GoToConnect (formerly Jive) Reviews

Provider Average Rating Resources
GoToConnect (formerly Jive)
Visit GoToConnect (formerly Jive)
(4.6)
130 Reviews
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

FREE Business VoIP pricing in minutes!

  • Save Money: REDUCE phone bills by up to 80%.
  • Save Time: Get multiple quotes to compare.
  • Trusted: Over 100,000 quotes processed.

How many employees use the system:

ShopperApproved

Just a few more questions...

Business location & name:

Let's get your name right.

Who gets the quotes:

We are preparing your quotes.

Where do we send them:

Use the below tabs to navigate to reviews, Q&A, and useful tools.

Take me straight to the 130 User submitted reviews >>

GoToConnect (formerly Jive) Review by WhichVoIP

The Company

GoToConnect is powered by Jive Communications, which was originally founded in 2006 and headquartered in Orem, Utah. LogMeIn bought Jive Communications hosted VoIP phone services in 2018 and has slowly integrated this service into their product offerings, which includes GoToMeeting, GoToRooms, GoToWebinars, and GoToTraining. To follow the "GoTo" theme Jive's VoIP service is now known as GoToConnect (starting in 2020).

The Good

Following the acquisition of Jive's popular hosted VoIP phone system the newer, renamed service of GoToConnect moves into the Unifed Communications arena, with voice, chat, text and now video meetings all rolled into one plan. This puts them in a position to compete with the likes of Ringcentral, Vonage, and 8x8, providing a unified solution across multiple smart devices that is enticing for enterprises.

GoToConnect has a single plan offering to all business sizes, from a single user all the way to enterprise. Plan pricing is based on the number of users, see the table below, with pricing starting at $29.95 per user per month for a business with 1 to 4 users. The pricing in the table below is for US dollars (USD) but you can select various other currencies based on your location (e.g. CAD, EUR, GBP, AUD etc.)

Number Users $/User/Month
1 to 4 $29.95
5 to 9 $25.95
10 to 24 $23.95
25 to 49 $21.95
50+ $19.95
100+ $custom

The GoToConnect Hosted VoIP system is completely proprietary, designed by the original Jive development team. This is an interesting point to note as often providers resell Asterisk or Broadsoft systems. There are pros and cons with this but one big advantage is it can potentially act faster on bugs and feature improvements since it is their own system.

Being a Unified Communications solution all users get an impressive set of features included in the monthly fee. You can make and receive voice calls using desk phones, you can call, chat and text using your laptop or PC with their web and desktop Apps, and you can call and text using your Smartphone when using their mobile App. You can also join, schedule or start a video meeting directly from the web and desktop Apps.

Standard call management features are also included like auto-attendants, ring groups, call forwarding, call hold, caller ID, do not disturb, find me / follow me, custom hold music, and voicemail. GoToConnect also integrates with third party software and platforms like Google GSuite, Microsoft Teams, Slack, Salesforce, Zoho CRM, Zoho Desk, and Zendesk.

GoToConnect supports various IP phones (including desk phones, conference phones and cordless phones) from Cisco, Polycom, and Yealink and you can buy directly from them if you are a US customer. The benefit of buying your IP phones direct from your service provider are that they will come pre-programmed to work with their system but you can typically buy them from anywhere or reuse existing phones you have if compatible. The models they sell range from entry level options to executive desk phones with color touch screens.

Managing your phone system can be done with their admin portal, with an easy to use dial plan editor with drag and drop call function blocks to make up call flows. You can also access various analytics from within their management portal so you can monitor how employees are communicating.

A few add-on products are offered to complement your voice and collaboration system, including Contact Center, Business Continuity (to maintian essential phone functions during outages), and SD-WAN (to support network quality).

An online support section is available and well organized. It contains a lot of information with step-by-step guides, user training manuals and how to videos under many topics.

Customer service representatives are available 24 hours a day 7 days a week and 365 days per year.

The Bad

Even though the support section was very good it was not clear on how to escalate an issue if you needed to call someone.

When companies get acquired there can sometimes be some period of time for synchronization and harmonization between the old and the new so just something to be aware of. We have witnessed many acquisitions over the years, some more successful than others.

As with pretty much all VoIP services there is a Reasonable Usage Policy, sometimes referred to as an Acceptable Usage Policy (AUP). There limits are based around 2,500 minutes usage per user on average.

The Bottom Line

  • GoToConnect provides a Unified Communications solution across multiple Smart Devices with voice, messaging and video all in one package.
  • One unlimited calling plan covers all company sizes from 1 user to enterprise.
  • Pricing starts at $29.95 per user per month for a business with 1 to 4 users.
  • For a business with 5 to 9 users the pricing is $25.95/user/mo.
  • For a business with 10 to 24 users the pricing is $23.95/user/mo.
  • For a business with 25 to 49 users the pricing is $21.95/user/mo.
  • A business with 50 + users will pay $19.95/user/mo. Custom pricing is available for 100 + user systems.
  • GoToConnect boast 80+ features included that covers voice, messaging and video.
  • History of 99.99% up time for VoIP.

Overall Thoughts

LogMeIn's acquisition of Jive Communications in 2018 has created a new Unified Communications solution in 2020 called GoToConnect, providing voice, messaging, and video all in one cross functional platform allowing you to run your business from anywhere using your Smart devices. There is one simple plan to choose from regardless of your business size, with 80+ features included, and very competitively priced.

Jive's VoIP solution integrated with GoToMeeting conferencing solutions can only mean good things for businesses and we think its a great match up. We definitely recommend taking a closer look at this solution for your business communication needs.


GoToConnect (formerly Jive) Overview

We have been receiving user reviews for Jive Communications VoIP service, now GoToConnect, since 2008. With over 100 user submitted reviews there is a good sample size of real users opinions.

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 13)

Summary
Total Number 130 5 Stars 102
Thumbs Up 115 4 Stars 14
Thumbs Down 15 3 Stars 6
Average Rating 4.6 2 Stars 5
More Providers 1 Star 3

GoToConnect (formerly Jive) reviews are listed in chronological order.

Terrible Communication... From a Communications Company

Overall rating (1)

#130 : APR 10th, 2019 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Pros? Nothing Cons: Sales people are no help after a sale. Company not interested in helping after sale. Support cannot access any information because departments are segregated. Paying for service even though we were promised a free month of service. We have been billed for service that we do not have set up.

Comment on this review >>

Were Good, LogMeIn take over a mess

Overall rating (1.2)

#129 : AUG 9th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We were super happy with JIVE but since their take over by LogMeIn we have had nothing but issues - and that was 4 months ago! First they changed the platform mid tax season and actually took us down for a whole day. And since then we have had phone issues, line issues, set up issues. Today was the best, our lines were crossed with medic alert. I am sure that made the callers happy. So until they resolve these issues we will not be providing a good review.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Mia (January 15th 2020) : Were you ever able to fix this issue?

Claire (January 15th 2020) : Yes we were able to finally get it resolved but it took months. The platform seems to have now stabilized but it was just terrible there for about 3 months on switch. They changed the platform, the billing, the online interface but gave no one any advance notice nor forethought. As an accountant having my phones go down in the month of April was horrible. The company "made it right" by reimbursing for services however lost calls are lost calls. I can tell you now that they have implemented some new changes that I do like and they obviously listened to us - their app now allows me to use my cell phone as an extension of my system so I can call staff on extensions while out and about and clients can call the office and the call comes through to my cell. Nice feature for sure.

Comment on this review >>

Great Customer Service

Overall rating (5)

#128 : FEB 14th, 2018 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We are really happy with their customer service. I wish we would have switched from Comcast a long time ago!

Comment on this review >>

Needs Improvement in Features

Overall rating (3.8)

#127 : AUG 3rd, 2017 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I've already been through RingCentral and Vonage. There are key features that are critical to doing business such as a good desktop App that can act as a communications control center. Jive's is absolute garbage. It is meant only for inter-company monitoring or phone usage. The thing is it's dealing with the customers that are important. Being able to see who's calling in, listen to voice mail messages, see faxes coming in, etc. None of this is available with Jive. Both RC & Vonage had this. RC used to have an excellent desktop App but discontinued it and forced a beta that was terrible on all their customers. It could do everything mentioned above and send faxes, listen to voicemails being left while being left and allow me to pick up the call (call screening) drag and drop voicemails and faxes into files and emails and lots more. If RC hadn't dropped theirs, I might still be with them. The rest of their service was fraught with problems. As it is now, to see needed things like voicemails and call logs, you have to log into a portal that takes more time, has a higher learning curve and covers up too much of the screen. Believe me, there's nothing like having a smaller good communications control center where you can do almost everything that is only on the top right of the screen and pops to the front of everything with an incoming call that tells you who is calling and you can decide right there what you want to do with the call. Absolutely none of these features are available on Jive. The App is useless for helping me do business with my customers. They are trying to build their own App but god knows how long until anything would be available. Jive needs to license a 3rd party App, preferably the old RC App until they get theirs up to some functional usefulness. They won't do anything unless enough people request it so I ask that anybody reading this review request Jive find a good 3rd party App until theirs is well developed. Oh and their fax is weak. They recommend sending no more than 4-5 pages and tell me that faxes could take 5 minutes to an hour to make it to the client. That is next to useless. Too many customers can be weak on technology, particularly older and only use faxes or have to wait for their kids to get home to help them with email. Contracts and reports are often much more than this, much more. Many government offices won't use email because they can be hacked and require faxes to send them documents. Jive says I should accept this because it's a free service. They may not have a separate charge for it but they are charging in their other fees. No business does anything at a loss. Again, they should make their fax more robust and efficient or license a 3rd party fax service that can handle the workload. Another bad thing about their fax, it works via email. It is cumbersome. You have to remember all sorts of information to put into the send to and subject. If your fax needs a cover sheet you still have to attach it. You have to attach these to the email and send the email that is very limited in what it can handle and can take as much as an hour to send to your client or receive. It would be better set up to have a functional desk top App where you click on a fax icon and just fill in a cover sheet, attach whatever you need to attach and send and one that works faster. Failing having it available in the App, at least have this in one of their portals. If you send the email with a message the recipient will never receive it, only the attachments are faxed. Jive is like so many other technology companies, including RC and Vonage. They make it convenient for them and forget what their customers need. They will consider your ideas and suggestions but only if enough other requests come in. Jive has the telephone basics right and seem like a good company but one that needs a lot of improvement to be truly functional for real business use. They're worth a try but among the first things you should do with them is request they implement 3rd party fax and desktop Apps until they get their own up to a level of usability. On the great side of Jive, their tech support is 24/7/365, lacking in other providers, and their support so far has been great. Their pricing is more reasonable. But how important is the pricing if it's lacking too much in other key areas? Just to be clear, I will never go back to RingCentral, their service and support are terrible. I'm not a big fan of Vonage either. If Jive can become more functional, initially by deploying 3rd party desktop App and a more robust 3rd party fax service, they have a lot of potential. Everyone I've spoken to there is awesome, particularly in support. The more people who ask for these improvements, the more likely they are to request them. Ask them to find the RingCentral desktop App that RC no longer uses and if they deploy it, you'll love it. I believe if enough of us ask for it, they'll get it for us. Oh, and they also force us to use the Google Chrome Browser. I'm a fan of neither Google who saves all our information nor of the Chrome browser.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Comment on this review >>

What Features?

Overall rating (2.8)

#126 : DEC 1st, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Started out great, but little by little, Jive is abandoning features. Click-to-dial was there, now it's only available in Chrome. The desktop app is a complete joke. compared to others. Jive's system is just a cloud-based PBX with very few significant features. The user portal can only dial internal numbers. We started shopping thanks to the loss of features, and were shocked to realize how backward Jive really is compared to several other players. You can do WAY better, for less money, elsewhere. Bye (don't buy) Jive.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Kurt : December 23rd 2016 : Thank you for the insight. Can you recommend other companies?

Comment on this review >>

Good Price, Phones down too frequently

Overall rating (3.6)

#125 : OCT 21st, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Great customer service, great price but too many outages. They claim 99.9% up time, I have an insurance business and my phone has been down too frequently. Today they claim a server is down affecting the east coast, my competitors have service, I have internet and no phones. Sorry, even though the price is right I am looking for a different alternative. Bye bye Jive.

Comment on this review >>

Easy setup

Overall rating (4.8)

#124 : FEB 18th, 2016 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Point and drag setup, doesn't get much easier. Saved over half on our monthly phone cost. The android app sucks though.

Comment on this review >>

A Quality and Cost Effective Company

Overall rating (5)

#123 : FEB 18th, 2016 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Jive Communications has an excellent customer service department, all located in Utah. They have 3 levels of service to include VoIP Engineers who tackle technical issues.

Comment on this review >>

They try... just not always succeed.

Overall rating (2.2)

#122 : NOV 20th, 2015 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I am in a business (insurance) where I rely on the phones. My Jive service has been down no less than 4 times and have had intermittent service another 2 or 3 times in the last 60 days. There is no way they are meeting the 99.9% standard they set (unless they are counting non-standard business hours... like overnight). Everytime I ask about what is going on... I get a long jumbled email about the specifics and technical aspect... which I don't care about... I want resolution and not your technical specifications. And when they are down... they normally are not down for 10 or 15 minutes... one time it was 7 hours!! Another, it was 3 hours. I asked for service compensation (as I need to be on the phones and am losing money when I am not)... but they seldomly comply to those requests (i.e. service credits for the down time). I am beyond frustrated... and will probably drop them soon.

Comment on this review >>

Amazing company with amazing customer service.

Overall rating (5)

#121 : OCT 25th, 2015 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Jive provided my company a VoIP cloud solution quickly and easily with high quality service. Their customer service is by far the best of any other vendor I have ever experienced. I would highly recommend Jive!

Comment on this review >>

  • Page 1 of 13
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 130 5 Stars 102
Thumbs Up 115 4 Stars 14
Thumbs Down 15 3 Stars 6
Average Rating 4.6 2 Stars 5
More Providers 1 Star 3
Write a review
Get Free Quotes
Top Business Providers*

4.6

4.6

4.9

4.8