BasicTalk Reviews - Page 2 of 8

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
BasicTalk (3.1)
75 Reviews
Write a review

Return to Page 1 to access our BasicTalk review, tools/graphs resources, user Q&A, plus more >>

User Reviews (Page 2 of 8)

Summary
Total Number 75 5 Stars 19
Thumbs Up 40 4 Stars 14
Thumbs Down 35 3 Stars 12
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 18
More Providers 1 Star 12

BasicTalk reviews are listed in chronological order.

Fake Support, Chat

Overall rating (2.2)

#65 : JAN 7th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I replaced my landline provider with BasicTalk 3 years ago. We've had a couple of problems, but they updated their box software and fixed them. Now the Chat support doesn't work anymore, and the email support doesn't reply. I've been without service for 1 week, my broadband has no problems, reboots won't work. I'm ditching BasicTalk tomorrow. If they can't provide service, I can't pay them.

Comment on this review >>

NO Customer Service

Overall rating (1)

#64 : JAN 1st, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been billed for this service even though I cancelled it three times before setting it up. I continue to be billed and have never utilized this service. They said they would take care of it but have not.

Comment on this review >>

Lousy Customer Service. Dishonest.

Overall rating (2.2)

#63 : OCT 19th, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I called to cancel my service and the agent told me it was done. Turns out they sent me two emails - one saying my account was cancelled and another one saying I had seven days to call them back to cancel. When I didn't cancel, they continued my service, charged me and refused to refund the charge. In addition, the "supervisor" would not confirm that this time my service would be cancelled. I disputed the charge with my credit card, but I may end up having to cancel my card to keep them from charging me. Hopefully this doesn't end up ruining my credit.

Comment on this review >>

Is it Worth Getting?

Overall rating (3.4)

#62 : SEP 12th, 2017 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

In my case, the more Megs (bandwidth) you get from your ISP the clearer the call. When I had AT&T the phone quality was terrible because I was only getting approx 9.6Mbps, and this was due to being too far from their central office. I switched to Comcast with 15Mbps and phone quality got better with some problems (people not hearing me). Went to 30Mbps and have no problems, that is unless the Internet is having problems. Remember, the stronger signal you get, the better phone experience you have. I only pay about 10 bucks a month and I think it is worth it. Previously I was paying 34 bucks a month to AT&T and only got local service. Only wish you had the ability to have call blocking and am currently looking for a product on the Internet that does this for a one time charge.

Comment on this review >>

Broken Promise to Port Old Number

Overall rating (1.8)

#61 : SEP 6th, 2017 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We purchased BasicTalk on July 24th and they claim to have submitted a "Number Transfer Authorization Form" on July 24th. Today is September 2nd and no transfer has occurred, our landline provider never received any request. There are a number of dead links on their web site, especially in the support area. I tried to contact them many times to see how I can help them. I have to keep our landline active to save our number. We need our old number.

Comment on this review >>

Great Deal

Overall rating (5)

#60 : MAR 18th, 2017 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Got one when they first came out. My old phone service was $65 a month and now I am paying $13.63 a month. I don't call anywhere but the USA so it works great for me.

Comment on this review >>

Ripped off

Overall rating (2.5)

#59 : JUL 26th, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

A year ago in June 2015 I called and cancelled my Basictalk service. After cancelling they refused to stop charging my checking account. I found on my account in June 2016 that they had been committing fraud, taking out after I cancelled my service and told them not to charge me anymore. They said they refuse to refund me for over $140.00 and said no refunds and I am to take the hit. Working with the Better Business Bureau currently with my complaint. I am going to report this to the bank and maybe a lawyer for fraud charges. Do not get Basictalk or Vonage.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Sonya (November 3rd 2016) : I cancelled my service and they continue to bill my card for over a year now. I just caught it and my credit card company says its up to them (BasicTalk) to refund my money. Changing accounts but I am out of the money they stole from me. Please do not sign up for this service unless you are using a rush card or some other dispensable prepaid card that you can automatically discard or control the amounts that you put on there. Hope this helps someone!

Comment on this review >>

Excellent Service

Overall rating (4.6)

#58 : JUL 18th, 2016 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been using BasicTalk for over 2 years now with very few problems. Voice Quality is excellent and the Voicemail works as expected. I have not experienced a single billing issue. Many of the posted reviews comment on the fact that the service goes down frequently, their information is not accurate. The service does not go down, however it is highly dependent on the firewall settings in your cable modem or router. I have learned that the service disconnects each time Comcast changes my cable modem settings (i.e. updates the firmware, changes my service level, reboots my cable modem, etc.). In order to reconnect to Vonage I have to turn off the Network Level Firewall in the Cable Modem and allow 5 minutes for the Grand Stream 701 interface box to reconnect. After service is restored I enable the firewall in the Cable Modem and all is well. The loss of service is caused by your Internet Service Provider, it is not caused by BasicTalk (i.e. Vonage). If your Internet Service causes too many service interruptions the solution is finding another Internet Service provider or turning off the Fire Wall in your cable modem or router. The one issue I have is the fact that the Support folks steadfastly refuse to furnish me with the required information to enable port tunneling through the firewall in order to avoid turning off the fire wall to reconnect my phone service each time Comcast has a service interruption. If all you need is basic phone service then BasicTalk is the preferred choice.

Comment on this review >>

BasicTalk, great service

Overall rating (4.8)

#57 : JUN 15th, 2016 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Highly recommended. We use extra recorder, with voice mail, for ease of play back. We use a Y jack, plug into the house telephone outlet to activate all house outlets.

Comment on this review >>

Unfair business practices

Overall rating (3)

#56 : JUN 14th, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

When my husband had a stroke and was unable to speak, I called in February to cancel the service. In June, the service is still being billed to my credit card and I am told that despite them having the record of my earlier call, "BasicTalk does not give refunds". Stay away from this company!

Comment on this review >>

  • Previous Page
  • Page 2 of 8
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 75 5 Stars 19
Thumbs Up 40 4 Stars 14
Thumbs Down 35 3 Stars 12
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 18
More Providers 1 Star 12

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$7.16
Unlimited
(5)
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.5)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(3.9)
from
$0.0198
per min
(4.3)