Talkswitch (now Fortinet) Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Resources
Talkswitch (now Fortinet) (3.2)
9 Reviews
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

Get FREE business VoIP pricing in minutes!

Reduce your phone bill by up to 60%:

Use the below tabs to navigate to reviews, Q&A, and useful tools.

Talkswitch (now Fortinet) Overview

Talkswitch reviews started to show up on WhichVoIP in July of 2008 and since then, the comments on the service have been very mixed. One trend that appears to be consistent is that customer service is not good, as every reviewer that has required support, has run into significant challenges in getting their issues resolved.

The good news is that Talkswitch was acquired by Fortinet in April 2011. The bad news is that there are still some reviewer comments after that time, and all the way into 2013, that are having problems with the service. If you are a Fortinet/Talkswitch user, please add a short review by selecting the button on the right. This will help potential new customers decide if this service is a good choice for their business phone solution.

The original Talkswitch VoIP solution has been renamed as the Fortinet Fortivoice portfolio of products and has helped expand it into the multi-service business gateway market.

Fortinet products are on-premise IP PBX solutions and although the recommended phones are Fortinet phone models, the systems do support phones from 3rd party manufacturers Polycom, Grandstream and Counterpath. An IP PBX is a great solution for inside a company, but does not address the need for lower cost external calls. To address this need, Fortinet provides a list of recommended VoIP service providers that the system can integrate with. Using a VoIP service will eliminate branch to branch calling charges and also provide fixed rate unlimited long distance calling.

the system has been a huge dissappointment

All User Reviews

Summary
Total Number 9 5 Stars 3
Thumbs Up 3 4 Stars 0
Thumbs Down 6 3 Stars 1
Average Rating 3.2 2 Stars 5
More Providers 1 Star 0

Talkswitch (now Fortinet) reviews are listed in chronological order.

Very good product, great online support, lots of features

Overall rating (4.8)

#9 : : JUL 15th, 2014

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The Talkswitch/Fortivoice products are great. They are very easy to configure and contain a large amount of features that used to be very costly and cost- prohibitive to small-and-medium businesses. We have had minor problems with our system since we installed it more than two years ago. However, most of the time, as that is often the case with VoIP networks, the problems were related to external factors (network configuration, switch, telco lines, Internet stability, etc.). When problems originated from the Talkswitch, the online support representatives were helpful in providing possible solutions. I admit that the hold times were long when I tried to reach the technical support department by phone. I didn't try it recently, but I know that Fortinet has recently expanded its team working on Fortivoice, so I suspect there are more people now than in the past. Hence, this situation might be less of a problem now. They did occasionnlly ask for call processing logs (CP logs) to further investigate problems. These are very easy to set up when following a short one- page instruction document provided by the support team. Setting up the logs to capture an issue takes less than 5 minutes to an unexperienced user. I had an analog Talkswitch phone that was problematic. I first thought it was the handset, so a replacement handset was sent. I didn't have to argue at all to get Talkswitch to send it to me. Then, as it didn't work, I was able to get a replacement phone sent very quickly. Moreover, I have taken the chance to submit feature requests through the support portal. The representatives are very open to user feedback and do not hesitate to forward suggestions to the development team. I was very surprised to be notified shortly after sending my requests that some of the features I asked for would be included in an upcoming firmware release. Even though Talkswitch systems and phones can be configured by anyone without technical background, I suggest that new Talkswitch owners ask for an IT professional to support them in designing their network to avoid potential problems with VoIP (choice of gateway, router, setting up a separate LAN for voice if there is going to be a lot of traffic, etc.). Then, users will be able to manage their phone system configuration on their own, which wasn't possible with most proprietary digital PBXes on the market in the past.

