Callcentric Reviews

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Callcentric
Visit Callcentric
(4.4)
49 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 49 User submitted reviews >>

The WhichVoIP.com CallCentric Review

Coming from a respectable background in telecommunications, the company CallCentric that was founded in 2001, and this somewhat low-key company is one of the better kept secrets of the VoIP world.

The Good

The CallCentric service has been designed for ease of use and has abundant plans to meet the needs of all customers. The service is compatible with just about all of the most popular SIP Compliant Platforms, including: ATA Adaptors, IP Phones, IPPBX Systems (Asterisk, Trixbox, 3CX, etc). Many third party ATAs are also supported, such as those made by Grandstream, Obihai, Linksys, Cisco and D-Link. There are also mobile applications available for Android and iOS devices which is a great way to make and receive calls on the road using your smart phone. It also enables you to make very low cost International calls from your smart phone, with outgoing caller ID that represents your CallCentric number rather than your cell number.

Crisp and clear, land-line quality service. Allows you the freedom to customize your services based on your actual needs/usage patterns, by independently selling its inbound and outbound calling plans. Products are available under BOTH the Flat-Rate Unlimited and Pay-Per Use service models and the advertised price is what you pay as there are no hidden fees or taxes. Users can also make completely free calls to other CallCentric users who have active accounts, regardless of their location.

Knowledgeable customer support is available 365 days per year and is available to both free and paid Customers

Included value added services such as free NY phone numbers, telemarketer block, IVR (Automated Attendant), SIP URI calling, fax reception feature, T38 support, ability to submit custom CNAM update requests via portal, Callcentric Android/iPhone app, free vanity toll-free number searches and more.

For those wanting to know if they can port their number over from another provider, CallCentric has a neat Local Number Portability (LNP) tool that will test your existing number to see if your number can be transferred over. Extensive footprint for LNP and new DIDs (US50, Canada, Toll-Free, and over 48 international countries).

The Bad

The plans are split by inbound and outbound calling and most customers need both. The plan pricing is reasonable though.

The user is responsible for configuring their own device as there is no remote provisioning option currently available. However, for the standard home service using a telephone, setting up an ATA is not a difficult process. To help make this process easy, there are some good troubleshooting and setup FAQs on the Callcentric website. Also note that you are responsible for purchasing the ATA device independently (i.e. Bring Your Own Device - BYOD) as the company does not sell any hardware or offer it on a "free" lease basis.

No flat-rate annual plans are currently available.

Not the absolute cheapest phone service option currently available.

The Bottom Line

  • IP Freedom: Free calling between Callcentric users.
  • Pay Per Minute (inbound): USA/CAN 1.5c/minute receive calls only. $1.95/month fee.
  • Personal Unlimited (inbound): USA/CAN unlimited incoming calls. $5.95/month fee.
  • International Unlimited (inbound): DIDs with unlimited incoming calls are available in over 48 different international countries. Pricing varies by location.
  • Pay Per Call (outbound): No monthly fee, just pay as you go. Low international rates , US/CAN (under 2c/minute).
  • North America 500 (outbound + E911): 500 minutes/month USA/CAN for $6.95/month.
  • North America 1000 (outbound + E911): 1000 minutes/month USA/CAN for $12.95/month.
  • North America Residential (outbound): Unlimited minutes/month USA/CAN for $19.95/month.
  • World Select Residential (outbound): Unlimited minutes/month 40 countries for $29.95/month.

Overall Thoughts

CallCentric is a great way to inexpensively replace a landline and many different plans are provided in order to meet your calling needs. Overall the services offer a blend of aggressive pricing and good quality of service that has resulted in great reviews from users to date. There is a lot of flexibility in allowing new users to fully customize their services. This could however potentially be a little confusing for some new users.

Note that it is a BYOD service and the amount of configuration required for the softphones or ATAs may be somewhat challenging for some customers, although good supporting documents are provided by CallCentric.

Callcentric does not claim to be cheapest service on the market and it does not offer any annual plan options. The plethora of free value added services and features along with good customer support, excellent voice quality, and good user reviews, does however make Callcentric a strong candidate for anyone that is searching for a new phone service.


Callcentric Overview

Callcentric received it's first review back in January 2008 on WhichVoIP. Since then a steady flow of mostly positive reviews have been continuing, leading to an excellent overall average rating and a very high recommended percentage score.

...Costs less, does more, sounds better... Simple as that...

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 5)

Total Number 49 5 Stars 36
Thumbs Up 39 4 Stars 5
Thumbs Down 10 3 Stars 3
Average Rating 4.4 2 Stars 4
More Providers 1 Star 1

Callcentric reviews are listed in chronological order.

Horrible Customer Service

Overall rating (3.3)

#49 : JUL 23rd, 2018 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I am a telco and I.T. vendor. First impressions are poor. Upload your LOA for your phone number port and wait 3 days. Then you have to message them telling them it was uploaded, they do not check themselves even though it is uploaded through the ticket system. Which just spells LAZY to me. Then they require LOA signed in ink. As a green company we do nothing in paper if it can be done electronically, and if I can sign my documents with Docusign and credit cards are signed for digitally why would I contribute to the destruction of the planet even more by wasting paper that will be scanned in and become digital? Once scanned its not signed in ink and in my view can be tampered with easier than ink signed documents that are mailed. Off to find another provider for my customers, which there are plenty who are happy to take your call, and accept digitally signed documents.

Comment on this review >>

All Downhill

Overall rating (1)

#48 : DEC 23rd, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Had the service for about 2 years. Started out great, now it is a nightmare. I reset the ATA every week or so because it goes down. Trouble is I can go days without realizing. Customer service is brutal. I gave up.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

John (May 18th 2018) : If the ATA device was defective it's not CallCentric's fault, they do not provide hardware. I was having quality issues and turns out my Obi100 was the issue. I replaced it with an Obi200 and now have crystal clear connections.

Comment on this review >>

Technically excellent, customer support not

Overall rating (4)

#47 : MAR 1st, 2017 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I've been with Callcentric for about two years. The technical side of the service is excellent. Call quality is good, prices are the best I've seen. The customer support is actually worse than non-existent, for you to waste some time with them before realizing it's utterly futile to write to them. They do not read your tickets, and you get pro forma replies, *no matter what you write*. Believe me - you have to experience it to see. It's exactly the same as contacting the on-line customer support of a major bank. There is *NO* connection between what you write and the reply. You're talking to a robotic answering machine, which has a set of replies, and it can pick one and only one of them to send to you. I had one other particular problem with them. They have automatic anti-fraud mechanisms in place which will, if they think something is a miss, will block your account. However, you are not informed your account is blocked. You *find out* when you come to make a call. On two occasions, somehow, whatever I was doing triggered these blocks. Finding out your account is blocked *when you come to make a call* is frustrating. Understandably, they did not want to tell me what caused the block, or they would reveal information about their anti-fraud mechanisms, but this left me in a very awkward position; those mechanisms were issuing false positives. Callcentric would not tell me what I was doing to cause them, and it meant when I came to make a call I could find my account blocked and I would need then to issue a ticket and wait for the account to be unblocked. Not very satisfactory. Random denial of service. Their service was good for the time I used it because I almost never had to contact customer support. However, I absolutely cannot recommend them in any way, because their customer support is actually worse than useless. It would be better if they had no customer support - you wouldn't waste time finding out it's completely useless.

Comment on this review >>

Callcentric Voip works

Overall rating (5)

#46 : OCT 15th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been using Callcentric for a number of years now on an OBI202. I cannot say enough good about them. Great quality calls, outbound and inbound. Telemarketer block that works. Inbound callers, except those I have put in my phone book, must push a number to be connected. Computer calls cannot do this, thus they are stopped instantly. You will never get another computer/robo call again. It is wonderful.

Comment on this review >>

Great Service

Overall rating (5)

#45 : JUL 25th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Fantastic - best documentation I have ever used, very detailed. Their service was prompt and on target, porting my phone from the local carrier was easy to do and they kept me informed every step of the way. They are far ahead of the competition!

Comment on this review >>

Great service

Overall rating (5)

#44 : FEB 18th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Low cost and almost always reliable. Greetings message quality could be improved. I don't need much in terms of phone features.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Dave (April 3rd 2016) : I installed a Callcentric number on my cellphone and a pc softphone - I needed a US number for family and clients residing in North America - and all I can say is that, on all real life tests - Callcentric comes out with flying colors! Great technical service and support, fantastic call quality!

Comment on this review >>

Mixed results

Overall rating (2.4)

#43 : FEB 6th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Customer service is centered on FAQs and PDFs not live contacts. Last time I bothered to log in I had to change my password for the umpteenth time in a row!

Comment on this review >>

Good value, great line quality and lots of features

Overall rating (4.9)

#42 : JAN 26th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I use the CallCentric VOIP service with an Obi202 ATA, connected via an ASUS router to a Surfboard cable modem. The call quality is outstanding, better than my old Frontier land line. The available features are also very good. When I initially subscribed I made a few inquiries to CallCentric technical support and received very quick and detailed responses to my tickets. Overall the DID porting and setup was relatively straight forward. I am a satisfied customer.

Comment on this review >>

Simply the best!

Overall rating (4.9)

#41 : SEP 14th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been a satisfied customer for over 4+ years. They keep developing powerful FREE features, but I haven't seen a single price increase. All taxes and fees are included in their published rates. LOVE the new Telemarketer Block and FREE IVR. You CANNOT go wrong with these guys. Keep up the good work!

Comment on this review >>

Works well with Cisco CME and softphone clients/3G

Overall rating (5)

#40 : FEB 22nd, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I don't even remember how I found these guys but I've been using them for about 2 years now. Works fantastic with Cisco Call Manager Express on a 2800/3800 series router, and while I wouldn't mind handling my call treatment and rejection rules within my router config... there's enough flexibility with their call treatments to where I can do some of my config on the router and some of it (more accessible) on their home page. Support requests are answered quickly. Don't expect a lot of help with CME :grin: but aside from that always given accurate and helpful information. Cannot beat the free incoming DID but I also like using them to forward my US cellphone to a local prepaid number if I'm out of the country. Only ever had one service outage/issue that was attributable to DDOS but even that, they got a handle on very quickly. For a softphone highly recommend Bria (iOS) or CSIPSimple (Android) with G729a codec. You wouldn't expect this to work well on 3G in rural areas but I can squeak by and make calls on a half meg and sometimes less.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 5
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 49 5 Stars 36
Thumbs Up 39 4 Stars 5
Thumbs Down 10 3 Stars 3
Average Rating 4.4 2 Stars 4
More Providers 1 Star 1

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.8)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.2)
  • SHARE: