Verizon Internet Reviews

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for Verizon Internet service.

Service Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Verizon (2.3)
69 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to reviews and Q&A sections.

Take me straight to the 69 User submitted reviews >>

Verizon Review by WhichVoIP.com

Verizon Communications, Inc. was formed in the year 2000 as the result of a merger between Bell Atlantic Corp and GTE Corp and in 2004 it was added to the Dow Jones Industrial Average.

Alongside phone and television services, Verizon offers high speed internet (DSL) as well as fiber optic (FiOS) Internet for predominantly urban customers within range of the Verizon FiOS network. Verizon FiOS Internet has been rated #1 in overall tech support by PC Mag and has earned PC Mag's Reader's Choice Award 8 years in a row.

The Good

Verizon Communications, Inc. is a well-recognized and expansive business that offers service across the country. Verizon claims that it's fastest Internet plan available (500/100) can download a 5GB HD movie in under two minutes and upload 200 photos in 20 seconds. Though plans like these are expensive, Verizon online offers a wide range of options for customers of varying needs.

FiOS Internet is provided directly to your home through an isolated line. You do not share bandwidth with neighbors, which allows for service with more consistent speeds and uptime than broadband cable Internet.

Verizon WiFi is included with all plans 15/5 mbps and higher, allowing customers to connect wirelessly at over 5,000 WiFi hotspot locations.

Verizon online and phone support is available 24/7. Customers can chat with agents via their website or look for answers to common problems and troubleshooting via the Verizon online community forum.

The Bad

Customer complaints appear to be more frequent for High Speed Internet (DSL) service than for FiOS service. Most customer complaints appear to be focused on customer service issues and to a lesser extent connection issues. See our user reviews for more information (be aware of the 'Internet type' mentioned in the review).

Because fiber optic networks are not considered standard means of providing internet service in the current market, installation should be expected to take 4-6 hours. Customers are also expected to be home if service is requested, which tends to take a majority of a day as well. Customers have also noted scheduling problems when setting up service.

While Verizon's FiOS Internet offers competitive speeds and pricing, their DSL service does not. DSL customers are also forced to bundle with landline phone service. Verizon has been subject to accusations that they are attempting to 'kill' their DSL service in order to have people sign up with FiOS. However, FiOS service is not yet available in all areas currently served by DSL.

A termination fee will be charged and can range from $119 - $179 depending on your contract.

They have an activation fee of $49.99, which they tend to waive for new subscribers frequently.

Each plan is only available through a 2 year agreement. Expect to pay taxes, fees, and equipment and service charges on top of each plan.

The Bottom Line

Verizon offers 2 high speed internet (DSL) plans and 6 fiber optic (FiOS) plans. The best deals are offered within bundle plans, combining Internet, phone and television services together for a unified price.

DSL Plans:

  • High Speed Internet (1/.5 Mbps): $19.99/mo for 1 year. Verizon home phone service required at additional monthly fees.
  • Enhanced High Speed Internet (15/1.1 Mbps): $29.99/mo for 1 year. Verizon home phone service required at additional monthly fees.

FiOS Plans:

  • 15/5 Mbps: $49.99/mo for 1 year. $69.99/mo for months 13-24.
  • 50/25 Mbps: $59.99/mo for 1 year. $79.99/mo for months 13-24.
  • 75/35 Mbps: $69.99/mo for 1 year. $89.99/mo for months 13-24.
  • 150/65 Mbps: $129.99/mo for 2 years. Premiere speed for serious Internet users using multiple devices performing high traffic internet activities.
  • 300/65 Mbps: $209.99/mo for 2 years. At this point, residential customers should never see any kind of slow down due to extensive, high volume Internet use.
  • 500/100 Mbps: $299/mo for 2 years. The fastest internet speed available. Ideal for lots of users and lots of devices simultaneously downloading, uploading, streaming, and sharing files.

Overall Thoughts

Verizon Communications, Inc. offers both DSL and FiOS services, with the FiOS service being the better of the two. DSL service has steadily declined in recent years and is difficult to recommend if there are better options, particularly for customers who don't want to bundle with a landline service. Along with Verizon wireless, FiOS has been a growing service over the last decade. Verizon's fiber optic Internet offers a viable option for those seeking an alternative to broadband cable Internet. FiOS service offers speeds and pricing on par with major competitors, which can be reduced further by bundling with other services, including TV. Customer service may not be ideal, and issues related to billing and technical service may be lacking, but compared to many other providers, Verizon offers an adequate support system.

Before agreeing to a contract, browse and compare what options are available in your area. Plus, take the time to read through some user reviews of Verizon Internet on WhichVoIP to get a better gauge of what others have experienced with the service.


Verizon Overview

The user reviews of Verizon Internet Service that have been posted on WhichVoIP since 2006 seem to indicate that a number of people are having a somewhat difficult experience.

....continual issues with our service over the past few years....

...worst service I have ever used....

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 7)

Total Number 69 4
Thumbs Up 8 5
Thumbs Down 60 13
Average Rating 2.3 34
More Providers 13

Verizon reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1)

#69 : JUN 6th, 2018 : (PA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Lost Internet for about a week. They offered a whopping $4.00 credit - a credit we never received. I finally got disgusted and went with a competitor. Now they tell me my bill is past due, when I've made payments on time, and the current bill isn't even due yet! Plus - I didn't get the full month, since I switched providers. So, if anything else, they owe me an ADDITIONAL credit (on top of the one I never received in the first place).

