Acanac Reviews

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
Acanac (3.1)
20 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

Acanac Overview

Acanac is a Canadian based company servicing Canada only. They are essentially an Internet Service provider(ISP) providing VoIP service however, they also provide Internet access and TV service. They were founded in 2008 and have grown substantially over the past four years. They have several plans available, two plans aimed at the residential home owner and a small business plan. They have a current deal where if you are a new customer and order there DSL or cable service they will bundle the home phone service for free - this is an excellent way of at least testing out their service. Acanac's phone plans have many features that residential and business users would find very useful such as 3-way calling, call waiting, call return, caller ID and many more. All plans advertise unlimited long distance in the US & Canada but note that not all regions of Canada and the US are covered. Make sure you look at these regions to see if you truly are getting free long distance calling. None of Acanac's plans include International calling but there are some very good rates if you need international dialing. A customer support line is available from 9am-12am Eastern time Monday to Friday, this is augmented by an online forum where users are free to ask questions or comment on service.

Acanac have a dozen or so reviews on WhichVoIP averaging a rating of four out of 5. It's difficult to draw a conclusion with so few reviews as it's easy to skew the numbers but price seems to be a huge positive. If you have experience with this provider then please complete our simple review form to add your ratings and comments using the links on this page.

...This is a very cheap homophone plan. The only cons is that u have to set up your own voip modem....

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 2)

Total Number 20 5 Stars 5
Thumbs Up 12 4 Stars 5
Thumbs Down 8 3 Stars 2
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 2
More Providers 1 Star 6

Acanac reviews are listed in chronological order.

Non Existent Customer Service

Overall rating (1.2)

#20 : SEP 19th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

My Internet and phone went down on a Saturday. The earliest I was able to contact technical support was Monday when they opened. And after a series of useless tests, the earliest they could get a tech out was Friday, A whole week, no service, and they really didn't seem to care. Needless to say I will no longer be a customer of Acanac.

Comment on this review >>

Awful Support

Overall rating (1.8)

#19 : APR 11th, 2018 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

My VoIP service was suspended due to an expired credit card. Upon reactivation my ATA adapter/VoIP service would not make outgoing calls. Support was useless and said it was my issue, they were unwilling to help. Tried a new ATA adapter, even followed the same instructions/dialing plan that I used back in 2015, but the service would not work. Switched to another competitor that was more expensive, and they have superior service.

Comment on this review >>

Cheap and Generally Works

Overall rating (3.6)

#18 : SEP 25th, 2017 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We have had Acanac VOIP service for about 5 years now. Customer service has ranged from painfully slow to quick and informative. We definitely have some downtime, as we do with most Internet providers, but this has generally not been severe enough to make us walk away from the very good price. That and the fact that the contract renews yearly and I am usually not thinking about it when I get the renewal confirmation. In our experience you definitely have to be ready to spend some time sorting out the connections for the VOIP adapter yourself as the instructions provided are fairly brief, but using their recommended equipment and some online guides things were quite straightforward for someone moderately comfortable with a computer.

Comment on this review >>

Terrible, no service at all, long wait times on phone

Overall rating (1.6)

#17 : MAY 8th, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Stay away, you've been warned. Magic jack works about the same for way less money and hassles. Wait until you really need your phone and it doesn't work and there is no customer service to help you at night or on a weekend.

Comment on this review >>

Bad service, bad connection, waste of money

Overall rating (1)

#16 : MAR 16th, 2016 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have had bad connection and bad service for a long time with them now and they always tell you the same story, buy a new modem which I did but nothing fixed. I wasted money and time with this company, I don't advise it for anyone.

Comment on this review >>

Bottom of the barrel - garbage ISP

Overall rating (1.4)

#15 : JUN 12th, 2015 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Their aim is to lie in order to get you under contract, they make promises they do not fulfill, make it very hard to contact the right person, and ignore emails whenever they feel like it. I was stuck with them for years due to the crappy options I had around my neighborhood and refusal to deal with big business. I am so glad to be out from under their "contract", never again will I venture near them.

Comment on this review >>

Service

Overall rating (1)

#14 : OCT 7th, 2014 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Impossible to have any service: the tech's have no clue, service is only by email which is nonsense, can never get a proper answer or there is a delay when they answer, can takes weeks to settle any problem while during that time phone does not work, even if you ask for urgent service. Better haver cell phone close if you have an emergency.

Comment on this review >>

Decent VOIP

Overall rating (3)

#13 : NOV 18th, 2012 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

This is a very cheap home phone plan. The only cons is that you have to set up your own voip modem, little to no support and no matter the internet speed, you will have downtime.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

shadow (June 4th, 2013): This is the worst provider that I have ever come across. Their service sucks big time and I sincerely believe they do not know what they are doing. Stay away from this one or suffer the end results.

Comment on this review >>

Acanac Review

Overall rating (1)

#12 : JAN 13th, 2012 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Support is awful and the sales staff did not know any technical info

Comment on this review >>

Acanac Review

Overall rating (1.2)

#11 : APR 1st, 2010 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

This cheap service is unreliable, there is no support and it is total waste of your time and money.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 2
  • Next Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 20 5 Stars 5
Thumbs Up 12 4 Stars 5
Thumbs Down 8 3 Stars 2
Average Rating 3.1 2 Stars 2
More Providers 1 Star 6

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.5)
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.2)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.1)
  • SHARE: