magicJack Reviews - Page 2 of 17

2.8/5

Average Rating

40%

Recommended

Total:

168

5-Star:

24

4-Star:

36

3-Star:

29

2-Star:

46

1-Star:

33

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>


User Reviews (Page 2 of 17)

magicJack reviews are listed in chronological order.

Horrible Service

Overall rating (1)

Number 158 : JAN 15th, 2020 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I've used Magic Jack for 5 years and have been disappointed all the while. It would work to an acceptable standard for a while AFTER I was forced to purchase a newer device. Then it would work well for 1 to 2 years and it would crap out. The App for the cell phone is junk. Calls would be horrible quality (cell or Wi-Fi) and I would have to disconnect to find another communication source. The service is NOT RECOMMENDED. Technical support is by chat ONLY and they will blame the configuration of your router or computer every time. "Go get a new phone or phone line, and we can continue the testing.", they say. They know the service is junk, and now you do too. Avoid MagicJack at all costs.

Comment on this review >>


Bad News Product

Overall rating (1.4)

Number 157 : OCT 31st, 2019 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Bought product at Best Buy. Called MagicJack for help with the installation. Ported my home phone number to them. Could not get incoming calls. Called their service, and was told to CLICK ON CHAT. That meant typing your questions and waiting for the "expert" to respond. After about an hour 3 of my 4 phones seem to be working. Turned off the computer and all lines went dead. I had pre-paid for 2 years. Realized this product was not going to work for me. Called them again and was told there is no refund. Best Buy gave me a full refund. MagicJack in my estimation should be put out of business.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Beverly (January 7th 2020) : I paid $160 something a few months ago to renew my Magicjack for 5 years. Not long after that I started receiving calls supposedly from them saying I would be getting a bill from another company for my service. I told them I didn't know who they were but I wasn't paying twice. They called every week until I told them I was going to turn them over to the authorities, then they quit. I only use my Magicjack to find my cell phone (which isn't often). Today I called and got a message I had chosen receive calls only. I tried to reach someone at Magicjack but had no more luck than I did when I tried to reach them about the scam. So I'm out over $164.00 and can't find any one to straighten out this mess.

Comment on this review >>


Magicjack

Overall rating (1.6)

Number 156 : OCT 21st, 2019 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Very poor service and flaky attitude. They send you to a tutorial, I as a newbie can't understand.

Comment on this review >>


Impossibly stupid service

Overall rating (1)

Number 155 : SEP 30th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Magicjack is a sorry company. I wanted to keep my phone number but they would not release it. I would not recommend them to my worst enemy. To fight over a few numbers is stupid.

Comment on this review >>


I love the Automated Call Screening!

Overall rating (4.8)

Number 154 : SEP 10th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Automated Call Screening is the best thing ever! I have not been bothered with Robo Calls and Telemarketers after adding this to my service! I used to get at least a dozen or more calls a day, most I believe were phone scams from overseas... I have not received a single one in the last 3 months since activating Automated Call Screening.... Thank You!

Comment on this review >>


Outstanding automatic call screening

Overall rating (4.2)

Number 153 : SEP 6th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Automatic call screening feature requests manual keypad digit entry from incoming callers. Totally eliminates robocalls. Chat session technical support knowledgeable and effective. Major problem escalated to support and effectively solved over 4 days on holiday weekend. Sound quality to some cellphones less than optimal, but acceptable. Past problems with 2-way communication through some carriers (Verizon, Straight Talk, etc.) seem to have been resolved. Great value for the money.

Comment on this review >>


It does not work

Overall rating (2.4)

Number 152 : AUG 8th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Six years of trouble free use now the called contact can't hear me. Only 1 in two calls get through. Most incoming calls are okay. Customer service is horrible, unanswered calls to tech support who promise to call back but never do! They say that my "speed tests" are way to slow, 40 to 50 microseconds, they want less than 30, duh! they are in control. Now I can't even do speed tests on their website - it no longer exists. If you use them don't select renew now. Doing so extends your subscription out another year. They don't give you an option. Clicking on "Update now" adds another year and there is no cancellation allowed. FRUSTRATED!

Comment on this review >>


Great Product-Replaced Costly Landline

Overall rating (4.6)

Number 151 : JUL 21st, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Pros: Purchased Pro version at Walmart, so no issue with shipping or return if not satisfied. Total cost less than 1 months AT&T bill and computer fax number, since I canceled both. I plugged unit into existing one house wall jack so all house wall jacks would receive and make calls and send and receive fax. It is very simple, just disconnect house phone wires from the outside phone box by unscrewing the house low voltage wire from the incoming AT&T wire. Now all wired phone lines work as well as my fax which is a multi use printer that sends/receives faxes, scans, copy (MFC Brother unit)that has phone/fax setup as well. Not a computer geek, just 70 year old person who knows how to use a screw driver and what a USB port is. Cons: Only if Internet service goes out and much less expensive than using the Comcast VoIP service.

Comment on this review >>


Horrible service

Overall rating (1)

Number 150 : JUN 19th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

There is really nothing good with MagicJack for business. the after hour attendant does not work, the Beta option does not work, and the customer service reps are rude. The App call forward sucks. I had to get another company, so now they block my phone and they refuse to unblock it.

Comment on this review >>


RENEWAL NIGHTMARE

Overall rating (1.4)

Number 149 : MAY 13th, 2019 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Renewal came around and I renew it. Except it was a renewal for a device I did not have anymore. Renewed again, charged again, and was told 45 days later when I discovered it that they cannot give you a credit after 30 days. Thank God for a good bank. They need to offer robust robo blocking features without any up charge. Vote with your feet and leave.

Comment on this review >>


  • Previous Page
  • Page 2 of 17
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.5

Read Reviews
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.5

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 3.9

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 3.9

Read Reviews