Comment on this review >>

Horrible Service

Overall rating (2.4)

#8 : : FEB 28th, 2013

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Overall the features of the product are pretty good and, when it works, it's a good system. It is not easy to install or make changes and we needed additional technical support for this. In spite of it being a fairly decent product, this company has THE worst customer service and support I have ever experienced. Be prepared for very long hold times--30-45 minutes is not unusual--and not all staff are friendly or knowledgeable enough to help with your problem. It is difficult to do returns, even if it is their equipment failure and you have to incur the cost of everything. Based on the service, I wouldn't recommend them.

Comment on this review >>

Talkswitch (now Fortinet) Review

Overall rating (5)

#7 : : APR 20th, 2012

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We installed the system 6 months ago and it has worked like a charm. It does exactly what we need at the best price points. I called support for a couple of things and they were really helpful. They didn't need to troubleshoot the issue tied to my firewall, but they did.

Comment on this review >>

Talkswitch (now Fortinet) Review

Overall rating (2.4)

#6 : : MAR 21st, 2012

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We've had this system for a while. It is not easy to set up or maintain. Although they make it out that it is very user friendly, it is not. I had to hire a separate tech company to assist and they regularly pull their hair out at how challenging a system it is to use. Talkswitch has THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. Be prepared to be on hold for at least 30 minutes any time you call. Tech reps are not always helpful or knowledgeable. Purchase and return policies are a joke. They bill you for everything and take no responsibility even if their equipment is at fault. The premise of the system is great, too bad it doesn't work as promised.

Comment on this review >>

Talkswitch (now Fortinet) Review

Overall rating (2)

#5 : : MAR 13th, 2012

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We purchased this phone system for our small office on the recommendation of our IT guy. The system has been a huge disappointment. The sound quality of the phones is bad and their service department requires the purchaser of the phone system to run diagnostic tests or hire someone to do so. We have had so many dropped calls during telephone conferences we have taken to using our cell phone instead of our Talkswitch. Though we have had the system for only a short time, I am now searching for a new system for our company.

Comment on this review >>

Talkswitch (now Fortinet) Review

Overall rating (2)

#4 : : SEP 27th, 2010

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

If you're looking for decent support, don't bother with Talk Switch. Technical knowledge of support reps is okay at best. If they think your provider is causing a problem, they won't conference call with them to resolve a problem which has always tuened out to be their firmware.

Comment on this review >>

Talkswitch (now Fortinet) Review

Overall rating (2.8)

#3 : : DEC 23rd, 2009

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Beware terrible service - Decent Product I recently purchased a 248vs Talk Switch System for my company and I have been pleased with the physical product. However part of the package that I purchased include a ?professional image? package valued on my invoice at $300. I was told to submit a script for the greeting (which I did) and I would receive a professionally recorded greeting within two to three weeks. Despite made many, many attempts to contact both my representative at the TCE Company (an authorized reseller) and the Talk Switch Company about the issue, I never received the greeting or a reason for not getting what I was sold. I would discourage anyone from purchasing a Talk Switch product based on how poorly the company has handled this seemingly simple issue. I have all of the emails, correspondents and receipts if anyone wants additional information.

Comment on this review >>

Talkswitch (now Fortinet) Review

Overall rating (4.8)

#2 : : JAN 9th, 2009

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have had a TalkSwitch for several years with minimal problems. Support, when I have needed it, has been very responsive. There is one minor problem they have been unable to fix - - you are supposed to be able to dial **# for your own voicemail, but we must actually dial ** and the extension. Also, support has been unable to help me with unsupported VOIP services, which I would expect. We love our TalkSwitch.

Comment on this review >>

Talkswitch (now Fortinet) Review

Overall rating (2.4)

#1 : : JUL 6th, 2008

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I was generally upset with this service, or lack thereof, never got any intelligent answers and was ignored overall. Stay away.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 9 5 Stars 3
Thumbs Up 3 4 Stars 0
Thumbs Down 6 3 Stars 1
Average Rating 3.2 2 Stars 5
More Providers 1 Star 0
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

3 Top Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$19.99
(4.5)
from
$19.99
(4.5)
from
$8.95 5 user min
(4.9)
  • SHARE: