magicJack Reviews - Page 2 of 16

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
magicJack (2.8)
159 Reviews
Write a review

Return to Page 1 to access our magicJack review, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>

User Reviews (Page 2 of 16)

Summary
Total Number 159 5 Stars 23
Thumbs Up 65 4 Stars 35
Thumbs Down 94 3 Stars 29
Average Rating 2.8 2 Stars 43
More Providers 1 Star 29

magicJack reviews are listed in chronological order.

RENEWAL NIGHTMARE

Overall rating (1.4)

#149 : MAY 13th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Renewal came around and I renew it. Except it was a renewal for a device I did not have anymore. Renewed again, charged again, and was told 45 days later when I discovered it that they cannot give you a credit after 30 days. Thank God for a good bank. They need to offer robust robo blocking features without any up charge. Vote with your feet and leave.

Comment on this review >>

Was Great

Overall rating (4)

#148 : MAY 5th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I had for sometime now the features appear even better with using a router. Considering purchasing new system and would go 5 year plan due to knowledge of MagicJack.

Comment on this review >>

Will not port my number

Overall rating (2)

#147 : APR 12th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Don't think that your number will be able to transfer to your MagicJack. There are some area codes that MagicJack does not have access to. Make sure you check first!

Comment on this review >>

The True Review.

Overall rating (3.8)

#146 : MAR 16th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been using the MagicJack for years now and I think the quality is dam good and so is the price and even the installation is a breeze, I mean who can't plug a USB port into a computer or router, because that's all there is to installing it. Why pay those VoIP companies $20 plus a month when you're already paying for your Internet service and that's all the VoIP companies are doing is leasing you their equipment because it runs off your Internet service.

Comment on this review >>

Never Got a Phone Number Issued

Overall rating (1.8)

#145 : FEB 12th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Ordered MagicJack Go online with a full year free. In the setting up process I was never issued a number and check to see if my old number could be used. Their online checker said the number was good so I paid the 19.95 to have it ported. Then I received an email stating that they could not port the number. I called to ask them what am I to do about a phone number and all they could tell me was to pay ten dollars to have it changed, but I never received one in the first place. Now I have a phone service I can only call out and not receive calls. They ripped me off for $22.00 for the porting that they did not do and now they want another $10 for a number.

Comment on this review >>

Poor Customer Service

Overall rating (3.4)

#144 : FEB 9th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been with them for over 10 years and my adapter broke - the USB connection finally pulled out of the circuit board adapter. Customer service were of no help. They got me so annoyed and I still have a year to go with them. Five year plan for $100 is great value! But no more. I will switch. The service has always been good - replaced my AT@T landline in 2006 and have been very happy with it. Typing this now I may reconsider but I have no phone. No cell, no landline and I need to call my 82 year old mom and I can't. So I'm a little frustrated. That's my problem but customer service did not understand what went wrong. Poorly trained.

Comment on this review >>

Worth it for me

Overall rating (3.8)

#143 : JAN 26th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been using MagicJack for years with a regular desk phone with 2 wireless extensions. Good sound and no problems except for one contact. My Mother. For some reason after moving from Illinois to Arkansas every time my Mother calls me it hangs up once and then when she calls back it's fine? Inexpensive and I have only had to replace the adapter once in 8 years.

Comment on this review >>

Why is Magic Jack so annoying?

Overall rating (3.8)

#142 : OCT 31st, 2018 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The only bad things I can say about MagicJack are these: The dialer constantly pops up and there is no way to prevent it. I don't need this aggravation being posted over my open screen every time I answer the phone or want to make a call! The other is, why are they constantly trying to get me to pay for a 911 service that is provided to me with my tax dollars? Scam to make a few bucks more? Just like Walmart! Other than that it works very well.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Mars (August 14th 2019) : Did you find a better alternative? I've been using MagicJack, but the voice quality is terrible AND the connection drops out randomly, so I lose calls often. Seems there is some sort of short/bad connection at the device that plugs into my outlet. I have to fiddle with it for 2-3 minutes several times a day to get it positioned just right to work (temporarily). BAD product design.

Comment on this review >>

Buyer Beware!

Overall rating (1.8)

#141 : OCT 2nd, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

MagicJack has gone down hill in the last few yeas. I have been using them for over 5 years. The voice is hard to hear on most calls and technical support which is only a chat line is very poor. Most so called technical reps cannot work out of the box. If you have an issue, they are taught only to try certain things and nothing else. This may take several hours of your time and poor voice will never be cleared up, at least in my case. So I cannot recommend them any longer.

Comment on this review >>

Ready to go for the 7th year!

Overall rating (4.2)

#140 : SEP 8th, 2018 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I'm about to renew MagicJack for the 7th year! Do I have to say the reason? I had only one problem when it didn't want to start on Win8 or Win10 and I read solution on the Internet and now have two shortcuts on my desktop. If one doesn't work that means I have to click on another one (direct one):) Since I don't reset my computer more than once a month even that is not a big deal. If sound quality is bad I close some programs on the computer and it's better. I'm thinking of getting this year the MagicJack Go to try it but I don't see info about it... like can I send texts or not... That is all.

Comment on this review >>

  • Previous Page
  • Page 2 of 16
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 159 5 Stars 23
Thumbs Up 65 4 Stars 35
Thumbs Down 94 3 Stars 29
Average Rating 2.8 2 Stars 43
More Providers 1 Star 29

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$7.16
Unlimited
(5)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.5)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$0.0198
per min
(4.3)