Overall rating (1)

#68 : APR 19th, 2018 : (NY)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Verizon accidentally disconnected my 90 year old parents phone land line. This line for them is a LIFE line - all their doctors, pharmacies, deliveries, medical equipment, transportation, home services are linked to this phone. After 3 days fighting with Verizon they told me that they cannot re-connect my parents' phone number back and have to give them a new phone number which is really a nightmare for elderly people. Verizon demonstrated once and again a complete incompetence, very poor qualifications of technicians and outrageous customer services.

Overall rating (1)

#67 : JAN 1st, 2018 : (VA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I had Internet service with Verizon. I requested for Internet service only but they told me that with Internet and Cable will be much cheaper. So I agreed to take the promotional offer of $80/month for one year. They told me that they will call/email before contract expires and I need to request them to be in the same plan. After 11 months, I received mail/email saying, contract is about to expire and I need to contact them. I called them. They told me that now promotion offer can't be applicable to both Internet and Cable. I then requested to remove Cable and they told me that my monthly bill will be now 55 (also asked me to mail their Cable box). Next month I received a bill for $140. I called them and they told me to pay just $55 and remaining amount would be fixed. I asked them when would the new bill be reflected in my online account. They told it would be next billing cycle. So I told them I would pay next month when it was fixed. Next month, bill was 140+140=$280. I called them to fix it. They keep saying just pay monthly bill of $55. It was a big mess. The bill never got fixed and I didn't pay the bill. I clearly told them that until they fix the bill, that I won't pay. After 2/3 months, I moved to new provider. I explained so many times and they never understood the problem. It was so much frustration. I didn't know I could take them to consumer court.

Overall rating (2.4)

#66 : SEP 21st, 2017 : (MA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Service is so slow it can take over 1 minute to load a single page. Customer service is so bad that you can't even send them an email. Their one online speed test does not even work. Abysmal!

Overall rating (1)

#65 : JUL 8th, 2017 : (MA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

The service was the worst, so we canceled. Well the service for DSL was not the worst. It is dealing with customer service and getting our money back. I have had to call 5 times to see where my refund stood. And got different answers on my refund, from we will add it to the credit card that we used to pay the bill, to we have sent you a check,to we will be sending you a check. This has been going on for over 2 months now and I still have not gotten the check. I am sure that they are hoping I give up and they can keep my money. Which has happened to some friends, they just got sick of the stupidity and gave up. I completely can understand the feeling.

Overall rating (2.3)

#64 : JUN 26th, 2017 : (MD)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Intermittent service, slow, customer service told me to get another provider. My service is so slow my wife and I can't use it at the same time. I have to reset the router four to five times per day. Can't have Netflix as it is too slow. However, they charge me for high speed Internet service. This company is quickly becoming one of the worst Internet providers on the market.

Overall rating (1)

#63 : JAN 2nd, 2017 : (MD)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have Direct TV and Verizon Internet that I pay $69.00 for a month. It is so weak I can't download on demand movies and it took 12 hours to download an Xbox game.

Overall rating (2.1)

#62 : OCT 1st, 2016 : (PA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

This is the slowest Internet, dial up was faster. My Verizon/Yahoo email was hacked and I was not able to change my my password and now I cannot access my mail. Still waiting for a temporary password to get my mail. Verizon and Comcast are the only Internet providers in my area. Lucky me!

Overall rating (1)

#61 : JUL 23rd, 2016 : (DE)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Verizon stinks, sure wish I could find a new company. There technical support is lousy. If they send a tech to your home it takes forever, and the tech does not know what to do, the tech keeps calling the office, and all they say is I don't know what to tell you to do.

Overall rating (3.6)

#60 : JUN 6th, 2016 : (PA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Verizon's incoming spam blocker (AOL mail system) endangered my personal safety by blocking a product recall email from Sam's Club, which I received because I have in fact purchased the product and have been eating it. This is far from the first time Verizon's spam detection system has blocked legitimate incoming and outgoing E-mail, including E-mail from friends and also professional societies to which I belong. It is also a matter of documented (for years) record that Verizon knows about these problems but has taken no identifiable closed loop corrective action. This is the first time, however, that Verizon's willful incompetence has put my physical safety at risk. Per the Centers for Disease Control, "Even with prompt treatment, some listeriosis cases result in death. This is particularly likely in older adults and in persons with other serious medical problems." If I had not checked the server-side spam folder, I would have continued to eat the following food, which I have in my house. I regarded this issue (danger to my health and life, regardless of how slight) as sufficiently serious to notify the Federal Trade Commission of Verizon's actions, and I also told General Mills and Sam's Club that they should probably contact customers with Verizon/AOL E-mail addresses by phone and/or postal mail because Verizon cannot be trusted to deliver E-mail from an address of theirs. The people who run the spam filtering operation are apparently too stupid to realize that a communication from an easily traceable address like this, and one whose sole purpose is to issue product recall notices, is unlikely to be spam. Internet connectivity itself is generally reliable, but customer service has been totally unresponsive in terms of closed loop corrective action for the well-known problems with the spam filter. I have missed important communications from legitimate senders including not only friends but professional contacts, but this is the first time I almost missed something related to my health and safety.

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 7
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

Reviews Summary

Total Number 69 4
Thumbs Up 8 5
Thumbs Down 60 13
Average Rating 2.3 34
More Providers 13

Reduce Your Phone Bill

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.8)
  • SHARE: