Vonage Business Reviews

Provider Average Rating Resources
Vonage Business (4.2)
124 Reviews
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

FREE Business VoIP pricing in minutes!

  • Save Money: REDUCE phone bills by up to 80%.
  • Save Time: Get multiple quotes to compare.
  • Trusted: Over 100,000 quotes processed.

How many employees use the system:

ShopperApproved

Just a few more questions...

Business location & name:

Let's get your name right.

Who gets the quotes:

We are preparing your quotes.

Where do we send them:

Use the below tabs to navigate to reviews, Q&A, and useful tools.

Take me straight to the 124 User submitted reviews >>

Vonage Business Review by WhichVoIP

Vonage Business provides reliable business VoIP phone service to small businesses, mid-size and enterprises across the U.S. The Vonage Business Cloud service is aimed at SMBs and includes 40+ built-in features and boasts a highly respectful 99.999% uptime reliability (up-time is averaged over a 6 month period and assumes two independent broadband connections). Vonage Enterprise plans are aimed at larger businesses and uses the Vonage private Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) network to ensure optimal Quality of Service (QoS) and includes 24/7 monitoring.

All customers are supported by a large and experienced in-house support team. The company maintains its own technology and proprietary cloud platform and frequently rolls out new system features and functionality. It's a robust and time-tested system that is among the best services in the industry.

The Good

The Vonage Business Cloud has two plans, the Mobile Plus plan and the Complete plan. The Mobile Plan is primarily aimed at those looking for mobile and desktop service through the use of Apps and soft phones and with no need for a desk phone. It is ideal for remote employees and those that rely on mobility, for example realtors. It also has full unlimited messaging and SMS support and month to month contract pricing (mobile data charges may also apply and note that Vonage does have reasonable and acceptable use policies). The Complete plan is a traditional VoIP plan where customers need desk phones, though the Vonage Apps can also be utilized. Both plans have 40+ features built-in and include audio and video conferencing.

The Vonage Enterprise plans are aimed at large enterprises looking for increased monitoring and more of a managed service. Vonage has architected its own MPLS private network across the U.S for optimal routing for your Telecommunication packets. Active managed monitoring and QoS along with end to end visibility are some of the reasons enterprises are looking at Vonage Business. The Enterprise plans are split into 3 unique plans, Basic, UC and Plus.

No contract options exist so you can cancel at any time since they simply run month to month. However, you can reduce per seat pricing by signing up for a contract period. All that is required is a form to be submitted online, cancellation will occur three days from submission. By not locking customers in to contracts, it tends to suggest confidence in the service they provide.

The feature set offered is impressive. A basic feature set meets the needs of all small businesses such as caller ID, call waiting, voicemail and the likes. Additional features are offered to support remote working, such as cell phone integration, voicemail to email and the Vonage Business App. The Business App works with Android and iOS devices and enables you to integrate your smartphone into your business phone system. It also provides the ability to text to and from any US phone number using your Vonage line. Not all providers have this capability. Other features are provided to enhance productivity such as conference bridges, paging groups and desktop plugins for outlook and many CRM integrations such as Salesforce, Zoho and Microsoft Dynamics. Vonage Business Cloud plans also include Amazon Chime Pro for online meetings, video and audio conferencing and chat. You can view all of their features using our feature comparison tool.

Finally, we really like how transparent this company is. On the very rare occasion of a network outage, it will broadcast the issue and provide status updates through its social media channels and on their website system status page. Some other providers choose to cover up outages and keep customers in the dark. The support section on their website has lots of useful resources to help troubleshoot problems and configure features and plugins. You can submit tickets for support or call them directly for help.

The Bad

For the unlimited plan there is a reasonable and acceptable use policy. The expectation is that your company falls in line with the average usage for a small business. It may be better to just remove ambiguity, either say it is truly unlimited or state what the upper limit is.

Additional usage charges are incurred for calls to Alaska, Hawaii and of course International destinations. This is often the case for U.S mainland providers but worth stating.

Voicemails are securely kept in the cloud for a maximum period of 3 months and are then deleted. Likely not a huge deal for most customers.

The Bottom Line

  • Vonage Business Cloud - Mobile Plus: $19.99/month/extension *.
  • Vonage Business Cloud - Complete: $29.99/month/extension *.
  • Low cost International calls: For example, calls to the UK are 1c/min.
  • Hardware: Buy IP phones such as those from Cisco, Polycom, Yealink and Panasonic direct from Vonage. Prices start at $70 and all phones have been tested and certified to work with its service.
  • Vonage Mobile App: Available for iOS and Android devices. Integrate your smartphone into your business phone system and make/receive calls direct from the Vonage Mobile App. Vonage SMS messages (i.e. text messages from your business phone number) can be sent to and from any US phone number.
  • Video Conferencing: Vonage Business Cloud plans include Amazon Chime free of charge. This provides high quality video conferencing, online meetings, meeting scheduler, chat rooms, file sharing and more.

* Pricing includes multi-line discount and applies to new customers only. High speed internet required. Mobile data charges may apply. Reasonable and acceptable use policy applies.

Overall Thoughts

Vonage Business is a well known brand for phone service. Pricing is competitive for its cloud service and very feature rich, with productivity enhancing features such as outlook and CRM integration. A strong emphasis is placed on customer service and transparency, going back all the way to the early days when this service was owned by Vocalocity.


Vonage Business Overview

Our visitors have been adding reviews for Vonage Business (formerly Vocalocity) since 2008. During this time it has consistently ranked high on our scores across the board and with over 100 user reviews in total.

Very cost efficient. Cut my calling expenses by about 75%!

Customer service reps are friendly, knowledgable, and willing to help.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 13)

Summary
Total Number 124 5 Stars 79
Thumbs Up 98 4 Stars 21
Thumbs Down 25 3 Stars 8
Average Rating 4.2 2 Stars 8
More Providers 1 Star 8

Vonage Business reviews are listed in chronological order.

Avoid Vonage

Overall rating (1)

#124 : APR 2nd, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Dishonest and manipulative. My company has suffered greatly with Vonage. They cannot provide the service they promise, and yet they demand thousands of dollars to escape their contract. Their salespeople will tell you that contracts are not ironclad, and then they enslave you with a mediocre product. They have limited modem compatibility. Their staff is unable to maintain the services they promise. Their support App is unstable. You would be better off with a 1950's landline than with Vonage VoIP.

Comment on this review >>

Rip off company!

Overall rating (2)

#123 : MAR 5th, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Rip off! Feel so violated and ripped off! Vonage did not offer voicemail transcription and charged over two years. Now, they said they cannot provide credit since we are now calling. Is this good business practice? The money goes to top executives and taking from their customers. Stay away! Run!

Comment on this review >>

Vonage Customer Complaint

Overall rating (1)

#122 : MAR 3rd, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I would like a manager to contact me from Vonage. I recently set up services with Vonage representative Matthew. Our account number is 315###. I am disgusted with the service I am getting from the Vonage rep. I spent a great deal of time comparing Vonage to Nextiva and decided to go with Matt (Vonage). Matthew assured us he "would not disappear after the sale" as we needed him to help us with a few things getting started. We have called, and texted him, numerous times since the completion of our sale. There has been zero follow up from him. However, he had no problem contacting 3, 4, or 5 times a day leading up to the sale. This lack of services runs rampant in our country and I'm sick of it. I have reached out to Vonage 6+ times since. Every single time, I am on hold for 20+ minutes and get nowhere. I've emailed them 3 times and keep getting emails directing me to more numbers that have me on hold again for 10+ minutes...resulting in again...sending me somewhere else. Vonage is a frustrating company with disgusting customer service. It's highly recommended you do you homework and choose a competitor. Vonage will not be seamless...waste of time and money. Sean, President and CEO.

Comment on this review >>

Bait and Switch / Ponzi Scheme

Overall rating (1)

#121 : DEC 2nd, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Buyer beware this is a horrible company to deal with. Call the customer service number before you buy and enter that you are an existing customer. You will wait on hold 30 minutes to get a person who does not care to resolve your issues. Call and enter a new client sale and they will pick up in under two minutes. This is a complete Ponzi Scheme!

Comment on this review >>

Limited Business Understanding!

Overall rating (2.2)

#120 : MAR 4th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I gave all my requirements to the Vonage sales rep upfront and was told that all were doable by them. So we signed up and it's been downhill ever since! Unless you have very few requirements of how you want the system to work, run the other direction. In fact, run from all of them and set up your own PBX. This is ridiculous! And, they won't work with you on removing an extension without charging $510, even though you are keeping 17 other extensions! Run, run....

Comment on this review >>

I would never use Vonage Business again!

Overall rating (1.4)

#119 : JAN 16th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been a telephone vendor for over 30 years, installing many, many systems. Recently, one of my customers asked for my recommendation for a VoIP business system. I've had Vonage residential for many years and the quality was excellent; I also had installed a Vonage Business system at another, very small customer (4 phones) and it seemed not bad so I recommended Vonage Business for this customer, who has three offices in different cities and about 35 users. Each office originally had their own numbers and hybrid PBX systems so nothing was tied together. I figured going to Vonage Business would be a perfect way to tie all three offices together as extensions; that's the only good thing about the whole experience! Everything else, from day one, has been a complete nightmare. The worst thing was: Vonage pushed out the original cut-over/activation date because some of the 30 something numbers weren't ready to port. That didn't seem to be a problem however, Vonage never pushed out the porting date to match the activation date and, sure enough, 10 days early, they ported the numbers! Result, three offices dead in the water! Faxes, phone numbers, everything! It was two days of running around like a fool, working with tech support, to temporarily get some type of phone service back to the customer. To say the customer was mad would be an understatement. When the account was finally activated and the porting issue a memory, then the real problems began. Programming the system and phones is nothing short of a nightmare; the portal is difficult to use and, believe it or not, any phone that is programmed, on site, is NOT backed up by the Vonage system, which means: should there ever be a power outage or system interruption, all phones lose programming (BLF, speed dials, everything). This is archaic and does not make for a warm fuzzy feeling. Simple features, like BLFs on each phone is a major undertaking, spending many hours on the phone with customer care and even then, they don't seem to know how to do very much. Their standard answer: reboot the phone to factory settings, which wipes out all programming. Other features, like call park, paging, are an additional charge. Most of the customer service people, while pleasant, are clueless as to how to program features; if you call three times, on the same issue, you will get three different answers, none even close to the previous answer and, usually, none of them work. Just trying to put BLF fields on phones took over a week and being on the phone for hours and hours and, still, they didn't work until I tried, on my own, different ways and finally hit one that worked. Faxes, with Cisco ATAs, work randomly, and tech support has no idea on how to fix the problem, only pointing the finger at the company's IT people, which is not where the problem lies. Features, such as trying to set up advanced dates for a "closed for the holiday" message are not available; the customer has to manually go in, just hours before each holiday, and turn on the message. This is really inconvenient and 1960 technology. Slow or delayed dialing when dialing out, is a major problem; it can take up to 10 seconds or more, before a call connects, with just dead air. Features, such as call pick up are not available nor supported. Trying to transfer calls is now becoming a problem and, as usual, each customer service rep contacted, has a different solution, none of which work. I could go on and on but I think you get the drift. I would NEVER use Vonage Business again, nor would I recommend it; it is flat out terrible! We also found that they add on features, features for which they charge, without notifying the customer. This one particular customer found nearly $300/mo in added features, which they did not order. Vonage took off the charges when notified but that is not the point. If you want good service and ease of use, STAY AWAY from Vonage Business! I am extremely disappointed in them, as I was sure they were a good company, with good services; I was wrong. As I said, I will never use them again.

Comment on this review >>

Very Unhappy Customer

Overall rating (1)

#118 : NOV 8th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We had Vonage installed and our phones have not worked right since. We called to repair and after waiting for 45 minutes on hold they said they fixed the problem but we are still having trouble. Phone rings constantly and when answered we get a busy signal.

Comment on this review >>

Bad Service

Overall rating (1.8)

#117 : MAY 21st, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I've been a Vonage customer for 5 years. I was happy with the service at my first business so I signed up with them again. The new service has been the worst I've ever experienced. From call quality to system configuration, nothing works the way it's advertised. I'm finally taking a day to shop for another provider. I've lost money due to missed calls and my clients not being able to leave a message. I informed them they cost me $6,500 so far this month so they credited my account $45. What the blank is $45 going to do to help my bottom line. As I said I'm taking my business but I'm also taking my clients with me.

Comment on this review >>

Simple Faxing ANYWHERE

Overall rating (5)

#116 : MAR 26th, 2018 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Being able to send and receive faxes anywhere in the world is a godsend...the only way to handle faxes in the 21st century!

Comment on this review >>

Epic Services

Overall rating (5)

#115 : JAN 12th, 2018 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I wish all vendors were like Vonage, easy and very helpful. I call and immediately they want to help and go beyond with out hesitating.

Comment on this review >>

  • Page 1 of 13
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 124 5 Stars 79
Thumbs Up 98 4 Stars 21
Thumbs Down 25 3 Stars 8
Average Rating 4.2 2 Stars 8
More Providers 1 Star 8
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

Top Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$19.95
(4.6)
from
$19.99
(4.6)
from
$19.95
(5)
from
$14.97
(4.8)