Intermedia Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Resources
Intermedia (3.9)
137 Reviews
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

Get FREE business VoIP pricing in minutes!

Reduce your phone bill by up to 60%:

Use the below tabs to navigate to reviews, Q&A, and useful tools.

Take me straight to the 137 User submitted reviews >>

Intermedia (formerly AccessLine) Review by WhichVoIP

AccessLine was purchased by Telanetix in September 2007 which was subsequently bought by Intermedia in August of 2013 for $55 Million. AccessLine was one of the largest hosted PBX providers in North America and their voice services filled a significant gap in Intermedia's cloud services portfolio (claiming to be a one stop shop for business IT and cloud services).

The Good

Intermedia operates what is known as a hosted PBX solution. This means that all equipment is hosted offsite with maintenance, upgrades, security, etc. managed by them. This has two benefits for a user, minimized capital expenditure as no significant cash outlay is required for equipment and no trained personal have to be on site to manage equipment and phone additions. This is true of any hosted solution however, with Intermedia being a cloud service provider since 1996 they have extensive experience of managing and maintaining this type of service.

There are two plans available, a standalone VoIP plan and a bundled plan which includes their other cloud services. Polycom phones are also available to purchase through them, which are supplied fully configured and ready to plug directly into an Internet connection to work "out of the box". They offer 12 months 0% financing on any phone purchases.

Each plan has the typical features you would expect to see in a business phone service, such as auto-attendant, hunt groups, click to call, etc. They provide Salesforce integration, which takes the caller ID and can open up the caller's Salesforce account - this way you have all of the details of the customer as soon as the call is received.

You can port your existing numbers and there does not appear to be any charges for this process. Expect porting to take between 7 to 10 business days, but note it can take longer depending on various situations.

Intermedia offer a Service Level Agreement (SLA) guaranteeing that your phone service will be up for 99.999% of the time. This is measured on a per calendar month. Failure to hit this number results in a monetary penalty paid to the user. Having this agreement is somewhat unique with VoIP providers and indicates the confidence they have in their service.

On top of this Intermedia provide Hosted exchange (business grade email, calendars and contacts), Lync Secure Chat and Conferencing (app that runs on PC's tablets, smartphones that allow you to text, chat share screens, etc.), Cloud servers (allows you to run your business apps in the cloud), SecuriSync (syncs your files across any platform) and SIP trunking. They are truly a one stop shop for cloud based services.

Customer support is available via a toll free number 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can also open and view support tickets and access live chat through their website. Various tutorials are also available through their website under their knowledgebase section.

The Bad

Although many features are offered at no cost there are a couple of features you may want that require additional monthly fees.

If your company still uses and require's a dedicated FAX line then this comes with a cost of $14.99 per month and only includes 300 minutes per month. This seems to be a bit more expensive than other options available. However, they do provide a WebFax capability included in their hosted PBX plans for those that dont need a fax machine and dedicated line.

For employees that are travelling and are not tied to a desk phone then a mobile service may be extremely useful. Intermedia have one, however it comes at a cost of $12.99 per month. This type of service is often referred to as a softphone - again there are other similar services out there that are a little cheaper or included free with the service.

Polycom phones are highly recommended for their system. If you have existing phones from a different manufacturer we highly recommend you verify whether they are compatible with their VoIP service before signing up.

There is no mention of Canada calling being included in their unlimited calling plans (just USA). If making calls to Canada is a requirement for your business then we recommend you verify what the current rates are. There is no information regarding International calling either.

The Bottom Line

  • Standalone Plan: This plan is $29.99 per user per month, plus applicable taxes/regulatory fees, and includes unlimited calling in the USA. It also includes the Smartfax Pro account and Find Me/Follow Me feature at no additional charges (typically $5/mo each), as well as all the standard features plus SmartConferencing access.
  • Bundled Plan: This plan bundles their Standalone service in with their full office in the cloud suite (so hosted PBX, Hosted Exchange, Lync Secure, Instant Messaging, Click-to-Call and more). This plan is $39.99 per user per month (a price reduction over getting the services separately through them), plus applicable taxes/regulatory fees. SmartConferencing (200 minutes/month) and one auto-attendant (typically a $5/mo charge) are included.
  • Additional Fees: Fax lines can be added for $14.99/month each. Toll free numbers are available for a monthly fee. A mobile softphone is available for $12.99/month.

Overall Thoughts

Intermedia offer a competitive hosted VoIP service for smaller businesses. There are definitely cheaper options for the larger business (20+ users) but they do provide a Service Level Agreement (SLA) for 99.999% uptime with monetary penalties for dropping below this. They also add in their capability for offering business cloud services and integrating that with their phone service in a bundled option. This can be seen as a positive for small businesses that require those additional services, keeping it all under one bill and one company.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Michael


Intermedia Overview

Intermedia (formerly Accessline) has been reviewed on WhichVoIP.com since 2008 and consistently has received positive reviews from our users. Read those reviews below as part of your due diligence process.

... a great phone service for our business and is really inexpensive...

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 14)

Summary
Total Number 137 5 Stars 75
Thumbs Up 103 4 Stars 25
Thumbs Down 34 3 Stars 8
Average Rating 3.9 2 Stars 17
More Providers 1 Star 12

Intermedia reviews are listed in chronological order.

