BabyTel Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
BabyTel (4.4)
9 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

BabyTel Overview

BabyTel is a Canadian based company founded over 20 years ago. They first introduced their VoIP service in May of 2004. This first service was based solely in Canada. In February of 2007 they introduced their service to residents in the US. BabyTel have a number of products available, they have a mobile app for $10 a month allowing you to use Wi-Fi rather than cellular minutes to make calls - this is excellent for anyone who travels often, particularly internationally. Effectively you are calling for free. They have two residential plans, a "Lite plan" that offers 300 minutes to the US and Canada and an "All-in" plan. The "All-in" plan plan has unlimited calling to the US and Canada, two telephone numbers and the mobile app all for $22. They also offer a business plan and SIP trunking.

BabyTel have only a handfull of reviews on whichvoip. All the reviews are excellent and every category from ease of set up, to features, to sound quality is rated highly. We believe the review volume is low because BabyTel rely on organic growth, they do not seem to advertise at least not heavily. We are unsure of the size of their customer base but those that do have the service seem very satisfied. If you have experience with this provider then please complete our simple review form to add your ratings and comments using the links on this page.

...This is one of the few providers that will support FreePBX at home. The voice quality is good and service is reliable. Customer service is outstanding....

All User Reviews

Total Number 9 5 Stars 5
Thumbs Up 8 4 Stars 3
Thumbs Down 1 3 Stars 1
Average Rating 4.4 2 Stars 0
More Providers 1 Star 0

BabyTel reviews are listed in chronological order.

Lies, Lies and More Lies

Overall rating (2.9)

#9 : SEP 27th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

BabyTEL is known for lying in order to get the order. As soon as they have your payment you can expect them to follow through on exactly zero of their promises. And don't think for a second they will admit their mistakes (and they will make lots), instead they will blame the issue on anything but themselves. Oh, and you can be sure to enjoy that Quebec arrogance during the whole ordeal. Look at other providers - net2phone and sky switch are a few alternatives.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Patrick (November 21st 2016) : I agree, they can be quite rude, and dont realize that this is now a competitive market.

Comment on this review >>

Been great for several years

Overall rating (4.7)

#8 : SEP 15th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Pros: Value. For $37 a month I have unlimited Canada/US calling, voicemail-to-email, fax-to-email, a toll-free number (my family loves it), and I can use my existing (wireless) handsets. Even the billing is great - twice I was overlimit on my CC (oopsie!) but it wasn't a big deal at all - their system just keeps trying until it clears; no late fee or anything. Cons: Voicemail timestamp is for a different timezone. I called in about this, and they said it should be fixed, but it isn't. Minor though, as I can just look at the call log either on the handset or online (or just check the voicemail-to-email timestamp). Occasionally there might be some 'noise' from the Internet that we are all familiar with when using VoIP (so not really Babytel's fault).

Comment on this review >>

Very Good Canadian VoIP Provider

Overall rating (4.4)

#7 : MAR 25th, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

This is one of the few providers that will support FreePBX at home. The voice quality is good and service is reliable. Customer service is outstanding which is why it is my primary VoIP provider (I use ACANAC for the kids line). Con: Cost, at $30. unlimited Canada/USA it is on the high side, but service and quality are what I want. I had used VoIPGo, no customer service, not poor, NONE and quality was below par (to be fair it has improves now that AXSIT owns it). Overall it is good quality, great customer service and you can setup your Asterisk server with blessing and support.

Comment on this review >>

BabyTel Review

Overall rating (4.9)

#6 : SEP 29th, 2010 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Comment on this review >>

BabyTel Review

Overall rating (5)

#5 : AUG 7th, 2009 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Comment on this review >>

BabyTel Review

Overall rating (4.6)

#4 : SEP 8th, 2006 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I chose babyTel, because, they offered french services and they where recommended to me by one of my friend, I search the Internet before ordering and I found them having a more descriptive website, I then called many times, to see if I would get on hold, and I never got on a holding queue waiting for an agent. The setup was easy as plug and play, the voice quality is below normal phone service, but way better than a cellular, I would say it's 80% like a regular PSTN phone in term of quality. Be sure to enable the QoS in your gateway, if not voice quality is degraded when you have huge upload transfer going on, like P2P transfer. The gateway is good enough for the average Joe, but found it lack of functionality as I'm a IT geek. I installed a firewall/router which have it's own QoS and lots of interesting functionality and the provided Linksys gateway "babyBOX" works like a charm behind NAT, again, make sure your router support QoS and you set it up correctly to pass VoIP in priority. BabyTel said that we require 64 kbps Up/Downstream, but found that in fact 32 kbps is enough most of the time, that's what my QoS router show me in my VoIP queue. I recommend this provider and I use it as my primary phone.

Comment on this review >>

BabyTel Review

Overall rating (4.4)

#3 : JUN 2nd, 2006 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Decided on BabyTel because they had good reviews, the price was right and they offered a feature that I wanted, Fax to EMAIL. Most VoIP companies offer fax lines, but I wanted it to go to the voicemail and be emailed to me. Service has been great. I run into minor problems if I am doing big downloads and uploads at the same time, but this is tracked as an ISP issue on bandwidth.

Comment on this review >>

BabyTel Review

Overall rating (4.7)

#2 : DEC 4th, 2005 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Had nothing but trouble with other service providers like Vonage and Primus. With BabyTel we finally found a service which was 100% in every aspect. We would recommend it to anybody who is on a Satellite connection like direcway - the sound quality is excellent.

Comment on this review >>

BabyTel Review

Overall rating (4.1)

#1 : Feb 28th, 2005 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

 

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 9 5 Stars 5
Thumbs Up 8 4 Stars 3
Thumbs Down 1 3 Stars 1
Average Rating 4.4 2 Stars 0
More Providers 1 Star 0

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.4)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(4)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.4)
  • SHARE: