JoiPhone Reviews

Provider Average Rating Write a Review
JoiPhone (2.6)
10 Reviews
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user Q&A and other useful sections.

JoiPhone Overview

JoiPhone is an internet based phone service that was introduced in 2006 by the parent company Hawk Communications (founded in 1999). Residential plans include a 100 minute usage option, a domestic unlimited minute plan and a global unlimited calling plan. Plans for small businesses are also available through it's JoiBiz service.

The JoiPhone reviews, starting from 2007, have been mainly negative to date. The review average rating is "Poor to OK", with a recommended percentage lower than 10%. Customer service average rating is the lowest rated aspect from users, followed by reliability (use our graph tool to view rating trends over time). Provide feedback on your own experience by completing our quick and simple review form.

All User Reviews

Total Number 10 5 Stars 1
Thumbs Up 1 4 Stars 1
Thumbs Down 9 3 Stars 3
Average Rating 2.6 2 Stars 4
More Providers 1 Star 1

JoiPhone reviews are listed in chronological order.

Joi Phone cut off my service before it is expired!

Overall rating (3.6)

#10 : JUN 13th, 2012 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have 2 years contract service with Joi Phone, when I inform them I am tired with their service after total of 4 Years, they cut off my service 8 days before it was expired, then I complain to them, after half they turn it back on. but then 2 days later, they turn off the service again! I complain to them again which the contact is not expired for 3 more days, I can not believe they said either you pay for new service charge or that is it! I will not recommend JOI PHONE to any one because they can not be TRUSTED!

Comment on this review >>

JOIPHONE A TRUE TRASH VOIP PHONE SERVICE

Overall rating (1)

#9 : MAY 17th, 2012 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

JOIPHONE has a zero quality and ureliable service. Will not Port your number to another company.File FCC complain to ban JOIPHONE to be in voip phone service. Hawk Communication is the parent company and has tons of complains on file every where.

Comment on this review >>

Supurb!!!

Overall rating (5)

#8 : MAY 1st, 2012 :

Recommended: Yes

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Sun Rocket went out of business, so I looked for the best deal. That was JoiPhone. They got me started on the previous VOIP provider's gizmo. I was up instantly, good tech support. I've used JoiPhone for around 4years with outstanding service. Never an issue; I recommend JoiPhone to everyone I know.

Comment on this review >>

JoiPhone Review

Overall rating (3.2)

#7 : APR 4th, 2012 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I have been with Joiphone for 5 years with unlimited minutes. I have prepaid for 2 years. The blocked my number because they said that I was in violation of usage. They said that it looks like I may be using it for business purposes. They said that I would have to either downgrade my service (100 min. per month + 2 cents a minute, or upgrade to business service which is about 3 times more expensive per month. Keep in mind that I have unlimited minutes. They refused to prorate my account. They said use it or loose it. Also, I get dropped calls after an hour or sometimes 2 hours of being on the phone.

Comment on this review >>

JoiPhone Review

Overall rating (1.6)

#6 : APR 1st, 2012 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

worst company ever.. I paid for 2 years upfront and I"m nearing one year and they decided to cancel my service for no reason! Nobody will answer... they just send same email over and over saying if I want my service reinstated, I have to pay more $ (almost $20/month more!!!)! They will rob you! Watch out!

Comment on this review >>

JoiPhone Review

Overall rating (1.8)

#5 : JUL 13th, 2011 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Right after I signed up for two more years, both my phone numbers went dead. Callers get a busy signal. This has gone on for THREE WEEKS and Joiphone appears to be doing nothing about it. I am cut off, my business is dead and I am losing thousands of dollars. They have no business being in the phone business if they can't solve a problem for three weeks. There service wouldnt be worth it if it was free.

Comment on this review >>

JoiPhone Review

Overall rating (2.6)

#4 : SEP 20th, 2010 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

Terrible customer service and attempts to double bill recently. Poor response and frustrating to try and get any resolutions.

Comment on this review >>

JoiPhone Review

Overall rating (2.8)

#3 : SEP 23rd, 2008 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

I ordered JoiPhone Jan 2008. It took three months to receive the service after paying for it. I needed to transfer telephone lines and called JoiPhone who helped me write the email to port a AT&T telephone number on July 5, 2008. As of today, September 23, 2008, JoiPhone has still not ported my phone number. I have over 50 correspondences with them and their customer service is horrible and very unprofessional. Managers will not return phone calls, the corporate office will not call after you send them an email, nor is their any way to talk to the porting department. JoiPhone waited for a month before they contacted me on an additional $20.00 fee. They waited another 15 days on sending them a authorization. However, AT&T, ported my number from JoiPhone in less than ten days and JoiPhone had no idea they did not even possess my number any more. They are without a doubt the worst of the worst. I do not recommend them for service. They have no money to pay for their reps for training or phone lines to talk with their customers. The reps are hilarious when they say, we are not a large company and I said, well not and you never will be with the way you treat customers. Sure they are cheap, but their service is not worth it. I plan to file a credit card dispute to receive my money back from July 5, 2008 to the end of my contract. They are that bad.

Comment on this review >>

JoiPhone Review

Overall rating (2.2)

#2 : JUL 7th, 2008 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

JoiPhone has an F rating with the Florida Better Business Bureau. Their Slogan when you call their phone # is We Bring Joy to your life. NOT!!!!!!! We called JoiPhone they would not do anything over the phone as far as billing. They told us we had to email them. We did 4 times no response over a 1 month time frame. They owe us 6-8 months credit which they said we would get for all of the down time and service failures. They also said they would exchange out our router with the new VoIP router to fix the problems we were having but now they are saying we have to pay for 2 more years upfront to get the router or buy it outright which is not what they told us and amounts to blackmail. They also give this new router away free to new customers, yet do not care about supporting existing paying customers or keeping their word. Furthermore their service is misleading and false advertising as the router we currently have is supposed to be a router and support multiple computers, 2 phone lines over a broadband connection. After 8 months we find out that that is not the case. Then they confirm this with us because of all of the headaches. Then we were told again we would be getting 6-8 months of credit to our account and the new router which is a real router and supports what we signed up for in the first place. We signed up for a 2 year plan with them which provided a free router. This router has been exchanged 3 times in about 1 year time. Yet they now refuse to send us their new router for some reason even when they told us they would, along with crediting us with 6-8 months due to downtime.

Comment on this review >>

JoiPhone Review

Overall rating (1.8)

#1 : JAN 6th, 2008 :

Recommended: No

  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Support:
  • Customer service rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating

If you get lucky and don't have any problems with the service, you might consider them OK. But I had a lot of problems and horrible experience with Joiphone. They could not port my number for 2 month and my inbound service was down for over a week - they could not find a problem. After I cancelled the service, they did not refund all the money. Customer service was just terrible.

Comment on this review >>

  • SHARE THIS:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 10 5 Stars 1
Thumbs Up 1 4 Stars 1
Thumbs Down 9 3 Stars 3
Average Rating 2.6 2 Stars 4
More Providers 1 Star 1

Compare Similar Providers

Provider* $/mo Details
from
$8.97
Unlimited
(4.5)
from
$8.32
Unlimited
(4.2)
from
$6.21
Unlimited
(3.6)
from
$6.25
Unlimited
(4.1)
  • SHARE: