BasicTalk Reviews - Page 2 of 8

BasicTalk

79

User Reviews

3.1/5

Average Rating

51%

Recommended

Total:

79

5-Star:

19

4-Star:

14

3-Star:

13

2-Star:

20

1-Star:

13

Return to Page 1 to access provider overview, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>


User Reviews (Page 2 of 8)

BasicTalk reviews are listed in chronological order.

Well Satisfied for 3 Years

Overall rating (4.6)

Number 69 : SEP 3rd, 2018 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I am very well satisfied with BasicTalk which I've used for over three years at my home. The only issue I have is that there are not enough "blocking" features to all friends and family incoming calls when using the "ONLY" blocking feature. Any telemarketer with all phone number that displays even has access when "ONLY" blocking option is engaged. HELP!

Comment on this review >>


Does what I need

Overall rating (3.2)

Number 68 : AUG 21st, 2018 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

First, please note that I rated customer service low as I have never required support. I wanted a 'land line' service as I live in an area where cell service can be poor at times. I wanted something simple and low cost. I rarely use it, but have not had any issues. True the name is BasicTalk and the cost is low, but I do wish there was a cell phone app so that I could more easily check if someone called rather than using the website. I would be willing to pay a bit more for that ability.

Comment on this review >>


Customer Service is Not

Overall rating (3.2)

Number 67 : MAR 23rd, 2018 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Customer service is really not! I called to cancel and because the device died and I had to get another service because the phone was needed now, the customer service rep kept saying he would send a device even though I told him multiple times to cancel. I had to finally start yelling to get the cancel done.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Jessica (August 20th 2019) : I agree! I had to get short with them as well to FINALLY get them to cancel. I don't want all the "new" deals they have to offer. Just cancel my service as I asked... 4 times over. I will never use them again.

Comment on this review >>


No Contact

Overall rating (3)

Number 66 : JAN 29th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

There is no way to contact anyone when you have problems. I am attempting to add another user but the number transfer keeps failing.

Comment on this review >>


Fake Support, Chat

Overall rating (2.2)

Number 65 : JAN 7th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I replaced my landline provider with BasicTalk 3 years ago. We've had a couple of problems, but they updated their box software and fixed them. Now the Chat support doesn't work anymore, and the email support doesn't reply. I've been without service for 1 week, my broadband has no problems, reboots won't work. I'm ditching BasicTalk tomorrow. If they can't provide service, I can't pay them.

Comment on this review >>


NO Customer Service

Overall rating (1)

Number 64 : JAN 1st, 2018 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I have been billed for this service even though I cancelled it three times before setting it up. I continue to be billed and have never utilized this service. They said they would take care of it but have not.

Comment on this review >>


Lousy Customer Service. Dishonest.

Overall rating (2.2)

Number 63 : OCT 19th, 2017 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

I called to cancel my service and the agent told me it was done. Turns out they sent me two emails - one saying my account was cancelled and another one saying I had seven days to call them back to cancel. When I didn't cancel, they continued my service, charged me and refused to refund the charge. In addition, the "supervisor" would not confirm that this time my service would be cancelled. I disputed the charge with my credit card, but I may end up having to cancel my card to keep them from charging me. Hopefully this doesn't end up ruining my credit.

Comment on this review >>


Is it Worth Getting?

Overall rating (3.4)

Number 62 : SEP 12th, 2017 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

In my case, the more Megs (bandwidth) you get from your ISP the clearer the call. When I had AT&T the phone quality was terrible because I was only getting approx 9.6Mbps, and this was due to being too far from their central office. I switched to Comcast with 15Mbps and phone quality got better with some problems (people not hearing me). Went to 30Mbps and have no problems, that is unless the Internet is having problems. Remember, the stronger signal you get, the better phone experience you have. I only pay about 10 bucks a month and I think it is worth it. Previously I was paying 34 bucks a month to AT&T and only got local service. Only wish you had the ability to have call blocking and am currently looking for a product on the Internet that does this for a one time charge.

Comment on this review >>


Broken Promise to Port Old Number

Overall rating (1.8)

Number 61 : SEP 6th, 2017 :

Recommended: No

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

We purchased BasicTalk on July 24th and they claim to have submitted a "Number Transfer Authorization Form" on July 24th. Today is September 2nd and no transfer has occurred, our landline provider never received any request. There are a number of dead links on their web site, especially in the support area. I tried to contact them many times to see how I can help them. I have to keep our landline active to save our number. We need our old number.

Comment on this review >>


Great Deal

Overall rating (5)

Number 60 : MAR 18th, 2017 :

Recommended: Yes

AVERAGE:

Average rating

QUALITY:

Sound quality rating

RELIABILITY:

Reliability rating

SUPPORT:

Customer service rating

FEATURES:

Features rating

VALUE:

Value rating

Got one when they first came out. My old phone service was $65 a month and now I am paying $13.63 a month. I don't call anywhere but the USA so it works great for me.

Comment on this review >>


  • Previous Page
  • Page 2 of 8
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Popular Providers

Provider* Highlights Startup Reviews More Info
  • Save 53%+ on Your Phone Bill
  • Over 40 Included Features
  • Easy Setup & Free Adapter to Use
  • No Contract or Cancellation Fee
30-day Money Back 4.8

Read Reviews
  • Special: $8.95/mo ($7.16/mo Prepay)
  • No Contracts/Setup Fees, USA Support
  • Order Online, Get a Free Adapter
  • Unlimited Calling US, CAN, 50+ countries
30-day Money Back 4.9

Read Reviews
  • Special: $75 per year!
  • Free hardware & activation
  • Money back guarantee
  • 30+ features
15-day Money Back 3.9

Read Reviews
  • Special: $149 for 2 Years service
  • Free 2nd line + International minutes
  • Free setup. No contract
  • 45+ features. US-based support
30-day Money Back 4

Read Reviews
  • Simple pay per call option
  • No setup or activation fees
  • No long term contract
  • Plans start at $0 between members
Free Options 4.3

Read Reviews