Vonage Business Reviews

Provider Average Rating Resources
Vonage Business
Visit Vonage Business
(4.3)
118 Reviews
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

FREE Business VoIP pricing in minutes!

  • Save Money: REDUCE phone bills by up to 80%.
  • Save Time: Get multiple quotes to compare.
  • Trusted: Over 100,000 quotes processed.

How many employees use the system:

BBB logo

Just a few more questions...

Business location & name:

Let's get your name right.

Who gets the quotes:

We are preparing your quotes.

Where do we send them:

Use the below tabs to navigate to reviews, Q&A, and useful tools.

Take me straight to the 118 User submitted reviews >>

Vonage Business Review by WhichVoIP

Vonage Business provides reliable business VoIP phone service to small businesses, mid-size and enterprises across the U.S. The Vonage Business Cloud service is aimed at SMBs and includes 40+ built-in features and boasts a highly respectful 99.999% uptime reliability (up-time is averaged over a 6 month period and assumes two independent broadband connections). Vonage Enterprise plans are aimed at larger businesses and uses the Vonage private Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) network to ensure optimal Quality of Service (QoS) and includes 24/7 monitoring.

All customers are supported by a large and experienced in-house support team. The company maintains its own technology and proprietary cloud platform and frequently rolls out new system features and functionality. It's a robust and time-tested system that is among the best services in the industry.

The Good

The Vonage Business Cloud has two plans, the Mobile Plus plan and the Complete plan. The Mobile Plan is primarily aimed at those looking for mobile and desktop service through the use of Apps and soft phones and with no need for a desk phone. It is ideal for remote employees and those that rely on mobility, for example realtors. It also has full unlimited messaging and SMS support and month to month contract pricing (mobile data charges may also apply and note that Vonage does have reasonable and acceptable use policies). The Complete plan is a traditional VoIP plan where customers need desk phones, though the Vonage Apps can also be utilized. Both plans have 40+ features built-in and include audio and video conferencing.

The Vonage Enterprise plans are aimed at large enterprises looking for increased monitoring and more of a managed service. Vonage has architected its own MPLS private network across the U.S for optimal routing for your Telecommunication packets. Active managed monitoring and QoS along with end to end visibility are some of the reasons enterprises are looking at Vonage Business. The Enterprise plans are split into 3 unique plans, Basic, UC and Plus.

No contract options exist so you can cancel at any time since they simply run month to month. However, you can reduce per seat pricing by signing up for a contract period. All that is required is a form to be submitted online, cancellation will occur three days from submission. By not locking customers in to contracts, it tends to suggest confidence in the service they provide.

The feature set offered is impressive. A basic feature set meets the needs of all small businesses such as caller ID, call waiting, voicemail and the likes. Additional features are offered to support remote working, such as cell phone integration, voicemail to email and the Vonage Business App. The Business App works with Android and iOS devices and enables you to integrate your smartphone into your business phone system. It also provides the ability to text to and from any US phone number using your Vonage line. Not all providers have this capability. Other features are provided to enhance productivity such as conference bridges, paging groups and desktop plugins for outlook and many CRM integrations such as Salesforce, Zoho and Microsoft Dynamics. Vonage Business Cloud plans also include Amazon Chime Pro for online meetings, video and audio conferencing and chat. You can view all of their features using our feature comparison tool.

Finally, we really like how transparent this company is. On the very rare occasion of a network outage, it will broadcast the issue and provide status updates through its social media channels and on their website system status page. Some other providers choose to cover up outages and keep customers in the dark. The support section on their website has lots of useful resources to help troubleshoot problems and configure features and plugins. You can submit tickets for support or call them directly for help.

The Bad

For the unlimited plan there is a reasonable and acceptable use policy. The expectation is that your company falls in line with the average usage for a small business. It may be better to just remove ambiguity, either say it is truly unlimited or state what the upper limit is.

Additional usage charges are incurred for calls to Alaska, Hawaii and of course International destinations. This is often the case for U.S mainland providers but worth stating.

Voicemails are securely kept in the cloud for a maximum period of 3 months and are then deleted. Likely not a huge deal for most customers.

The Bottom Line

  • Vonage Business Cloud - Mobile Plus: $19.99/month/extension *.
  • Vonage Business Cloud - Complete: $29.99/month/extension *.
  • Low cost International calls: For example, calls to the UK are 1c/min.
  • Hardware: Buy IP phones such as those from Cisco, Polycom, Yealink and Panasonic direct from Vonage. Prices start at $70 and all phones have been tested and certified to work with its service.
  • Vonage Mobile App: Available for iOS and Android devices. Integrate your smartphone into your business phone system and make/receive calls direct from the Vonage Mobile App. Vonage SMS messages (i.e. text messages from your business phone number) can be sent to and from any US phone number.
  • Video Conferencing: Vonage Business Cloud plans include Amazon Chime free of charge. This provides high quality video conferencing, online meetings, meeting scheduler, chat rooms, file sharing and more.

* Pricing includes multi-line discount and applies to new customers only. High speed internet required. Mobile data charges may apply. Reasonable and acceptable use policy applies.

Overall Thoughts

Vonage Business is a well known brand for phone service. Pricing is competitive for its cloud service and very feature rich, with productivity enhancing features such as outlook and CRM integration. A strong emphasis is placed on customer service and transparency, going back all the way to the early days when this service was owned by Vocalocity.


Vonage Business Overview

Our visitors have been adding reviews for Vonage Business (formerly Vocalocity) since 2008. During this time it has consistently ranked high on our scores across the board and with over 100 user reviews in total.

Very cost efficient. Cut my calling expenses by about 75%!

Customer service reps are friendly, knowledgable, and willing to help.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 12)

Summary
Total Number 118 5 Stars 79
Thumbs Up 98 4 Stars 21
Thumbs Down 19 3 Stars 8
Average Rating 4.3 2 Stars 6
More Providers 1 Star 4

Vonage Business reviews are listed in chronological order.

Very Unhappy Customer

Overall rating (1)

#118 : : NOV 8th, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We had Vonage installed and our phones have not worked right since. We called to repair and after waiting for 45 minutes on hold they said they fixed the problem but we are still having trouble. Phone rings constantly and when answered we get a busy signal.

Comment on this review >>

Bad Service

Overall rating (1.8)

#117 : : MAY 21st, 2018

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I've been a Vonage customer for 5 years. I was happy with the service at my first business so I signed up with them again. The new service has been the worst I've ever experienced. From call quality to system configuration, nothing works the way it's advertised. I'm finally taking a day to shop for another provider. I've lost money due to missed calls and my clients not being able to leave a message. I informed them they cost me $6,500 so far this month so they credited my account $45. What the blank is $45 going to do to help my bottom line. As I said I'm taking my business but I'm also taking my clients with me.

Comment on this review >>

Simple Faxing ANYWHERE

Overall rating (5)

#116 : : MAR 26th, 2018

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Being able to send and receive faxes anywhere in the world is a godsend...the only way to handle faxes in the 21st century!

Comment on this review >>

Epic Services

Overall rating (5)

#115 : : JAN 12th, 2018

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I wish all vendors were like Vonage, easy and very helpful. I call and immediately they want to help and go beyond with out hesitating.

Comment on this review >>

Vonage is Not That Great

Overall rating (1.2)

#114 : : SEP 14th, 2017

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Prior to joining Vonage Cloud VoIP phone service I verified with them that my IP 501 Polycom phone would work with their system. They assured me it was a phone that would easily work on their system. I also confirmed with them the following price breakdown: $24.99 service fee and $10.00 per month for a phone number fee. Price with tax was supposed to be $42.xx. I found out they charged $54.xx on my card. No explanation available from them to why the difference. As for my phone I was told to call technical support to have it programmed. I called and the tech person was clueless to how to set up this particular phone. He told me to call back and talk to another tech the next day. I called and the next tech tried to figure it out, but no luck. I went through 5 tech people who at the end of the day told me to buy a new phone. So I tried to contact Vonage to cancel the service since the phone they told me would work, didn't actually work with their system. I literally had the service for one day. I requested cancellation and it took 4 business days for them to return my request. They told me they would happily cancel my service, but I am not getting a refund. They flat out don't give refunds I was told by the "Account Management Team". So I never had a phone hooked up to their service, was over charged, didn't get a refund and the features discussed were dishonest. The services I was told I would have for free, are actually additional payment services not free. Worst 4 day experience with a company. Stay away from this company and look out for hidden charges.

Comment on this review >>

Not So Great

Overall rating (3)

#113 : : SEP 6th, 2017

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The pricing is not bad, but the service does not work like they claim it does. Calls forwarded to a cellular line often times do not go through. It is not a user friendly system either. Lastly, they will not refund, prorate or credit any of your prepaid funds in the event that you cancel service. On a positive note, the customer service and technical support are great.

Comment on this review >>

Really regret renewing with them

Overall rating (2.4)

#112 : : APR 27th, 2017

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Impossible customer services. Overpriced for what you get and terrible voice recordings. Between myself and my operations manager we have spent over 10 hours on the phone trying to resolve the simplest of issues.

Comment on this review >>

Big Mistake

Overall rating (1)

#111 : : APR 24th, 2017

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I made a big mistake by switching to Vonage Business. I tried to save myself some money and its costing me now. I had a plan with RingCentral for 5 years, I felt the price was a bit high and their service was average. The thing was, I seldom had issues with RingCentral so I didn't have to use the customer service all that often. Anyway, I called my Vonage account rep and he promised it would be an easy and smooth transition. He transferred people from RC to Vonage all the time! I made sure my phones would work - he said yes. I made sure my numbers would port - he said easily. He said my price was set. I would save money each month, it seemed like they've done this before, so I made the switch. At this point my rep fell off the face of the earth, when I did get him on the phone he seemed annoyed to talk to me. The porting process took longer than expected so I ended up paying for both carriers for one month - Awesome! Then without getting a phone call to get my phones set up Vonage took over my system. Except no one let me know that the transition happened, they never set up my phones and I could not receive calls. Not sure how many days we were without phone service, I think it was 3 total (we could make outbound calls - just could not receive calls). Took another few days to get my phones to work properly because remember when I said my rep promised that my phones would work - they didn't! They were locked, so I spent a day talking with tech support trying to get my phones unlocked - again AWESOME! All this time, while I am not working my job and my clients can't reach us, my rep is avoiding my calls. We finally get the phone issues worked out, it is up and running. Call quality is OK, services are OK, features are average compared to RC. I thought everything and we were finally on track. Then I got my second bill, $95 more a month than what I was promised. I called my rep, and surprise surprise he will not answer my calls. I emailed him, he will not return my emails. Customer service says my price looks right to them but they can't explain why. I just hope the switch back to RingCentral is smooth. Huge mistake, poor service, way too costly.

Comment on this review >>

Horrible

Overall rating (1)

#110 : : MAR 16th, 2017

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Horrible - if you have any problems you are on your own - you have been warned! They will blame you. We have had our fax machine working for years. Since we switched to Vonage it does not work - last tech support SUPERVISOR said that it looks OK on their end.

Comment on this review >>

Horrible experience

Overall rating (1.6)

#109 : : AUG 17th, 2016

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Absolutely a horrible experience. The initial setup seemed easy but when we got to the porting process it turned into a complete disaster. We were porting in 4 numbers from two different carriers. One number from Onebox and three numbers from Comcast. I asked that all numbers be ported on the same day but that did not happen. I was told that if both carriers were not ready on the same day that I could move the port date out until the second carrier was ready. I did that and then ported the 2nd carriers numbers in 4 days early causing my old phone service to be cut off and no new service for 4 days. I spent over 12 hours on the phone with various people at Vonage, all with different stories and not one matched what the previous person said. I am now 6 days into this and they are trying to negotiate a service credit, unbelievable! Now I'm told that the soft phone (that is the Vonage business soft phone) would work perfectly but it is not compatible with Windows 10 so there technology is behind since Windows 10 has been out for a couple of years already. So they now want to charge me to send me a traditional phone, the same one that they gave me when I signed up 6 weeks ago. Plus beware that the initial price they quote you will change as everything that you would think would come with the service is an extra monthly fee. So I have no idea what my bill will look like when it finally comes in.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 12
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 118 5 Stars 79
Thumbs Up 98 4 Stars 21
Thumbs Down 19 3 Stars 8
Average Rating 4.3 2 Stars 6
More Providers 1 Star 4
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

Top Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$19.99
(4.3)
from
$19.95
(4.6)
from
$19.99
(4.5)
from
$18.95 5 user min
(4.9)
  • SHARE: