VoIPo Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for VoIPo.

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
VoIPo
Visit VoIPo
(4)
84 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&Q and other useful sections.

Take me straight to the 84 User submitted reviews >>

VoIPo Review by WhichVoIP

The company VoIPo is one of the most recognized names in the hosted VoIP industry and for good reasons. Coming from the people who created the popular web hosting platform Host Gator, their services are based on a powerful internet platform designed to support everyone from home users to big business, and further caters to those constantly on the go. The company was started in 2006 and offers both residential and business VoIP services in the United States. The service is currently not available to Canadian residents. Each of the service plans include unlimited calling to US / Canada numbers and there are also 60 minutes of international calling included each month to select destinations.

The Good

One of the best parts about VOIPo as a company is the fact that they have very few plans which simplifies the selection process. For starters, both the residential and small business plans are compiled into a single category for an introductory upfront fee of $149, which equates to $6.21 a month over two years. For this price, you receive two years of service and an ATA (analog telephone adapter) which is used to directly connect your regular phone to the internet.

Even with the basic residential or small business service, VOIPo comes with several additional features. The ATA the company provides for connecting your telephone is leased to you for free, which is not the case for many companies that provide similar services. Other features such as 3 way calling, call blocking, SIP-based softphone capabilities for computer platforms and mobile devices, 60 minutes of included international calling to select countries per month, as well as several other features.

You have the ability to transfer your number to their service for free in most instances. This can be used in conjunction with the Cloud VoIP service that starts at $3 a month. This is very useful in instances where you would like to keep an established phone number but do not require a full-fledged phone service for the number. VOIPo also offers a 30 day unconditional guarantee so if you are not pleased, you can send back their ATA device within this time frame for a full refund.

Additional business services are available such as a hosted business PBX solution. For a flat $20 monthly fee, VOIPo will host an online PBX with SIP capabilities. This service has much broader feature capabilities than the standard residential or small business solution such as an IVR (interactive voice response) system and correlating auto attendant features. Other common business features are packaged with the service such as call conferencing, modifiable call queues and many others that can be controlled via a web based administration portal.

The Bad

Though VOIPo is very pro-consumer, there are additional expenses that may come along with the service. Because the company is a qualified telecommunications company, you will be required to pay taxes based on your location. Though these fees are relatively small, two years worth of taxes can add up.

Some of the features and pricing require more details and explanation. For example, the number porting feature is not always free - a form must be submitted (it can anywhere from a week to 45 days to process) and, though not a common occurrence, a fee could be assessed in certain situations, or the transfer could be denied.

The ATA is provided on a free lease basis and as such remains the property of VoIPo. While there is a $49.95 fee if you damage it in any way, this type of replacement charge is common. If you are not comfortable with using a leased device you can always buy your own device and use it with the service. Check first with VoIPo so ensure the device you are planning to purchase can be supported.

With VOIPo, you can integrate its service into a mobile or computer based softphone however, the company does not have its own application. This means that a user will need to use a third party application for either a computer or smart phone which will require additional configuration. The company recommends X-Lite but other applications such as ZoiPer can be utilized.

The Bottom Line

  • Two years of residential or small business service for $149 dollars (plus taxes) is packaged with over 40 additional features.
  • A free ATA is provided for your service and VOIPo also offers a 30 day money back guarantee.
  • Softphone capabilities are available for various platforms however, a 3rd party application is required to use VOIPo services.
  • A hosted business IP PBX system costs a mere $20 a month.
  • The company offers a reseller program for $24.95 a month with select features and limited numbers that can be upgraded for additional lines and other services as needed.
  • Call forwarding starting at $3 a month can alleviate the burden of an existing phone plan.
  • All calling plans are designed for regular usage that is under 5,000 minutes per month.
  • No mobile apps currently available

Overall Thoughts

VoIPo offers low priced services that include many additional features that are backed by U.S. based customer service and support. This results in exceptional value for both consumers and businesses seeking a VoIP based phone service.

For business users, a hosted IP PBX starting at only $20 a month is a steal. Smaller businesses can enjoy a virtually worry free system by using the home service. Though using their service via a softphone will require additional configuration, this can greatly reduce expenditures on mobile expenses.

The lack of a mobile app for either Android or iOS (iPhone, iPad) based devices could be an issue for some though, as more and more people want to have easy access to their phone service at all times via their personal smart phone device.

In summary, VoIPo is an excellent choice for either home of business phone service.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Tony Campbell


VoIPo Overview

The reviews of VoIPo phone service listed here have been submitted by actual users of the service. If you are an existing user of the service we would like to hear from you. Your opinions are welcome and will help others decide if a VoIPo service plan is good choice as their home phone solution. You can add your own review of VoIPo by selecting the green button to the right.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 9)

Total Number 84 5 Stars 41
Thumbs Up 51 4 Stars 17
Thumbs Down 33 3 Stars 19
Average Rating 4 2 Stars 6
More Providers 1 Star 1

VoIPo reviews are listed in chronological order.

Great price and efficient service

Overall rating (5)

#84 : FEB 5th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

My only problem is with my Internet service provider who is Xfinity (Comcast), because they reset my IP address and VOIPO won't account for this and I presume Comcast does it to keep people from signing up with other VoIP providers. It's easy enough to reset by resetting the modem, resetting my WiFi and VoIPo modem concurrently. I believe I end up paying about $7 a month!

Comment on this review >>

Can't Call Certain Numbers

Overall rating (2.6)

#83 : JUL 6th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Worked reasonably well at our house for a year (only occasional issues with noise on the line), so setup inlaws with VOIPO to replace their Vonage, which worked great, but was expensive. VOIPO never worked for them; initially they could not receive any calls. After many hours on the phone with customer support, now they can receive some incoming calls and only have noise on the line about 50% of the time. Now our VOIPO is pretty bad - noise on the line and cannot call some numbers (goes immediately to busy, even if not busy). Switching providers.

Comment on this review >>

Started good but now bad

Overall rating (3)

#82 : JUN 1st, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

It was good in the beginning, but now there are too many problems. We hear the bell but when I pick up the phone there is no sound. Sometimes, people call me but it does not ring. Sometimes when I call, the other person can't hear me. I talked to customer service, they told me to try this and try that for months so far the same thing. My mom has the same phone because of me but she has the same problem. I have a very fast 100 MB cable Internet. When I got started with this company, the rating was good. Now I see it's going bad. The only good thing about this service is the price other than that I will not recommend this to anybody. Time to change but which one is the best?

Comment on this review >>

Beware

Overall rating (2.9)

#81 : JAN 5th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Always had back noise, even after I changed Internet provider. We are unable to receive calls after 7 months. Unplugged it for most of the last year. Friendly people but no help.

Comment on this review >>

Wonder what happened?

Overall rating (2.9)

#80 : DEC 2nd, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I was happy with the service for a few years, then I started getting dropped calls (in & out). They keep doing adjustments that do not fix the problem for very long.

Comment on this review >>

Poor service

Overall rating (2.4)

#79 : SEP 4th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have had this service for about 6 weeks. This is the 5th VOIP service that I have used and of the list this one ranks at the bottom. Every aspect of getting it going has been a battle. Problems porting and it is my fault. The second attempt worked, ha, my fault. Two days after the port goes through I have to open a ticket to remind them to complete the port on their side as now the number is dead and goes to never never land. Then I realize that after my virtual number was ported it is like, oh, you want that to also go to your number, let me fix it. Problems with calls going dead while using their adapter, my fault. If I use my own PAP2T that has been in service for years it works great. They blame the issues on my routers DMZ. Then international calls are not completing as expected and I get to wait through a 3 day weekend for support to come in to check it. Problem found, their end. Then I get a bill for the failed international calls and they hold firm to the billing saying they show the call connected. Wait, you just changed the routing for my account so these calls will now work but then insist I have to pay for the failed calls because their broken system claims the calls connected. These folks are a joke. My friends are calling them VOIPoo because it better describes their service.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

David (Oct 1st, 2014) : Well, I have completed my promise. I have cancelled my service and moved on. And with each passing day I know I made the right decision. Any complaint to this company falls on deaf ears. Complain about the service and they stop communicating with you. They have NO interest in customer service despite what they tell you. I have yet to get my refund and wonder if I ever will. Oh well, lesson learned and buyer beware.

Comment on this review >>

Like no customer service at all.

Overall rating (3)

#78 : AUG 14th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Everytime I call customer service, I have to call several times to get the problem resolved. Some of the people hang up the phone claiming that it was a bad connection. Huh, bad connection? They promise to call back but never do. They also cannot seem to receive fax. They will claim that they never received faxes over and over again, because I think they do not want to deal with it.

Comment on this review >>

Don't Bother with this one

Overall rating (2.9)

#77 : JUL 19th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have used VOIPO for a year and half. Intermittent problems through out that time. The caller ID feature never did work. Now I can not call out or receive incoming calls. I have spoken to several customer service people who have done a remote computer session and messed around with my computer. Seemed fixed for a couple of days. Now will not work again. I have given them an ultimatum to fix this in 3 days or I am issuing a complaint to the FCC. The savings are good, but as I do not have mobile service I do not have a phone system. I will not renew my contract with VOIPO and may just cancel for the rest of my 2 year contract. My suggestion is to try another service that has good ratings.

Comment on this review >>

Worked well for 2 years then failed completely

Overall rating (3.1)

#76 : JUL 3rd, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have used VOIPO for just about 3 years. The first two years I had very few problems so I signed up again for two more years. That was a mistake. I have called customer service many times in the past months because the phone adapter continually disconnects multiple times a day. Luckily I have set up my VOIPO service to forward calls to my mobile phone if the service breaks down. Customer service has downloaded new software to the adapter and had me rewire the adapter over and over again but I still have the same disconnect problem daily. The adapter gets very hot and I believe the heat build up automatically shuts down the adapter. No one in customer service acknowledges the over heating problem. Even though I had two good years of phone service I can't recommend VOIPO. I will never trust another voip provider after this experience with VOIPO. Thank you VOIPO for ruining the voip experience forever. I will never again use voip no matter who the provider is. It will be mobile/smart phones from now on.

Comment on this review >>

Beware of fine print

Overall rating (3)

#75 : MAR 20th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

After trying unsuccessfully for several months to resolve dropping and distortion issues I cancelled my service. Since I had nearly six months left on the service I expected to received some refund, not so. Refund is prorated at a much higher rate, therefore no refund. I made the mistake of sending the unit back, paying shipping and they were not even kind enough to reimburse me for shipping cost. I should have thrown the thing in the trash.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 9
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 84 5 Stars 41
Thumbs Up 51 4 Stars 17
Thumbs Down 33 3 Stars 19
Average Rating 4 2 Stars 6
More Providers 1 Star 1

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$0.0198
per min
(4.5)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: