VoIP.ms Reviews

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
VoIP.ms (3.5)
22 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 22 User submitted reviews >>

VoIP.ms Review by WhichVoIP

After a few years of experience in the Internet phone industry, the founders of VoIP.ms launched its North American wholesale termination service to the public in 2007. It has since grown to become a serious competitor in both the Canada and US markets, primarily due to its highly competitive wholesale pricing.

The Good

In the most basic sense, VoIP.ms sells VoIP phone service at wholesale rates to a large portion of Canada and also serves some locations in the US and South America. They offer flexible service options meaning it is possible to either connect devices to a hosted VoIP service or an entire PBX through SIP Trunking.

The pricing model works much the same as many other SIP providers in this market. Instead of purchasing a plan at a monthly rate, credit is added to an account. This credit applies to calls from any device(s) using the service. This essentially ensures that every dollar spent on service counts towards minutes unlike many phone providers that provide a set amount of minutes per month at a flat rate, regardless if fewer minutes are used. Further, credits never expire and no volume commitment is required.

Truly, only two different kinds of pricing models exist. Both offer by-the-minute pricing based on the destination of the call. The most popular model from VoIP.ms is the Value Plan at $0.0052 per minute for calls to Canadian Provinces and a flat rate of $0.01 to the US. The Premium Plan, which guarantees highest quality routes, runs at $0.01 per minute to anywhere in the US and Canada. International rates vary depending on the country called, though prices appear to be very competitive. If you plan to call a specific country frequently, make sure to check the pricing page for the premium routes.

The company does not resell any specific device but will function with most devices. You can choose any VoIP phone you like, an ATA for older analog phones or use a softphone like Bria or Zoiper. If you are connecting a PBX system such as 3CX, Elastix or any other popular phone system, you will find guides to properly configure the software for the VoIP.ms service within the Wiki found on their website.

Incoming calls are handled via a DID (Direct Inward Dial) or a toll-free number. Either number costs a couple of dollars per month and rates vary slightly per minute, usually between $0.005 and $0.01, depending on where the customer is located.

Several features are included with service and number porting is usually free, though a charge of $10 applies for some numbers or during certain times of the year. Customers simply connecting devices to the service (i.e. not connecting with a PBX) will have access to call forwarding, an IVR menu system, ring groups and a few other select features that a home or business may be interested in.

VoIP.ms has a Wiki dedicated to the support side of its service. In this Wiki you can learn all about device configuration for its service, the feature set, porting numbers and various other guides and documents. A ticket system exists for other forms of support along with a live chat, which has extended hours during week days.

The Bad

The site is a little "lo-fi" and may cause some potential customers to stray away simply because the luster does not match many sites found on the web today. However, the structure is quite sound and information is easy to find.

It may be a little unclear to some customers who are simply looking for a simple home or small business phone service, though the option is available. VoIP.ms is not presented the way many telecom services market their product so to those not well read on VoIP may not see it as a viable calling solution.

Rates are very reasonable but just be aware that if you go with standard rates, you may not be getting the best routes so voice quality could suffer. This is stated up front in its terms of service, and is worth a read. However, you can sign up for an account for free and start with a small credit so you can test the quality first before adding additional funds.

The Bottom Line

  • Powerful communication services - customers can connect multiple PBX systems or a single phone or softphone.
  • Rates to the US and Canada cost between $0.005 to $0.01 per minute.
  • Virtually any device on the market is supported by VoIP.ms including open platform softphones.
  • Most DIDs and Toll Free numbers cost between $1 and $2. Options to pay for DID plus a package of minutes which may be better for higher call volumes.
  • Some of the features include IVR menus, call forwarding, ring groups, free calling to VoIP.ms DIDs and true CNAM (Caller ID Name) pass-through, among others.

Overall Thoughts

If you live in an applicable service area, VoIP.ms is a good option to consider. Literally, every dollar spent counts towards phone calls and the rates for calls throughout the US and Canada are highly competitive. Similarly, if you make International calls, rates are decent and VoIP.ms has wholesale partnerships across the world.

Just be aware that some call routes may be poorer quality, so start with a small credit to test the routes you typically make calls to. If the quality is poor try the premium routes, which are still very reasonable.


VoIP.ms Overview

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 3)

Summary
Total Number 22 5 Stars 11
Thumbs Up 15 4 Stars 1
Thumbs Down 7 3 Stars 4
Average Rating 3.5 2 Stars 1
More Providers 1 Star 5

VoIP.ms reviews are listed in chronological order.

Petty VoIP service with barebones support

Overall rating (2.2)

#22 : JUN 12th, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Did you know this company charges you for 911? Charges you for seeing a persons name on Caller ID? Charges you differently for incoming versus outgoing phone calls? Did you know that IF you send an SMS out using this service to a cell phone they get a message that could-be-construed as they-will-need-to-pay-a-quarter to text you back? This company is petty and I cannot see why anyone gave it a nice review.

Comment on this review >>

Endless connection problems, incompetent!

Overall rating (1.2)

#21 : FEB 6th, 2020 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Voip.ms service is of a very low quality due to never ending problems with termination and connection to DIDs within the USA and overseas. But the worst is the customer service. If you encounter a connection problem after hours there is nobody to fix it. If you call them during the day, they will refuse to help you over the phone and send you to an online portal. Also, looks like everybody in the customer service department speaks broken English and has last name Martinez or Gonzales, which makes me think they offloaded support to Latin America. This in itself wouldn't be a problem if they knew what they are doing, but they are truly an incompetent bunch. What's worse, if you ask to talk to a supervisor or director of customer service, you will never reach them as the customer support will make every effort to block you from reaching a supervisor. Obviously company managers don't give a care about the clients, and customer support running without a supervision has the same attitude towards the client. My company used them for a while but due to endless problems with their service we switched to other SIP providers.

Comment on this review >>

Great service!

Overall rating (5)

#20 : FEB 4th, 2020 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Requires some technical knowledge to set up at first. But then it's like a regular phone! Also, get 10$ account credit when you sign up.

Comment on this review >>

Outstanding VoIP Service!

Overall rating (5)

#19 : SEP 9th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

VOIP.MS pretty much offers you full functionality of a IPBX but without the high cost, commitment, or hardware of other solutions. I run my real estate/property management business on this system and figured out how to setup an IVR: a) my business sound more professional, b) I can screen calls c) I can automatically route calls to my agents. I have my toll free numbers also pointing to it. They just added VFax so I'll probably retire my VOIP fax server if that works out and have single source. Tech support is very good the few times I had to use. System may not be as intuitive but if you do a little research online even an average user should be able to figure out basic features. Highly recommend these guys! I avoided researching and building a PC based PBX.

Comment on this review >>

Love VoIP.ms

Overall rating (5)

#18 : SEP 5th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

They are the best overall value and offering. Awesome service, good quality network and servers, easy to contact if there is a problem. Excellent rates. Yes I have tried other so called free chat stuff, but its not great. If you need a reliable service and are willing to pay what is as close to free as you gonna get in North America then this is the company provider for you IMHO. I have had VoIP.ms for about 8-9 years.

Comment on this review >>

Poor response to problems

Overall rating (3)

#17 : AUG 12th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The service had some trouble in the beginning and then started to work excellent. Then about a month ago I began to not be able to get calls from landlines. Always if there is a problem it is with someone else not VoIP.ms. Since the landline calls quit working, calls from landline to my cell phone number have also quit but of course this is not their problem it is on the other end. I expect that at some point they will fix the problem but do not hold your breath that it will happen anytime soon.

Comment on this review >>

Stay away. Exceedingly poor customer service.

Overall rating (1)

#16 : JUN 2nd, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I needed to call a US embassy this week. INTL calls are blocked on all accounts until you submit your ID to their online form. Form says they'll unlock INTL calls within 24 hours. That was Thursday. Still ignored through Wednesday, I had to go into chat but INTL calls were now clearly unlocked to make INTL calls. When I went to make the call, their servers were not configured to allow service. I'm not a novice at SIP clients and following their setup guides. The problem really was they hadn't configured routing correctly on their server. I informed them and they blamed the inbuilt Android SIP client and asked I used Zoiper. Same problem with Zoiper because they hadn't setup the routes in their server. I even sent them a screen recording and screenshots making it all unmistakable the problem was on their end. A day later, without apologizing for not acknowledging the problem was on their end and wasting a bunch of my time, they messaged back "it's possible to enable the routes to your account for the destination you've reported, however, please note that calls to this destination will have a rate of $0.34". That's interesting because their call rate sheet advertised $0.06. I say go ahead and do it because I don't expect them to lose money and I just want it working finally. They promise they've "enabled the routes". Another day later, nope, yet again they failed to actually do it. I inform them. They say they'll fix it. Another day later I try a final time. Nope still not fixed. I sign up for Google Voice which works immediately and just say they handled fixing it exceedingly poor. Their response...not an apology but suggesting I was using the incorrect dial codes which was demonstrably wrong given our correspondence and the screen recording I'd sent them.

Comment on this review >>

Cheap, barebones, but poor customer service

Overall rating (3)

#15 : MAY 20th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

It's a bargain basement provider. If that's all you're looking to get, and you manage your expectations, you'll be satisfied until you need support's assistance. Support is responsive, just not constructive. The number porting team (I was porting a number in) was one of the most inept, argumentative, belligerent groups I've dealt with professionally - and I was porting numbers in! Now I'm stuck in an intermediary stage where some of my numbers have been ported but not others, and the support reps keep attributing the intransigence to their own carriers. Just know that voip.ms is nothing more than a reseller. They seemingly have no influence over their carriers and the carriers themselves are bargain basement. If phone service is important to you or business critical - you have no choice but to stay away.

Comment on this review >>

Poor Service, Arbitrary Charges!

Overall rating (1)

#14 : SEP 18th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I used their VOIP service with the idea of porting the number later when needed and there was no mention of any fee to port out. Now suddenly when I placed a request to port out they want 25$ for it! Avoid!

Comment on this review >>

Awesome Wiki Page

Overall rating (5)

#13 : MAR 28th, 2018 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been trying to make my VoIP phone system work for 2 months. I have tried Voicepulse, Flowroute and finally stumbled upon VoIP.ms. The problem with Sip Trunking is the LACK of customer service when it comes to the product. Every company loves taking your money but once they have it they do NOT care. VoIP.ms is the only provider that had an AWESOME wiki page that has configuration for almost every PBX system. They get it! They addressed the customer service issue by having an outstanding wiki that answers all your questions! Well done and thank you.

Comment on this review >>

  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 22 5 Stars 11
Thumbs Up 15 4 Stars 1
Thumbs Down 7 3 Stars 4
Average Rating 3.5 2 Stars 1
More Providers 1 Star 5
Top Residential Providers*

5

4.5

3.9

3.9

4.3