Norton trust seal
BBB logo

ITP Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for ITP.

Service Provider Average User Rating Total Reviews Users Who Recommend
ITP (4.5) 79 Reviews 84%

Use the tabs below to navigate to user reviews and user questions and answers sections.

ITP Overview

ITP stands for Internet Telephone Provider. Founded in 2005 and headquarted in New York, ITP Inc. was created to provide an affordable alternative to the now out-dated and expensive traditional phone service by utilizing Voice over IP (VoIP) technology (sending voice over your existing internet connection). Residential and small business plans are available.

Residential offerings include 1-line and 2-line options in basic, premium and global service plans to meet different user needs. The basic plan includes limited minutes at a lower cost, while the premium and global plans include unlimited minutes for USA/Canada calling and global calling respectively. Service availability includes USA, Canada and Puerto Rico. All plans include 30+ basic features with premium features available at a small additional rate, such as virtual numbers, softphone, VoIP app plan and virtual fax. There are no contracts to sign, with plans being month to month payments. Customer service and sales are all based in USA.

ITP have been featured on WhichVoIP for many years, with the first review received back in 2005. Overall the user reviews have been positive for ITP, with a very high average rating and high recommended rate. However, more recently there have been some negative reviews. Try out the "average rating graph" button on the right to see rating trends.

I think it's great after being gorged by AT&T for years for phone service.


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 8)

ITP reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (3.7) : I feel cheated.

#79 : MAR 16th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Verizon (FiOS)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • Vonage

I was told that there will be no charge for calling Mobile in Bangladesh. Now behind my back I am charged and today my connection was suspended without my knowledge. ITP did not bother to inform me that my bill was staggaring up due to charges of Mobile calling in Bangladesh. Even they did not have the courtesy to send me an email saying that my connection will be suspended due to charges. I am surprised to see this type of customer service. This was not my expectation. Hope ITP see my frustration. More over they do not have any customer service open during weekends and Holidays.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2.1) : SHIP BOX BACK TO ITP WITH TRACKING!

#78 : FEB 7th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 1 to 3 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • TWC (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

When you cancel your service with them -- and you will -- make sure you ship the box back to them with a UPS or Fed-Ex tracking number. They charged my credit card $99.99 and said they hadn't received it. I had proof that they had, so now they say they'll credit my card. Awful company to deal with!

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.3) : Not a good experience

#77 : OCT 15th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 1 to 3 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Century Link (DSL)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • Vonage

Went with service as the features were attractive. Once active, found the features confusing to use. After a month the service went out over a weekend. They have no repair service after hours/weekends. No one to answer phones. Once tech was reached on Monday, I was told the problem was in my wireless modem/router from Century Link and I should replaced it. Service went out again 2 more times. I replaced ITP and went back to Vonage and have not had a problem since.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4) : Polite, Caring Provider

#76 : AUG 11th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • Less than 1 month
  • Internet Provider:
  • RF Now (Satellite)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

definitely made every effort to satisfy my needs-young person in service area could use more experience in social skills-phone line does break up-can't register my ph with E911-we'll see...

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1.6) : Can't disconect unless I pay more for service never provided

#75 : AUG 9th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Qwireless (Wireless)
  • Time to Receive:
  • More than 21 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

finally got someone to answer many calls cannot cancel unless I pay for many months of no service -- cannot cancel by email so you can setup online "instantly" takes an act of god to shut it off NEVER__NEVER USE THIS PROVIDER NEVER

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.1) : Ok, but trial costs $46

#74 : MAR 22nd, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • Less than 1 month
  • Internet Provider:
  • Optimum (Wireless)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • Other

Website is vague about a trial. They say first and last month free, but this is deceptive. If you cancel watch out - it cost me $45.90 non-refundable after I renegotiated phone service with my internet provider. There are other companies who have a trial for real. BTW - customer service sounds so muffled when you call. Was going to recommend but am left with a bad taste over the non-refund.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2.4) : Not the best

#73 : JAN 24th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Comcast (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 10 to 15 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • Skype

the VOIP router is so bad that it slow down the downstream of my cable modem from 25 mps to 5-6 mps, the sound quality had been up and down, I have to reboot the VOIP router all the time just to make sure that I can hear what is on the other end. it is no longer cheap anymore since I can do better with Ooma for half of what I am paying now. they also want me to pay for the shipping of the VOIP router back to them since I cancelled the account with them. this is not what I expected, the lease they can do is to email me the return shipping label so I can drop it off at UPS for them.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1.3) : STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!

#72 : NOV 19th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 1 to 3 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • Comcast (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • More than 21 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • Vonage

Ordered this service based on other customer revies. I have never been more disappointed in this product. Bought this for the sole purpose of porting my current home number. After 30 days, no port. I called, they never received my request but took my money for set-up. I gave them 30 more days, still no port and no response from them (but paid for another month service I never used. I called to cancel, and the same day they charged me $99.99 without notification. I called to asked why and they told me they could do this if they "believed" I would not return the equipment. THEY CHARGED ME THE SAME DAY I CANCELED. Stay Away!

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.7) : Works great

#71 : NOV 14th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • Less than 1 month
  • Internet Provider:
  • Comcast (Cable)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

I received my ITPvoip adapter the same day Hurricane Sandy hit NY (which is where this carrier is based)! Unfortunately, it took me another 6 days before my service became active in Michigan, but since then, I have had no complaints. Beware, I did not read the fine print and there was a $49 activation fee..so the first two free months are eaten up by this fee - just as an FYI. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this service to my friends. I like being notified of voicemail via email and having the message attached to the email makes it very easy for me to stay current with it.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.1) : So far so good

#70 : OCT 28th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Provider:
  • AT&T Uverse (Not DSL/Cable/FiOS)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Previous Provider:
  • None

I was not told about the shipping and handling fee so they issued me a credit right away when I complained. I had a hard time setting up and the IT guy was rude but overall I like the price, the sound quality is fine. So far we haven't had any issues, we don't use our landline that much anyway. I think it's great after being gorged by AT&T for years for phone service.

Add a comment to this posting >>

  • Page 1 of 8
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

ITP Reviews Summary

Total Number 79 5 Stars 59
Recommended: YES 66 4 Stars 9
Recommended: NO 13 3 Stars 6
Average Rating 4.5 2 Stars 4
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 1 Star 1

ITP Review Tools

Other Review Options

Compare Similar Providers