RingPlanet Reviews

Provider Average Rating Resources
RingPlanet (1.9)
16 Reviews
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

FREE Business VoIP pricing in minutes!

  • Save Money: REDUCE phone bills by up to 80%.
  • Save Time: Get multiple quotes to compare.
  • Trusted: Over 100,000 quotes processed.

How many employees use the system:

ShopperApproved

Just a few more questions...

Business location & name:

Let's get your name right.

Who gets the quotes:

We are preparing your quotes.

Where do we send them:

Use the below tabs to navigate to reviews, Q&A, and useful tools.

Take me straight to the 16 User submitted reviews >>

RingPlanet Review by WhichVoIP.com

The main focus of RingPlanet revolves around VoIP for business-grade solutions but also incorporates fixed-line and mobile Internet. The company resells services from a few different carriers, such as Vonage, AT&T and Time Warner, allowing it to serve 48 US states and Canada.

The Good

The VoIP service is a straightforward model, similar to many other providers in the market. With every line, it is possible to utilize virtually all modern phone features such as voicemail to email, Follow Me to ring multiple locations, call forwarding, screening and many more. Other features, such as faxing, which often requires an additional fee with other providers, are included at no extra cost.

Though the pricing model will vary when adding certain, non-standard features, the starting point is $34.99 per month per user. A customer can also opt for a plan with unlimited extensions for larger or multi-site installations, however the final price requires negotiation with an account representative. A plethora of features are included with either model, plus some additional bonuses are granted with a contract. Three, basic IP phones may be selected free of charge or several other phones may be purchased at a heavy discount when signing up for a 2-year contract.

The company supports a wide variety of phones so BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) should be possible if you already own IP phones. In other scenarios, a Cisco ATA will connect most touch-tone analog phones. In addition to physical devices, software for web browsers is available if you would prefer to use desktop computers. Softphone applications are also available for most smartphone devices such as Android and iOS.

Popular CRM applications including Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, MethodCRM and others integrate with the phone system. Other applications such as Google contacts are accessible for certain installations as is QuickBooks integration for quickly accessing financial information for existing accounts.

The company partners with several providers such as AT&T, CenturyLink and Time Warner to offer fiber services at select locations where speeds exceed 100 Mbps. Speeds as high as 100 Mbps are possible in other scenarios with cable or DSL, which is ideal for customers not on a fiber loop and that require high bandwidths.

RingPlanet offers mobile solutions for wireless connectivity in most markets. Users can leverage 4G LTE connectivity in areas where the technology is available to connect devices directly to the Internet. In other cases, mobile hot-spots can connect to the Internet for utilizing other network capable devices such as a laptop.

The Bad

One of the few problems with RingPlanet relates to the pricing models and availability per locale. The literature implies that all services are included at no additional charge, however this usually is not the case with most companies. For example, calls in the main 48 states and Canada seem to be free for outbound calls but inbound calling and usage caps remain in question. In addition, call recording is free for up to 500 hours but overage costs are not stated.

Another question relates to serviceable areas for fixed-line Internet and mobile services. Since the company resells fiber, this will limit businesses in certain locations where this is not an option although, most sites may at least opt for cable or DSL where speeds of up to 100 Mbps are possible. It is also not very clear as to whether or not mobile connectivity is available all across the US and Canada.

Surprisingly, there is no documentation on their website regarding support. A generic phone number is stated but no knowledge base or ticketing system and no support hours are stated anywhere. There is an FAQ page, but it appears to be empty at this time of writing. We are unable to tell how the support system works and whether questions end up with the underlying provider or not.

The Bottom Line

  • Business class voice services starting at $34.99 per month per user. An option for unlimited extensions is also available.
  • With a 2-year service contract, the Grandstream GPX1405, Polycom VVX300 or Yealink T20 are included for free, though other devices may be purchased at a discount or some existing phones may be utilized in lieu.
  • Popular VoIP features such as call logging, conference calling, caller ID, transferring/parking, call recording and many more are included at no additional cost.
  • Business Internet is available to locations with access to fiber where speeds exceed 100 Mbps but cable or DSL is possible for other locations.
  • Mobile network solutions are available for smart device connectivity as are hot-spots for connecting other network-enabled devices.

Overall Thoughts

A company backed by 20 years of experience, especially in the telecommunications industry, speaks volumes. In this field, many long time players disappeared resulting from an inability to change and meet the needs of an evolving market. RingPlanet acknowledges the conditions of the current market by offering viable solutions for today’s business needs. It has partnered with leading providers for VoIP, Internet and mobile access in order to provide a one-stop service. This is an interesting model, though it remains to be seen how the support system works for such a model.


RingPlanet Overview

If you have had any experience using RingPlanet, please consider adding a user review.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 2)

Summary
Total Number 16 5 Stars 2
Thumbs Up 3 4 Stars 1
Thumbs Down 13 3 Stars 0
Average Rating 1.9 2 Stars 3
More Providers 1 Star 10

RingPlanet reviews are listed in chronological order.

Scammers. Be Careful.

Overall rating (1)

#16 : MAR 13th, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Do not use these guys. I was misdirected by a fast talking salesman who kept telling me he was with AT&T and that analog line were being removed within the next month. I signed up on a Friday. I called to cancel Monday morning, their customer service told me my order was cancelled, equipment did not/will not mail out, and they would confirm via email. No email. I called back Tuesday morning, only to receive the same BS. The following week, my phones were disconnected, and I had to connect their equipment to keep my business running. After back and forth disputing, I have AT&T get my lines back, and Ringplanet proceeds to bill me $150.00. Terrible customer service, unfriendly staff. Bad company. I would not recommend.

Comment on this review >>

Administrative Manager

Overall rating (1.4)

#15 : MAR 3rd, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

This company is the worst company I have ever worked with. They called stating they were from AT&T, my current company, and could save me many $$$, free phones, etc. Customer service was beyond poor, I called several times prior the phones being ported to them and they kept saying a technician was not available. Phone numbers were ported without any instruction on how to use the phone/s and the sequence of the 6 lines I have was completely in disarray. When I called again (a total of 8 times) to get a technician to help with the phones (no user directions included with the phones) I was told there wasn't one available and they would call back. Only to have them call back after hours (I am in Eastern Standard Time and they are on Pacific). Calls, if they were returned, would be at 7pm my time. Within 24 hours of receiving their service I immediately ported them back to my original carrier AT&T and am very satisfied with the hands on technical service and phone and email service from their representatives. ****CAUTION DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY*** Very unprofessional and rude.

Comment on this review >>

Extremely Deceptive

Overall rating (1)

#14 : FEB 11th, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

RingPlanet (called my business and stated they were from Spectrum, the company I had at the time) and told me due to new laws with the phone industries they could save me quite a bit of money if I switched to VOIP and that I could save quite a bit of money each month. To make a long story short, I switched. They sent me the new VOIP phones. I called Spectrum to ask some questions. They stated they had ported my number out. I attempted several times to call RingPlanet, only to be on hold for almost an hour each time and never spoke to anyone. The new phones came in and we had no idea how to set the phones up. We worked on this for almost a week before we got them working. I was also told that my bill would be between $30-$40 per month. I got the first and second bill and my invoice was over $100. I called to cancel, (this time someone actually answered) and was told OK no problem. Then they sent me an invoice for $1,200 for an early termination fee. So now I've been misled about the company that they stated they were with (Spectrum), the bill was almost three times more than I had been told and get hit with this early cancellation fee that I knew nothing about. Two days after I cancelled, they were calling me again stating they were from Spectrum. When I informed them I was already with them, they stated the same thing as the first time and said Oh but your not on VOIP and tried to switch me again. Stay away from this. It has turned into a total pain in my rear.

Comment on this review >>

Watch Out Consumers!

Overall rating (1)

#13 : FEB 7th, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

No Pro's, just con's (RingPlanet is a CON job). First, they represented themselves as a Spectrum sub-provider due to a recent lawsuit against Spectrum as a "monopoly" they have in our market. Spectrum is now required to provide this opportunity to their clients. Of course this is all voluntary and you don't have to purchase a system from them but they guarantee their rates will be the same as Spectrum (or less). We bit the hook - their fees are NO WHERE the same but twice the cost by the time they add-in all the hidden charges. The service set-up was a disaster and we had to troubleshoot all our problems ourselves and/or with a Vonage technical assistant on line after we went through the "RingPlanet" technical support that could do NOTHING other than operate the software we ALL had access to. Hours of wasted time on cell phones with Vonage debugging the garbage RingPlanet sold us. The system is worthless, frustrating and nonsensical. We decided to cancel and throw this system in the trash after we lost 4 of the 5 wireless units one week after it was marginally functioning. RingPlanet has held onto our lines for 4 MONTHS milking us for fees along the way but the worst part was only having two functioning phones out of 6 in the office for 4 months, essentially crippling our business. Thank GOD for cell phones!

Comment on this review >>

Horrible customer service

Overall rating (2.4)

#12 : FEB 6th, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Phone service is OK but the customer service is horrible. I am switching to another company ASAP. Treated me, a customer, like crap.

Comment on this review >>

Pure Evil

Overall rating (1)

#11 : JAN 15th, 2020 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

These people are abhorrent. I don't know how they sleep at night. They are the rudest most unprofessional people. It's almost impossible to talk to a human and when you do they are the rudest most unprofessional people in the industry. This is a con and if you fall for it you will be very sorry.

Comment on this review >>

Scam Scam Scam!

Overall rating (1)

#10 : DEC 20th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I am so happy I came here to read the reviews before signing the DocuSign Documents. They have been attempting to call me multiple times as our current AT&T provider, claiming they are changing our rate to basically half of what we are paying now, plus free phones from another company. All sounded too good to be true. On top of it all, they kept transferring me to another sales person to another one to another one. Well thank goodness for this site, to reassure me that they were full of a bunch of BS. When I told Jenny that I would like to review this information before I sign anything, she was very appalled that I wouldn't just sign it while she was on the phone with me. She then asked me to make sure I call her back on her personal number before I sign it because she would like to be on the phone with me. Well me and the owner of my company had a good chuckle about it. Good luck and I hope more people reside to doing their research before signing anything.

Comment on this review >>

Horrible

Overall rating (1)

#9 : NOV 25th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

This company is not fit for a business. The phones (which we had to get through them) because "ours were not compatible" are horrible. They have no grip, they are always sliding off, no easy transfer buttons, you have to search through the screen for hold button, and all other options. In general they are totally not worth it. After a month of trying to work with them I still do not have my fax line nor my credit card machine line working. When I received my phones it took them a whole week to finally get my phone lines to work. My bill, although the lines are $10 lower, my taxes are $60 higher so I am not saving any money. Do not waste your time. I am in the process of returning back to my previous phone company.

Comment on this review >>

Unresponsive Compnay - Poor Project Mgmt

Overall rating (1)

#8 : NOV 11th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

This company has very poor customer service and poor implementation. They ported numbers that were not supposed to be ported and never were able to set up the system correctly. It would take long wait times to get through to customer service and many times the call was dropped before getting to a customer service person. I spent many hours working the problems and ultimately I cancelled the contract prior to the 30 day deadline. Even then I could not get through and called the sales office which said they couldn't help and I had to call customer service.

Comment on this review >>

Harassing Call Center

Overall rating (1)

#7 : OCT 10th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Their Las Vegas call center has been calling our business daily with harassing phone calls. When asked to remove our number from their call list, we are told they are not able to remove our number as the calls are automatically generated. They start the conversation misleading us to believe they are calling from our local service provider and will initiate the lowering of our monthly bill. If questioned, the Ring Planet employee has gotten defensive and abusive.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Whitney (December 2nd 2019) : I have to echo Susan's frustration with their call center and raise this with "deceptive practices". "We have recently signed an interconnect agreement with AT&T..." "POTS lines will be phased out in your area before the end of December..." "You need to switch from your current system to a VoIP system immediately..." Two weeks ago I talked with an AT&T senior field tech, and they're not making any changes in this area for as long as they can get away with not doing so. I have a call in to AT&T's fraud department to report this deceptive call, and will also be calling the FTC. Oh, and I can't get through to RingPlanet on their published phone number - tried that first to give them a fair chance. After some number of rings it picks up, there is simply silence, and after a bit the call disconnects. Must be having phone problems, eh?

Kelly (January 3rd 2020) : I just received the same exact call. Initially stating they were with AT&T and the land lines were being phased out. I was transferred to a "manager", I started asking questions and googled reviews, which I brought the poor reviews to her attention. She immediately became defensive and snarky. Very deceptive and misleading.

Comment on this review >>

  • Page 1 of 2
  • Next Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 16 5 Stars 2
Thumbs Up 3 4 Stars 1
Thumbs Down 13 3 Stars 0
Average Rating 1.9 2 Stars 3
More Providers 1 Star 10
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

Top Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$19.99
(4.6)
from
$19.95
(4.6)
from
$14.97
(4.8)
from
$19.99
(4.9)