Verizon Reviews - Page 7 of 7

Verizon

70

User Reviews

2.3/5

Average Rating

11%

Recommended

Total:

70

5-Star:

4

4-Star:

5

3-Star:

13

2-Star:

34

1-Star:

14

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, resources, and Q&A >>


User Reviews (Page 7 of 7)

Verizon reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (5)

Number 10 : JUN 19th, 2008 : (NY)

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Way to go FiOS.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (5)

Number 9 : JAN 27th, 2008 : (IL)

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Giving up Comcast for Verizon DSL was the smartest move I ever did.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.3)

Number 8 : SEP 25th, 2007 : (NY)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Had Verizon DSL for several years- no problems with setup or operation UNTIL Verizon started pushing FIOS service in my area. Then my connection 'mysteriously' started going to sh*t. I would suddenly get a loud buzzing on the phone line, and DSL service was either very marginal or completely out. Verizon service can only be described as surly and accusatory. 'Our test shows the line is OK- it MUST be a problem in your house- It's gonna cost you your first-born son if we have to come out there!' Eventually they would come and the problem would disappear for a while, then come right back more and more often. Eventually I dumped them and switched to Optimum cable- so far completely reliable, but I won't pay their full price after the 6-month discount, so I may still have to try something else.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (3.3)

Number 7 : APR 9th, 2007 : (NH)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Experience monthly Internet outages. Have to deal with low level tech's taking over an hour to determine that the problem is their network. I seem to be their network failure detector, and even when there is a failure they will not admit it. Extremely poor reliability.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (3.1)

Number 6 : NOV 14th, 2006 : (CA)

Recommended:  

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

The DSL connection and related technical equipment is very good. The Ordering system and especially technical support in our area is very, very bad. The hold time is not too bad but the tech knowledge is very poor and scripted like a robot. Go to a supervisor right from the get go if you actually want answers. And NEVER use the e-mail Help system it is useless.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2.7)

Number 5 : NOV 13th, 2006 : (PA)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I ordered this service easily just giving one phone call. It was ready about 2 weeks later. I found that a bit slow. I was previously living in Europe where my DSL connection was installed in less than 1 week. But that was still OK. Then in order to be able to set up my connection, I have had to use a special software they sent me. I really hate that, as I like to keep my computer clean and not installing useless software like this on it, but I could not find a way to set up my connection without it as it was necessary to create my account... so I used it, then I tried to uninstall it when the connection was set up... but it was just impossible so I had to format my computer to remove it. After doing that I could set up my connection by myself and it has been working just well for a few month. The connection speed was just fine, exactly the 3.0 Mbps down and about 700 kbps up they say it is. The price is not very high compared to other service in the US (about $60 a month for phone service local+long distance + DSL) but seems to be a joke compared to what I had in Europe (25 Mbps DSL + unlimited phone call all over the world + most of the cable channels through my phone line for about $50-60 a month). After a few month my connection stopped working. I called the technical support. They made me do all the basic tests I had already done myself, since it did not help they made me do that again, then they made a wrong diagnostic of the problem, then they said they would have a technician come at my home to solve the problem... I waited but he never came. They apologized and said they would send one a few days after that. He came and was able to repair my connection after a few hours. The whole thing took about 12 days during which I had no connection at all. But well, they still made me pay for the full month. 2 month later... that's now. My connection speed for downloading has dropped from 3 Mbps to 300 kbps a few days ago. My upload speed is still fine... well I called the technical support and am still waiting... and hoping they will not need 2 weeks to repair that too. I guess I will have switch to another provider before that anyway.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (2)

Number 4 : NOV 2nd, 2006 : (NY)

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Since I signed up for this crappy service, I?ve got more frustrated then ever. Silly me, I also signed up for ?Voice Wing? (local and long distance phone service, works through DSL line) offered also by Verizon. My internet is working 2-3 days and than it goes off, and at the same time my home phone is off also, then comes back again for a couple of days. I called their tech support with my cell phone, many, many times. It gets fixed or I had to take a day off and wait for their technician to come and look at the set up. All seems to be fine, except nothing helped and I am still dealing with the same crappy service. DO NOT SIGN WITH VERIZON.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (4.3)

Number 3 : JUN 18th, 2006 : (PA)

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I'd recommend it for its reliability. So far speed constant and even though I have 1.5 download and 386 upload don't know why it feels faster than the 10MB download speed from RCN cable company which I had for many years but speed was not reliable and went down too much at any time during the day.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (3.9)

Number 2 : FEB 6th, 2006 : (WA)

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I've had Verizon for over a year and I have been very happy with the service. I have been in touch with customer service only twice in this time (to set up a router) and they were very helpful. The reliability has been good only going down once or twice in this time.

Comment on this review >>


Overall rating (4.4)

Number 1 : FEB 4th, 2006 : (WA)

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

SPEED:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Had this service for more than 1 year and only problem I have had is that I needed to power cycle my modem, probably 3 times in total, when had problems connecting to internet.

Comment on this review >>


  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 7 of 7

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Home VoIP Phone Service Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 3.9

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews