Norton trust seal
BBB logo

Acanac Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for Acanac.

Service Provider Average User Rating Total Reviews Write a Review
Acanac (4) 13 Reviews
(85% Recommended)
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user reviews and user questions and answers sections.

Acanac Overview

Acanac is a Canadian based company servicing Canada only. They are essentially an Internet Service provider(ISP) providing VoIP service however, they also provide Internet access and TV service. They were founded in 2008 and have grown substantially over the past four years. They have several plans available, two plans aimed at the residential home owner and a small business plan. They have a current deal where if you are a new customer and order there DSL or cable service they will bundle the home phone service for free - this is an excellent way of at least testing out their service. Acanac's phone plans have many features that residential and business users would find very useful such as 3-way calling, call waiting, call return, caller ID and many more. All plans advertise unlimited long distance in the US & Canada but note that not all regions of Canada and the US are covered. Make sure you look at these regions to see if you truly are getting free long distance calling. None of Acanac's plans include International calling but there are some very good rates if you need international dialing. A customer support line is available from 9am-12am Eastern time Monday to Friday, this is augmented by an online forum where users are free to ask questions or comment on service.

Acanac have a dozen or so reviews on WhichVoIP averaging a rating of four out of 5. It's difficult to draw a conclusion with so few reviews as it's easy to skew the numbers but price seems to be a huge positive. If you have experience with this provider then please complete our simple review form to add your ratings and comments using the links on this page.

...This is a very cheap homophone plan. The only cons is that u have to set up your own voip modem....


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 2)

Acanac reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (3.3) : Decent VOIP

#13 : NOV 18th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

This is a very cheap home phone plan. The only cons is that you have to set up your own voip modem, little to no support and no matter the internet speed, you will have downtime.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

shadow (June 4th, 2013): This is the worst provider that I have ever come across. Their service sucks big time and I sincerely believe they do not know what they are doing. Stay away from this one or suffer the end results.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1) :

#12 : JAN 13th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Support is awful and the sales staff did not know any technical info

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (1.1) :

#11 : APR 1st, 2010 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

This cheap service is unreliable, there is no support and it is total waste of your time and money.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.6) :

#10 : JUN 20th, 2009 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

For $10 per month I get a phone line, unlimited calling in US and Canada, voice mail etc.,and I got to choose my area code. I have had the service now for over a year and am veryhappy with it, indeed, I have ordered a second line and have recommended it to lots offriends and family, who are all just as happy. Note though that with this plan you haveyour own Voip adapter (which I had because we used a different, terrible service before)and as that is considered a "softphone" order, you have to do your own setup, which can bea little tricky.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.9) :

#9 : JUL 15th, 2008 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Hi all ! I signed up for the free trial to this VOIP provider after someone recommended it to me. It is the best deal because it is free and you should give it a try. I called them to ask a question and I received a courteous, professional customer support service. Try it while the free offer lasts. I will post a more extensive review once I try out this service fully. David

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.7) :

#8 : MAY 26th, 2008 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Many friends are using Acanac VoIP phone service (together with low-cost Internet service) for several months so I decided to try it. One of the good things that Acanac offers is a free 1-year VoIP account for certain Canadian areas with real PSTN number. I am using a Montreal based number (514) and ether SoftPhone or Sipura SPA-1001 ATA device. In both cases, the voice quality is good and setup is straightforward. If you have some generic VoIP configuration?s procedure background, the overall process should be pretty easy and it takes about 20-30 min to make everything working properly. I don?t have long experience with the service yet, but generally, I could say it is a good VoIP choice. No down time so far, good voice quality, easy operation etc. Pros: Excellent alternative to a regular phone line Reliable 911-service is OK Free US Canada Calls Good long distance rates Your account settings are accessible online, allowing you to change some parameters like Voice Mail etc. Cons: Support is mainly on e-mail / ticketing / user forums FAQ system. Quality sometimes could be slightly reduced. Recommended.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.6) :

#7 : FEB 29th, 2008 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

With in a couple of days of ordering the service I had it up and running on my computer with a soft phone. Today I just received a Linksys PAP2T Phone adapter that I had ordered online, and in less than 15 minutes I had it up and running. So far I've been very impressed with the features offered especially for the price.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (5) :

#6 : JAN 23rd, 2008 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I just got my first VOIP from acanac. Quality is just amazing. Better than my previous landline (no-VOIP) phone from bell. Acanac is offering 500 free acounts for one year in the cities of Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa, Vancouver and London (Canada). Regular residential unlimited plan to US and Canada is just $9.95 including tax, including tons of features. Isn't it great? Where else can you find such plan with such great quality? I applied for free account online and was processed right away. Next day I got my phone number. So far I did not have chance to get phone support but I did send them questions by e-mail and got replied same day. This is my first experience with any VOIP and it is great.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (5) :

#5 : JAN 16th, 2008 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I got my VOIP phone number for free, first time user, very impressed.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (5) :

#4 : JAN 16th, 2008 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I got this VOIP phone number as a free promotion. It's only been a short while, however, it is very reliable and quality of sound is very good.

Add a comment to this posting >>

  • Page 1 of 2
  • Next Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 13 5 Stars 8
Recommended: YES 11 4 Stars 2
Recommended: NO 2 3 Stars 1
Average Rating 4 2 Stars 0
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 1 Star 2
Compare Similar Providers

Other Popular Providers