Star2Star Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Resources
Star2Star (3.2)
9 Reviews
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

Get FREE business VoIP pricing in minutes!

Reduce your phone bill by up to 60%:

Use the below tabs to navigate to reviews, Q&A, and useful tools.

Take me straight to the 9 User submitted reviews >>

Star2Star Communications Review by WhichVoIP

As one of the newer companies in the VoIP market, Star2Star Communications has shown a very respectable level of growth since the company was first founded in 2006. Headquartered in Sarasota, FL, the company primarily serves the Southeast US, though they have a variety of clients throughout the country. They provide several services such as SIP trunking for voice and fax, Unified Communications (UC) applications and Internet access.

The Good

Star2Star provides holistic communication solutions for the companies they serve. By employing a blended architecture, their service provides the ability to call anyone via SIP trunking, whether inside or outside the company. This service utilizes physical IP PBX devices deployed on business premises that are configured to link to other devices on a company WAN as well as to the PSTN.

Truly, Star2Star provides just about every communication feature your can imagine. They are equipped to offer a multitude of business oriented solutions that include voice calling within and outside a company network, mobile network solutions and a wide variety of UC solutions. Included is an IM application, conference calling for both voice and video, inbound and outbound faxing, presence monitoring and several other features. An online portal enables configuration of other items that tie into the applications such as auto attendant, call queue management, voicemail, call recording and much more.

Their service ties into a hosted infrastructure that provides fortification of VoIP solutions. Customers are ensured over 99% network uptime meaning there are virtually never lengthy downtime periods for clientele networks. Even in the event of a total power outage, the Star2Star UPS systems enable limited-time usage for such situations, as well as back up settings and contacts to the cloud.

Star2Star has the capability to integrate with various CRM systems. The system can extract data from just about any major CRM into their communication system. By doing such, your company will not have to spend time transmitting pertinent information to the system.

The Bad

Like many providers geared toward serving larger businesses, you will not find baseline pricing for services by simply browsing the Star2Star website. Everything is custom tailored to individual business needs so it is impossible to gain a price perspective from the web alone. As long as needs can be adequately articulated, Star2Star can fashion a solution and price conducive to said requirements.

A fair amount of past and present employees have provided very critical reviews of the working environment. When employees are unhappy, this is often reflected in the quality of service a company provides to clientele. Despite some negative commentary about working conditions, many also state the working environment is quite fun. Do not let employee reviews greatly affect your decision making process - those that are unhappy are more likely to voice opinions than those who are overall satisfied with their job.

The Bottom Line

  • Comprehensive communication solution across multiple devices from desktops to mobile phones.
  • Full UC suite that includes instant messaging as well as conferencing for voice and video.
  • Disaster solutions that encompass backup and recovery as well as power outage support.
  • Complete Internet solution that allows for communication redundancy.
  • CRM integration for a wide variety of software such as Salesforce and SugarCRM.
  • Dedicated mobile network for mobile iPhone users.

Overall Thoughts

Though a fairly new competitor in the VoIP market, Star2Star is a prime example of a great business within the industry. Large enterprises typically have very low tolerances for any kind of obstacle that may be encountered with a business system so note the company has few, if any, complaints against their products and services.

Like others who serve mid to enterprise level businesses, Star2Star does not provide a pricing tier on their website. This is mainly because the services they offer are for offices that span multiple locations, have a large number of users (i.e. in excess of 100) and often with unique requirements. Direct contact with their sales consultants is necessary in order to formulate a complete quote based on the specific needs of your business.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Andrew


Star2Star Overview

WhichVoIP has been receiving user reviews and ratings for Star2Star Communications since 2012. Although our volume of user reviews is light, customers seem to be happy with the service.

The feature set is amazing.

All User Reviews

Summary
Total Number 9 5 Stars 2
Thumbs Up 3 4 Stars 1
Thumbs Down 6 3 Stars 3
Average Rating 3.2 2 Stars 2
More Providers 1 Star 1

Star2Star reviews are listed in chronological order.

Great system, saving us lots of money

Overall rating (5)

#9 : : NOV 10th, 2016

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I run a number of large real estate offices and the find me follow me feature has helped us stay in contact with customers. This is also at 1/3 the price we were previously paying.

Comment on this review >>

Buyer Beware!

Overall rating (1.4)

#8 : : AUG 15th, 2016

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Phones, second only to payroll, are the backbone of our business; we require great quality/uptime, anything less means a loss of revenue. We have made the mistake of putting more offices than I can count on two hands onto Star2Star; some of the offices are doing okay on Star2Star, but many are not and if the service just isn't working and you need to move to a solution that does work, Star2Star WILL NOT let you out of your contract, even if your phone service is ALWAYS down, or of such poor quality that you can't use it. I STRONGLY recommend you go elsewhere for your VOIP service because once you sign on with Star2Star if your service starts having issues, you're stuck no matter who's to blame. Also note, they use third parties to sell their service, this helps them to have a finger to use when pointing who's the cause of the issues.

Comment on this review >>

Worst tech support ever!

Overall rating (1.8)

#7 : : AUG 9th, 2016

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The Fax system has been down for two weeks! I have spent hours on the phone with technical support. I am losing money on my business over this!

Comment on this review >>

Bad business decision

Overall rating (2.4)

#6 : : AUG 1st, 2016

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Not only do they require a 3 year contract, not mentioned by the sales person, but they auto renew at the end of 3 years with NO notice. They are rigid, unfriendly and overpriced.

Comment on this review >>

Keep Looking!

Overall rating (3.4)

#5 : : OCT 30th, 2014

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Do not use this service. They made some updates and now you can only send ONE document at a time, not attach multiple documents to a fax like we use to be able to do. You CAN'T send Word documents any longer, they have to be scanned into a PDF. Not efficient and I recommend looking elsewhere! You will only be stuck with a pricey plan that you can't get out of! Not the best for busy offices.

Comment on this review >>

Star2Star

Overall rating (3)

#4 : : OCT 14th, 2014

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We have also had issue with Star2Star, by default we disable VLAN1 on our network. On the StarBox (PBX) they use VLAN41 for voice and VLAN1 for data and they won't let us adjust the data vlan. Needless to say we cannot piggy back any of our PC's off the phones in the office and have to waste a whole switch port for each. Star2Star works with Yealink, Cisco, and Polycom but there are very limited features in their config. We used Cisco 7900 phones in our office and had to replace them with Yealink because they could not even make a monitor line for our manager's phones. They support a large variation but no features, everything is in there StarFramework you have to download and run off your PC.

Comment on this review >>

Keep looking

Overall rating (3.4)

#3 : : OCT 13th, 2014

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Star2Star is great for your small 1-25 user company on an unmanaged network. When dealing with any users that have Cisco switch/phone you will run into issue with this system. The star2star engineers do not understand CDP and will only support LLDP. If your network is Cisco based the issues are pretty clear if you cant run CDP. This is a company that has the best pricing hands down but no Tier3/4 support when you need it. For a basic network this will work but for a network with a few VLANs your going to have trouble.

Comment on this review >>

Unbelievable!

Overall rating (5)

#2 : : APR 7th, 2014

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I was introduced to Star2Star by a friend. I run a law office and after years of poor service with other VoIP carriers, I decided to try Star2Star. This VoIP company is very different. They have a blended architecture that gives you an on premise box (like a PBX) that provides me with multiple levels of failover/redundancy. They also have failover to the cloud (similar to other VoIP providers) which includes something like 6 or 7 data centers across the country! The box I have on premise does what's called traffic shaping and voice prioritization. This makes for crystal clear calls - every time! The feature set is amazing as well. Conference calling, video conferencing, find me/follow me, iPhone App, soft phone on my laptop, fax to email, voicemail to email, Outlook integration - the whole 9 yards. Not only do I get the crystal clear calls, the plethora of calling features, but I saved about $120 a month on my phone bill (I was with 8x8 before Star2Star). This is, by far, the best system I have ever purchased. The dealer came and did the install which was seamless (and I mean seamless!), they trained me on the features and gave me links to webinars, tutorial videos, online user manuals and everything. 10 minutes after my install, Star2Star called me and asked me how the install went. Are you kidding me?? If I could have reached through the phone to hug the Star2Star rep, I would have. I had, what I thought, was an issue with one of my phones. Star2Star overnighted me a replacement phone with no questions asked. Did I mention, all of my equipment is covered under a 100% 24 hour replacement warranty?? Who does that anymore?? Answer: Star2Star. Very very highly recommended. I have recommended other business associates and they are just as satisfied as I am. This company is the real deal. It's not your father's VoIP company - this is MUCH better!

Comment on this review >>

Reliable phone service

Overall rating (3.8)

#1 : : DEC 4th, 2012

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We were looking for a local phone provider for our small business near Sarasota in Florida. We decided to look at a few options and stumbled upon Star2star and their VoIP solution. We were a little unsure about the VoIP option at first as we are not a technical outfit and were concerned we needed some technical background....it turned out to be completely the opposite. Installation and set up went very smoothly. Learning all the features was the hardest bit! The service includes conferencing service so that was an added bonus. Another feature which we found useful was being able to set "user rights" per extension (so you can restrict for outbound calling, international calling etc). This worked great from some common area phones. We found the MS outlook integration feature useful also. Overall we are happy with the decision and believe we made the right choice. I would recommend this service to other businesses based on our experience.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Comment by Chris (5/9/2013) : I'm a little bit confused by this review: It states you are not technically savvy and you're new to VoIP and it also states that their are a lot of features, some of which you will definitely use. Then you state the installation went well. And yet - the rating is only a 3.8. What were the reasons why you didn't rate them at a higher level? Is call quality good? When you call customer service, do they answer your questions? Were you trained how to use the services? Is the price comparable to other services when taking into consideration the cost of equipment and the features you have? I work in an office that uses Star2Star and I found it to be amazing. Or are you someone who just doesn't ever give outstanding ratings? Just trying to understand your reasoning - because none of your comments indicated you were anything but pleased...

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 9 5 Stars 2
Thumbs Up 3 4 Stars 1
Thumbs Down 6 3 Stars 3
Average Rating 3.2 2 Stars 2
More Providers 1 Star 1
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

3 Top Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$19.99
(4.5)
from
$19.99
(4.5)
from
$8.95 5 user min
(4.9)
  • SHARE: