Brama Telecom Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Brama Telecom (2.3)
68 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Brama Telecom Overview

UPDATE - September 2015: Please note that recent reviews submitted by users suggest that Brama Telecom are going out of business. WhichVoIP has not officially verified the operational status of Brama at this point. The website appears to be active still with no statements regarding this situation obvious. For those concerned about porting their existing phone numbers there are some useful comments below from users who are in the process of recovering theirs.

Brama Telecom is a Canadian based company with their headquarters located in Toronto. They provide VoIP service to Canadian residents only, they do not currently have a VoIP service in the US. In addition to providing phone service they also have DSL internet service and TV service throughout Canada, they have some nice deals if you bundle their products. Brama Telecom are one of the few companies that focus only on home VoIP service, they do not have a business phone service. They have four plans available ranging from $14.95 a month to $29.95 per month. The cheapest plan, Unlimited Canada offers unlimited calling within Canada and 250 minutes of long distance calling to the US. The most expensive plan, Unlimited Worldwide has unlimited calling within Canada, 1500 minutes to 45 countries throughout the world and the richest feature set of any of the plans. The two middle priced plans offer variations in minutes and features.

Brama Telecom have received a lot of user reviews in 2015 related to billing issues and more recently concerns of difficulty in contacting anyone at Brama via the phone.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 7)

Total Number 68 5 Stars 5
Thumbs Up 18 4 Stars 10
Thumbs Down 50 3 Stars 8
Average Rating 2.3 2 Stars 19
More Providers 1 Star 26

Brama Telecom reviews are listed in chronological order.

They stole $235 from me. Now they're gone.

Overall rating (1)

#68 : OCT 26th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Just had the call from the Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunication Services. Monday, October 26, 2015. Totally useless. Had my service with Bramatel, for about 3-4 years, when suddenly I noticed this late spring, that the company had been double, triple, and quadruple charging me for months on my auto payment VISA. I attempted to contact them and they never returned my calls. I drove out to their office, up at Steeles only to find they'd disappeared, and had been taken over by some other hole-in-the-wall out by the 404/Finch. I drove out there, and of course, they never returned my calls. They cost me $235 bucks. If I ever find them, in another business, I'm going to visit them. They stole from me. They stole from a lot of people.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Brian (January 7th 2016) : I had the same problem last Spring, they ripped me off for $148.00. I called Brama many times and there was no answer (just said leave a message, it was recorded). I have also emailed them and no reply but it did say that the message was received. It sounds like a lot of people got ripped off by this company.

Comment on this review >>

They have gone out of business

Overall rating (1)

#67 : SEP 4th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

For all intents and purposes, Brama Telecom is out of business. They did make an attempt to contact their customers and transfer service to another VOIP provider, but many complaints have been received by the office of the Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services (CCTS) that service was simply cut off. I was promised that my number would be ported to the new provider, but then I received a notice that the porting request was "rejected" (whatever that means). I have contacted CCTS and will pursue legal action if the issue is not resolved to my satisfaction.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Al (September 9th 2015) : We had the same problem. Our small business has lost all phone lines for 3 weeks. The lines got disconnected by Brama without prior warning. No company succeeded to port the numbers, including Bell. But I called the CRTC complaints department and they seemed to be aware of the problem. They referred me to Portal Networks Co. who successfully restored and ported our numbers in 9 hours. They also charge less than Brama for our virtual PBX and Linksys PBX box-driven land line.

Nan (September 9th 2015) : I had the same problem, and also filed a complaint to the CCTS. I needed my number that I have had for ten years. Finally I got the solution, for all who want there phone number back from Brama call Portal Network Co, they are the owners of all the Brama phone numbers. I hope this helps!

Bill (original reviewer; September 9th 2015) : Yes, it appears that Portal Network Co. can resolve the problem. They seem to have the blessing of Fibernetics, the actual local exchange carrier that controls the numbers of Brama Telecom's customers. It took me quite a bit of time and effort to reach the conclusion that Fibernetics was at the root of the problem. They claimed the numbers were "suspended" (I characterize it as being held hostage) because of Brama's long overdue accounts that will likely never be paid. I hesitate to say that all's well that ends well until I have absolute proof that my number will again work with Portal Network Co., but I should know for sure within 48 hours, but I should know for sure within 48 hours.

Lumas (September 10th 2015) : Folks, it turns out that any carrier can port. I ended up porting my Brama held number to Yak, the porting come through today! Though while waiting Yak gave me a temporary number, which was quite useful to at least get back into service. I simply had to use Yak's procedure to port the number. No idea who Fibernetics is, never heard of them nor the other provider mentioned here but as per Canadian Law any number can be transferred, even to a mobile phone or from a mobile phone to a digital home phone.

Al (September 11th 2015) : To Lumas: Strange, as even Bell could not port our numbers, and I would imagine Bell knows its stuff. They did quite a bit of research on my case. As far as I know the Canadian law stipulates that your number must be active (in service) to be ported, but our numbers got disconnected by Brama and became inactive. In any case, we are a business and require virtual PBX based auto-attendant with 6 redirects to cell phones and with two PBX-controlled land lines. In addition to the fact that no one else could port our numbers, the price we got from Portal Network was 1/3 of what others quoted me for the same service bundle. They are awesome as far as customer service. Just a record of my 4 weeks of struggle to recover the disconnected numbers.

