Norton trust seal
BBB logo

8x8 Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for 8x8 business VoIP phone service.

Service Provider Number of Reviews Average Rating Recommended
8x8 68 (4.1) 75%

Use the tabs below to navigate to user reviews and user questions and answers sections.

8x8 Overview

8x8 was founded in 1987 and are headquartered in San Jose, California. It went IPO in 1997 and has been a publicly traded company ever since. Today 8x8 services over 30,000 customers and over 200,000 users with their Unified Communications platform and is a leading brand name in VoIP communications. Frost and Sullivan ranked them as the number one Hosted phone provider in 2012.

Unlike some providers that use third party technology to run their cloud service, 8x8 uses their own in-house platform and has 88 patents for their system. 8x8 has data centers in California and Virginia and this helps ensure optimal uptime for their customers. Its current service portfolio includes cloud based phone service, SIP trunking, call center solutions, video and web conferencing and mobile apps for iOS and Android devices that turn your smart phone into a work extension. The platform can support everyone from a small business up to the enterprise and government level.

In terms of user reviews, 8x8 consistently receives good marks from WhichVoIP.com visitors and has been reviewed on our site since 2008. Take a look at the user reviews below to see if it meets your expectations.

We have been using 8x8 as an organization for over 2 years and it has been a very wise decision to switch. Their customer service is much better than the local phone companies and we have much much more flexibility.


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 7)

8x8 reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1.8) : Yuk!

#68 : FEB 20th, 2014 : Charles

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We were with 8x8 for nearly a year. After countless dropped calls, horrible customer service, large amounts of staff time devoted to trying to fix the problem, involving outside vendors, we finally fired them. Truthfully I should have dumped them long ago. I can't even get them to give me the rebate money they promised me for purchasing new phone sets from them. I wouldn't recommend 8x8 to anybody. I don't recall a worse experience in dealing with a vendor.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1) : 8x8 Disastrous: Worst Business Decision Ever

#67 : OCT 15th, 2013 : Jorge

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We just moved our office. Comcast was our VOIP provider for two years and the service was EXCELLENT. However, Comcast did not service our new building, so we chose 8X8 as their website implied that they are a large well-established company. Our office opened on September 30 and here it is October 15 and our 16 employees are running on personal cell phones as 8X8 does not function. Despite repeated pleas to 8x8 customer service, they insist that that it is our internet provider. Our internet provider has been here multiple times and insist that the connection is ample. 8x8 customer service appears to be overseas, has trouble communicating in English, and their customer service staff keep apologizing without fixing the problem. A DISASTER FOR OUR BUSINESS and NO ONE AT 8x8 CARES, and we cannot reach anyone at 8X8 who does care. STAY AWAY!!!

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Jorge (10/16/2013) : After requesting to cancel yesterday, 8X8 escalated from Tier 1 to Tier 5 service. Tier 5 identified the issue as our two-week old high- end Cisco router not being approved to work with 8X8. Thus, we went out last night and bought an approved router. Four hours later paying $125 hourly to local IT company, the phones still do not work. You cannot call into anything but Tier 1 service directly, and Tier 1 appears trained to identify the issue as something else non-8X8, and then refer to other 8X8 Tier 1 staff who are equally clueless. The only path to get a call back from any level over Tier 1 is to call the sales rep and threaten to cancel. Then you may get attention from someone who might have a clue. Still, even Tier 5 appears impotent at getting our system operational.

Jorge (10/16/2013) : In reading other posters' comments regarding shoddy service, which we can relate to, we read some accusing 8X8 of unethical behavior and overcharging. Thus, we went through the 8X8 charges to our credit card. There were four which were authorized, plus an additional charge of $555.43 which was unauthorized. We called and they admitted that it was an "errant" double-billing and that they will credit back. However, if 8X8's propensity for overcharging was not brought to our attention, we would not have even noticed the extra charge.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1.4) : Horrible

#66 : AUG 12th, 2013 : Tim

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The company is a fraud. No customer service, the quality of the phone is horrible. Worst choice I ever made in my business.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Comment by Brian on 9/25/2013: I have installed 8x8 4 times now for 4 locations - different clients. Phone quality is what you choose, you get what you pay for. 8x8 has phones that are practically free, to phones that cost several hundred dollars. I have not had any issues getting ahold of tech support or customer service. They have replaced phones quickly, without issue, upgraded hardware with discounts, and assisted with configuration or troubleshooting issues in a timely manner. I deal with customer service and support from over a hundred vendors, and I can say 8x8 gets a 'A' rating, or 9 out of 10. Why not 10 out of 10, hey, you have to be pretty incredible to score 10 out of 10. Not sure I have worked with customer service that scores that highly, but I know it is possible, I strive to deliver it every day to my clients.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.8) : Review of 8x8

#65 : JUL 27th, 2013 : Peter

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Been using VOIP for 2 months now - really like the auto attendant. Lots of features to learn. Customer service has been great at helping me set it up.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (5) : Still Glad I Switched!

#64 : JUL 26th, 2013 : Andy

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We left RingCentral because they had so much downtime. In addition their technical support wasn't very good and even when the system worked it just didn't work that well. 8x8 was slightly more costly but well worth it. In fact after we left RingCentral they called to ask who we had switched to and I told them 8x8. The lady told me that she knows 8x8 might be cheaper but that I'd regret the decision. I told her that 8x8 was actually more expensive but worth every penny and I wouldn't regret it. I still feel that way to this day.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.8) : Satisfied

#63 : JUL 16th, 2013 : Michael

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The site for setting up the phone system is a little confusing at first, but once you learn it, it is great.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.4) : New building void system selection

#62 : JUN 19th, 2013 : GeoD

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Pro-Very good pre-sales technical support. Very good sales support. Several iterations with both lead us to a cost effective, feature rich system that fits our business well. Good looking phones with very good audio quality. Easy to manage, web based administration. Their Virtual Office feature is great. The android app works great on my HTC Thunderbolt, Motorola XT557 and nexus 7. No more forwarding calls and it's seamless. Con- None as yet

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2.2) : Terrible technical customer service

#61 : MAY 15th, 2013 : Diane

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I cannot recommend this provider. To make a REALLY long story short, we had two problems with our service. The first one their technical team insisted was on our end and had us change modems, routers, etc. (all while paying our IT guy) when in reality it turned out to be a technical glitch on their end. The second issue wasn't resolved until a tech support person ACCIDENTALY stumbled upon the solution after almost five months of back and forth. The tech support people have a set of steps to try to fix things that they stick with over and over again and their tier two support wasn't any better. We gave them 5 months and we are now looking to switch providers. Beware.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (5) : Very Happy We Switched To 8x8

#60 : MAR 27th, 2013 : Chris

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We knew we needed to switch over to VoIP service to stop wasting money on Traditional service. After talking to reps from many other VoIP providers, we went with 8x8 for best features @ best price & they delivered as promised.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.2) : Good

#59 : MAR 19th, 2013 : Joseph

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I think our issues are the same with all VOIP, the occasional dropped call. On the upside, we don't have to deal with the expensive low quality aspects of land line providers. Overall, VOIP is fantastic for our company because we have 6 offices in 3 states... all connected to one account. If staffing in one office is low we can direct the phones to ring in another office. Great stuff.

Add a comment to this posting >>

  • Page 1 of 7
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

8x8 Reviews Breakdown

Total Number 68 5 Stars 38
Recommended: YES 51 4 Stars 12
Recommended: NO 17 3 Stars 7
Average Rating 4.1 2 Stars 8
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 1 Star 3

8x8 Review Tools

Other Review Options

Compare Similar Providers