Norton trust seal
BBB logo

Comcast Internet Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for Comcast Internet service.

Service Provider Number of Reviews Average Rating Recommended
Comcast 69 (2.4) 14%

Comcast Internet Service Overview

Comcast is a household name across most of the USA now. Founded in 1963 by the visionary Ralph Roberts in Tupelo, MS, it has come a long way, in some part thanks to it's acquisitions including AT&T Broadband back in 2002. Comcast now serves cable television, high speed internet and digital voice for the home and small business throughout the USA. The Comcast reviews on this page are mainly focused on the high speed internet part of it's service. You can find user reviews on its digital voice service under our Residential VoIP section.

The user reviews submitted for Comcast internet service are a mix of good and bad, with more emphasis on the bad than the good! This is sometimes more natural for larger organizations where unhappy customers can vent their frustrations. A common theme running through the negative reviews is unsatisfactory customer service, with many users only rating that part of the Comcast service as a 1 star or 2 star. Have a read through yourself to make your own judgments or provide your own review of your experience for other users to read. Simply complete our quick online form using the links on this page, takes less than 2 minutes typically.


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 7)

Comcast Internet reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (1.3)

#69 : APR 8th, 2014 : Steve (GA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • More than 21 days
  • Modem:

Comcast is the WORST service provider out there. God forbid you should have to call for customer service. They don't have it. You will be speaking to a foreign country and they really do not care about your problems. I would highly suggest that anyone looking for service, go to another company. You have been warned!

Overall rating (2.4)

#68 : MAR 25th, 2014 : David1000 (AL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 1 to 3 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Cable (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

Changed Internet and phone from AT&T to Comcast in December. Services intermittently disconnect or were not in services for weeks. Installer came back to my house 4 times and finally replaced a cable to the modem. Weeks later the problem persisted. The modem was set up wrong to the system. Numerous calls to services took a long time (10-15 minutes) just to talk to a person. On 24th Feb 2014 after getting disconnected while talking to my wife from my cell, I called services, waited 15 minutes and they said I needed a new 3.0 modem and they would provide free of charge with wi-fi within 3-4 business days. Three weeks later, no modem, so I called again, talked to 4 staff over a period of 35 minutes, only to be told that the modem was ordered, but not shipped. Once the modem arrived everyting appeared to work fine for a day or two, then the intermittent service started again. I waited 35 minutes in line in the Comcast store to return the old modem back to Comcast. Upon calling Comcast service, they told me to push the modem reset button (which was what I was told to do back in December numerous times on the old modem). This was not acceptable to me so they said they would either send out a technician or a new modem. It's been 3 months and I still don't have reliable service. Phone and Internet service may, or may not work. The modem did not include the emergency backup battery. I hope I never need to use 911.

Overall rating (1.3)

#67 : AUG 24th, 2013 : Sahar (PA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 1 to 3 months
  • Internet Type:
  • DSL (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • More than 21 days
  • Modem:

Overall rating (1.4)

#66 : AUG 19th, 2013 : Renter (MD)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Wireless (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • More than 21 days
  • Modem:

DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT GET SERVICE WITH THESE PEOPLE! I cannot tell you how many problems I had with them. Every single time I called about the same problem?and there were many?I got a completely different story from the representative. To start with, when I first set up my service, I was told by the technician that a router, which was needed to access the internet, should be arriving in the mail within a few days. After a few days, I called Comcast; they said that no order had been placed; after I ordered it (again), I was told I would receive my router in a week. Later, I learned that the cables and codes had not been set up properly, and I had to get Comcast to come back to my home to reset everything several times. Another instance of their incompetence was when they ?accidentally? billed me for an extra service I did not request! I spent about two hours in total on the phone trying to convince them that THEY screwed up. These morons on the phone kept transferring me to the next person, and so on and so forth. I never received my full refund. I started Comcast on a discount deal. After twelve months, they increased my bill, but they could not even send me an e-mail notifying me that my discount period was ending. How difficult can it be to set up an automatic e- mail service? A final example of the barbaric treatment I received was my disconnection process. They changed the cost on me at the last minute until, they said, I had sent back all they cables and equipment. After I did so, I would receive a refund for the extra money I paid. I was told it would take 4-6 weeks. After 6 weeks I called. I was told it would take 6-8 weeks. It is now about 10 weeks, and I have yet to receive a refund. I never expect to receive it. I will never in my life get service with Comcast ever again! Their customer service representatives are retards, their management is a bunch of liars and crooks, and you will never be anything to them but a dollar sign.

Overall rating (3.3)

#65 : AUG 8th, 2013 : Andrew (WA)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Cable (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:
  • Motorola Surfboard

The service is decent but very inconsistent and the bill seems to increase on a monthly basis which drives me crazy. TV is fine other than cost changes. Internet, well that's another story. It used to be reasonable but now it is expensive and goes out for hours at a time. The actual speed changes throughout the day, most likely because my neighborhood is all hubbed which is what Comcast does for delivery. On a Saturday when Netflix is being streamed by families in our neighborhood I can see the quality suffer on the streaming as everyone fights for bandwidth. I have run the speed and voip test on this site at various times and sometimes it is good and other times I can not even make a phone call with my VoIP connection due to excessive packet loss on the broadband side. Finally had enough of Comcast/Infinity after many years. Frontier put FiOS into our street so I'm going to try it.

Overall rating (1.9)

#64 : JUN 3rd, 2013 : Shauna (MD)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Wireless (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:

I can't get service throughout my whole house...and my house is only 1300 sq ft...we're not talking a huge mansion here!!

Overall rating (1.9)

#63 : APR 9th, 2013 : Never (KY)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Cable (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

In the last 4 years ive had comcast, there hasnt been 1 single night that the cable internet has worked. Making a service call is useless, not only is it 90 % automated, but the 10 % dont have a clue how to help you much less how to even make crappy sevice, and support better by cutting you bill for not having service

Overall rating (2.3)

#62 : APR 9th, 2013 : Chris (MI)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 3 to 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Cable (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 5 to 10 days
  • Modem:

I started out with comcast when I purchased my house. At first I just had just internet service (6mbs) because I am not much into watching tv. When I had this service my internet download was very good at 2mb/sec. Recently I decided to upgrade my package and internet speed so I could watch the only really program that intrest me (espn) on my tablet. I was bumped up to the 25mbs service and now my internet speed seems slower than ever. it seems to me to be almost as slow as dsl a lot of times. Now when I download something I am only getting speeds from 20k - 500 or 600 k max. I have done everything in my power to try to get the internet speed back up, to no avail. Comcast customer service representitives are in most cases very unknowledgeable about their own products and services. Whenever a customer service rep, doesn't know the answer to your question or just doesn't feel like dealing with you, they transfer you to another department, where wait times can very from a minute to ten to fifteen minutes before anyone decides to answer the call. Most of the times the person that you were transfered to will tell you that you were transfered to the wrong department and then the vicious waiting period begins again. Calling comcast and actually getting to speak with a live individual is already a hassle in itself, but when they actually pick up they ask you what seems like a long list of security questions that are not all necessary. I am surprised that they haven't asked me the last time I used the bathroom because if they did my response would be "just a minute ago to flush comcast down the toilet."

Overall rating (2.1)

#61 : MAR 3rd, 2013 : Wayne (FL)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • 3 to 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Cable (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • Less than 5 days
  • Modem:

Initial calls would be a nightmare, always had to speak to a supervisor. Was send to wrong place to pickup the modem, made numerous calls in regard to poor download speed. After numerous complaints they finally send a technician to reset the modem. Unfortunately we only have one choice as a provider so we are stuck with what we got...

Overall rating (2.1)

#60 : FEB 20th, 2013 : Janet (DE)

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Consistency:
  • Speed consistency rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Service Usage:
  • More than 6 months
  • Internet Type:
  • Wireless (Residential)
  • Time to Receive:
  • 10 to 15 days
  • Modem:

Unbelievably poor customer service. I have had nothing but trouble with the internet service. I have spent hours on the phone and was finally talked into getting the 3-pack (tv, cable & phone)as I didn't have a house phone before because I would have an enhanced internet. Well, now since that was installed I haven't been able to access my office to work from home because it won't allow VPN through new model/router and I was advised it would cost me for additional service even though the VPN worked fine before they installed the new model/router. I also found out that my neighbor was paying 25% less on their bill with more features....it's like "let's make a deal" each and every time you work with Comcast. I have Verizon fios before and never had any service problems. Unfortunately, the only provider in my area is Comcast and you know what happens when there is no competition. 5x39x

  • Page 1 of 7
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The ratings and comments displayed in each review on this page are solely those of the person submitting the review and are not in any way endorsed by WhichVoIP.com.

Comcast Internet Reviews Breakdown

Total Number 69 6
Recommended: YES 10 5
Recommended: NO 59 13
Average Rating 2.4 36
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 9