Bill (Original Reviewer: September 13th 2015) : Al may be correct that an "inactive" (or as Fibernetics characterized it, "suspended" - the semantic distinctions may have legal ramifications) number cannot be ported without the consent of the local exchange carrier that controls it. And it may be that in Lumas's case Fibernetics decided that the adverse publicity (there have been numerous complaints to the office of the CCTS from former Brama customers who are experiencing porting problems) was reason not to prevent porting of his number. At best this is a legal grey area, and at worst a nightmare for customers. Try as I might, I am unable to find a legal case ruling that definitively establishes who "owns" a phone number in Canada. At any rate, I wanted to close my review by saying that Portal Network Co. seems to be reasonable to deal with. They are a startup of former Fibernetics employees, and at this point they are small and new enough in the business that they stress personal service as strongly as their technical expertise. After a long and bumpy ride with Brama that ended with considerable distress, I'm hopeful I may finally get what I was looking for in the first place: reliable, affordable VOIP service.

Comment on this review >>

Terrible!

Overall rating (1)

#66 : SEP 2nd, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

For over a week, we couldn't receive phone calls! Apparently, our phone number doesn't exist when you call it. I even tried to contact customer service, but no one picks up! Even before, they overcharged us for mediocre service I decided to switch to a different provider.

Comment on this review >>

Bad

Overall rating (1)

#65 : SEP 1st, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

They cannot be reached, I visited their office and its locked, but they are charging customers credit card which they have on file. When I call my home number it says that the number does not exist. I tried calling them for over a month now with no luck........beware!

Comment on this review >>

Out of Business ?

Overall rating (1)

#64 : AUG 16th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I've only been a customer for 4 months too long. I only received cable 75% of the time. Once when I didn't have service it said to contact Vmedia which I did and was informed Brama had an outstanding balance and they had suspended them. I spoke to the owner after numerous emails and telephone calls. The long and the short of this story is I received a call from Anastasia, c/o Brama, letting me know that they're no longer in business. I told her I already figured that out and couldn't understand the reason for the call considering they never answered calls or emails. I told her to stop calling people and that I was offended.

Comment on this review >>

Just bad

Overall rating (1)

#63 : AUG 16th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Not cheap at all and service is very slow. Absolutely no customer support. Tried numerous times calling them to no avail. They are good at one thing and that is when payment is due, they are very fast at emailing you everyday to get paid. They charge modem fee and dry loop fee. Not very cheap at $60 monthly with speed just a little faster then DSL.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Vanessa (August 17th 2015) : Just received a call from someone at Brama, sounded like the owner. He was asking me who I was transferring all my services to because I had an agreement with them and a deposit. I told him who and that I have to pay again to have a technician come out. He said he would contact them and I should only have to pay 49.99. Something really strange is going on. After weeks on end, I received one call yesterday and another today.

Yusuf (August 19th 2015) : Been a Brama customer for over 4 years, had decent service until the beginning of 2014, but then horrible from mid-July of 2014. As of January of this year they started deducting money from my account until I finally cancelled my credit card but they were paid up to the end of the year and now I get the news they have closed down and received an email with a 647 number and an email to contact to transfer my account. I called and left my number waiting for a call. Also replied to the email and waiting for response. Since so many of us are stuck lets all write to an authority to have this matter settled. Any ideas or suggestions?

Bill (August 22nd 2015) : I've had the same problem. Talked to two people there. I was told that my phone account as well as my credit of almost $100 (I too was bill almost every second day in January) would be transferred over to T-One. Now today my phone says it is out of service. Up until today and since last week I was also getting called every few hours by a 1000 1000 number, never anyone on the line. Most annoying!

Comment on this review >>

Do not even think of dealing with this company!

Overall rating (1)

#62 : AUG 13th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Unfortunately the lowest number of star rating is a 1. If it were even possible I would have given them a MINUS 50! My credit card became their credit card. They started charging 2 or 3 times a day, twice a week, like clockwork. I felt like a reluctant partner/investor in this company. Things were becoming obvious in the spring and summer of 2014 and either the company realized that they could simply over collect money and still provide a service then it would be "ok". Actually the Criminal Code of Canada defines certain transactions as Fraud. I have contacted O.P.P. and RCMP as the area of their services governed by Provincial and Federal laws.

Comment on this review >>

Just Horrible!

Overall rating (1)

#61 : AUG 7th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Not only is the service horrible but they blocked my account for no reason and I can't reach them for 5 days.

Comment on this review >>

Stay away from this company

Overall rating (1)

#60 : AUG 6th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been a customer for eighteen months and this is the worst service I have ever had. Lately the TV service is not working and when I try to contact them to solve the problem nobody answers my calls or emails. I do not recommend this Company! Run!

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Vm (Aug 12th 2015) : I've experienced the same issues. I've even contacted the owner, when you call or email you never get a response. I was informed that V Media no longer supplies the TV services to Brama Telecom. They don't pay their bills. When I call I stay on hold for a couple of minutes and then a fast busy signal.

Comment on this review >>

RUN...Horrible and they have disappeared

Overall rating (1)

#59 : AUG 5th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been a customer for approximately one year. Average service and phone worked off and on. Internet worked well but TV always freezes. Last month my TV box said to call Vmedia and I did not have access to the service. Every attempt to contact them was a failure. Nobody replies to emails, phone calls, messages, or the call me back feature. I submitted a complaint to the BBB and they didn't even reply to them. They have lost their accreditation with the BBB because they have too many unresolved complaints. How dare they put the BBB sign on their website when they have an F rating. Report your credit cards as lost and get a new card because the only feature that does work with Brama is their billing. They will keep taking payment without permission. I simply want to cancel my service and return their equipment...problem is there is no way to get in contact with them. Other providers do not want to give you service until they are disconnected. This has been a horrible experience...costly and time consuming. Please save yourself the headache and RUN.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 7
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 68 5 Stars 5
Thumbs Up 18 4 Stars 10
Thumbs Down 50 3 Stars 8
Average Rating 2.3 2 Stars 19
More Providers 1 Star 26

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$0.0198
per min
(4.5)
  • SHARE: