Norton trust seal
BBB logo

VYLmedia Reviews and Ratings

The below provides a quick overview of the user submitted reviews for VYLmedia.

Service Provider Average User Rating Total Reviews Write a Review
VYLmedia (4.4) 129 Reviews
(80% Recommended)
Write a review

Use the tabs below to navigate to user reviews and user questions and answers sections.

VYLmedia Overview

VYLmedia has been rebranded as 1-VoIP and is owned by VoIPYourLife LLC. The reviews on this page are applicable to both brands so if you want to submit a review of 1-VoIP, please go ahead and do so.

The company offers business and residential voip services in addition to a SIP trunking solution. The residential plans are a bit more expensive than your typical VoIP service for the home. The plans do however include features that are not commonly offered by VoIP providers. Packages come with web faxing, email and cloud storage so if these features are something you want, then this package can be a good option. Otherwise, you may want to compare costs with other solutions that offer a pure and simple phone service.


All User Reviews (Page 1 of 13)

VYLmedia reviews are listed in chronological order.

Overall rating (4.6) : Good

#129 : MAR 21st, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

very happy with the service would recommend to friends and family, the only problem I experience is when I try to use my line as a fax also

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.4) : A Happy Customer

#128 : MAR 21st, 2013 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

1-VOIPs customer service makes them standout. A human answers the call and their response to my small problems have been swift. Add this to the cost of their service, the call quality and unlimited calling to over 30 countries makes me a very happy customer. I am now paying less the half of the cost for just local calls from my old landline provider.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Len (May 29th, 2014) : I think 1-VoIP is excellent. Been using them over 5 years. Tech support is superb. You mention unlimited calling to 30 countries? Never ran across this feature. US/Canada is free and overseas fairly cheap, but free?

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.9) : It's a Better World

#127 : OCT 29th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I switched from another VoIP provider to VYLmedia. Saving money was one issue but having a reliable connection for my home business and tech support that is available is what I need to grow my accounting business. VYLmedia customer service is just the answer for me. It doesn't matter whether I call at 8 am or 9pm, support is available. Granted, I do have to wait on hold longer than I like when calling but I guess I must hit "rush hour" when I call. What I like is that the person on the other end switched my features like I like and I didn't have to be transferred or get a manager's approval. I like that. It's such a better world now that I switched to VYLmedia.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3.3) : Poor Record keeping, Outages, Lost my Number!?

#126 : MAY 17th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Wow! Canadaian User. Use VOIP for corporate rentals. Chose VYL because they appear to have their stuff together. I prepay for a year at a time. Been with VYL for over 2 years now. Last year they actually "lost" my number, and the phone was cut off for 6 months after I had paid for my year. Never got a refund until almost a year later. It seems customer service, accounts payable, accounts receivable, and Technical service have never communicated to eachother...ever. I have had several phone conversations, and now many of them backed up by email, and I am still having problems with this company. First... they told me they have a signed document requesting them to port my number to another company, but they cannot produce or show me this document which I allegedly signed because it is against some crazy law in america. Then they told me they chad retrieved my number...all in the same conversation. Hmmm... Although very apologetic sounding, they got my number back on line finally and did not issue me a refund for the outage. I finally was told I got one, and it was backed up with an email. Nothing extra for all of the trouble and time I had spent emailing, gathering records, and phoning. I used the refund credit and paid the remaining amount for another year. Less than a month later I have since received threatening emails saying my phone is going to be cut off for a delinquent account. 11 phone coversations with 7 different people, and 14 emails. The SAVINGS ARE NOT WORTH THE HEADACHE of trying to keep your phone working continuously. I do not recommend this company, and like the other guy from Dec 6 2011 says. I highly suspect it is the owner and management. Streamline your company man and get your Accounting Systems Matrixed. Pay the extra $800.00 per year you cheapskate, or it's going to kill your business.

VISITOR/PROVIDER FEEDBACK:

Len (Jan 12th, 2014) : Very surprising. I too, am Canadian and have used 1-VoIP/VYL for a few years. Excellent service. Tech support is always available with minimal wait time. I heartily recommend the company. I have taken the adapter to FL and overseas on several occasions giving me home numbers in these other locations.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.6) : Recommend VYL

#125 : MAY 8th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have had service with VYL for over 5 years now. Their customer service has always been great! Calling within the US and Canada is always reliable. Most of my overseas calls are to Korea and it is reliable 97-99 percent of the time. There have been about 7 times over the past 5 years when a call to Korea got dropped or the it would not call the phone in Korea at all (Note I call Korea almost every other day for about a hour or two at a time). At these times customer service has been very helpful determining what the issue was (usually outside of their control) and working to get it resolved as quickly as possible. Also, found out today, talking with customer service, that I can use a Bria app for Apple or Android and make a call using VYL service from my smartphone; just like you can with Vonage. Customer service provided all the settings I needed and it was easy to set up; app has a one time charge of $7.99. All in all based on my considerable time receiving service from VYL I recommend their service to others.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.9) : VYLmedia Review

#124 : FEB 9th, 2012 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I have used VYLmedia for over 4 years and the service is very good. They actually have people that answer the phone at customer service and they have always been able to help me.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.3) : VYLmedia Review

#123 : DEC 9th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

They make it very easy to get started. I saved some money but not alot. I can say that customer service is much better than what I got from AT&T. Would recommend them if features are the main concern.

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (3) : VYLmedia Review

#122 : DEC 6th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

Pros If it were NOT for the quasi Owner, this company would be exceptional. Cons The owner. He is unable to take constructive feedback regarding his staff and when his technology FAILS! Was a customer with VYL Media from December 2006 to mid 2009. Left because the owner instructed his employees to be rude to me because I was complaining about call termination issues, perpetual outages, and extremely rude personnel. Today, Tuesday, December 6th 2011, almost exactly five years since I signed up I receive an Email asking me to PLEASE come back. At first I ignored the Email. Then I got a Follow- Up Email. Decided to act on it because of the nice sales pitch on the ad in my Email. Got Sales on the phone and they were pleasant enough. Told him about the history with VYL Media and asked him if all had improved and if owner is gone? He informed me that things were somewhat better. I told him I would seriously consider his company again as long as the owner would have ZERO contact with my account. Unceremoniously, I receive a Call-Back from the owner and he lit into me. He told me unequivocally that he was not ever interested in having me as a customer and to go elsewhere with my business. All the BEST in securing the BEST VoIP service for your needs!!!

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (4.9) : VYLmedia Review

#121 : OCT 12th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

I originally thought their pricing was a little high but with the call quality I recieved and how easy it is to get started. I love it!!!

Add a comment to this posting >>

Overall rating (5) : VYLmedia Review

#120 : JUL 25th, 2011 :

Recommended:
  • AVERAGE:
  • Average rating
  • Ordering:
  • Ease of order rating
  • Set-Up:
  • Ease of setup rating
  • Support:
  • Customer support rating
  • Quality:
  • Sound quality rating
  • Reliability:
  • Reliability rating
  • Features:
  • Features rating
  • Value:
  • Value rating

1-VoIP is Awesome! The quality so really good. Customer service answers my questions and at this time not had any issues. Definitely recommend 1-VoIP

Add a comment to this posting >>

  • Page 1 of 13
  • Next Page
  • Last Page

 

Here are some useful options that may be of interest:

 


Disclaimer: The opinions, views and ratings expressed in these VoIP Reviews are those solely of the reviewer who submitted the review. Whichvoip.com does not necessarily agree with any of the expressed opinions, view or ratings.

Summary

Total Number 129 5 Stars 88
Recommended: YES 103 4 Stars 22
Recommended: NO 24 3 Stars 14
Average Rating 4.4 2 Stars 3
VIEW OTHER PROVIDERS 1 Star 2
Compare Similar Providers

Other Popular Providers