Norton trust seal
BBB logo

AT&T Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for AT&T.

Service Provider Average User Rating Total Reviews Write a Review
AT&T (3.5) 27 Reviews
(44% Recommended)
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user reviews and user questions and answers sections.

AT&T Overview

AT&T is probably the largest company in the US that provide a VoIP service. There are few consumers in the USA who have not used an AT&T service in their life - from cellular service to broadband and TV service, they have an enormous customer base. AT&T is unique in how they have implemented their VoIP service. Every other provider uses an ATA connected to a modem and then out to the internet via DSL or cable. AT&T are unique in that instead of going through a modem they go wirelessly from the ATA to their own cellular network. There are two main advantages of this, AT&T own the whole network and do not rely on Internet service providers and it makes your phone service highly portable, working wherever you can get AT&T cellular coverage. The main disadvantages are that a consumer needs to make sure they have AT&T cellular coverage where they want the service and there is no capability to send Fax's, hook up alarms systems - basically you cannot transfer any sort of data.

AT&T have three different plans. One aimed at home phone service, one aimed at small business owners and one plan targeted at the enterprise customer. The home phone service is $20 per month or $9.99 if you add it to your cellular plan as an additional line. Typical features such as call forwarding, caller ID, conference calling, etc. are all included for free. The two other plans offered by AT&T are targeted at business owners and covered in our business VoIP reviews section.

AT&T have over 25 reviews which is a pretty good sample size for you to judge the quality of their service. Ease of ordering and feature set seem to be the big plusses with customer service seeming to be a constant pain point. If you have experience with this provider then please complete our simple review form to add your ratings and comments using the links on this page.

...We had u-verse (bundled cable,internet & telephone service) installed January 11,2012....


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 3)

AT&T reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (3.4) : The Good, Bad and the Ugly

#27 : FEB 7th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

My service typically goes out for periods of five (5) to ten (10) minutes at a time approximately every other day. That is about 150 times a year! That is not acceptable.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1) : AT&T Review

#26 : MAR 27th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

We had u-verse (bundled cable,internet & telephone service) installed January 11,2012. Since that day we have had problems with our telephone & fax service. We have called Customer Service (should be called Absolutely No Customer Service) numerous times. They in turn would connect us to Tech Support, who can never help fix any problem, and then a Service Tech would be sent to our house. Last week,Mar. 19th,we have called daily the manager in Greenville, SC. He has yet to return one of our calls. We still cannot make or receive calls or fax. We are at our wits end. We can not talk to anyone with authority at AT&T. This is absolutely the worse telephone service we have ever had. If you are thinking of U- verse and a bundle package, I would advise you to NOT bundle your telephone service. AT&T has not mastered wireless telephone service.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1.4) : AT&T Review

#25 : DEC 29th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

After 2 months we still do NOT have usable VoIP from AT&T. We've spent hours on the phone with them and they are billing us, but the phone has NEVER worked. We just "upgraded" our Internet and tried to bundle the phone service - Comcast worked although they have shady billing so we are continuing to look for alternate providers.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.1) : AT&T Review

#24 : JAN 29th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

In spite of their Class Action suit - their customer support is badly lacking. We encountered terrible quality to Egypt and even worse response to get it fixed. I was told to send emails with specifics and never once did I get a reply or credit for bad quality. When I canceled today - I was assessed a penalty for early termination and one for disconnect. I was told over the phone there were no penalties or disconnect fees but it was my bad for not getting it in writing. I'm headed back to PhonePower!

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2.1) : AT&T Review

#23 : MAY 5th, 2010 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

This is a new install as a replacement for a 23 channel PRI. AT&T Convinced me to convert to their "Business in a box". That was Friday, It's wednesday and we have been down on and off since then. I spend almost 5K a month with AT&T and can't wait until my contracts expire so I can bail from these people. Nothing but problems since the install and their tech support is terrible.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1.6) : AT&T Review

#22 : MAR 12th, 2010 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Had this installed in my office (business) in August. AT&T was supposed to have NCR do installation, they NEVER SHOWED UP! The T1 line failed after heavy rains due to old infrastructure - - - repair person said they had dried out the trunk line at the same spot just 12 months earlier, indicated the immediate lines and boxes were ancient and in desperate need of upgrade. Service crashed again about 45 days later, my business was without phone service for two days - - - first day was when it rained, the second day was 45 days later when equipment installed in my office crashed. I had to escallate this to the highest level of management at AT&T. Sound quality waivered and required AT&T to "tweek" settings with little to no improvement. The final straw was today (7 months from install) when a network failure caused crash of all 8 phone lines in to my office! On top of all of this AT&T fouled up the billing and it took months to get that straight. My opinion is to stay as far away from AT&T voip as possible. It appears they rushed the product to market and it has proven to be completely unreliable form the start. On top of it AT&T service has been bad - - - until I escalated the problem to the highest level of management did I get any kind of help or service. I am attempting to get out of my 3 YEAR contract and moving to another phone provider with regular, RELIABLE phone service form a company that appreciates it's customers. This has been a disaster for my business!

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.9) : AT&T Review

#21 : MAR 8th, 2010 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.6) : AT&T Review

#20 : AUG 28th, 2008 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Have had this for only 2 weeks. I get a lot of clicking in the evening. last night my caller had to call me 4 times before she could hear me. AT&T doesn't know what the problem is, they just have you check your speed. When it works the voice quality is loud and clear on my end, by people calling me say my voice keeps breaking up. On my 2nd modem with them, same results.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.3) : AT&T Review

#19 : OCT 3rd, 2007 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have been a Callvantage customer for years. Yesterday, I had a few calls from NRK in Norway. I had the Callvantage system set to ring both cell phones and the TA, with 2, 2-line handsets connected. Nothing rang. Alf had reached my voice mailbox 3 times. I had to make 3 more international calls, because the first 2 calls were dropped. All the calls I make through ATT Callvantage, including those I picked up on the cell phone, have unacceptable time delays. It reminds me of the days of simplex carphones. Alf in Norway, called my cellphone directly, and to the surprise of both of us, the delay was unperceivable. All the equipment was the same, except for the ATT Callvantage routing. Audio quality is quite good, except for the random packet dropout problem, and this varies not only from day to day, but also hour to hour. In the case of the calls to Norway, Alf, an engineer with NRK, reported only be able to hear one out of three syllables. I use PingPlotter Pro software to analyze our internet connections. I set PingPlotter Pro to ping every second, and it indicated that the connection through all nodes was ok, latency was less than 19 ms (worst case) and router flap was virtually non-existent. This left only ATT Callvantage servers in the loop. 2 Years ago, ATT did not bother to tell me that the TA I was using was replaced the previous year, because it could not handle the increased speed of the Comcast cable connection. Instead, they let me call and report dropped calls and voice dropouts for months. It was only after I threatened to discontinue service that I was allowed to speak with someone in a higher service tier. Connection speed is unpredictable. Speech quality is acceptable, but this is offset by voice dropouts. Better foreword error correction is necessary. You would think that service would improve, but keeping the bottom line high appears to be more important than keeping their customers on top. PS It is 5:02 pm est, and I just received another business call that was dropped after 6 minutes. I called my own number, and received my voice mailbox after 2 rings. I will be quitting service soon. You cannot run a business with ATT Callvantage. My six year old might enjoy it, however.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (2.7) : AT&T Review

#18 : AUG 2nd, 2007 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

WARNING!!!!!!!!!!! The shortest wait time for customer service was 15 minutes the longest was 32 minutes. Tried to e-mail for service and after waiting 2 business days the e mail response was to call customer service. If there service works great but if you have any trouble you will need to call in sick at work for a day or two to be able to talk to there service people.

Add a comment to this posting >>

  • Page 1 of 3
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 27 5 Stars 7
Recommended: YES 12 4 Stars 8
Recommended: NO 15 3 Stars 7
Average Rating 3.5 2 Stars 3
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 1 Star 2
Compare Similar Providers

Other Popular Providers