Bad Support

Overall rating (2.2)

#137 : AUG 21st, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I use Intermedia because I found it through Costco Wholesale and have been very disappointed. I am ready to move back to my previous service provider for many reasons. The sales representative would not respond to my email for my question about my main fax number not working after a month (still using virtual number they provided). There technical support were rude (hear baby crying noise in the background). Faxing out is very complicated, no text message, and it cost more for app. Many service is not available. Don't use them.

Comment on this review >>

Poor service

Overall rating (1)

#136 : JUN 22nd, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Their poor service resulted in them not being able to complete the initial set-up. They did however still proceed to bill me even though the phones were never set-up.

Comment on this review >>

No service would be a better name

Overall rating (1)

#135 : APR 21st, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Long delays while on hold, the reps don't really seem to give a damn, and I'm now shopping for another service.

Comment on this review >>

Horrible!

Overall rating (1.4)

#134 : MAR 3rd, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Just horrible equipment and service. Switched to another provider within a few months. Terrible customer service. Impossible to get them to stop billing/charging credit card on file. I had to cancel the card because they would not stop billing it after we cancelled their service and ported the numbers to another carrier. Months later, we are still getting bills for non-existent service and yesterday received a "collection department" call from them! Perhaps it is time to file a lawsuit to get them to go away!

Comment on this review >>

Stay away, far far away.

Overall rating (1.6)

#133 : OCT 15th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I wanted the cool features that a VoIP service can provide. I took it for granted that being associated with Costco I would get a great value service at a reasonable price, wrong wrong wrong. I had a voucher for a $100 Costco credit card with every sign-up. Intermedia said they knew nothing about this and just ignored it even after I sent a copy of the voucher to them. I have had nothing but problems from the very start. Months of service calls, to correct a severe echo problem. It has never been corrected. When talking on my phone (as a business) it is embarrassing when the other side continually complains about that terrible echo. I was told first it was my new routers. I was told to change the brand (which I was originally told were ok) and replace both. I had two locations. It did not fix the problem, at all. Then I was told to change carriers. I could not do that. It was never their fault or their system. They were good at making me think it had something to do with my internet (50 Megs down) or my set-up. I did not buy cheap phones. I was never able to get the same tech support for the problem and had to educate the other end of the line as to the problem. I must have "restarted" the ticket at least 12-14 times. I asked for a Manager to call me and was told he would call by the end of the day. Three weeks later I got a call, and again I restarted the ticket and again the same result. It seems their sales and support people pass through like crap through a duck. I can't tell you how many times I have had no phone service and was unable to contact anyone as to what was up. Way more bad stories than I want to relate here. Take your chances that's all I can say, you have been warned!

Comment on this review >>

NOT Acceptable!

Overall rating (1)

#132 : OCT 12th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Professional services business. Not able to dial in or out on the weekend. No customer service except 9-5 PST. Not acceptable! Will change to alternative service on Monday AM!

Comment on this review >>

Horrible Company!

Overall rating (1.4)

#131 : JUL 29th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

What a horrible company. Our phone numbers never worked correctly, we lost so much business, I can't even fathom it. Be advised that once you port your phone numbers away from them, they will continue to charge you until you actually call them up and cancel.

Comment on this review >>

So far, so good!

Overall rating (4.2)

#130 : SEP 25th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I was a bit reluctant after reading some of the reviews online for AccessLine, but I've been installed about a month now and everything is working just fine, customer support has been really good and patient with me. I've made minor changes along the way to how the phones are configured, and each time I'm amazed at all the functionality. I just went from a storefront 8-line standard phones to a home-based office with 2 lines - and unlimited capabilities (not to mention no more fax machine! - I'm set up with a "virtual" fax).

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

HELEN: 10/7/2013 - OMG.. What horrible service. DO NOT USE!!! I was opening an insurance agency. Saw that Costco had Accessline, assumed that anything Costco does is ok. Well this is the exception. Run from this company. I placed my order, seemed all ok, until I needed to push the date. All of a sudden could not reach anyone, left messages. Well, equipment shipped, they told me thru Post office. I asked for the tracking number. I recognized it as a UPS tracking number. I was able to divert it back to them. I don't think that was an innocent mistake. Then I started getting emails that the account was open, so I sent emails back that equip was sent back to them. Finally got a canx. Then a month later, I get a notice that my "bill" was ready. I sent their email back to them. They sent a half page email for me to do research for them. Really, are you kidding. Sent it back to them to do their own work.

Comment on this review >>

Terrible Customer Service

Overall rating (2)

#129 : SEP 13th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I had signed up for my office when my installment dates got changed to Jan.. I called to go ahead and make changes. Put on hold by customer service.. 8 minutes.. multiple times. Then I decided to just cancel if this is how life will be with them. Oh my.... First they told me the equipment was shipped post office and I had to request a tracking number. It did not work with the post office.. I then recognized it as UPS.. Really people. So I contacted UPS and had it redirected back to them. THEY DON'T KNOW THEY HAVE IT BACK. I 'm continuing to get email after email threating me with charges if the equipment is not returned. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY... TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Comment on this review >>

Great Value great service

Overall rating (4.8)

#128 : MAR 20th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Best value in the market for the small business owner. Assessline's customer service is excellent and always always go above and beyond to get the issue fixed. It's been 4 years and no complaints .....

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 14
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 137 5 Stars 75
Thumbs Up 103 4 Stars 25
Thumbs Down 34 3 Stars 8
Average Rating 3.9 2 Stars 17
More Providers 1 Star 12
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

3 Top Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$19.99
(4.5)
from
$19.95
(4.5)
from
$19.95
(4.7)
  • SHARE: