netTALK Reviews - Page 3 of 3

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
netTALK (2.8)
28 Reviews
Write a review

Return to Page 1 to access our netTALK review, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>

User Reviews (Page 3 of 3)

Total Number 28 5 Stars 3
Thumbs Up 10 4 Stars 7
Thumbs Down 18 3 Stars 2
Average Rating 2.8 2 Stars 10
More Providers 1 Star 6

netTALK reviews are listed in chronological order.

Long delays

Overall rating (2)

#8 : SEP 21st, 2014 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The delays in conversation are to long, sometimes I get cut off, and I also get tones dialing over my conversation. I can't recommend it to anyone.

Comment on this review >>

Very clear and no static or other noise

Overall rating (5)

#7 : JUL 2nd, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I found out if we have the TV's on and the computers, we might get a dropped call due to the service being a bit short on bandwidth. Which is my fault as we bought the cheapest Internet connection from Brighthouse. If you have higher than 10 high speed internet, 99% of the time its just fine. Also make sure the router is newer and can handle its job effectively. Most problems are due to weak internet or outdated router ports. Also have the phone base at least 10 feet from the router if using a wireless house phone. Wireless Signals tend to create a buzz if you are too close with the gadgets. We find this system perfect for calls within the USA for the last 3 years, for $29.00 per year.

Comment on this review >>

Wonderful service

Overall rating (4.4)

#6 : JAN 5th, 2014 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I am in Canada and I have been using Nettalk for over a year now (just paid for my second year of service) and it is just as good as a landline. Great sound quality no problem with calls not being received. When I had problems with my internet I could go to the library or a friends and check messages on the website. I do have a home network so I have nettalk plugged into a router and have the nettalk ip set up in the DMZ zone so it is outside of the firewall. When I first set it up I did have a bit of problems with sound until I routed it around the firewall but no problems now.

Comment on this review >>

Good Clairity

Overall rating (4)

#5 : OCT 19th, 2013 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been using VOIP phone service for at least 7 years. I started with Vonage for a couple of years. Worked well, but I wanted to save more money. I switched to Magicjack plus, which plugs directly into the Internet modem, no computer needed. I used it for the last 2 years. Not too bad, but they do charge $10 extra every year for a ported number. My mom has very bad hearing after a stroke. She could not understand a single word I was saying. So I wanted to try other VOIP phone services. I got the Nettalk to try and see if she could hear me better or worse. The first time I called with the Nettalk service, she could understand about 90% of what I was saying. That is what I was looking for. We can talk and she understands what I am saying. For me that is 100% better. I was willing to try all the VOIP phone services. Nettalk was the first one I tried with great success. There might be some hidden fees, I will find out. Magicjack charged me a $30 fee to release my number so I could port to Nettalk. All I wanted was my mom to be able to hear me and she can now.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Steve (10/25/2013) : Update: Still waiting for my number to be ported. First I gave the wrong account number, my fault. Next after I gave the right account number, it was rejected for being the wrong number, but it was the right number (I confirmed the number with Magicjack). So I resubmitted it for the 3rd time. It is now pending, which is a good sign. It takes a while for it to go through. Overall, very pleased with the system. Good call quality.

Comment on this review >>

Don't Bother

Overall rating (2.6)

#4 : OCT 4th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We have used NetTalk for just over 9 months. A lot of dropped calls while talking. Caller ID does not work with older devices. Our year is about up and are actively looking for something better. Telemarketers have no problem getting through, even though you can block 10 numbers. Those pesky 5 digit calls beginning with 11xxx with the heavy breathing. Our number does not always go through correctly to places we call. Forget about this VOIP.

Comment on this review >>

Stay Away - Bad by all counts

Overall rating (1.6)

#3 : JUL 8th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Lost my phone number they provided (unbelievable) so I needed to get another one. 2nd interface unit has broken down within 7 months. After 7 months I am without service for 2 of those. Horrible customer service and a waste of time to pursue fo service.

Comment on this review >>

Stay away from netTALK

Overall rating (2.4)

#2 : MAY 15th, 2013 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Stay away from netTALK. Originally thought it was great. Ported my Bell phone number and it works out to about $3.33 /month. But unit died last week and have yet to get a single response to my online trouble ticket. Their help line is only open from 10am to 4pm weekdays.... but you can't call it if your phone is not working!

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Steve (10/19/2013) : Buy the extended warranty for $5 at Walmart. Worth the money.

Comment on this review >>

SOUND QUALITY

Overall rating (2.4)

#1 : MAR 21st, 2013 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

TOO MANY PARTS OF THE WORDS GET CUT OFF. SOMETIMES YOU CAN NOT MAKE OUT WHAT IS BEING SAID. THE VOICE IS ALWAYS COMPETING WITH OTHER STUFF COMING ON THE COMPUTER.IF ALL THE COMPUTERS ARE OFF, THE VOICE QUALITY IS GOOD. THEY (NETALK) WON'T TELL YOU UP FRONT WHAT SPEED INTERNET YOU NEED TO MAKE THEIR PHONE WORK. PRICE IS GOOD-THE OLD ADAGE--"YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR"

Comment on this review >>

  • First Page
  • Previous Page
  • Page 3 of 3

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 28 5 Stars 3
Thumbs Up 10 4 Stars 7
Thumbs Down 18 3 Stars 2
Average Rating 2.8 2 Stars 10
More Providers 1 Star 6

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.5)
from
$7.16
Unlimited
(5)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4.1)
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.2)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4)