fantastic with Cisco Call Manager Express on a 2800/3800 series router, and while I wouldn't mind handling my call treatment and rejection rules within my router config... there's enough flexibility with their call treatments to where I can do some of my config on the router and some of it (more accessible) on their home page. Support requests are answered quickly. Don't expect a lot of help with CME :grin: but aside from that always given accurate and helpful information. Cannot beat the free incoming DID but I also like using them to forward my US cellphone to a local prepaid number if I'm out of the country. Only ever had one service outage/issue that was attributable to DDOS but even that, they got a handle on very quickly. For a softphone highly recommend Bria (iOS) or CSIPSimple (Android) with G729a codec. You wouldn't expect this to work well on 3G in rural areas but I can squeak by and make calls on a half meg and sometimes less.

Comment on this review >>

A Good Residential Service, Restricted Features.

Overall rating (3.6)

#39 : FEB 22nd, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

First I will say that the process of signing up for CallCentric is confusing to say the least with their varied programs which seem to double talk each other. Once you understand the programs it's ok. The biggest challenge is understanding they consider inbound and outbound different services. So you can get inbound calling and not have outbound calling. They say it's free to voip providers but I attempted to call my GV number and was told I needed a outbound calling plan for traditional calls. So I have an inbound plan, an outbound plan, a voicemail plan. (Costs are E911 service and per minute charges for outbound calls (at least on the plan I enrolled with), roughly .02 a minute + $3 a month for E911. Setup on the CallCentric site is confusing to say the least. The user is presented with options for setting up extensions, etc, but after looking an extension is only another way of saying a place for a DID (direct inward dial). There is no option to have the caller choose an extension to get transferred, although it can do a hunt group (but without any hold music or mention of who you've reached so it as well is somewhat OK. It does have capability of anonymous call rejection to a SIT (de dee DEEE, The number you have dialed does not accept anonymous calls). Or for blocked calls it says the number is disconnected. I was using a Cisco SPA112 ATA (approx $50-$60) to setup a fax machine and cordless phone. The fax took a lot of trial and error between Cisco settings, the fax settings, and Callcentric settings. Ended up that most everything I need to do is in my Cisco ATA and it does more than the Callcentric interface is capable of. Callcentric is good about having a lot of user guides for all common ATA's and VOIP Phones. Note that you do need a SIP phone for it to work. Also because of the way Google does it's thing they don't recognize it as a VoIP service. Finally Callcentric has a phone app to allow you to dial from your mobile phone using your account number. Setup for this is a nightmare and hampered by incomplete information. After 3 different days trying to get it to work, it finally did. What the instructions lack explaining is that the mobile phone isn't getting it's own extension, but is sharing an existing extension.

Comment on this review >>

Lots of options and flexible service

Overall rating (4.6)

#38 : JAN 12th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The flexibility on their services and pricing is highly attractive. You could literally tailor your best option according to your needs, from free of charge to Business service you could always manage your features even with limited VOIP experience or savvy. Pricing like any other VOIP provider is very attractive but is not the most competitive across all options (specially on international rates) but it compensates with their customer service, their user friendly inter-phase and their many features (most of them free of charge).

Comment on this review >>

First Class Service w/ Excellent Sound

Overall rating (4.9)

#37 : APR 13th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I am extremely please with Callcentric sound quality and AMAZING customer service. I had trouble setting up my IP Phone, but their tech support will respond to my messages within just minutes. I walked me through all the setup and now I am up and running. The sound is nice and clear, so far I haven't had any outage and there are so many features, I don't think I will even use more than 20%. Overall, I am extremely please and I highly recommend this company.

Comment on this review >>

CallCentric is great!

Overall rating (4.7)

#36 : MAR 21st, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have used callcentric for years for both business and personal voip. They have awesome customer service unlike some other companies whose customer service department has disappeared like magic (hint hint).

Comment on this review >>

Callcentric is the best

Overall rating (5)

#35 : MAR 21st, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

East or West - Callcentric is the best

Comment on this review >>

More for less... Bye Bye Comcast!

Overall rating (4.7)

#34 : FEB 12th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

This is how phone service SHOULD BE! Pay per use plan has me averaging about $12-$14 per month, at least a $20 monthly Savings versus Comcast. Strongly recommended!

Comment on this review >>

Superior in every way

Overall rating (4.9)

#33 : FEB 7th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

When my service bundle pricing expired from Verizon, my monthly pricing with them skyrocketed:( While I wanted to find a more affordable solution, I didn't want to make any sacrifices in terms of quality or reliability. With Callcentric, I have found everything I was looking for and more. My total phone service bill is now under $15 per month including ALL taxes and fees. The line quality rivals what I was receiving from Verizon and at less than half the price. Callcentric also offers "Call Treatments" which have been an absolute blessing when it comes to blocking unwanted callers.. With Callcentric, I choose the exact hardware I want to use and the exact plan that fits my usage; because their service is month to month I have "peace of mind" that should my needs change I am not going to be penalized. Admittedly was a bit hesitant at first to move to a less traditional provider, but now that I have... I am never looking back!

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 5
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 42 5 Stars 33
Thumbs Up 36 4 Stars 4
Thumbs Down 6 3 Stars 2
Average Rating 4.5 2 Stars 3
More Providers 1 Star 0

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$0.0198
per min
(4.5)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: