Jive Communications Reviews and Ratings

Provider Average Rating Resources
Jive Communications (4.6)
124 Reviews
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

Get FREE business VoIP pricing in minutes!

Reduce your phone bill by up to 60%:

Use the below tabs to navigate to reviews, Q&A, and useful tools.

Take me straight to the 124 User submitted reviews >>

WhichVoIP.com Jive Review

Jive Communications was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Orem, Utah. Jive provides a robust, proprietary hosted VoIP service to all businesses, from small companies to enterprises, education establishments and even local Governments.

The Good

Jive only offers one option to its customers for its hosted PBX service, and it is an unlimited plan. There is no metered option for businesses that are looking for reduced minutes, likely because the pricing is so competitive for the unlimited option. Depending on the number of lines, the monthly cost can get as low as $19.95 per line, per month.

The Jive system is completely proprietary, designed by the Jive development team. This is an interesting point to note as often providers resell Asterisk or Broadsoft systems. There are pros and cons with this but one big advantage is it can potentially act faster on bugs and feature improvements since it is their own system.

There is no contract that needs to be signed so you are free to move at any time and billing occurs on a month to month basis. There is also a 45 day money back guarantee. Jive definitely stands by their service. In fact the latest survey that they sent to customers indicated that 97% of them would recommend the Jive service to a friend. At the risk of laboring this point, it also provides a Service Level Agreement (SLA) to customers that states 99.99% uptime. It has multiple data centers spread across the United States which likely helps them meet this SLA.

Another important point to note about its service is that all customer support is located in Utah and is available 24 hours per day, 7 days a week.

Jive offers an impressive feature set to customers and the list is growing fast, likely due to the proprietary PBX it has developed. All features are included in the service with the exception of call recording. For this it recommends Amazon AWS, which offers a 5GB free package per year. On the mobility side, it offers Jive Mobility for Androis and iOS smartphones. This enables you to take advantage of the Jive service on the road. If you are most familiar with third party Apps, you can download Bria, which supports the Jive PBX. For a list of all the features, you can view them using our feature comparison tool.

Number porting is available for only $15 per number when porting in to Jive. If you need to port out of Jive to another provider there are no hidden terms, the number is yours to keep. We like it when providers do this, rather than wrapping legal jargon around terms and conditions to force a customer to stay due to number porting issues.

Jive offers many leading IP phones and conference phones at subsidized levels, starting at $75. These phones are all provisioned to work with the Jive service "out of the box".

Finally, we like the FAQ that Jive has on its website. It has some great information on router recommendations and common issues and solutions for specific router brands. This is important in order to get optimal Quality of Service (QoS) which ultimately leads to trouble free calling. It tends to recommend Adtran for routers because of the support for QoS.

The Bad

The unlimited plan does not note any limit which at first glance sounds great. However, the terms and conditions state that the plan is based on fair usage, which essentially is an average usage for a business when adding up the incoming and outgoing minutes. Sometimes it is better just to be upfront and specify the limits.

If you have any need to cancel the service or cancel a hardware order be aware of the terms when it comes to restocking fees. The restocking fees are 30% which can be a significant hit if you are buying some of the latest IP phones.

You have 30 days to pay your bill for a given month. This is reasonable and fairly standard but if you do miss it for some reason, be aware that it adds 12% interest per year for delinquent accounts.

We stated above that the feature set is impressive, and it is. However there is not much when it comes to desktop plugins. Some providers offer impressive desktop plugins such as CRM and email integration but Jive does not.

Be aware that the terms and conditions indicate that Jive can use your Company's name and logo in promotional material. This may not be a big deal but worth keeping in mind.

Finally, our old friend the fax machine. Jive offers an eFax service for free which essentially gives you fax capabilities using email and a scanner. This works for many companies but others still rely on their fax machine. Jive is a little conservative here and indicates that if your business has mission critical fax needs, you may want to keep an analog line just for faxing.

The Bottom Line

  • Jive PBX Cost: Starts at $29.95/month/line for unlimited calling but this drops to $19.95 if you have a need for more than 50 lines.

Overall Thoughts

Jive offers an impressive service at a low cost and includes unlimited minutes within the U.S and Canada. The customer service department is based entirely in the U.S and is open 24/7 to answer any questions. Quality is a key care about for Jive and it stands by its 99.99% uptime SLA and its customers certainly seem to appreciate the service that is offered.

  • SHARE THIS:

Author: Andrew


Jive Communications Overview

We have been receiving user reviews for Jive since 2008. Overall the average rating for Jive is very good indeed which tends to validate some of the statistics stated in our editor review regarding uptime and customer satisfaction. There is a decent number of reviews which helps give our visitors a good sample size of real users opinions.

...I have found Jive to be well priced, have exceptional features, and easy to operate and administer....

All User Reviews (Page 1 of 13)

Summary
Total Number 124 5 Stars 101
Thumbs Up 112 4 Stars 12
Thumbs Down 12 3 Stars 5
Average Rating 4.6 2 Stars 5
More Providers 1 Star 1

Jive Communications reviews are listed in chronological order.

Easy setup

Overall rating (4.8)

#124 : FEB 18th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Point and drag setup, doesn't get much easier. Saved over half on our monthly phone cost. The android app sucks though.

Comment on this review >>

A Quality and Cost Effective Company

Overall rating (5)

#123 : FEB 18th, 2016 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Jive Communications has an excellent customer service department, all located in Utah. They have 3 levels of service to include VoIP Engineers who tackle technical issues.

Comment on this review >>

They try... just not always succeed.

Overall rating (2.2)

#122 : NOV 20th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I am in a business (insurance) where I rely on the phones. My Jive service has been down no less than 4 times and have had intermittent service another 2 or 3 times in the last 60 days. There is no way they are meeting the 99.9% standard they set (unless they are counting non-standard business hours... like overnight). Everytime I ask about what is going on... I get a long jumbled email about the specifics and technical aspect... which I don't care about... I want resolution and not your technical specifications. And when they are down... they normally are not down for 10 or 15 minutes... one time it was 7 hours!! Another, it was 3 hours. I asked for service compensation (as I need to be on the phones and am losing money when I am not)... but they seldomly comply to those requests (i.e. service credits for the down time). I am beyond frustrated... and will probably drop them soon.

Comment on this review >>

Amazing company with amazing customer service.

Overall rating (5)

#121 : OCT 25th, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Jive provided my company a VoIP cloud solution quickly and easily with high quality service. Their customer service is by far the best of any other vendor I have ever experienced. I would highly recommend Jive!

Comment on this review >>

Declining service and reliability

Overall rating (2)

#120 : JUN 2nd, 2015 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have used Jive VOIP for 1 1/2 years now. The service started off great but I've noticed the quality has deteriorated. When I've called in during service outages and the CS representative was clueless to what was going on with their own systems. Not very helpful for my business as I depend on in bound calls for sales. I would not recommend.

Comment on this review >>

antiquated customer service

Overall rating (3.4)

#119 : MAY 13th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

The good thing about Jive's customer service is that it's remarkably consistent right from the beginning. Consistently disappointing that is, starting with getting a price. Instead of publishing its prices, you're forced to "request a quote." After about 24-36 hours, the quote finally arrives with the same information that other services deliver in a matter of seconds with transparent pricing right on their website. Step 1: 24-36 hours vs. 3 seconds. Most services allow you to choose your package/price point, sign up immediately, then configure your account, all of which can be accomplished in less than an hour. Once you agree to sign up with Jive, you enter a third dimension of time that can best be described as watching snow melt. Instead of a sign-up process that takes several minutes, Jive begins its long, laborious sign-up process with the exchange of ?closing documents? including the completion of financials forms (yes, "forms" like at the Div. of Motor Vehicles) exchanged by unsecured email. Once you fill out the mortgage commitment-sized set of applications, forms and acknowledgments, you sit back and wait for days and days and days while those documents are distributed to different departments to be "manually" keystroked into their system. Step 2: 10-15 days vs. 30 minutes. Not only is the Jive process extraordinarily slow and unnecessarily convoluted but it requires constant monitoring on the part of the customer to make certain that each step is completed as promised. After a month of waiting for our company's main number to be ported over to Jive, our inquiry was followed by an email asking us to sign our transfer request form. In summary, Jive's customer service is bad. Really BAD. Like off the charts, laughable, third-world-country-bad. So bad that you'll think you're being punked!

Comment on this review >>

Seamless Transition to VOIP

Overall rating (5)

#118 : APR 4th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I transitioned to Jive after many years with AT&T and have experienced superior quality and support and am saving a lot of $$.

Comment on this review >>

Impeccable Customer Service

Overall rating (5)

#117 : APR 1st, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been with Jive for a few years, having switched over from a different VOIP company. The biggest difference I found with them is the excellence of their customer service and support. I've had to call twice for support. The first time upon my switch over, I encountered some issues. However, they spent as much time as needed running tests, and doing whatever required so that all went well. They also followed up via email and with a telephone call to make sure everything was running smoothly. Many times I find customer service to be annoyed that you are calling them. However, with Jive, I felt they were more than happy I was calling them and again they were willing to spend as much time as needed to rectify the issue without any qualms. The second time I called was recently due to the quality issues. Again, I felt the same way. They were friendly, patient, and did whatever they had to, no time constraints to resolve the issue. I highly recommend Jive to anyone using or interested in setting up a VOIP system.

Comment on this review >>

Excellent Customer Service

Overall rating (4.8)

#116 : MAR 31st, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

My disclaimer on this review is that I've never been in charge of handling the VoIP system before I started a new position with a new company. I was a little intimidated by the admin interface at first, however the Jive customer service team was always available to answer any questions that I had. They would also give helpful hints for issues that I wasn't even aware I was having. While I can't compare Jive directly to another provider, I can say that if you are new to the VoIP world, Jive will help you each step of the way, until you've become an "expert".

Comment on this review >>

Our Move

Overall rating (5)

#115 : MAR 25th, 2014 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

We recently relocated some of our Management to home offices. With everyone having different internet service providers at home it was a little challenging but JIVE made it work pretty effortlessly. They went out of their way to remote into one of our computers and make the necessary changes so that our VOIP phone would work from the new location. JIVE made it possible for us to relocate offices and have the convenience of office phones/lines ringing at in-home offices. Thank you Jive!

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:
  • Page 1 of 13
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 124 5 Stars 101
Thumbs Up 112 4 Stars 12
Thumbs Down 12 3 Stars 5
Average Rating 4.6 2 Stars 5
More Providers 1 Star 1
Write a review
Get Free Quotes

3 Top Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$19.99
(4.5)
from
$8.95 5 user min
(4.9)
from
$19.95
(4.5)
  • SHARE: